Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hamas strike on Israel - Threadbans in op - mod warning in OP updated 19/10/23

• Registered Users Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭brickster69

Someone getting upset. Surely it is perfectly acceptable to blockade places by sea considering he has carried one out for over a decade.

“The earth is littered with the ruins of empires that believed they were eternal.”

- Camille Paglia

• Registered Users Posts: 51,921 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I have seen maps of them. Where do you think the hostages are now? Hamas are not stupid though as some of the released hostages were moved from house to house. The argument about the tunnels were about the doctors knowing they were there and that there was a Command Centre in the hospital. Nothing concrete found.

• Registered Users Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Hey boy

Just checked through today’s ceasefire theatre in London. Admittedly only one media source. Signage all one sided again. No call for Hamas to ceasefire, release hostages or surrender. Strange when it’s just a pro palestine crowd with a small minority of Hamas supporters. Even some of the Gazans themselves are brave enough to condemn Hamas on Al Jazzera. Not in London but. Hopeless really.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,921 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

• Registered Users Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭dmcdona

But the last paragraph isn't what you said, is it?

You said anyone denying that police forces strip prisoners is an "Israeli hater" (obviously in the context of this thread).

I can think of an alternative reason why people would deny that prisoners being striped naked, cuffed and paraded in the streets (and you said it happens "plenty"): because AGS doesn't do it.

I'm leaning towards the conclusion that you are incapable or unwilling to make (or listen to) a cogent, balanced argument and you're just pouting 'cos you got caught.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

• Registered Users Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

Yes your point is? If Higgins is what you are worrying about now your priorities are askew. He is an after thought in this event.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,119 ✭✭✭suvigirl

Just wondering was there anyone there calling for Hamas to release prisoners or to call a.ceasefire?

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users Posts: 18,657 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I've seen ex-British soldiers and ex-senior officers on social media say it is unusual in the extreme to see prisoners being forced to strip to their underwear (to the point where they never once witnessed it) - these are men with 30 years experience and who fought and served in the Gulf War 1989 and Iraq 2003, NI, Bosnia, Afghanistan, Somalia, Sierra Leone etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,519 ✭✭✭jmreire

Not necessarily so. If they are arrested in ones and two's etc., yes, but in a situation like what is happening in Gaza now, where people (including kids) are captured in large nrs, then they will be ordered to strip, kneel or lie down with their hands on their heads, while being checked row by row before being moved to police stations etc. clothes will be registered to the owner, checked for weapons, and later cross-checked for explosive residue. But this is nothing new in any war zone. Too many times military's have been caught unawares by Civilians (including kids, especially kids) smuggling explosives past the perimeters and causing havoc once inside. Approach any checkpoint, in my experience, you better get used to the experience of having many weapons leveled at you.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,407 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Well we know for a fact they were doing it and taking pictures of themselves doing it in iraq or Afghanistan.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,657 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Which would generally be understood to be a war crime, correct?

Also the are they're in. Hight temperatures, direct sunlight, no water...sounds a bit like tor...can't think of the word.

Disgusting selfies.... sure not only are they disgusting, but also forbidden under the GVA Conventions, just like so many other things that both sides are guilty of. And don't assume that the IDF are the only ones taking pics, because Hamas do it as well. As for degrading, imagine if one or more of these kids etc. exploding a device, now that would do some degrading, I can tell you.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

The houthis attacking shipping in such globally important routes is a direct attack on the entire globe.

Of course it should necessitate action. There is a duty of care.

A gas or oil ship sunk in the strait of Hormuz and we'll see oil and gas at rates that will strangle the global economy.

A real world effect of a global recession would be millions of lives destroyed and cut short, not much good to someone in the 3rd works whose 2 dollar day job goes to hear middle class leftists in the west cheering on the houthis for sticking it to the yids.

It's negligent of Biden that it isn't treated as urgent.

Every looper in the world has become emboldened by the attempt to rebirth the USSR. Venezuela looking to incorporate part of its neighbour in to its Socialist Republic. Same with the Communists in China looking at Taiwan.

That's before one starts to look at Islamic lunatics like Hamas, Taliban, Iran, and the long list.

Israel are tough and can be rough in defending themselves but they remain the nicest in a neighbourhood of immense brutality and unfathomable savagery.

Israel will long remain the best place in the region for Jew, Arab. LGBT etc to live in, by some margin.

