Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Calf to beef thread

• 01-01-2024 11:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭

With the new year finally in just wonder if people are planning on rearing many beef calves?,hoping to rear 40 here this year mainly Angus and Hereford

Milk replacer seems to be back a bit in price also..have been offered Grennans wonder thrive for €45 pet bag (pallet price)..anyone have much experienced of it?..foe the past few years we use shine once a day here usually but there is over €1000 in the price difference in a pallet compared to the grennans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

My avonmore/glanbia/tirlan rep was telling me about the twenty20 scheme goin and told me to look into it. Sounds attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

The rules about buying your inputs off tirlan is the bit I didn't like.The avantage scheme with abp is a bit more flexible doe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,978 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

As well ABP scheme is a a straigh top up, the Tirlan scheme has maximum prices paid.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭morphy87

I think you posted photos earlier in the year of your Calfs? How are they doing now at the time they looked like great cattle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,432 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Have had heifers in as drop calves previously. Switched to bull calves this year. Will be buying in another 12 or so in a month or two.

Probably LimX and BBx. Always a buyer for Lim's at the mart - we don't finish them ourselves.

What are people's thoughts on BB for calf to beef? Unless you buy off farm it's hard to be sure you are getting decent calves from British Friesan instead of Holstein or Jersey in some cases.

Good to read that milk replacer is back in price a bit.

They are a mix of angus bullock and heifers. Were 245kg at the end of October.Currently on adlib red clover silage and a 1kg of maize finisher ration till the 1st of February..should be all killed by the end of November.

Usual it works out the heifers Average 0= 3+ 265kg and kill from September to the start of November and the bullocks average 0+ 3+ 320kg killing from October till late November

Blues are probably the hardest finished cattle out of a dairy cow in my experience.Wouldnt be a massive fan of calves out of real British friesian type cows as the calves can stay butty..a good square bf x ho cow will leave a bit more growth potential in her calf.Biggest enemy in Calf to beef is small carcasses I find

• Registered Users Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

Agree with this re Blues if it's a steer system. The Fr cross just doesn't seem to work, you end up with all the LM HE AA finished and the blues hanging around over another winter. BB calves tend to be overpriced at purchase.

That was what we were finding too. Glad not the only ones.

I find that calves out of Holstein are narrow leggy things like racehorses.

At what stage next autumn will you start feeding your bullocks and at a guess what weight would they be when you commence feeding?

They will all be 500kg+ and start meal in September

What do tge heifers average 1220 ish ? and the Bullocks 1500?

Slava Ukrainii

Haven't sat down with all the factory dockets yet to work out an exact average from the 22 born ones but I say €1300 for heifer and €1500 for bullocks alright

So average 500kgs the start of September? I know someone that sent off heifers before Christmas that operates a system similar to yours and he got €1300, Angus heifers

Yea around 500kg average across bullocks and heifers.

So the bullocks would be a bit heavier? Is there much of a difference between the Hereford and Angus?

The range within breed is huge. Herefords a bit slower to finish on average.

If you can get progeny from bulls with at least 10-13kg in the carcass weight figure they will be decent stock. Buy direct from farm if possible.

What would AI Simmentals be like out of British freisian cows? You would imagine they should grade well

Slower than a long Christmas.

Their feed efficiency for finishing is poor as bullocks. Wouldn't be a fan to be honest, especially finishing younger.

Young bulls a different story probably.

The best Aubracs are looking good enough, worth a look.

Have you ever had Simmentals before?

I presume if you were keeping them till they are nearly 30 months the Simmentals would be ok as they would carry weight

Had plenty of them as suckler progeny and they did well enough, but like you say they were mostly kept closer to 30 months. Bought only a handful after the cows were sold (they are surprisingly rare in the mart off dairy cows), but found them nothing too special.

OK for young bulls and older bullocks but struggle in that middle system. They won't make you up compared to other breeds.

I find no difference in breeds to be honest but the angus will draw 10c more of a bonus and sometimes a better overall deal in the factory..bullocks would be 50kg more than the heifer towards the end but need more feeding to finish...most heifer are killed before the shed here where most bullocks are killed out of the shed in November

What about limousines? Have you ever had any of these. No the Simmentals out of freisian cows are very rare in the mart, so they would be ok if been brought close to 30 months

We could be talking breed all week! The variation within breed is at least as important as the breed itself in calf to beef. Angus are simultaneously the best and the worst option from dairy herds.

My mix in recent recent years (unscientific) has been 60% good Angus, about 20% Fr ( get them early and cheap as part of the AA deal) and then a 20% mix of Aubrac/Limousin calves for the craic. Friesans hold their own when it's all added up.

Staying away from Blues, Simm and Char for the system. Will take Hereford buy don't go looking for them.

