Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭Carlito Brigantes Tale

If the west wanted a quick win it would be long over by now. Our cowardly approach is fueled by the "but but but what about da bomb" shouts from Putin propagandists. How the west has handled this test will be a black mark on our history for years to come.

If Trump gets in in November anything is possible

• Registered Users Posts: 6,701 ✭✭✭zg3409

I am not sure the real experts were of the opinion that Ukraine was not going to last long. They had specialist advisors on the ground giving advice, pre war training, intel, satellite imaging, telling them exactly the Russian battle plans and time and how best to draw them in and stop supply lines etc.

In terms of latest weapon tech no country really wants to hand their latest weapons to the enemy, which is what happens in a war, they don't want the Russians knowing the range of missiles, how to counter them, how to copy them, how to identify them and knock them out.

In terms of how long the war is going there is an opinion it's going perfectly for USA, little to no USA troops on the ground, economically crippling Russia for decades, Russia unable to withdraw, Ukraine nowhere near defeat. Similar proxy wars have been funded by USA for generations with low risk and high reward. Even leaked USA documents from a year ago expected no real change in front lines in 2023. Potentially 2024 was a probing year and Ukraine are waiting for enough equipment and a clear advantage before all out push. They may know they don't have that.

That's not to say things don't go to plan and that there is not political messing going on and that it takes months or years to get planes and pilots and tactics ready.

I suspect the real war strategists know exactly what's going on and the USA war machine is months ahead of action on the ground and can predict progress 3/6/9 months out.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,038 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

I'd be thinking that your average citizen watching this was muttering bleakly while they put on an extra coat after looking in an empty fridge.

Such hubris can be seen here too with government interviews on immigration concerns - blithely insisting the state is omnipotent, but ignoring the angry mutterings of the local populations affected.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,038 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Well rehearsed POV, lots of similar back through the thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭jmreire

Yes, and even a long time before Putin's invasion, outside of Moscow and St. Petersburg, in the republics, the poverty was unbelievable. Back in the 90's, they were just starting to use steel sheet cladding on house roofs, the same as we have been using for decades on farm sheds, while outdoor plumbing is still a very common feature. As they used to say in the past " If you are not happy in your own Country, spend a few months in Russia, you will be a very happy man when you return." That was true in the past, and even more so now.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

It could hold but like bakmuth there is no guarantee that they won't keep grinding away at it ,it will be a kick in the teeth if and when it falls in reality, it would mean after the big summer offensive they actually lost more territory than they liberated,

But it seems they are more willing to fall back rather than risk thousand for a small town /city ,it's probably one the the main reasons they are now building multiple layers of defences more or less mirroring what the Russians are doing over the last year

I'm not sure where your getting that from,the majority of military experts gave Ukraine little or no hope of stopping the Russian military rolling across the border,the majority ordinary Joe's said the exact same thing, there was no advanced planning from the US or NATO there was no plan to lure the Russians in and trap them we sat here from the night of the invasion and watched Russian military convoys roll practically to Kiev and then sit there doing nothing and going nowhere and there wasn't any real effective attacks on the Russian military convoys,

They were given the equipment and comprehensive plan for the summer offensive and push the Russians out of Kherson and elsewhere but they chose not to listen to the Americans and decided to go with their own plans which didn't involve smashing through the Russian lines , because they didn't want to risk and equipment,but they will risk thousands trying to hold a bakmuth,now were possibly looking at several years of trench warfare, which i highly doubt was part of anyone's plans ,

With seeds of division been sown in between the politicians and military, I still believe they messed up last year when they had the Russians on the run after Kharkiv and parts of Kherson,but for some reason they chose to stop and re-evaluate which then gave the Russians 6/7 Months to build multiple layers of defences and fortifications, all the while slowly pushing back against the Ukrainians ...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Virgil°

Nice one mate. Any military credentials to show there?

