Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So "X" - nothing to see here. Elon's in control - Part XXX **Threadbans in OP**

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Except they said that about the moon and there's pretty good reasons to use the moon as a starting point rather than jumping the gun entirely. On top of that, if he makes a complete mess of a mars mission due to his approach to safety, that could negatively impact space travel in general in the medium term.

Also let's just remember that this entire discussion is just dodging the topic of how he's spent the last while engaging in racism on the social media platform that he's decimated.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,855 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

’Ask not what oppressing others can do for you, asking what you can do to oppress others’

(A little off, I know…)

The road to Hell is paved with good intentions.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,986 ✭✭✭Christy42

Coward talk. Colony on Neptune or nothing!

Or you know an actual sensible aim and ongoing research. Again because a lot of people have done great work with scientific exploration from space travel does not mean every idea with regards to space is a good idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,964 ✭✭✭Cordell

I don't care about his alleged racism, I never defended him as a person - because I don't care how he is as a person.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

The true terrible thing is the difference he could make here, on this planet with his wealth is utterly nuts.

If he focussed on say, cleaning up the oceans or deforestation or anything that could improve the lives of millions of people instead of spunking his load into space.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

And the way to do that is blow $40 billion plus on a social media platform ... then run it into the ground such that it has lost at least half its value since then.

This fits into the plan how and where???

The levels of creative thinking being deployed here to try to excuse what Musk has done and is doing with Twitter beggars belief.

You have set this up to somehow defend of Musk and it doesn't stand up to a moment's scrutiny.

But hey, blowing all those billions is worth is just so you can share your mates racist tweets to a wider audience and call whoever you don't like a "paedo" - to use Musk's favourite insult.

Really shows where Musk's priorities lie.

This vision you try to present of Musk does not match reality and exists in your mind unconnected / not founded on the actual evidence and conduct.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

You're fawning over him at every turn. And how he publicly conducts himself negatively impacts his businesses. You haven't even bothered addressing the fact that there's known safety concerns around SpaceX, instead it's constantly jumping to him being a pioneering genius.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,375 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Would rather gouge my eyes out with a rusty nail than watch that kunt speak about anything 😘

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

It's very easy for those who've generated little to tell people who've generated much what to do with their resources.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 19,277 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

I love this laughable B movie attempt at logic that is us colonising Mars in anyone's lifetime or for the next 4 or 5 generations...at least. It's such a pipe dream at present as to be a Wellsian fantasy. We'll all be well dead before we could get a realistic colony operating even on the Moon, never mind Mars.

Into the bargain, the only thing that Mars has over the moon is some gases in its atmosphere and a soil of a sort. Both of which are actually extremely harmful to us BTW. Perhaps one day we'll be able to neutralise the dangers within those elements, but for now and the foreseeable future that's just not possible. In any case, those two very dubious "advantages" that Mars has over the Moon are outweighed by all the other pressing issues facing us with regards to a colony on the red planet. 1.) It's a long way away. A very long way away. Currently it takes over 9 months to get there and that's unmanned flight which also requires a certain alignment between the planets that happens only every couple of years. That's a long time to be travelling in the conditions that are required and would have significant impact on our bodies and our mental state. It isn't impossible, as Valeri Polyakov showed on Mir. But it is an extremely difficult prospect for the majority of trained astronauts, never mind anyone else. 2.) It's a one way trip and will be for a very long time to come. And expecting anyone to be able to A. fly to Mars and B. start setting up a colony there when they land is pure fantasy at present and that's only considering the resources (or lack thereof) that would be required. 3.) Mars is a very hostile environment to us. Aside from an unbreathable atmosphere and a lethal soil, it experiences incredibly violent and unpredictable dust storms that can cover the size of Earth's continents. These also last for weeks or months in certain cases. Such a thing would wipe out any colony we would be capable of setting up in short order. It makes our current issues with Earth based climate change look like a walk in the park...and all that's before we get into the extremely cold average temperature on Mars 4.) Cancers are an extreme risk on the red planet as there is little to protect us from the effects of solar radiation and we have very little in the way of knowledge of shielding ourselves from it in a colony sized endeavour.

Put short, absolutely none of us are going to Mars any time soon, certainly not to stay. And if by some miracle we do manage a manned trip, it would require at least a 21 month journey.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,464 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Why do the infinitely more dangerous and costly thing when a perfectly good proof of concept lies exponentially closer to earth? This is run before you walk stuff.

Bravado for its own sake has no value. America went to the moon because it was in a literal race; Musk wants to go to Mars out of hubris and a defiance of common sense.

Very easy to lose 20 billion on Twitter...is that what you mean?

That seemed to come very easily for Musk.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

People need to separate SpaceX from Twitter.

