Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, who's cancelling Prime because of the Ads

• 28-12-2023 11:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭

Me for 1. I'm not paying 36 euros extra a year to avoid ads for the 3 shows I actually want to watch on Prime.

Free delivery on Amazon is worthless as everything puts up the price by at least the cost of delivery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭terryduff12

Ya ill be cancelling, aint doing any ads on any service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

No, I have prime for free shipping.

TV is just a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭johndoe99

I only ever signed up for Prime Delivery, only watch a few TV episodes here and there, in total probably 3 hours viewing in a week. Couldn't care about some ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Norrie Rugger Head

I've cancelled. When I've enough junk to get delivered I'll sign up then cancel again.

I was satisfied enough paying for Netflix (from Turkey), Prime, Apple, Disney but these price increases and ads have me at Netflix and Disney

Apple is fantastic but just not enough stuff

Prime has only a few good shows

More and more I'm sailing the seven seas again.

They're eating the DOGS!!!

Donald Trump 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

It used to be free shipping. Have you compared the price of goods with paid shipping vs prime eligible items?

Also, loads of stuff doesn't even ship to ireland anymore

There are so many great shows to watch for free (with ads) on C4 that I'd just watch them for free if I had to choose between that and paying extra for ad free prime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

I have and I buy plenty from Amazon, it works out much better for me to keep prime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,275 ✭✭✭✭banie01

I rarely use prime for Video/TV, it was a "bonus" that apart from Jack Ryan and some Rugby games I barely used. I got Prime for cheap and quick delivery.

Now that said, I don't like the idea of being nickel and dimed to death while streamers slowly figure out that they are just a form of network TV that needs advertising revenue to balance their books. I don't think I'll cancel prime just yet, but it's coming.

Kodi and real-debrid are all anyone really needs to enjoy the high seas these days☠️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,293 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I won’t be cancelling prime , even though I forgot about soccer games on it over Christmas . I find it very handy for deliveries . Though I’m in NI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Norrie Rugger Head

NI prime is a different beast ant truly shows how **** ours is, on the same fecking island

They're eating the DOGS!!!

Donald Trump 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭StudentDad

I had Prime, got rid of it. Ran into a bloody annoying notice that the show I was watching was unavailable in my region (Ireland). Not the first or second season. The third season. So I dumped Prime and tracked down the box set on dvd at a nice price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭Tork

I had been thinking about cancelling anyway and this might be the straw that breaks the camel's back. Now that Christmas is over, I don't think there'll be much shopping done here for a while. I've always seen Prime Video as a perk of the overall Prime service, rather than a must-have. Its selection of movies and TV series has improved but it's nothing special. There are also so many streaming choices out there now, there's no way anybody can keep up with it all. I think people can live with ads when they're watching videos for free. When you're paying for a service and now they introduce ads, it's a different story.

When I was abroad, some of Amazon's content was offered via IMDB and had ads. If they serve up the ads in the same manner as they did with this IMDB service, it'll definitely annoy people. Nobody likes ads at the best of times but when they start up randomly in the middle of scenes they're particularly distracting. I'll probably wait and see what the ads are like first before making a decision. But probably, I'll cancel. Then at some point I might re-subscribe and pay full whack for a month or two, then cancel again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,293 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

They know we’ll stump for it , while brits won’t pay over the odds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I think a lot of the common stuff ships from Amazon in Ireland now. Not sure why they have people buying across currencies from Amazon.co.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,581 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

How were people informed of this?

I didn't get any email from them about it!

I am not too happy about this either, but I just worked out how much each delivery cost me in 2023 vs the cost of monthly prime.

It was 3.50 per delivery.

Now I can't be certain, but that seems pretty low compared to what non prime delivery is.

I also don't want to use prime video again, as a kinda protest, but the only one who loses out there is me.

I'm angry, but I'm not going to change anything! :(

Have you factored in that non Prime delivery is free over €30 or so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Str8outtaWuhan

Have UK prime, use it for delivery and watch via VPN. Also get 2 free tickets to cinema each month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭SharkMX

I wouldnt ever watch an ad again. Youtube had me drive mad til i figured out how to bypass ads.

I only watch the odd thing on Prime. If I see an ad on it i wont watch it again, but i will keep it for the delivery.

I have Netflix only now.

I did have Disney until last week but when I saw the price increase to renew i cancelled it.

Now I have found a way to pay the half the yearly subscription of one of those services but that that gets me all of them for free plus sports I think i'll cancel Netflix too. I definitely will if the price goes up or i ever see an ad on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Cancelled mine too. I’ll bundle shipping if I need to, if anything I’ve found myself not buying things I want at a whim so saving money.

The shite product we receive compared to the UK for the same price, added to the price we are charged for firesticks in comparison are the two main reasons I cancelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭RainInSummer

Have prime for the shipping really, only ever watched one or two shows on it.

I'm paid up for the year though so won't cancel until next winter.

The literal only thing that caught my eye on prime was a documentary on women going missing in the midlands from the 80s on.

You guessed it, not available in your region. A documentary about crime in Ireland that you can't watch in Ireland. That's the job Jeff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭mcgragger

When are these adds coming in ?

I haven't seen them yet ?

Does that mean they've upped my fee without telling me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭RainInSummer

January. Not here yet. It's opt in as far as I know.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,062 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

They’ve not even announced the introduction of ads in ROI at the moment. Real jumping the gun here. We may get adverts at some point in the future, if Amazon can make money out of it (is Prime Video even that big in this market?) but right now it doesn’t appear there are any plans outside of Amazon’s core markets.

https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/entertainment/prime-video-update-announces-limited-ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth Randomer

OP seek out a recent video on Louis Rossmann about this ads in Amazon viewing issue. Some extra swearing too. Enjoy.