Correct when it comes to breeds there can be long discussion’s but interesting😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Have bought 10 calves here before Christmas a mix of BB, SIM, LIM and Angus heifers. 6 were weaned and 4 on once a day milk. Intend to bull all the Simmentals and Blues and sell as in calf heifers and will try and finish the Limmys and Angus. Cows are for the road and I intend to rear 30 calves this year and possibly 40 next year. I have put in for TAMS for an auto feeder so if it goes OK this year I will get JFC feeder for 2025. I'm using Grennans milk replacer for the past few years and have had no issues with it. Only hiccup so far is that a couple of cows have calved early and I'm in two minds what to do with the cows and calves.

Anyone price milk replacer yet this year?

Let the cows rear the calves then fatten them and sell them to the factory or in the mart finished. I nit sure I be bulling heifers with the amount of lads leaving sucklers. I be trying to finish any cattle you buy

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭White Clover

I'd agree with Bass. I read somewhere that the St Stephen's day sale in Newport was poor. 3yr old incalf heifers made 1500 to 1800. I had 24 month Angus heifers that made almost 1700 3 weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Yeah that was where I was leaning, two beasts to sell and really the worst hardship is over.

A lot could change between here and 20/24 months time but I like the flexibility heifers give like you say if there's no market for bulling or in calf heifers you can push them on and finish them.

I'm hoping that the SCEP scheme will create a demand for starred heifers so I will have to genotype anything I wanna sell for that.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I'd be slow to bull anything for sale that wasn't good quality and visibly catchy if you know what I mean. There's lots of demand for quality suckler springers with power, style and generally looking the part. However the lads that used to buy them more inbetween springers aren't really in the market anymore.

I see lots of middling springing heifers sold at or below what they're equivalent beef price would be. As for stars there's a lot of men fed up with the constantly changing values and the fact it's almost bias against suckler bred stock. Between the reduction in the suckler herd year on year and the mistrust of the star system I don't see any increase in demand for middle of the road springers. However you've both options open and the price of them will come in useful at some stage.

What is your reason for staying away from Char?

I was told that Char would be a good option as a Char would only be put on a strong cow to start with, so you should have a decent starting point.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭memorystick

How much does it cost to get a calf to a year old? Just on the DD and see nice batches of yearlings and runners for sale at not serious money.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Depends on the year but I’d be averaging €400-450 the last 2 years to get a calf to its first birthday. Add in purchase price after that

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

It's hard to buy a CHx type suck calf at anything resembling value even if there out of a dairy cow. Lad's buy them because there out of CH bull and will therefore be ahead of any other suck calf simply because there CH bred. Like everything there's good and bad and there could be a better type AAx, LMx ect suck at less money but the same men wouldn't look at them. They especially appeal to former sucker farmer's looking to buy something that looks someway continental bred and in those cases logic and profit margins are often forgotten.

I've always made that case as regards the economics of rearing sucks. If you had time on your hands in the backend there's always a bit of value to be had in light suckler bred weanlings. There was a few weeks last autumn when you'd buy a fair coloured calf circa 220/230kg sub €600. I seen a friend of mine putting a bundle of them together 1 day at work and I thought them right value. There was a mixture of AAx, LMx, SIMx, an odd BBx and SHx and a Mousey CHx, none of them were sub 200kg and they'd have gotten up to 240/250kg.

I'd rather them in the yard for €600 average with commission and all paid then buying sucks and bags of milk replacer. I think the dearest weanling on it was a CHx at €620 and there was a few lessor black things at sub €500. They'd all have been suckler bred and spring 23 born. The hard work is done with the like of them imo, good silage and a kilo or 2 of meal every day would do a lot with them. If you had a nice spot to get them to grass after Paddy's day you'd have a right bundle of stirks next backend and no carrying buckets of milk and scours ect.

That could be plan-b for me: buy lighter suckler weanlings in autumn rather than pulling and dragging with lucky bag calves in spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,165 ✭✭✭893bet

Suckler economics make little since in general. But selling the calf at 200-250 at the back end makes even less.

Yes it's an option although you seem to get on well with sucks and you're in the right end of the country for them. Up here in the suckler heartlands it's probably a bit easier to source the likes of them handier weanlings. Keep up the good work on YouTube.

I'm not arguing that it makes sense to sell a calf at that but while some are prepared to do it then it's a mute point. When the supply dries up or the economics change then you could go back to teat feeders and mixing milk.

Personally I could never abide sucks and if calves and milk replacer were free then I'd still find it hard to rear them. I prefer something that's past the real baby stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Fully agree re your last two paragraphs. Brought up here raising calves - got wild notion last year to rear 4 calves. Neighbour gave me the pick of his BB calves out of British friesin. 3 heifers and 1 bull for €600 at two weeks old. Costing me around €500/550 ahead between the buying and rearing. I’d have the cost of a suckler cow nearly spent and they’re probably €500 of a difference between them and the suckler lads when I kill then at 30 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Cost of calf to a year

Replacer €60 assuming bag and a bit, straw €8 calf ration €40 (100kg for about 80 days),summer ration and housing ration €85 (1kg/day) grazing and housing. Vaccines €14- 1 pneumonia, 2blackleg 2ibr. ESB/light €3-10 water has to be heated, Vet€12 covers tb and 2 callouts and a few fec counts. Silage for winter approx 3-4 bales or pit equivalent is €150-200, this includes contractor for slurry and making it, fert, grass and silage, plastic, feeding it out and a few sundries.

