Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk Thread (Love you Furlong time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,605 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

We disagree. That's my input. He's ok. I respect your opinion.

I think that's correct. One slan of meat after the next.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

Any referee who becomes 'annoyed' or 'irked' by anything that happens on a pitch might well consider their position.

Referees have greater powers in rugby than in most sports. Players respect referees who respect players. Carley's inability to calm players except by sanction or ignoring nominated captains was a failing.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Mod: If you're going to argue the above, and then follow it up with...

Dublin is the driest place in ireland

... that's arguing both sides of the fence as a means to criticise Leinster, and is borderline trolling / griefing the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,905 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

How many times have you seen referees tell the Captain to walk away and not be at it constantly? If you've never seen it you don't watch much rugby. It happens quite often.

You also show respect by asking the question and not telling him his job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

It won't really. Leinster will nominate one player pre game and if the other starts acting as captain in game ref will either penalise hem for chat or say right fine he captaincy had changed but you can't change back. There may well be joint captains for leinsters squad for the season but each game and dealing with ref in any game there can only ever be 1 captain

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭Billy_the_Kid
    Master

Having the co-captains allowed the referee to stop talking to Ryan completely. Ryan was far closer to the incidents Leinster wanted highlighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,535 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

One area we looked vulnerable was when La Rochelle did those dinks over our defensive line. They succeeded 3 or 4 times with that, which a better team on a dryer day could have made hay from.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,484 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Dulin is lethal for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Re-watched the game last night. Regarding the dealings with the referee, Carley clearly wanted to set out his stall for the day and was determined to take no backchat or input from players. Ryan was consistently approaching him in the first 15 minutes on completely legitimate items but needed to know it was going nowhere. Make the point, walk away. He was absolutely right to question the HB incident but needed to drop it. Ringrose isn't nearly as confrontational and would just ask for a message from the referee as opposed to offering his own input.

Bourgarit was in similar hot water and was warned twice by the referee. He couldn't move on from Bourgarit but they brought TKB over as a translator and mediator at one point to warn the team. Separately, I think Bourgarit is a great player but he was pathetic. He played poorly, threw badly (was blessed to get away with some extremely crooked throws) but his conduct on the field was atrocious. He was throwing his hands in the air, turning his back to the rucks to remonstrate with officials and gave his team no leadership.

On second watch, Baird was absolutely brilliant. He was good on first watch but his involvements were excellent. I don't think he put a foot wrong and made multiple big plays. As good as Dulin was, I'd have given MOTM to Baird overall. Ryan wasn't too far behind in his work around the field along with a couple of big plays, forcing a knock on at a maul, holding up Botia on the line and, fortuitously, taking the arm of the jumper to force a spill.

The bench made a big impact. VDF made some errors but also came up with two big turnovers. Jenkins only got 5 minutes but made his presence felt in that time with a couple of big counter rucks and stopping Skelton dead behind the gain line. Kelleher was really good. I don't think he had to throw in which possibly suited him but he brought a lot of physicality and energy from the bench. Ngatai continues to make at least one huge impact play whenever he plays. He had no right to make that break through LAR deep into their 22. Frawley had a very good 40 minutes too. He used the wind well for the most part with some massive kicks. It probably hindered some of his kicks too as they drifted too far to Dulin but he was generally very good.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,188 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Thus rendering naming cc in the matchday squad pointless and confusing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Must love hardship

They also kicked on at least 3 times directly aimed at JGP in the back field away from Keenan.

JgP messes up a couple of these.. similar to the final last year. Jgp has had a poor few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,711 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

You've just described exactly what I said in my original post, annoying the referee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,218 ✭✭✭crisco10

Is there anywhere online to re-watch the 2nd half? I had to multitask with family duties and was reduced to basically following the game from there rather than watching it in detail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

Only been watching rugby for 50 years, so yeah, thanks for pointing that out.

Carley, having warned Bougarit on his behaviour, then failed to sanction him. There is little point in warning players if you're not prepared to sanction them.

Referees who do this invite further backchat. If Carley was not prepared to explain his decisions to captains he is disrespecting them, and at the same time expecting their respect. Backchat and questioning decisions continued.

Res ipsa loquitur

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭letsbefair

ROG in his press interview praised Gibson Park for controlling the game in the conditions. Some people don't appreciate just how good he is. Andy Farrell does, Leo does and Im certainly do. When he's not playing our whole game slows down, his defence and positioning are very good.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Must love hardship

He kicked 18 times. Most were uncontestables as they weren't great kicks. He has 2 tackles to make and missed one of them. Had at least 5 bad passes and conceded 2 turnovers. Granted the conditions weren't great but he had far from a good game.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,794 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

apart from one dropped kick under little pressure, which, in that weather, can happened to anyone, i think he had a great game. Yes a couple of kicks went a little far but again, between difficult conditions underfoot and in the air, thats understandable. Plus our plan was obviously to keep the ball infield in play with kicks, and to play as much without the ball in out own half as necessary. The first two lineouts thrown to his feet must have been frustrating for him, but he followed up the second one with an excellent kick which dropped just outside of the 22 which leyds knocked on for our scrum.

