Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immigration to Ireland - policies, challenges, and solutions *Read OP before posting*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Incidents like this are to be expected when people with justified concerns are ignored, marginalised and demonised.

It's a shame that building wasn't put to use for the benefit of the nation rather than commandeered for an immoral, bitterly unpopular process.

I'm finding it difficult to shed tears over an empty building in the context of constant brutality against Irish natives by people who should not have been in this country in the first place; to say nothing of the injustice, fraud and societal destabilisation attendant with the current influx.

Shameful days in this troubled state.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,262 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Day 2 of blockade and they burn the hotel? That's wrong. Moronic.

The other hotel in Oughterard was blockaded and no immigrants were moved in. There was no need to burn it.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,430 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Here's Roddy instructing his secretary on that matter

• Registered Users Posts: 670 ✭✭✭creeper1

For a blockade to work you and others got to be willing to leap out of bed at 1am if the call comes through that they are trying to force a bus through.

They could do it any time and that includes Christmas day just as you are about to tuck into your turkey.

It's the government to blame and they have form on completely ignoring locals and sending in community engagement only after decisions already made.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Jizique

Historic hotel is pushing it a bit; maybe our president will put the 70 up in tents in his garden, or perhaps JP might bring them to Adare Manor

• Registered Users Posts: 18,602 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

One wonders just what is going in Ireland this year. Arson attacks on refugee centres or places earmarked for refugees are practically unheard of in the UK - and that is a place riven with rancorous debate and division over the immigration issue.

In Ireland, we've had the Dublin riots and now this. If anything, the debate on social media seems uglier here than cross channel.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

The middle aged and elderly women in Santry who were peacefully staging a blockade were removed by force in the late hours of the night. Migrants were then bussed past them. Complete bully tactics.

Drastic times call for drastic measures. Don’t want your hotel burned down, then keep trading as an hotel. Simples

• Registered Users Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Ahwell

No, it’s the person, or persons, who committed arson is to blame.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Yet another once unused property being put to use to house the poor crateurs who no doubt really turn out to be Spanish nationals, Donegal men, Offaly men when they unfortunately carry out some criminal acts.

I think we should stand back in awe how our government can afford to take over once unused building in a village in Galway to put up 70 young men, 90 young men in a B&B in Ballyshannon, possibly 170 young men a building that was going to be used as a nursing home in Rosslare.

Isn't it wonderful.

Welcome to Plantation Ireland 21st century style.

Shure maybe after all this they will get round to building schools for our children, providing buses for those children, cutting the waiting times for children to see consultants, giving more support to carers, building more social housing for those Irish people on the waiting lists for years.

Post edited by jmayo on

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 13,340 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Maybe focusing on the UK's problems with migrants is part of the problem. Making unnecessary comparisons not helping either.

Ignoring what's going on at home.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,262 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Why do ye blame a first (and last) time TD who is put of his depth? The immigration policy he enacts is approved by Leo, Michael and Eamonn at cabinet. Don't let those 3 idiots scapegoat a novice TD that is just passing through.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,551 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I'll tell you whats ugly is the lax immigration policies we have in this country where anyone can just show up without documents and a Taoiseach who says its easier to just leave some people here because its too hard to deport them even though they have no right to be in Ireland.

A few of you on the left that post here just don't want to accept that most of the men coming here are economic migrants.

These days when everyone has a smartphone and internet access they will know its easier to play the system here compared to other EU countries because we deport such low numbers and rely on "self deportation" instead of physically putting them on a plane once a deportation order is signed.

We also allow access to the legal system free of charge, free healthcare and education if they ask for it and a roof over their heads.

I didn't agree with burning the hotel, keeping the pressure on with a blockade would have been the way to go on that one but it wasn't burned to the ground or anything like that and the fire was brought under control.

The State will have to pause any further asylum centre being created.

Further arson attacks are likely.

I got the impression the State had given up putting any more asylum centres in many parts of Dublin after the Eastwall protest.

They've been trying to put them in the middle of nowhere to minimise opposition.

Look how that ended up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Jizique

It will be hard to insure them, unless the state provides the insurance guarantee, which means the taxpayer

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭toucheswood

From a cursory glance, this hotel was bought by a texan family.

They were about to get a juicy contract off the government for housing migrants.

All while the local people were just to be lumped with no choice in the matter.

Beautiful.

Foreign owned asset paid no doubt handsomely by government to house migrants that government allow in to country against irish peoples wishes.

There's so many different ways you can highlight the sheer corruption at play, poetic in its summation. All across the country.

That the place was burned down is no surprise. It is the least damaging form of effective action to take in protest, an empty building.

