Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2024/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭kingshankly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,659 ✭✭✭The Rooster

I think because he was getting insufficient game time rather than us needing him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,136 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Not surprising tbh. He needs a good loan to get him playing again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Well, well, well.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭eigrod

Great result at Fulham. Still top of the league with a game in hand on most. Exciting times. Jurgen Klopp football genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,747 ✭✭✭giveitholly

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭Spr1ngsteen

Hopefully we can capitalise on it now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,792 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

2 losses on the bounce for Arsenal and 1 pont from a possible 9 is not a good end to the year (for them).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,513 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Tbf, we have CC and FA cup games he could get some minutes in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭kingshankly

finish the year on top can’t ask any more than that I know we may have a poor record after leading the way on January the first but this city team arnt the same animal as the ones in previous years city match at Anfield may decide the title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Happy fcuking new year.........

• Registered Users Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Great result for Fulham, they are playing well and will be difficult to get over in the league cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,512 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

We lose Endo, we gain a MacAllister.

Hopefully Elliott steps up for Salah on the right, Jota back too. Good timing these returns

7pt from a possible 18pts , for Arsenal the last 6 games

14pts from a possible 18pts, for Liverpool the last 6 games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Delighted to be in the position we are but don't see us being able to maintain it.

Salah and Endo will be big losses and the return of KDB will make City formidable once again.

I can see us dropping points along the way that we woudn't expect to be dropping. The PL is so bloody competitive that if teams show up (on the day) anything can happen.

Brilliant to be where we are though.

On paper - and with the injuries Newcastle have - we should be winning tomorrow night. An early goal and it could be floodgates. Fingers crossed.

Newcastle 19th in the away table, only Sheffield below them

.... a big win at Anfield for them in that case ha

We need to beat these travel sick boys

It's not even the games that Salah is missing that worries me. It's the rest of the season afterwards.

Two years ago he scored 7 league goals in 16 games after the AFCON.

He scored 16 in 20 before AFCON that season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,621 ✭✭✭Damien360

I vaguely remember him coming back looking shattered. He got terrible abuse from the Egyptian president or FA for not getting them the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,802 ✭✭✭Enzokk

Not sure if you are just playing down where we find ourselves, but City's problem this year is not where KDB excels. They are still top scorers in the league so far this year so they have not, seemingly, missed him to create chances. He will not shore them up defensively where they are worse this year than before. Or maybe it is just other teams have upped their own performance going forward and this is putting them under more pressure.

I am still amazed that we have, if you follow some on here, been absolute dog crap and we are top at the moment. And this is not like 2020-21 where the creaks were showing due to the injuries we have. Our spine is settled so far this year so you do not expect such a drop we experienced then. Let's remind ourselves we went, from matchday 15 to matchday 28 we won only 3, drew 3 and lost 8 in that stretch. That was 12 points in 14 matches. So far from matchday 15 we have won 11 points in 5 matches. Our dropped points has been against United, I know they are not great but a derby is always tough and Arsenal.

All of this does not mean much really, but hopefully we will continue to surprise many on here and outperform how some think we are supposed to be performing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭brevity

Loan Ca

Loan him to a team City have to play away at an awkward time towards the end of the season.

I wonder would Leicester be interested in him? Dewsbury-Hall is probably the best player in the championship right now and plays in that advanced midfielder position but Carvalho can play in wider areas too. Liverpool had an interest in KDH previously but nothing materialized.

Leicester are playing at a good level and should win the championship, so it would be a good team to join.

Maybe Liverpool could ask for James Justin in return on loan, who can play at both RB & LB and even played as a CB as part of a back 3 iirc. Would solve some short term problems for ourselves at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,401 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

That's their first win in in normal time in five games (they beat Everton on penalties) and the first time they've won a game after going behind since October 2022.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,891 ✭✭✭✭klose

Always felt him losing the AFCON final affected him a bit that year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,302 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Absolute must win tomorrow, every game is but we have to win tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,747 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Also,didn't nearly every game he played in the knockouts go to extra time and penalties so he played a lot of extra minutes as well?

I think so.

Fatigue as well probably.

Mane on the other hand finished that season strong after a quietish first half of the season. Buzzing from a final win no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

We'll need more points in the second half that we got in the first half of the season, a similar return would put us around low/mid 80's points wise, it'll take more than that to win the league, it will probably be high 80's.