Now launch away Joe.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

As you're joining it a bit late to this, let's recap:

Hamas uses Sexual violence as part of their campaign

EOTR: So does the IDF! So, Hamas is excused.

me: Proof?

EOTR: NO proof!

You: IDF bad!

So, any proof that IDF is using sexual violence as policy for this campaign?

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

Over 60 of those killed by the idf are civilians. It's not a war against Hamas at this stage..it's a mass slaughter.

No conflict since before 1900 has had a higher proportion of civilians killed. For all telhey boast about target killings they're just letting fly and hoping for the best.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,074 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

i know kids can carry weapons and explosives, however weapons and explosives is not the reason the IDF strip and all else civilians, it is to humiliate them and even rape them.

if they were carrying explosives they would just use them and blow themselves up before the IDF would have any chance to stop them.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

It's absolutely not normal and doesn't happen everywhere.

Such complete and utter bollox to legitimise israels continuing dehumanising of people

• Registered Users Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

If it's on Twitter, it must be true, amiright?

I may have misinterpreted your post. Apologies if so.

I just can't get my head around either side. The hate. It's mind boggling. Maybe I'm simple, but...I dunno, it's exasperating.

Both sides are absolute gobshites, but feck sake innocents, both sides.

All for political gain. Heartbreaking and I'm not exactly a softy.

You need to get your deep insights in to how suicide bombers operate in front of them

The wider middle East has seen thousands of them in the last 20 years, please make the difference.

They can join in whenever they want.

If we disagree, good. As long as its honest.

Your post wasn't.

What are you talking about? I have never posted anything racist, it's actually funny it's so ridiculous!

you can of course point them out? Theses racist posts? I will not be responding to any of your abusive posts until you can prove your statement.

Oh and my question about pro Palestinian parades stands, any anti Hamas posters? Anyone calling for Hamas to release prisoners.

Edit, poster answered my question

• Registered Users Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭dmcdona

What is the end game here?

I'm not an expert by any stretch but my gut tells me that this situation has the potential to spread beyond Israel itself (other than the odd sporadic rocket from Lebanon/Yemen).

If Israel continue bombing Gaza into the stone age and disproportionately killing innocent civilians, I'm guessing that actors in the West Bank/East Jerusalem, Lebanon, Iran, Yemen and Syria would become involved. I don't know how involved but if Israel were to be fighting two or more fronts, would it be fair to assume it wouldn't be pretty and could militarily escalate way beyond Israel?

I can't imagine that muslim/arab countries supportive of the Palestinians would continue to sit back as passive observers for too long? Or, once the entirety of Gaza is a wasteland, they would then just tune out?

I do know that all I want is for the fighting to stop, for the diplomats to take over and for peace/security for both sides. Blindingly naive I know...

A few have marched for Palestine with release the hostages placards, but get a lot of push back and harassment from others there.

You'd have to be very tough or flippant about your well being to call for hostages to be released at this stage.

I've been in a few of these places you mentioned too, and personally, I remember one incident where a little 7- or 8-year-old girl who had a suicide vest strapped on to her and covered with an Abaya, before being sent towards the checkpoint. Luckily, one of the soldiers manning the checkpoint spotted something unusual about the sight of a little girl all by herself walking towards them and managed to get to her and disarm the belt. For sure, in situations like these, the motto is check first, verify safety (or not) and discuss afterwards. This is what the IDF are doing. The Soldiers you mention on social media saying that it was unusual in the extreme, and they had never witnessed it, all very true I'm sure, but neither are they claiming that it never happens. But I bet you if you asked if they stripped and searched captured combatants / non-combatants etc. they would tell you, it's SOP, and stark naked too, not just down to their underwear. And as we are seeing now, for the IDF it's SOP too, only difference is the nrs and the location they are being checked in.

You think it's funny refugee camps being bombed? Reporters and aid workers being killed. That type of funny?

Yes hamas should release prisoners. Idf should as well.

Question answered I believe, even though it wasn't directed at me.

So, answer honestly. War happens and innocents are slaughtered in their 1000's. Grand?

Don't go back on your previous posts. I've been honest. Your turn. Consider it cathartic.

It is normal in circumstances where the suspects may have firearms or explosives on their person and anyone that doesn't put those people down and search then are putting themselves and everyone else in the area in danger.