Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2023 - Favourite Gigs of the Year

• 24-12-2023 11:40am
    Registered Users Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭

We did this last year and it was for a Top Three, but most people had additional honourable mentions.

My own top three would probably be:

Wilco, Cork Opera House

Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, RDS (night two)

Depeche Mode, Malahide Castle

Wilco were phenomenal in the Olympia, but somehow managed to surpass it in Cork.

Springsteen's three night stand was fantastic, but night two, in particular, seemed to be the night of choice for those who did more than one show.

Depeche Mode in Malahide was glorious. Apparently galvanised by the loss of Fletch, Dave and Martin delivered - in my opinion - their best album this century and were as great live as they've ever been.

The top two don't feature in my photo collage above, as I made the decision to just focus on the gig. Likewise, the PJ Harvey photo (from night two) was one of only a handful that I took.

Honourable mentions: 

PJ Harvey, Olympia (night one) - worth the admission price for Man-Size and Dress alone.

Elton John, 3Arena (night one) - I saw five shows on the tour and this and Cork 2022 were probably the best two.

OMD in St. Anne’s Park were magnificent (as always). It should be a showbiz maxim: Don't work with children or animals and never follow OMD on a bill. Soft Cell, never likely to work in daylight in a park to begin with, sank like a stone. Arguably the dud of the year.

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Billie Eilish (x2)

• Registered Users Posts: 324 ✭✭spindex

Queens of the stone age at the point for me. Band were incredibly tight, a really enjoyable night.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,353 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Best performance - the Darkness, Wolverhampton

2nd - The Who, Hull

3rd - Kaiser Chiefs, Galway

Honorable mentions - Elton, Sting, The Hollywood Vampires

Best overall show - Sting, Blondie, Lyra and Joe Sumner, Malahide Castle

Best support - Michael Monroe supporting Black Star Riders, the Tramshed, Cardiff

• Registered Users Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭hamburgham

Pulp in St Anne’s.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,399 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Hard to pick but it was a great year

2024 looking solid

• Registered Users Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭TheDocMan

Puscifer- Olympia

Whores - Grand Social

Muse - 3 Arena

Honourable mentions :

Thee Oh Sees - Button Factory

Billy Talent - Acadmey

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,517 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Black Stone Cherry - Academy

Aephanemer - Grand Social

Cruachan - Andersons, Sligo

Rodrigo Y Gabriella - Vicar Street

Eric Gales, Lawrence Jones, Grainne Duffy and Band of Friends at Rory Gallagher fest - Ballyshannon

Beast in Black - Academy

Iris DeMent - Knocknarea Arena

• Registered Users Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Go on so.

1. PJ -Olympia

2. Wilco - Olympia

3. Young Fathers - Olympia

Honourable mentions to BC Camplight at Whelan's and pretty much everything I saw at EOTR, particularly Angel Olsen, Geese, Sam Burton, Bodega, Personal Trainer and Divorce.

Cheers to a deadly 2024!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

C&P from the other thread:

Had about 50 gigs this year plus 2 festivals. Plenty of good shows, a fair smattering of not so good but definitely two clear winners:

Weedeater and Whores. Both in the Grand Social and both heartily obliging in providing heavy, dirty riffs at a proper volume.

Honourable mentions to Loop (Whelans), Slowdive (National Stadium), Swans (Academy) Jim Jones All Stars (Upstairs@Whelans) and Thurston Moore (Whelans).

Hmmm...looks like the youth need to up their game.

Big on the all mouth and trousers scene

• Registered Users Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭davywalsh7

Qotsa - 3 arena

muse - 3 arena

noel Gallagher - kilmainham

will butler - whelans

Pulp - st annes

arctic monkeys - 3 arena

Blur - Malahide

• Registered Users Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

3arena - Muse and Queens of the stone age

Olympia - the Darkness

EP - Viagra boys and Strange boy

• Registered Users Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Noel Gallagher - Kilmainham. Brought me right back to my youth.

Yard Act - Vicar Street. Excellent band.

Sleaford Mods - National Stadium. Absolutely love these lads.

Honourable mention to High Fade, Tom Meighan, Badly Drawn Boy and Kasabian.

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭keeponrockin

1. QOTSA The Point

2. BLUR Malahide.

3. Depeche Mode Malahide.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

1). The Aces in Whelans, great performance and lovely atmosphere.

