Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Children stabbed in Dublin city centre **Read OP before posting**

• Registered Users Posts: 55,528 ✭✭✭✭walshb

• Registered Users Posts: 16,717 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

The majority of those "protestors" would be easily interchangeable with the people you mentioned.

Whatever element of protest there was last night, the majority turned up for the fun of it. The fact that we have so many young fellas who think that type of behaviour is a good laugh is a shocking reality that authorities need to face instead of lionising the tiny number of wannabe far right nutters who will happily play along with the narrative that they coordinated all of last nights mayhem.

With that said, the likes of that scrote who was encouraging people to kill immigrants on his live stream last night should be looking at at least five years behind bars in any reasonable functioning criminal justice system.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

They have been warned, all the signs are writ large for last several years in terms of housing for purchase and rentals. Yet they have allowed the population to expand and expand with all sorts of knock on consequences. The response has been largely to stick the head in the sand and hope for the best.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users Posts: 9,010 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

And to further NIMAN's point, trying to claim that there's only been problems in the inner city for the past decade is rubbish too.

I grew up in the Northside in the 70's, 80s and 90s. There are always parts of the in inner city that were dangerous. I remember in the 80s, there used to be regular car jackings in Summerhill. They'd string a chain across the street between lampposts late at night, so cars would have to stop. Then the gang would jump out and steal the car from the driver. I remember when I was 7 seeing a staff member of Eason's in the Irish Life Mall on Talbot Street getting a glass shelf smashed over his head when he tried to stop a shoplifter. I remember the gangs of young kids (7 and 8 years old) traipsing around Marlborough Street like miniature zombies with their faces and fronts covered in the blue paint they were sniffing from plastic bags. People were regularly pick-pocketed on Abbey Street. Some areas were no-go during the day, let along the night.

It didn't mean that the city as a whole was unsafe, but like any major urban area, you had to have your wits about you. And it's the same now.

And it was the same for my parents in the 40s, 50s and 60s, and my grandparents in the 1910s, 20s and 30s.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,735 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

There shouldnt be anyone growing up in tiny flats in the city centre in 2023.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,023 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Exactly, Barcelona is beautiful but dodgy as **** at night and i think everyone knows at least one person who has had their phone robbed there.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,242 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

We're historically a country of mass emigration and now we have people saying there are too many immigrants in the country.

Christ almighty.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,694 ✭✭✭Economics101

So many posts coming over a short few hours, this might have already been posted:

This guy is a hero. I hope he gets proper recognition and thanks. Of course Brazilian delivery drivers have long been a target of inner city scum.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

You seem to be acting under the presumption that the looters and rioters last night are operating on the basis of just needing to be listened to and they'll all become a real sound bunch of law abiding lads.

Those who are predisposed to this kind of behaviour will find reason to behave that way whether there are foreigners about the place or not. The only sensible discussion to be had right now is how to ensure that we enforce the rule of law and to make clear to all wrongdoers that this disgraceful behaviour will have consequences.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,717 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Paul Murphy was happy to stir up gangs of skangers when it suited him (Jobstown water protests being the obvious example).

Far right and far left extremists love stirring up unrest and letting others do the heavy lifting of anti social behaviour on their behalf.

We need to let the wannabe fascists and socialists know we won't tolerate their crap anymore.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭Raoul Duke III

Temple Bar was also a junkie-filled bus parking lot in the 80s....Dublin was a lot grimmer in those days. Actually grimier too - remember the coal smog?

'Good old days' me hole!

• Registered Users Posts: 235 ✭✭Hank the DJ

But they'll be a very easy target for the scumbags to attack.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,862 ✭✭✭daheff

you don't protest when its one of your own!

pure and simple the trouble in City centre yesterday was the result of opportunistic scumbags who saw a chance to cause trouble, riot and loot.

This thread should be split into one about the heinous stabbing of children and carers and another about scumbags who rioted yesterday. they are 2 separate incidents.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,528 ✭✭✭✭walshb

It's blatant trolling and doesn't deserve a response.