SpaceX has genuinely been revolutionary in many aspects. The reusability of the first stage of the falcon 9 being the stand out. The launch of the starship even though a failure was still very successful in many respects. For crew transport compare the crew dragon to Boeing's starliner which still hasn't made its first crewed test flight yet. In terms of crew safety you have NASA reviewing things which has the institutional knowledge of designing the space shuttle(easily the most dangerous crewed vehicle(to it's occupants) ever to launch). NASA does not want a repeat. It also has to remembered SpaceX success has been financed heavily by NASA and has managed to do things at a far far lower cost than NASA can do due to the politics around NASA funding. Even if SpaceX never gets to Mars it still has made a huge mark on space flight.

SpaceX successes do not let Musk off the hook regarding his behaviour on Twitter or how badly he has run it and how bad a investment he has made. It's a complete strawman to bring SpaceX into Twitter. If Twitter had been run like SpaceX it would not be in its current mess ie it wouldn't have got rid of most of its moderating team etc. SpaceX wouldn't have got to where it is now if Musk had been doing all the design work as he appears to be doing at Twitter.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,964 ✭✭✭Cordell

The race was just for political image and to one up the russians. It was a reason that is just as good as Elon doing it for the craic. What's really important is to never stop trying and to aim as high as possible.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,464 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

It's a bizarre world where an argument is made a functioning moon colony and space port isn't ambitious enough. Given wherever the colony is founded it'll literally be a first for humankind regardless, and smash the current extremity for a settlement.

We have barely escaped our orbit - Musk's grasp is questionable given a desire to skip a natural, sensible but still laudable, step.

Being wealthy doesn't make a person immune to criticism. And given the state of the cyber truck and Twitter, it's reasonable to assume he can make terrible decisions.

• Registered Users Posts: 60,601 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Yeah lets move to other planets and **** them up by mining and taking there natural resources just like the one we actually live on instead of trying to find a way to protect our own planet and help it heal.

On the Mars thing:

1) It's a miserable desert.

2) It has no magnetic field, which means its atmosphere is being stripped off by cosmic rays and its surface is bombarded with energetic particles all the time.

3) The 'soil' contains some pretty nasty substances due to the interaction with cosmic rays mostly. It's full of perchlorate.

4) The 'soil' is a dry, fine powder with very rough edges - a bit like ground up asbestos in terms of what it would do to your lungs, even in tiny quantities.

5) The dust is electrostatically charged so tends to stick to absolutely everything.

6) No known plants can grow there.

It's literally a baron wasteland with a thin atmosphere of mostly CO2 and red dust. It's fascinating in geological / planetary science context. That's about the extent of it though.

Basically at best you'd be stuck in a hermetically sealed bubble, never able to even venture outside at all. At worst you'd likely die either quite quickly due to lack of access to food or a leak in the biosphere or slowly due to cancer due to exposure to radiation and potentially also the atmosphere.

It would make living in the middle of the antarctic in winter in a habitation unit seem comfortable and pleasant.

Restoring / protecting the Earth from the impact of human activities would be VASTLY easier than colonising Mars.

His whole imagined nonsense is basically he's going to rocket off to Mars and start a Muskian society there, and it allows the people who believe this garbage to sort of 'write off' Earth as if there's some choice in going elsewhere ... Good luck with that!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭nachouser

Send Matt Damon up with a few spuds and a bag of cans. Be grand in no time.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭erlichbachman

• Registered Users Posts: 17,998 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Leaving aside the absolute nonsense he posted, why would he want to be taoiseach of Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭erlichbachman

why not, the man has reached the summit in business, next stop could be the running of a country, outside of the extreme left population on boards i think he would be welcomed

• Registered Users Posts: 4,059 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

And when he’s done running a country, he can run the colony on Mars. I think he planned to to start in 2024, so he better get going here first.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,623 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Elon vs McGregor for ruler of Ireland is every edgelords orgasmic wetdream.

You have to be extreme left?

What a blatantly obvious prejuducial framing. I suppose when your argument is devoid of logic, facts and evidence why not go for broke and invent stuff.

And what absolute nonsense.

I will remind the thread again that under his watch Twitter has been fined for lax policies on child sex abuse material. Does that sound like a vote winner in middle Ireland?

Yet his insult of choice is calling his opponents a 'paedo'.

Continued fawning over racist South African...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

You’ve seen how he’s running twitter? And you want him to run our country?

LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 885 ✭✭✭I.R.Y.E.D

I think you mean someone who was rocked too close to the wall.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,481 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Anyhoo..We'll see how long Elon keeps talking about Mars now that Blue Origin got the NASA Contract for the first flights there.

No more NASA money and I suspect Elon will be less than tumescent about spending his own money on the idea..

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,481 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

How would that work then??

What party would facilitate him running in a constituency , after he has become an Irish citizen of course and then elect him as leader of that party and then hopefully win a majority in the Dail thereby eventually allowing him to assume the Office of Taoiseach??

Or maybe he could run for President , again after becoming a citizen and convincing 4 Local Authorities to nominate him (or 20 TD's) where he could take office and have absolutely zero influence on anything beyond what soup they might serve to visitors at the Aras.