2). The 1975 in St Annes Park

3). The Vamps in the SSE Arena Belfast

Kasabian in the Olympia as well gets a mention

• Registered Users Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭rednik

Peter Gabriel 3 Arena, superb night with Peter and band. Several tracks from the new album blended in well with all the old classics.

Iron Maiden 3 Arena. I was not too impressed when I saw the setlist but on the night they were incredible and probably the best I have ever seen them. The sound was great and Bruce's vocals were excellent.

Robert Cray in the NCH. Great gig from a fantastic musician and very humble man, sound on the night was excellent.

Honorable mention. Elvana in the Academy. Great craic and a great band to get a crowd going.

I got to see Guns N Roses in the Hollywood Bowl last month which was unreal and I doubt I will ever get near the venue again. Black Keys supported and they were great.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭fluke

Queens of the Stone Age - The Point. Nothing else came close.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Lana del ray - 3 Arena. Brought my daughter and personally was not expecting much but it was one of the loudest and best audiences I've ever witnessed at a gig. Great performance by LDR

Best of the rest

Young Fathers - Olympia

Lankum - Vicar Street

BoyGenius - kilmainham

Pavement - Galway

Most disappointing - Bruce, RDS, Night 1

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭colmufc

James at forest fest

Sam fender at malahide

Queens of the stone age at 3arena

Some of the best shows I've ever seen never mind just this year and I've high hopes for some more great moments next year

• Registered Users Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭Jaffa3000

The top 2 for me were Springsteen on the second night and Extreme in London, head and shoulders above the rest.

Was at quite a few gigs I’d consider for third best, Sam Fender at Malahide (with a fantastic cover of The Boys Are Back In Town), Arctic Monkeys, Noel Gallagher or even The Last Dinner Party a week ago.

Great year overall, though I think 2024 will be better.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,861 ✭✭✭RayCon

Top 3 :

1. Ghost - Berlin, 6th June

2. Iron Maiden - Dublin, 24th June

3. Overhead, The Albatross - Dublin 15th July

Honorable Mentions:

1. Scullion - Dublin, 14th April

2. Katatonia - Dublin, 6th Nov

3. Riverside - Dublin 18th April

4. Robyn Hitchcock - Dubln, 3rd Feb

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭thebronze14

1. Pulp - Transmt Glasgow
    2. PJ Harvey - Olympia
    3. Blur - Malahide
    4. Inspiral Carpets - Leeds
    5. Noel G - Kilmainham

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Was at both Wilco's and all three Springsteens. Agree with your assessment here mate.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 War ensemble

Airbourne in the Academy was a clear number one. Maiden & Steel Panther were superb too. Roisin Murphy was enjoyable, Trinity is a great venue.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,891 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Black Country, New Road - Olympia

Weyes Blood - Vicar St.

Wednesday - Opium

• Registered Users Posts: 12,589 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Inspiral Carpets - Wild Roots

Iggy Pop - ATN

Aphex Twin, Fever Ray - Field Day

Idles, De Danann - EP.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭dasdog

Nice warm evening too like London two weeks before. This was nuts.

• Registered Users Posts: 852 ✭✭✭corm500

Sting/Blondie at Malahide was my standout this year

• Registered Users Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭Shakyfan

Been a busy year with a total of 40 live shows attended. These would be my Top 10.

25 November Undertones Telegraph Buildimg

11 February Chris McCausland Mandela Hall

01 October Nik Kershaw The Live Rooms, Chester

08 October Busted SSE Arena

16 June Tom Jones Ormeau Park

03 June Lionel Richie Ormeau Park

19 August Stiff Little Fingers Custom House Square

07 May Showaddywaddy Waterfront Hall

03 November Saw Doctors Waterfront Hall

12 October Christy Moore Waterfront Hall

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭Beagslife

2023 was my gateway back to regular gig going, my attendances having dwindled to a few gigs a year since moving abroad in the early 2000's!

Last years best gigs for me were:

Natalie Merchant | Olympia Theatre | November

Lana del Rey | 3 Arena | July

PJ Harvey | Olympia Theatre | September

Luka Bloom | St Augustine's - Derry | May

Joachim Cooder | Hawk's Well - Sligo | September

Other gigs of note:

Arctic Monkeys | 3 Arena | October

Iris DeMent | ATU Sligo | October

The Saw Doctors | Olympia Theatre | October

Lloyd Cole | Olympia Theatre | October

The Blades | The Academy | December