Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immigration to Ireland - policies, challenges, and solutions *Read OP before posting*

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Firstly the EU was founded by federalists that had lived through WWII, even WWI, and wanted to make sure Europe never suffered the same fate again.

That is laudable, but they and their sucessors also have had an arrogant superiority in there to boot which felt that the people of Europe couldn't be trusted to not elect dictators at some point in the future and that basically open democracy should not be allowed to prevent this vista occurring again.

The EEC that Ireland joined changed considerably into what is today's EU.

The aim has been to create a federal Europe governed centrally, to limit the rights of nation states and as Sutherland let slip to remove the nationalistic tendencies by diluting the native populations.

So in my opinion much like how the Irish state reached it's zenith in the late 90s or turn of the century, so with the EU.

It is no coincidence that the Nice Treaty was being implemented and voted on by Ireland in 2001.

Remember how the EU constitution Treaty was abandoned after being kicked to the kerb by both French and Dutch electorate only to morph into the Lisbon treaty.

This treaty was never put to the same electorates and the only ones that had that privilege were forced to vote again until they gave the "right" result.

But it's isn't just EU, the world is now run by massive multinationals not nation states anymore.

You talk about the US, the US is now run by mega rich individuals controlling massive multinationals a lot of whom are based in this country.

Even in the US, the current gulf between normal people and the ones controlling the wealth and capital (and by extension the real levers of power) dwarfs even that of the infamous time of the robber barons.

But this is the modern world where we are now all meant to be grist to the mill of globalisation.

And when that globalisation and encouraged consumerism is seen as destroying the planet, the answer is not to cut it and go back to the days when products were sourced locally and built for duarability.

** Oh no it is to add another layer of requirements (taxes, soon to be mandatory supposedly good for the environment products like electric cars, etc) on top of ordinary people that they must pay for out of ever decreasing incomes.

The great globalised consumer spending that feeds the multinationals often barely taxed cash reserves must not be endangered.

More and more control is being handed to fewer and fewer people that sit atop this ponzi pyramid.

Modern capitalism is ultimately a ponzi scheme that continues to require more and more new entrants.

Fooking hell the more I think about it the more it sounds conspiracy theory stuff, but just look where we are, how we have gotten here and how dystopian the future looks.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 7,858 ✭✭✭growleaves

Great summary.

The only thing you haven't touched on is the synthesis between this capitalist system and modern leftism (meaning of course not Marxism, but post-1960s New Left anti-racist/PC people).

Not only do leftists not oppose this system built on idolising money, but they personally see it as advancing their own agenda - which is apparently just destruction of Europeans' historic nations and heritage.

Post edited by growleaves on

• Registered Users Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

Excellent post which captures the fundamental drivers of globalisation.

Unrestrained capitalism - essentially greed- was always destined to arrive at the point where fewer and fewer people controlled greater and greater resources.

We are heading for feudalism, but on a global scale.

• Registered Users Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

This part was conveniently left out by the Government and media too. Nothing but bluster to appear strong on the issue while doing nothing. From our government? Who would have thought??

• No they didn’t. You just misread obviously.

I knew about that detail since days ago. It was in one of the first reports I read regarding the changes! 🤣

bit of a joke to an extent. I think it would be fair enough to reduce it back to €38 odd after 90 days if no job sorted.

As was said earlier I don’t think there’s a sinner in Ireland (besides the unhinged) who have a problem with folks coming here to work whether that be a doctor or nurse or whatever.

Coming here just for da cash is ridiculous and should not be allowed. For instance why did we accept 1/3 of the 100k from safe countries?

I watched the whole thing on RTÉ news and there wasn’t one mention of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

The problem is we are using terms that now have little to no relation to the meaning they once had.

For instance the modern so called left are so far removed from older leftists.

Britain's labour party of the 1960s were anti immigration as they saw it as competing against the interests of their supporters, voters and members.

In today's parlance they would seen as quiet fascist by the modern left.

The old left was concerned with working class people, unions, employment rights of workers, social ideals like affordable housing and healthcare for workers.

Yes the old left also cared to some degree about discrimination, equality between men and women and in later years turned to women's rights, gay rights, etc.

But a lot of the ones pushing those ideals were often the educated left, the ones who had gone to university, the ones who had often come from more affluent backgrounds.

These could often be disparagingly referred to as the champagne socialists.

The real socialists were often more worried about keeping a roof over their head and food in their bellies than these more lofty ideals.

The modern left now almost seems to be soley made up of this champagne socialist cohort and is solely concerned with identity politics, who can be called what, rights for imported minorities more often than not in preference to the old grassroots of the left, an adoption of the rights of foreigners in preference to ones own, anti borders, pro multiculturalism, controls on free speech, McCarthyist type removal of people who disagree with their narrative, anti christian with a huge guilt complex for the historic ills carried out often by the ancestors of people from totally different countries.

And the modern left actually, as said above by growleaves, are doing the bidding of modern ultra capitalists which is a total reversal of the former left.

And this same modern left now refer to anyone that doesn't agree with them as far right.

