Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Children stabbed in Dublin city centre **Read OP before posting**

• Registered Users Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Facthunt

Do we know what the reason behind the attack was?

• Registered Users Posts: 55,528 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Did they not report one child discharged yesterday?

maybe there were 3 children stabbed. I thought two

• Registered Users Posts: 9,818 ✭✭✭billyhead

Someone mentioned it previously on this thread that there was a time you respected the Gardai and when you were told to be on your way you did it in case your parents found out and you would get a clip across the ear. Times have certainly changed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭randd1

Except when they do do their job, such as chasing three known violent burglars on the motorway, where said burglars were driving on the wrong side of the road leading to them ending up (thankfully) as roadkill, they get prosecuted.

They arrest a lad for assault, and a week later they're doing the same to the same lad because te judge thinks it was on the minor scale of things and lets him back out with a fine.

They have to watch lads as young as 13 wreak havoc in towns until the turn 18 because mammy is too busy getting pumped by whichever lad is giving her the cheapest drugs to raise him properly, because it's never the poor dears fault that and can't be punished despite being clearly old enough to tell right form wrong.

Some Guards just shouldn't be anywhere near their job, but the vast majority are good people doing a job where they're outnumbered, with hands tied behind their backs, where they run the risk of assault regularly, and where they have watch god awful shite happen repeatedly because they neither have the resources to tackle it or decades of societal negligence by government after government have created environments where criminality flourishes.

Had they said last night "screw GSOC", went in and laid down a full on baton charge and hospitalized a few scumbags, the response from the authorities would be to punish the Guards involved, GSOC would have a field day, there'd have an inquiry demanded within the Dail into Garda responses and behaviour, several politicians would start claiming the Guards are worse than the criminals and look to punish the force as a whole and introduce measures to tie the Guards hands even more, and the scumbags and their solicitors would have a field day with the claims.

The net result being anyone looking on wanting to be a Guard, says to themselves, "I'll try something else, it's not worth it".

• Registered Users Posts: 40,007 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

• Registered Users Posts: 55,528 ✭✭✭✭walshb

• Registered Users Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Facthunt

Exactly …. Same with the teachers!

Thinking back at my time in school it would be very rarely if ever I could say my teacher was wrong! But now it the “little angels” who don’t do anything wrong!

• Registered Users Posts: 29,537 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

The riot is a consequence of no consequences for feral scum all their lives.

There will be more unless reality returns to policing. The politic lobby and ngos who never met a criminal they didnt have an excuse for and see police as the enemy need to be told where to go and funding given to police, courts, prisons.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Theyoungfella

The same will happen tonight. The government need to listen I'm not against immigration but this is out of control. Feral and not wanted.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,324 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

It's obviously got issues. No different to a lot other cities though as I've pointed out. Scenes like last night are a regular occurrence across the Continent & UK.

I'm in the CC twice a month on average fpr socialising and I think it's a great place.

But I'd 100% back the complete removal of all Social housing from D1/2/3/4 etc

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

The vast majority of the people who looted would probably thing "far right" is a type of vape. The issue wasn't far right thugs.

The issue was criminals.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭Damien360

1. GSOC would go through the gardai for a shortcut.

2. That is the wrong statement. There are too many without any level of education and of no use to this economy, they are a drain.

Lots and lots of immigrants that work and pay tax. They can stand on their own two feet financially. Those we want and need. More than welcome.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,317 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Yes the Gardai should expect crime. Stupid comment.

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Macdarack

Making a stand to get more free stuff and fire s££t at the Gardai

• Registered Users Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

I’m not from the north but I grew up throughout the troubles so I know what a good riot police response looks like (and I don’t mean the indiscriminate beating of peaceful protesters) - and you’re right, this was catastrophic policing - I’m glad you highlighted the sole Gardai trying to defend themselves (there are a number of such videos) - that should never have happened - I really felt for the rank and file last night - they deserve our respect and support in the coming days- but more so, they deserve so much better in terms of strategy equipment leadership.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,574 ✭✭✭brickster69

Many many countries citizens think like that, but nothing changes. Last night a spark caused a fire not seen before, now imagine what happens if a stadium hosting a concert is attacked, buses and trains blown up, trucks driving into people at Christmas markets. Not scaremongering, but it is possible and probably just a matter of time. Then what ?

“The earth is littered with the ruins of empires that believed they were eternal.”