We always seem to up our performances after the new year so i hope that remains true this year as well, we are probably 2nd favourites now, if we are within 3 points at the end of March then we have a chance.

Don't know anything about the asian cup but i would imagine that Japan are the favourites and are likely to go deep in the competition, and Endo must be a starter for them so he'll clock up minutes, Mac will fill in grand at No.6 but i was excited to see him play as an No.8, that will have to wait. Salah although still scoring his general play this year has been well below what we've come to expect, maybe the AFCON will give him a reset and he'll come back stronger. I'd say Sobo will play in Salah's position and Elliott as the No.8 for the few games.

Salah should be staying for Newcastle, Arsenal in FA Cup, and Fulham Cup first leg, all done and dusted on Jan 10 , First game in Afcon is Jan 14, this thing of him leaving tomorrow for friendlies and training with Egypt is sad, he's match fit FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

You think 4 days is enough before a major tournament

4 days be plenty, it's not like he's Dennis Bergkamp ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,513 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Mo loves his country, wouldn't mess with that

Happy New Our year lads

First

In the league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,302 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Didn't realize afcon doesn't start until the 14th, bit ridiculous Salah has to leave 2 weeks before it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,702 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

He's available for the league game today though. You'd think he'd have been rested for the cup games anyway.

Only city and Newcastle done have players off to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭atilladehun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭.red.

The club's know this when signing African and Asian players. Teams meet up about 2 weeks in advance of all International tournaments.

It's a bit sh1t for us at the moment but it is what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭atilladehun

The time of year of the afcon really annoys me. Africa spans loads of climate regions. Yes January is suitable for Mediterranean Africa but sub Saharan Africa os actually more suitable in European summer.

They switched it once and then had the attitude that they'd done everyone a favour so don't dare ask again. They'd be doing themselves a favour if they were more flexible. Clearly some nations dominate the governing bodies while others get shafted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

All those continental tournaments should be at the same time, say for example in September or in March. Close down the club scene once every 4 years, and play them all.

The AFCON every 2 years is a bollix IMHO, devalues the tournament as well as everything else IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,659 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Yep. Like when playing for Liverpool, he gives 100% and is devastated when he loses big games. Hopefully if/when Egypt do lose, it’s a comprehensive defeat and not a really tight one.

It would be normal for any player to have one eye on a big tournament in their last match before it. Son was uncharacteristically awful for Spurs in the first half yesterday, but came through well in the second. Hopefully this evening goes well for Mo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

The AFCON only generates a small amount of revenue via broadcast rights, sponsorship etc. Stick it up against the COPA and the Euros as you're suggesting and that already small revenue gets cut to even less. But that revenue is just about all that is keeping African football afloat. Whatever amount filters down to grassroots level to maintain pitches, provide kits, fund regional teams etc would be gone.

So yes, forcing it into such a competitive window and reducing it to once every 4 years would indeed eliminate your worries about the release of African players, but unfortunately largely by reducing the amount of future poor African players who get to make it in European leagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,401 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Just saw that Owen Beck has been recalled from his loan with Dundee. Lots of Dundee fans complaining because he'd been flying with them and they think he'll be hugely missed. I doubt they'd be recalling him if they didn't plan on him playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭brevity

The Internet is such a ball ache these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭BRYAN Is Ainm Dom

Have you never heard of preparation for a tournament. Do you think when the WC or Euros happen that they teams only come together on the day of their first match??

Was just about to say the same thing. It must be have been going well for him to say that Dundee fans are very annoyed at losing him.

I wonder if he is being recalled for just cover for January (And go on again for the rest of the season) or will it be a rest of season long thing where he will be the back up, as Tsimikas is out long term now? There's lots of cup games in January. Potentially 4 iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,802 ✭✭✭Enzokk

You suspect it may be for the rest of the season that Beck is brought back. It makes no sense to sign another left back and we would not be able to sign one that will be happy to sit behind Robertson and possibly Tsimikas as well. You will need to get someone from within to fill the role on the bench until the senior players are available again.

Carvalho not for sale it seems, loan only, with guaranteed games, all of the bottom 7 clubs in PL need a player like him.

Rumours that Callum Wilson & Tripper missing for Newcastle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,770 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Bobby Dazzler