Although I have a JVC fire TV which is recommended for Amazon prime addicts I don't have Amazon prime.

If I was you I would email them about canceling the yearly subscription and getting a refund unless they upgrade you to the ad free version. You're not getting what you signed up for

All subscribers will see adds appearing by Feb unless they pay to remove them. It's BS and I certainly won't be renewing

We'll I'm subscribed via Amazon.co.uk so Im presuming they include ireland and the UK as the same market except where there are rights restrictions

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

What adverts? I don't get any ads on primevideo. This said, I normally I only sign upto prime for a month a year to catch up on a load of shows. Get a week free plus a tenner for four more, get everything done in 5 weeks. Gmail is brilliant with the adding a random full stop in anywhere to get a new account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭RayCon

Thanks for the reminder ... just cancelled. Not because of Ads on Prime. I just got Prime for deliveries on the run up to Christmas - don't need it now - was due to be billed on Jan 4th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Just a reminder to people: You can cancel now and you will still get the remainder of the period you've paid for. You don't need to remember to do it at the end of the subscription.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,062 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

No they don’t, or at least they didn’t use to. This is different to Netflix, Disney+ and Paramount+ where the UK and Irish catalogues are essentially the same (or have very small differences).

Originally this was down to Amazon having entered the UK VOD market through buying Lovefilm which only had UK rights. They only entered the ROI market when The Grand Tour came out and the catalogue differences were originally huge (at first in ROI they had Amazon Originals and little else). As the years have gone by the differences have become less and less and I don’t think they are as significant now as they used to be but they are still there.

”Prime” example (sorry!!!) Premier League football is only available in the UK not Ireland (though they will be losing that after 2024-25).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,043 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

This will just lead to people going back to piracy.

They couldn't defeat it back in the mid 2000s. They certainly won't be able to stop it now

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭markjbloggs

cancelled too. Hate Ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

What are the differences between a UK subscription and one here in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭supereurope

I've just cancelled mine right now. Other than live tennis, I haven't watched much on Prime Video in the last 18 months, so with Prime giving up tennis, it was on my to-do list to cancel anyway. The announcement of ads was a handy reminder for me to do it today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,581 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Fair point, had forgotten about that, I've had prime for so long.

Quick calc suggests 85% of the stuff i got was under that €30 figure!

No the prices in the notice were GBP and USD.

UK prime and American prime is accessed through amazon site directly at Amazon co uk or Amazon com, but we access it via primevideo com.

It might have be different rules!

I still haven't been informed of this change anyway!

Primevideo can be paid separately by euro if you want this sub, but it can also be a perk from having full prime on UK site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭PeterDuggan

After a 22% increase last year, greedy Amazon now want ad income as well (or a further 35% increase from you). That's what they think of you.

If you go along with that, you're just encouraging more increases.

No. Amazon only understand one thing - money. If they lose significant subscribers they'll think twice or maybe even abandon this latest increase.

So at least threaten to cancel.

And if you're in a year term (which they're trying to breach) request a full refund.

You can always rejoin anytime.

Who do you threaten to cancel? Do you stand outside the fulfillment centre in Baldonnell with a pitchfork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭jj880

Apart from "The Boys" we wouldn't be arsed with anything streaming on Prime. Ok maybe the new Fargo now too. I sign up mid October and cancel mid December for Christmas stuff. If its a free trial great. If not thats the only time it pays for itself with delivery fees and quick dispatch on Amazon for us. Over £25 per order the rest of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭corsav6

I'm not registered with Amazon and when I share a link with my wife the price always increases for her as she's logged in.

I was on the hunt for a new phone, spotted 1 for €199 on Amazon with free delivery, when I shared it with the wife to buy it on her account the price jumped to €239, far more then the delivery would have cost.

It's also the VAT and Duty difference of course. You're not logged in, so you get the UK pricing, she is logged in with a delivery address in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭corsav6

We've went through the purchase steps and it's not the vat and charges, they bring it up by just over €6 total.

It shows €239 on the main page but it increases to €247 or thereabouts on the payment page.

It's clearly a different pricing structure for prime members to include the delivery fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭SodiumCooled

I don’t believe there is a different pricing structure something else going on if this difference was really there (maybe the seller doesn’t ship to Ireland and was defaulting to a different seller when logged in). Just checked the last 10 items I ordered and all same price I paid vs. checking signed out. Also checked a few more random items and again prices the same.

I hadn’t heard about the ads, we have prime for delivery but some in the house do follow a few shows on prime video. Could get them shows by other means but wouldn’t cancel based on a few ads since we don’t have it for prime video in the first place.

Unsubscribed without even knowing about the ads coming.

Did the same with Netflix & Paramount.

All gone far too expensive when all added up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭MakersMark

I like the free books in Prime Reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭AyeGer

I will definitely be cancelling if the adds appear during a film or show. If it’s a couple of add’s before the film starts I probably wouldn’t care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,474 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

I've just ordered something for less than a tenner that will be delivered on Thursday (now a bank holiday Monday). If I drove to the nearest place to buy the same thing it would cost me over a tenner in petrol. It doesn't take many purchases like that for the Prime fee to pay for itself. Then the occasional time there is something worth watching on Prime is as others have said a bonus.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,033 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Im seriously considering getting rid of all my subs. My dodgy stick has everything and the content on netflix, prime and disney has gone to the dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭jj880

Same here cancelled Disney+ last month. Only have Netflix as its a shared 4k sub. Once the share ban hits us that's gone too.

IPTV has everything merged in 1 place with a great continue watching section that covers all films and tv shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,031 ✭✭✭SteM

Cancelled it last year, free shipping just encouraged us to buy to much crap.