For those who both cheer lead this brazen profiteering for year upon year, sending the country into a spiral of critical failure, and also silenced any opposition to it, well, you're gonna realise the price of being a hyper capitalist shiiteheel.

Nevermind the cost of this fiasco right now, think of the next generation of Europeans, and the next. These people are going to retaliate to a degree that'll make heads explode. It'll make the burning of empty buildings seem nostalgic.

What goes around comes around.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,520 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

It's amazing how quick the Gardaí and media are with the conclusion that it was protestors that did this. If it was an asylum seeker who was suspected of arson in this case they would leave open the possibility that they broke in to the hotel when they saw the flames and then used their clothes to soak up the remaining accelorant and that's why their clothes were covered in it when they were arrested with 25 boxes of matches in their pockets that they explained they were using to make model houses with.

Not to lose sight of the forest for the trees, the logical and pragmatic solution is to halt all but a trickle of genuinely beneficial migration while also seeking to repatriate migrants out of the country.

In some ways extremely complicated, in some ways extremely simple.

But there's no denying that the status quo of mass migration is a dead end. Even if migration were halted today, how many decades would it take to reach normalisation in the likes of housing? People are not that tolerant, especially those that are only coming into the situation now.

There was no problem whatsoever allowing a million extra people into the country, which is quite a commendable accomplishment considering the ever increasing costs. It works both ways, especially when the reverse has untold benefit as opposed to cost.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,795 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Is anyone actually surprised that this has happened?

I am surprised it took so long to happen and make no mistake people in other counties will take notice of this.

Some people desperately want to save their communities and it only takes one person to burn down a building.

The goverment are going to have to come up new ideas.

The governance of the country do have to come up with a new idea, and that new idea is invariably both the halting and reversal of migration.

There's no ducking or diving away from it. And no doubt it'll take a while for that penny to drop, probably a government or two later, but it's coming. There simply is no alternative.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,581 ✭✭✭jackboy

Why? The burning of the hotel is a great boost for the government. More evidence that anti migrant protests are violent far right activities. Such events mean the government can continue with current policies while doubling down on calling people far right racists.

You have to think ahead beyond any little incident.

There is one single issue that binds all mounting problems in this country and that is mass migration.

The government here, and elsewhere, are just goners. They have died on the hill they made, it's a foregone conclusion.

They'll attempt to introduce some rhetoric into the situation come elections about getting tougher on migration, but people aren't interested in rhetoric. They want housing fixed, healthcare fixed, education fixed, and then there is the less tangible issues of identity and culture simmering beneath too.

You can't talk your way out of that situation. You also cannot build or fix your way out of that situation, not while the country is over crowded.

There woudnt be many people left that believe the hilariously biased reporting in this country. A recent case being the report of nursing homes closing to a detrimental extent, while conveniently forgetting to mention the trend of those very same places seeking to be repurposed into migrant centres. Less are fooled by the day. As the saying goes, the dogs on the street know the story.

The people deathly afraid of the far right have simply renamed reality as the far right. "Oh no, this *insert completely logical consequence* is only going to give ammunition to reality!"

This is only heading one way, bumps along the road or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,581 ✭✭✭jackboy

One thing we know for sure, the next government will be 100% for continuing the current immigration policies. This is guaranteed as all government and opposition parties back these policies. As I have said before, if the war in Gaza continues to get worse, there will be another Ukraine war scale influx of immigrants coming here. There is more chance of things getting much much worse than better.

The people coining it on mass migration have the government's ear, if not a lot more.

The only time they'll take their noses out of the trough is when a little blip happens like a building burning down.

If that's what they want people to absorb as the lesson, consider it learned, for better and worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Juran

In autumn 2022 and again 2023, we read stories of students in Galway University sleeping in tents, their cars or on peoples sofas as they could not find affordable accomidation. Funny, I didnt see any state or local authority lease old hotels, or renovate disused buildings to house the poor feckers (our future engineers, doctors and nurses).

• Registered Users Posts: 7,387 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

That's a bizarre take. The burning of the hotel is as far as possible from a boost as can be. It shows that opposition to these centres has escalated from marches and blockades - which can be bought or coerced away, to destructive protests which have taken that hotel completely off the table as an option.

Furthermore, it will embolden other communities to take similar direct action as it will be seen to be very effective. These communities have been branded as racist xenophobes already by the powers that be, so they clearly feel they have nothing to lose.

It means that the status quo is no longer tenable. Suddenly I suspect, things that couldn't be done, were absolutely impossible (because of "international obligations") will now be options.

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭Blind As A Bat

The culture and uniqueness of Ireland will change dramatically 

That's what's really doing my head in. To be honest, I'm heartbroken. I really feel like I'm losing my homeland.