It gives total of about approx €425 without the cost of a calf or a mortality cost of about €8 assuming 2%loss. The only benefit is in numbers if you can as they will help dilute some of the fixed costs

I bought my share of poor calves around the marts here in the south-east too - there's no shortage of them any where 😀

The 10 AA bull calves I bought last spring were direct from a farmer and I saw the cows in advance. They're going well apart from one who was always a bit small.

I'm happy with the few quid the calves are leaving but there's a world of work with young stock.

I hadn't posted here yet, but a few posters had mentioned variability with in breeds, this is huge and is going to be found out very quickly this coming spring, with the genotyping scheme, less chances of hiding poor genetics in a well feed 3 week old calf. It's going to be a game changer, with the Angus as the poor carcase weight, easy calving bulls used on heifers will be shown up. It will be like the start of the BVD scheme where there was a voluntary phase and then compulsory.

This spring the plan is to only buy genotyped calves with a CBV above a certain value. Potentially it could look like having a set price for the average calf CBV and then work on a scale above and below this, leaving out the poorer values.

@Albert Johnson Bought a few weanlings this autumn. 650 euro bought them and they were 300 kgs +. Some were sucklers, and some were bucket fed, sone were a bit with a year old. As they were mostly bought September/October they be gone by next Christmas.

@Dunedin while there is no comparing a bucket fed calf to a suckler bred one you will carry two units of calf to beef to a suckler to beef.

There is always value in small plainer and lighter weanlings at the back end and usually on into early February. Young lad bought a bunch of healthy Feb born middle of the road Friesians out of the last mart at Gortalea before Christmas. They were from Clonkilty/Skiberreen direction. 150kgs for 220 euro. They will be on the farm until May/June 12 months. But will probably average 1600+ at slaughter (320kgs@5/kg)

@mr.stonewall there is no way a sub 12 month animal will eat 4 bales over a winter unless its pure water. Have 15 in a pen at present admittedly light 220-240kg average taking 5 days to eat a bale( again admittedly 40%+DM and 75+DMD) and they are barely getting a half kg of ration. They are getting a bit of minerals.

Round bale of silage is costing 32/33 euro. Direct feed costs are about 70c/day, even if they were heavier it would not go beyond a euro a day. I have 14X400 kg average stores taking 5 days to eat two bales and they are getting no ration only minerals. They are costing 95c/day in direct feed costs

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭kk.man

@Bass Reeves the post had 3-4 bales as the winter quantity. We all need to have a buffer and this year is going to test it, early winter and potential long term cold snap starting. Quality and DM will always vary with each cut but the 3-4 bale bracket is a good safety figure for most farmers.

You'd buy rough coloured bulls about here at €2 a kilo from 300-350kg at times last backend. The likes of HEx, SPx, AUx and other off colour types. They'd probably be 12-15 months old, have horns and full bulls but again they'd be fair sorts come next autumn. If you had good land and could get them turned out and thriving early it would be half the battle.

I'd a half notion of chancing a few but I don't think they'd have been fit off our land before next winter. They'd have been let's say 330kg mart weight at purchase in October. I couldn't see them gaining it by the following October especially if you had a repeat of this year weather wise. I wouldn't even try and finish the like of them out of the shed and them sort of lad's never sell that well in the backend even as forward store's. Big plain coloured store bullocks are never in short supply in the autumn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Agree what you’re saying about the weanlings,it’s all about spending time at the ring and having a price in your head. In one mart local there was one man that would come in for the last two or three sales of the season and buy all them young calve, he always said that they still had time on their sides and a bit of meal would go a long way on them.

I bought 20 Calfs myself this year,they got 2.5 bags of milk replacer at €56 a bag,golden maverick, which worked out at €140 a head, they got a kg of meal at grass and 1.5 since they went in in November which up to 31 of December is €90 a head, I’ll be allowing 1.5 kgs till the end of march which will cost another another €54, straw for the winter works out €30 a head and then doses and black leg €5,roughly, feeding pit silage now but 2 bales was doing them the week, so roughly it is costing €320 to bring them to the 1st of April without silage, I’m hoping that they should average 320kgs by then but it might be a struggle as I was short of grass for a while when they were Calfs

Going on new grass, so I’m hoping that they should be 520-530kgs the end of October,weather permitting

@Bass Reeves does your ration have no minerals added at the mill?

What minerals do you use?