Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immigration to Ireland - policies, challenges, and solutions *Read OP before posting*

• Registered Users Posts: 19,539 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Perhaps the government should take into account these protests. If there are too many protests, then move the immigrants elsewhere.

But the funds for development and maintenance which would have gone towards facilities in the area, whether directly or indirectly in support of the IP people should follow them elsewhere. If the people in Ballyshannon or wherever don't want immigrants sent up from Dublin, then we'll have to assume they don't want funds sent up either. If the migrants end up in Athlone, then put Athlone up the priority list for funds - because they will need them. Bump Ballyshannon down. There will be a point at which practical financial considerations will override other issues.

(But I definitely think there should be a two stream process for those with documentation and those without)

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Coolcormack1979

So bribe an area with their own tax paid money.god the more bizarre it gets.resort to blackmail

• Registered Users Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭rgossip30

This will likely continue to be a permanent holding site if they are to be moved to permanent accommodation .The cost of providing this free housing .The effect this will have on Irish citizens looking for paid or rental housing. ! The numbers are unreal .

Post edited by rgossip30 on

• Registered Users Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

My niece (30s in demand cancer nurse) and her husband (30s driver) and their 3 children(future tax payers) are returning to Australia after giving it a go here for the last 18 months, they had previously been in Aus for 8 years or so... They're returning for the lifestyle and their children's future and we're sad but can't blame them.... This Imv is a microcosm of what's happening in many families here, our own are leaving and we're getting the Puskas (no they shouldn't be here on welfare since they arrived) and the Palanis, the Ipo's, the Ukrainianians afraid to let go of the welfare blanket, the lads the UK and mainland Europe are glad to see the back of coming down through Belfast and the rest of the mixed bag of shysters, scammers, and genuine refugees... The whole thing is a sad mess overseen by incompetents and clowns and it is the citizen taxpayers who are getting the worst of the bargain, this is not a serious country

• Registered Users Posts: 892 ✭✭✭JPCN1

You wouldn’t fancy canvassing in Kerry as a govt TD… Brendan Griffin FG not running and he’s only 41…. Leo must be getting huge pressure but all he’s prepared to do is waffle. Why they stick with him is becoming very hard to understand.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Augme

A centralised tax system would be much fairer. Taxes raised by people in ballyshannon should only be used to fund services in bally Shannon. Everyone's happy then.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,170 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

It's quite an outrageous position - basically we'll beggar your town if you don't take this lot. If any politician dreams of uttering this, they should be politely but firmly told to leave this island.

I believe it's already happening but it won't be written into the minutes of any meeting, such propositions are made in the corridor or in phone calls

• Registered Users Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Ahwell

Except as many Irish people are returning to live here as are leaving. Net migrant of Irish people is nearly zero.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

It's amazing though how Housing was never an issue for FF/FG until the war in Ukraine.

In fact their Housing policy prior to that was nicely summed up by Leo Varadkar over a Zoom meeting with US Vulture "investors" with "stick with us". AKA - Come and buy up huge amounts of estates and properties, rack up the rent, rip off the Irish people and we'll support you 100%. Their Housing policy was exactly like their immigration policy - a blank sheet of paper with nothing on it.

Then along came the Ukrainians and others and suddenly modular homes were being built, ads run on the radio for available rooms, tax free incentives, etc....

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Government seems to be taking notice.

Our so called Taoiseach has asked any refugees who already have shelter in another country not to come to Ireland.

He wouldn't be out of place in a sketch from fr Ted.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Ahwell

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭enricoh

He has asked them not to come. If the Ukrainians choose not to heed his advice come the new year Leo is only housing them for 90 days. After that they'll still get full dole- let the squatting commence.

Can anyone really see women and children being put out of state accommodation after the 90 days. Never going to happen imo. We have seen before what the waiting room in a police station with the local priest gets you. Never going to happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,324 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Why don't we do this with criminals? Seems a much easier/cheaper way than all that law enforcement effort.

Lads, please don't commit any crimes.

Cheers Leo

Eh, no. It's common sense. Money goes to where it is most needed. Send the money (and the associated jobs) elsewhere.

Why on earth would a location get allocated money from the refugee budget if it has no refugees? What sort of an eejit would think "We want X percent of the national budget for Y, but we aren't going to have any Y here to spend it on"

If your two-room school with falling numbers out the back arse of nowhere is a bit draughty then you are not going to be as high a priority as the town with 400 new immigrants of child bearing age.

Is that not really what we're doing in alot of cases at the minute. People appearing in couurts on there 10,20 30 40th conviction.

Not at all. All these IP people cost money. Wherever they are put.

You can't expect to get a share of the associated expenditure if you don't have any in your area. That would be a bit silly -"Yeah, we're not accepting them here, but we still want the money that would have been spent on them here if there had been allowed. There would have been a million spent on here for 100 of them and a million spent down in Ballygobackwards for another 100. What we want is to get that million into our pockets for nuttin', and for Ballygobackwards to take in 200 of them on their million"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,324 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

That's our version of enforcement yhoigh. As feeble as it is. Its still a lot more than simply asking people not to land on our shores. Like we don't have border controls etc.

It should be a declaration and enforcement. Not a request.

We're full, if you arrive you'll be detained and returned to your departure destination.

I have no confidence in the government of this country to even be able to implement anything that even resembles a proficient immigration enforcement let alone care. Sadly and IMHO whenever it gets that bad they have to implement something the country will be a complete irretrievable mess. And the biggest cry out will come from the welcome all brigade who were brainwashed by profiteering NGOS.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭maninasia

It's should be massively positive given the employment stats..that it is not but just balancing out at most tells you something ,,after COVID there was a boost in folks moving back but that is done now.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,589 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

But it's not good for business owners. This is proven.

It's good for whoever owns the accommodation, yes they are getting a guaranteed contract, full occupancy at a great rate for a year or two or three. But these refugees aren't spending much and there is less tourists. So vast majority of businesses are seeing a big drop off in sales and letting staff go.

In that video from Ballyshannon, a business owner said he is down 70% in sales. Tourism is one of Ireland big sources of income, but if the tourists have nowhere to stay, they can't come and spend money.

• Registered Users Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

Yes, the situation in Killarney is acute in this regard. Another example this government, in their anxiety to be " best Europeans" lacking foresight.

Ah well there's 5 more on the living abroad side of the equation for the next lot of statistics.. Sometime when I have time I'd like to dig down into those statitistics re indigenous Irish and naturalised Irish included under the "Irish national" heading

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Coolcormack1979

All them qualified “doctors and engineers “ coming from the back arse of Africa.ya right believe what u want.such far leftists bs

You don't need to share your own imagined fantasies about what all those young men do or what they are qualified in. That's personal to yourself. Far be it from me to interfere with anyone else's fantasy, regardless of how relevant or irrelevant (as your is) to whatever discussion is taking place. I will however point out that it has nothing got to do with the concept of priortising funds for X for the locations which will be dealing with X.