He put one beautiful kick right onto the line which leyds carried over. His involvement for the try was pin point as well.

he has played better, but having to allow for the conditions he certainly did not have a poor game by any means.

Whatever ROG says, how anyone can look at those conditions and be overly-critical is a bit beyond me.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Whilst I don't think JGP had a good game, I do think context is needed. He touched the ball more than anyone on the field by a distance. He was served up some shite ball at times (in the opening 20, we couldn't give him a clean line out). He passed the ball 55 times.....Frawley and Byrne passed it 10 times between them. He was also positioned in the backfield to receive kicks probably as much as anyone if not more.

With those conditions, he was always going to make a few handling errors but he still did manage to have some decent moments, taking one great high ball (drawing a penalty for being taken in the air) and his kicking was pretty much the same as all the others on the field.

Given the fact that he was playing 9 and potentially covered more ground than anyone on the field by having to play 80, I think he was fine.

Ignoring the fact this comes from a TRK-lite Munster paid troll account whose sole takeaway from the entire game is to have a whinge about Ryan, was this incident seriously not looked at? This is a red card.

https://x.com/jim_demps/status/1733875756684484866

Not a red card.

Botia knows exactly what he's doing there. He just blitzes right through, and absolutely sends Connors into Byrne's path.

What is he trying to do there? He's not even looking at the ball, and makes zero attempt to go for it. It's disgraceful that Carley wouldn't entertain Ryan's complaints on this.

• Administrators Posts: 54,071 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Lads that's not a red card in a million years.

Connors knew exactly what he was doing there too, he was running a line trying to block Botia from competing and ended up taking out his own man when he did make contact with Botia.

Connors is doing what players do on virtually every kick, he's holding his line and running in a straight direction. Botia clearly knocks into him, which sends him into Byrne.

Botia is making no attempt whatsoever to play the ball.

I don't think it's a red card either, but it's definite intentional foul play from Botia IMO.

• Administrators Posts: 54,071 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Connors is doing what players do on virtually every kick, which is try to be cute and block runners. This time it didn't work out so well and he took his own man out.

It's not like Botia ran over and shoved him, there wasn't a lot of contact but because of the position Connors put himself in he ended up wiping out Byrne.

A rugby incident IMO and nothing more.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭durthacht

Plus JGP and Frawley performed a great reenactment of the scene from that movie where the couple embrace in the rain.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,794 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Ryan was 100% correct to point that out and request that it be looked at. The nature of the fall alone should have caused more of a review.

ive relooked at the incident and the TMO came in quiet quick to carley with "it was his own player" even before Ryan approached him, and carley clarifies to the TMO "it was his own player". Ryan asks him if hes not going to review the incident and carley just tells "him the penaltys here" "james, heres the penalty"

Ryan then asks him again if hes not going to review that, when the time of off due to teh injury

and at that point Carley calls Ringrose over and tells him that he wont talk to Ryan anymore as james is talking to him on every penalty and he wont work with him anymore.

so at no stage did carley say" we have checked it, and its his own player who takes him out"... so that was very poor communication by Carley.

in his defence however, that passage of time, hes had JPG ask for it to be reviewed (Carley had to tell him to be careful how he phrased it) Porter asks him to review it and then Ryan asks him to review it. he also dealing with a second penalty which he is being complained to by the french player..... then another leinster players questioned something at a ruck (carely clarifies once you go off your feet you lose the right)... and then Ryan comes back at him again to ask for a review. So thats a hell of a lot of chat about different things in a short amount of time.

plus, Ryan had been told previously (on 10:50) that "we cant have a conversation everytime theres a break in play"

so while Ryan was 100% correct to ask for it to be looked at, his actions up to that point did not help at all in getting the ref to be empathetic to his questions.

Yeah, but in Ryan's defence, the opening 20 mins of that game were as brutal as any you'll see. There was cheap shots and niggly hits happening from both sides, but especially La Rochelle, all over the field.

Not all 20 mins of rugby are created equally, and there were multiple incidents in that period where any captain would highlight them to a referee.

James Ryan would have been utterly castigated if he wasn't pointing out to the referee some of the stuff happening. I think it's utter bullshit Carley deciding he won't speak to him. He doesn't get to decide who Leinster's captain is. It's particularly hypocritical when Bourgarit (plus numerous other LAR players) were mouthing at him for the entire game without sanction.

One thing you also won't find that troll Twitter account that published that clip above to have a go at James Ryan mentioning either is just how good Ryan was yesterday. He was absolutely immense. The best second row on the field for 80 mins; stealing lineouts, smashing rucks and making big tackles all over the field. It really underlined again I think that if he doesn't leave the field in the final last May, Leinster would have won that game.