Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strong policing on the streets of Dublin tonight (24/11) - **Read OP before posting**

• 24-11-2023 9:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭L.Ball

After last night there's scenes of heavy zero tolerance policing on the streets

https://twitter.com/IREUKmedia/status/1728154352005546240

Which is great to see, but what would it take to see this consistently? I mean, could we see this kind of show of force one week in Darndale, then the following week in Finglas, then Tyresllstown, Jobstown etc.

Then the other side is, are any of these thugs or the ones arrested last night going to see the inside of a jail cell? I already know the answer, suspended sentences for all, is there really no appetite or political incentive for one of the main parties to push for judicial & sentencing reform?

Mod Warning:

The riots on Thursday 23 November cannot be discussed as this is a matter that is before the courts

Discussion of subsequent events and ongoing policing issues is fine unless and until someone is charged

Threadbans:

Str8outtaWuhan

bertieinexile

Post edited by Beasty on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Locking the stable door springs to mind.

Not your ornery onager

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Jail? Ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

You do realise that the Gardai in town tonight are in on over time or have been taken from another area? So no chance of seeing it consistently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Yes been like that all day today. Good.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭L.Ball

I know, I just think that a few months of this kind of policing would stabilize a lot of areas, everyone goes on about the city but some of the suburbs are just straight up hellish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

There does appear to be a bit of trouble outside what looks like Store Street Garda Station according to some videos doing the rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,398 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Some nice tackles in those videos, 9/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

The usual over the top costly response to a few hours of a bunch of useless losers causing havoc.

It gives the.imoresdion that the gardai and govt care..they don't.

It just gives them an excuse for meaningless soundbites and .

Looking at the names and addresses and job positions🥴😁 of some who appeared in court came as no surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭elperello

You will see that type of policing in cities all over Europe.

Police on patrol spot trouble call in back up.

Van arrives troublemakers cuffed and in the van pronto.

Rinse and repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I’d support a bus load of mobile Gendarmerie style public order heavyweights being permanently on call in the city centre. Think Spain’s Guardia Civil, or Italy’s Carabinieri. Paramilitary, equipped for cracking skulls, and an adjunct to the regular Gardaí, offering a ‘fcuk around and find out’ style.

Annual Lugs Brannigan Medal and substantial annual bonus to the member with the highest skull crackin’ score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

It's probably a great opportunity for the guys last night to go have a riot somewhere else and go crazy there. We just need a lot more Gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Hopefully it lasts more than just a couple of nights.

Pat Kenny asked this morning why was the Garda Mounted Unit not deployed last night, which made me realise, I've never seen them in the city, except on St Patricks day.

The guys you mention don't have to get heavy with ordinary day to day messer's very often.

The local scallys know they mean business so the fear factor is high.

That's what's missing in Dublin.

Most of AGS didn't draw their batons last night - think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,051 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

They're regularly out and about, I've often seen them in town.

This weekend, and last night particularly, would be a great opportunity to go on a burglary spree in Dublin's neighbouring counties - I'd say there's not a guard stationed between here and a 50km radius that's not in Dublin city centre this weekend.

If that level of policing lasts a week, though, I'll eat my hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭L.Ball

They're regularly out and about, I've often seen them in town.

no they're **** not, I knew it wouldn't be long before the "shur it's grand" crowd appeared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

"The local scallys know they mean business so the fear factor is high"

There's zero fear of the garda, another court appearance is just a day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Any word on Operation Freeflow going ahead this year? They used to bring in the recruits from Templemore for the Christmas traffic action.

• Well done to the Guards this evening dishing out hidings. However - this is long overdue. Most of us that live there are aware of the feral scrotes that roam in packs causing havoc for people and businesses across the city.

It is now the time Dublin got its own Metropolitan Police Force distinct from An Garda Siochana. A heavy handed no nonsense police force, equipped with the best technology and tools and built for the job.

Enough is enough - change in approach required for Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭a2deden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,051 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Who said anything is grand? It's most certainly not grand.

I was just responding to the poster who said he'd never seen the mounted unit in town other than on St Patrick's Day.

That's it.

There has to be consequences for acting the maggot.

Once you establish that fact, the rules of the game so to speak, the culture changes.

I travelled through the city centre every day for 4 years for work, and never saw the mounted unit and very rarely saw a guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The bodycams badly needed to end the fairytales in court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

The poor craturs just trying to get some Nike's for the starving childers.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,180 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

You often see their presence on Grafton Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

Shouldn't there be strong policing on the streets of Dublin every night. What exactly is the negative effect to the city for having a strong police presence on the streets.

Wouldn't it be a good idea to recruit more Gardai in general, better to have too many Gardai than the current situation of having too few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,180 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Easier said then done. It's not as if people are joining the guards in droves.