- Camille Paglia

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭yagan

You'd let lifestyle criminals dictate national policy?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,862 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Harris has just said there was no failure.

Goodbye Harris.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I agree. I doubt these thugs know what "far right" even means. Labelling them with an ideology or political leanings gives them way too much respect. They are simply antisocial, anti establishment, xenophobic, racist, homophobic assholes.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,359 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

it goes back much much further than a year

Dublin City is a neglected kip in many ways - not just crime - it's filthy and unkempt - there's no civic pride at all

There's a pervasive culture of neglect in all arms of the state where Dublin is concerned. Not just justice.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Are you serious? Over the last few years there has been much worse rioting in Paris,London etc and it has had no effect, zero, on tourist numbers. Hopefully what happened last night will speed up the legislation to deal with the extremests who are stirring all this anti foreigners sentiment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Yes. To your credit, the entire concepts of riots and civil unrest didn't exist in any European or Western society before the common denominator immigration. In fact, Europe was very much the poster child for Utopian peaceful harmony between white European peoples and absolutely was not plagued for centuries by a largely perpetual cycle of violence, unrest or civil war — nor was it the cradle for two of the most destructive wars in human history.

We need to talk sensibly as to why the common denominator immigration is now shattering those centuries of peace and love. Above all, I think we need to have a sensible discussion about how it was actually migrants that told the rioters last night that they should torch the Luas and loot Arnotts and if it weren't for migrants these rioters would have been happily sitting at home putting up the decorations and getting ready for the Toy Show.

Those bloody common denominators, comin' ova' eeah'.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,825 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Wait you mean this isn't a popular rising against the government because of Charles schwaub the replacement theory and anger at the new world order?

Are these fine rioting folks not the ground swell grass roots movement the boards right on folks have been hoping for?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

Investigations ongoing - we’ll only get a brief background outline of this person in the coming days and then very little before the trial - if not related or known to the children in question (ie a random attack) then it’s quite likely it’s the same explanation given for any other such attacks we’ve seen elsewhere in Europe - I’m guessing either some form of mental illness, high on drugs or some form of radicalisation - take your pick.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

The government needs. What about the person take on some personal responsibility, get out there and get a job but no, McDonalds too good for them.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

I agree that is a stupid comment. A riot is a little different

• Registered Users Posts: 6,825 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Probably citizen journalists when they aren't participating in riots 🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 33,532 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

There's social housing in D4?

Maybe it a single house with those 6 ukranians in it?

• Registered Users Posts: 354 ✭✭Ulixes

You'll only be accused of being racist, homophobic or misogynistic if you show signs of being racist, homophobic or misogynistic.

The reason that young people can't afford to buy homes here is the same as the reason they can't afford to buy homes in most of the developed world, including Australia; there has been a massive transfer of wealth from the young to the old. You and I are part of that "old". We as a generation should apologise to young people for crashing the economy and then bailing ourselves out at their expense because that's why they can't afford a place to live.

Here's some good news about this country:

The average home in Ireland costs 7.37 times and average income. The average home in Australia costs 10.58 times the average income. Housing in Ireland is more affordable than in Australia.

There is no net immigration of University Graduates; they leave and then they come back. Therefore it's incorrect to say that we are losing our brightest prospects.

On the aging population issue, facts aren't "propaganda". They are true or they are false. The fact that our population is aging is irrefutable. The fact that immigrants improve the dependency ratio is irrefutable. You can make a social argument against immigration (if you're a bit of an auld xenophobe or a racist) but you can't make an economic argument against it. The racists protesters, also known as anti-immigration protesters, should really be chanting "Hands off our handouts" because they are worried about other people competing for the handouts they scrounge from the State.

What would help would be if people over 50 (like me) agreed to work until they are 70 instead of loading more taxes on young people and agreed to a significant increase in wealth tax (also known as property tax) to broaden the tax base, create a downward pressure on property prices and reduce the tax burden on young people. But we won't because my generation, the people in our 50's, are selfish and entitled. We're not as selfish and entitled as our parents generation who think they actually earned the wealth they accrued though nothing other than property price inflation but nobody is.

So, lets stop blaming immigrants for the consequences of our stupidity, selfishness and greed because then we have a chance to actually improve things.

The people, and I use the word loosely, who rioted in Dublin last night have broken the social contract and betrayed their fellow citizens.

I hope it's not lost on anyone that it was an immigrant who saved those children yesterday.