So the far right term has lost all meaning due to the modern left and it's associated media apparatchiks as it now encompasses everyone from Hitler and Mussolini to Jordan Peterson, Graham Linehan, JK Rowling, John McGuirk and a the lad down the pub who thinks we have too many asylum seekers.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 11,170 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

The 'far right' now seems to be anyone who disagrees with an establishment policy or point of view. It was remarkable listening to some woman on O'Connor's RTE radio programme recently - calling for greater police control, better armed police and monitoring of social media for anti state messaging - all in the battle against the 'far right'. You couldn't help but wonder if the real 'far right' wasn't actually in the radio studio!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,551 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

RTE sent a reporter down to Killarney for the Drivetime programme about the opposition to more migrants being brought into the town.

Best part of it was a woman who obviously wasn't Irish saying we just have to suck it up and take in everyone who shows up because the Irish people went to other countries in the past.

Of course the spineless RTE guy hadn't the stones to mention anything to her about the couple of thousand already here who arrived with no documents.

This is the third day in a row that programme has sent a reporter to various locations around the country where there are migrants being sent into those areas, and its always the same narrative about how they are all salt of the earth lads with nothing to hide.

The cynic in me thinks that station is trying to push an agenda because the Government is getting serious pushback on the way they are handling the immigration question.

Ya think?! This has been the media’s playbook from day one.

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Gussoe

Would love to see a government cut RTE down to size, then re-furbish half that RTE complex to house refugees. Would be a grand spot for it too.

The Government won't do that, instead they will bail it out with more of our taxes and RTE will act as their spin doctors.

I wonder how many refugees Rodders O Gorman has in his gaff?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,589 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Always remember that in the last 12 months, a huge total of 6 refugees have been housed in Dublin 4, the location of rte.

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Coolcormack1979

Anyone still listening to Pravda as a bastion of honesty and not pushing an agenda is making a big mistake first off.

ffg know they are in big trouble and all the puff pieces on radio will do nothing to change that

4 of them probably went back to their country of origin. Couldn’t stand the people up there, would rather take their chances in Georgia.

• While in state-supported housing, they will be given a weekly payment of €38.80 as opposed to be being able to claim €220 in jobseekers’ allowance, which Ukrainians who are currently living here are entitled to. However, once they leave state accommodation centres, they will be able to claim the full rate of the jobseeker payment.

from independent on Monday.

Wait till all these all these Gazan lads turn up with crippling PTSD. Wonder will Rodders have a tent city constructed in anticipation for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,601 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The entire Irish media have an agenda and a playbook, but not the Gript crowd.....they have no agenda at all?

That’s the best you can do?

“RTE/Virgin Media/Irish Times etc are all biased, but look over here at this tiny right wing paper no one cares about!!”

I keep on reading about the 'MSM' and its agenda. The MSM would be all TV stations, radio stations and newspapers in Ireland : watched, listened to and read by 99% of the population, but seemingly they are operating to some mystery playbook and forcing their liberal opinions on their viewers, listeners and readers.

• Registered Users Posts: 562 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

Great post, one thing or two I would add to it though is there are alot of foot soldiers in the modern left who would high five themselves all round if 500,000 migrants descended into Ireland in the morning if only to serve one purpose - to piss off those who they see as their political opponents.

These same foot soldiers will happily tell you that the Dail is male, pale and stale. They harbour a strong disgust for the White man, and in any other scenario it would be called out as clear as day racism. The following comes to mind when describing what the foot soldiers do - "Accuse the other side of that which you are guilty."

• Registered Users Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

I'm not the one claiming the Irish media has a "playbook" when it comes to immigration (people don't seem to accept that the media here is largely in step with its own readers and viewers.....why would they need to brainwash a country that is largely not right wing or conservative?).

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭tikka16751

No reason to work to 75 years of age, common good.

Succinct examination of the current situation. Glad you’re finally starting to get it!

Well then you’re plainly admitting they are not objective, if only “being in step” with their readers. The fact of the matter is even if they were reflecting the views of Irish people, they would at least question or put an alternative narrative across on immigration, as according to all recent polling, nearly 75% of Irish people are in favour of limiting any more Asylum Seekers into the state. Yet they don’t do this, all they do is give fluff pieces on refugees and ignore any negative coverage on the issue, whenever there is any semblance of “balance” they’ll have one right wing contributor on flanked by 3 NGO or government types and will be shouted down, interrupted or called far right constantly. It’s plain to see to anyone with eyes that our so called “free press” are beholden to the government and NGO talking points and rhetoric on this issue. I don’t even see how any reasonable person could even deny this at this stage of the races.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,873 ✭✭✭Augme

The purpose of media, outside of Rte, is to make money. The reality is there isn't a huge market for right wing media organisations in Ireland, like there isn't much demand for ring wing political parties.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭rgossip30

Perhaps you can show a link that it is a legal requirement. There was no obligation or legal requirement to pay the highest welfare rates in the EU .The policy was decided by Government with an NGO lobby.Do stop trying to play the victim hoping the poster will get a ban .

Post edited by rgossip30 on