What would be the negative effect? I'll tell you. There isn't one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

It would be a great idea if they weren't already leaving in their droves. Not sure what the exact nature of the issues are but I'd imagine arresting the same people over and over would dishearten anybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

The city has been desperately neglected since the Corona Virus pandemic. I've been campaigning my city representatives & I've been pretty vocal on boards.ie about the need for a dedicated metropolitan & public transport Garda force.

The city is the main economic drive for the whole country. It's time to put some of that money back in to where it all comes from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭chrisd2019

Same style reactionary units in Prague centre, quickly on the scene if any stag party ect gets out of hand, and the dogs they have do bite for real!

Absolutely.

After last night's events the in your face presence is understandable but it doesn't need to be like that all the time.

In other cities the back up is held in reserve, often waiting down a side street.

The minute something kicks off they are there ready for action.

There is no negative side effect because you only see them when they are needed.

• Why do we treat our most important workers to society so awfully?

Guards and nurses. We depend on them so much and need to do better for them. The judiciary especially in Dublin seems to hold a lot of contempt for the Guards for reasons we all know: legal aid gravy train. Why are the Govt not tackling that **** show.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Posts deleted

Do not discuss the people who were arrested last night as that will result in the closure of this thread

Any questions PM me - do not reply to this post in thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭angel eyes 2012

Simple, there is a significant lack of space in our prisons, hence the judiciary have nowhere to send convicted criminals.

There was some resistance and general lack of interest when Thornton Hall site was under consideration for a prison and there has been little infrastructure in prison development since. Problem is getting worse with the recent increase in population.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

They were deployed eventually.

I still don't understand why the powers that be let it happen.

The media and some politicians are saying it's a soft, appeasement approach.

I used to work close to Mayor Square for a large financial company. Down that area there are multiple American Multi-Nationals. One of them is holding in escrow the 13 Billion that Apple may or may not owe us. The shear amount of money that passes through that area of the city is eye watering, and yet, particularly around the summer time, it is scrote central and never, ever a guard in sight. The mongolian woman who was stabbed in the neck was a cleaner in my building.

I came out of my office one day and almost got ran over by a young fella riding a bicycle at speed, wearing a wet suit, cycling along by the wall. He rode the bike into the canal while his friends took pictures. He didn't retrieve the bike so I assume it wasn't his. 0.001% of the tax take from these companies could easily equip a few well paid gardai to patrol that area 24 hours a day. So, I dont know why the government have failed to act.

This was before Covid. I have no difficulties believing the area has since gotten worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭Facthunt

They’ll be a lot of Childers going around with odd shoes for Christmas! I’m sure Foot Locker and the likes only keep 1 shoe on display with the others locked in the back rooms!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭mikemac2

I attend League of Ireland games and UEFA regularly swop around officials. Arrange some flights and accommodation for Irish officials to go to Malta or Luxembourg or somewhere for a week and invite their officials over for a week. All in the name of training, is good to see

Any chance we can get some Guardia Civil and their baton happy tactics from Spain for a week? Some weary gardai may like a week in Spain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

One reason Gardai are slow to use their batons is GSOC, a Garda pal of mine reckons the last time they had free reign to use them was at the Lansdowne Rd riot in 1995, nowadays every thing they do is recorded on phones and they have to watch every move they make.

Think of the criminal justice system as a three legged stool.

You need a strong well resourced police force to apprehend offenders and bring them before the courts.

The accused must be given a fair trial and if found guilty receive the appropriate sentence.

The prison service has to be capable of securely accomodating inmates and offering rehabilitation.

If true, the Minister of Justice could change that with a stoke of a pen.

So, again, why the inaction?

€2 million per km motorways that still haven't reach capacity are far more important than the safety of Dublin city folk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

The amount of vermin in this city is something else... needs to be much larger police presence in Dublin 1 going forward...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,401 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Ah here, you always say Dublin is grand, not a bother. Cultural Mecca etc etc.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

Guilty as charged!!!! But you're 100% right about the capital being the cultural epicentre of the country (as well as the economic driver). It's great that you recognise this and I love your adopted Dublinese "ah here" and how it's catching. I see from your post history you're very interested in your capital and frequently talk about Dublin.

If you read back on my posts you'll see that I've advocated & supported more of Dublin money to be spent in Dublin as well as Galway and Cork. I've posted here about the need for a metro police force and a transport police. I'm sure you agree with my sentiments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭highpressisbest

Is it not pest control that is required for vermin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭highpressisbest

And the fear of prosecution for just doing their job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

A few good beatings would put the fear back in the knacker elements trolling Dublin. The bleeding hearts have taken the teeth from the Gardai.

I was just about to post something very similar. This post exactly!!

A few Gendarmerie would not be long knocking some sense into these little "@#%£@" Or let the Garda resolve it without fear of being persecuted on twitter.

Does anyone remener the Garda at the 1995 England/ireland football.

Bring that fella back & a few of his friends