I'd like to see a scrawny young fella take on a 20 stone former prop forward alright. That would be entertaining, for about the three seconds it would last.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

It’s an unprecedented event in terms of scale- the last time I saw anything similar or close to this were the 1981 hunger strike riots on Dawson st and surrounds - most people posting here weren’t even born then or too young to remember.

So naturally it will get wall to wall coverage - I hope though that it doesn’t become the norm- if we have a generation of scrotes who’ve decided that rioting around the time when shops are fully stocked with the latest styles of 1000 euro jackets and 300 euro runners whilst pretending they “care” about the ethnic make up of Irish society, then it’s only the beginning of something very new to these shores

• Registered Users Posts: 9,775 ✭✭✭buried

We're historically a country of mass emigration waves, as recently as 2009, because we were continuously told by politicians there was not enough jobs or infrastructure to support a large population. Now, everybody and anybody is invited by the politicians in 12 different languages to come sandwiched in here.

Christ almighty is right.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭rgossip30

My take on this a Garda spokesman said '' the riot has no connection whatsoever with the incident on Parnell Street " .

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

What a sad day yesterday. As a parent the stabbing incident was heartbreaking, as a parent you would be terrified if one of yours was a guard and faced what they did last night

To all those thugs last night I hope you have a good rest today after last night, and don't worry we'll all work away and pay taxes to help with the clean up cost of last night. At least some of you will be dressed well for your day in court !

Well done to guards, paramedics and all who helped out yesterday

• Registered Users Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

There there-your friends will likely get bail soon so don’t be worrying too much in the meantime

Those immigrants are filling jobs, paying taxes and contributing positively to society.

The most successful countries and cities throughout all of human history have been those who have actively encouraged immigration. It works! Look at the currently most successful country in the world - the USA. Built on immigration. (current nativist tendencies notwithstanding)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭lbunnae

• Registered Users Posts: 12,413 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

This riot may have started as a protest by the far right, but it is obvious that it's the usual scum who cause low level trouble each day in the city, saw this as an opportunity to cause chaos.

Why?

They've grown up getting away with it.

Never face consequences for their actions

And they still, right now, believe and could be right, that they will only get a slap on the wrist.

All Eyes On Rafah

• Registered Users Posts: 3,634 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

The legal system here is to light touch.

Favours the criminal, most people don't realise how difficult it is for the Garda to secure a conviction in court. And even if they do, it's very rare for a proper custodial sentence to be given. Ireland is one of the only countries in the western world where the Garda lead a prosecution for most crimes (Not the DPP). The Garda are going up against seasoned and expensive solicitors and barristers. It's extremely difficult.

I'd hazard a guess that most of the people involved in the looting and vandalism last night are known to the Garda.

Our legal system needs a massive overhaul.

The average cost of keeping someone locked up is €89,000 per prisoner. If new prisons to house little scrotes are to be built, then that cost needs to come down. (Automation, Technology?) I'm a firm believer that Prison should be a horrendous affair OR a complete rehabilitation, and it's up to the prisoner to choose.

We should also reduce the age that people can be named from 18 to 12. At 12 years old you know the difference between right and wrong. Every parent of those youths would say "No, not my child, they'd never do a thing like that"

Last night was a disgrace.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭evil_seed

• Unregistered / Not Logged In Posts: 33 ADHD and Me

34 arrests, 13 shops damaged and garda vehicles destroyed in night of disorder

Free legal aid, probation acts, and suspended sentences for all.

If I was a Garda, I would quit too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,508 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

Micheál Martin out now saying this undermines who we are as a 'decent' people or some such nonsense.

From the same fella that had donations from a property developer just resting in his wife's bank account. (I only found out about this lately)

That's that kind of systematic corruption and cronyism that has this country divided. Makes me angry as hell. This is where our problems come from, not migrants.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,825 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Really crap take jeffrey.

I mean we have all the tiktok and facebook and twitter posts to know this wasn't just 16 year olds.

Irelands citizen journalist at their best last night. 🤣