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭drop table Users

I post a reference with every post while you continuously regurgitate Russian propaganda and pass it as your own “military expert” opinion

The post you made has outrageous and fantastical claims, which shouldn’t be hard to backup with reference if they were true

More on the Ukrainian Mig 29 pilot killed over the weekend "Blue Helmet" Vladyslav Zalistovsky(23)was known for his social media accounts from twitter, Instagram and tiktok , all the while flying regular combat sorties.

Post edited by Gatling on

What Russian propaganda....

Ohhh dear ......

Is that the best effort over two years

• Registered Users Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Field east

— how many more men can Putin ‘ encourage ‘ to occupy the front lines - the more you squeeze an orange the less juice you get each time— ?

• will North Korea keep up its supplies to Ru?
    • Can Iran keep up its level of production/supply of drones to Russia. The area around Iran is getting increasingly more fraught and it may have to start stock piling - especially if the Israel/ Hamas conflict spreads
    • -

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭Fastpud

Our Western idea of a Putin win is very different to what Putin himself sees as a win. Chaos and destruction in Ukraine stopping EU& NATO membership =win, occupation of 20% of Ukraine =win, Ukraine economy in tatters =win, millions of refugees in the west to stir upright wing anti immigration trouble in the west=win.

Everyone is hoping that a combination of 500k casualties, stalemate on battle ground, huge equipment losses, and pressure on Russian economy via sanctions is seen by Putin as a loss. I’m not so sure - I hope I am wrong.

Ukraine has done amazingly well but could end up in a never ending war - it looks like neither side can land a knock out blow at this point.

I seen a graph posted yesterday suggesting Russia is now shooting 10,000 rounds of artillery while Ukraine is shooting 2000 shells per day, which some how gives Russia the advantage in artillery again,all the while it was been claimed that they were loosing thousands of guns and couldn't possibly replace, repair or have the ammunition to keep this up ,

They still seem to have access to a lot of artillery and shells, wether it be Iranian, north Korea or India or still producing enough to keep their artillery going around the clock

Since most of us don’t receive daily updates from Kremlin Central can you provide a link to said graph?

Let me know if you ever find a single pro Russia post.......

• Registered Users Posts: 5,801 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

The US did comment on the fact Ukraine were counter attacking on at least 3 axis (and also bakhmut) and suggested they focus on one in order to breach the Russian defences. They also suggested Ukraine commit more armor to the assults and be less risk adverse. There was criticism at the time that it's easy for the US to say that when it's not their soldiers on the ground.

So not outrageous or fantastical claims and in hindsight it looks like the US were right.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,879 ✭✭✭✭josip

All very well for the US to say commit more, but when was the last time the US themselves committed large amounts of troops without air superiority?

Yeah Josip got it right just before me. Added to that when was the last time the US fought a near peer(or indeed with MORE raw resources available to them) enemy without air superiority against minefields the like of which the world has never seen. Where the couple of hundred armored vehicles/tanks that were donated to them were not guaranteed to be replaced. Where they had no long range ability to barbeque the airfields filled with Ka-52s before they moved.

We all remember the initial images of the dozen or so bradleys/leopards knocked out in minefields before they'd even made a few metres of progress. And that was just a few days worth of work. What would have happened if Ukraine had continued to smash their faces against the wall for 4 months? It's easy to imagine that they'd have had nothing left and still not have even made it to Tokmak. Then Russia collapse on Avdivka and.......

But they will never have air superiority,so they have choices to make,come out and fight and try push the Russians back or sit in trenches and hope they keep getting artillery shells in large numbers to keep the Russians in there trenches...

There is only one way they can beat the Russians, sitting back isn't one of those options guaranteeing any victory

• Registered Users Posts: 5,801 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

There's zero chance either side will ever achieve air superiority. Not to mention the US enjoyed air supremacy in the likes of Iraq and Afghanistan. Needless to say whether or not the US was correct in it's suggestions is a moot point. The question was did they say it, yes they did, it wasn't just Russian propaganda etc....

• Registered Users Posts: 7,339 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

They also said the counter offensive would fail before it started and they were right.

Because the Ukrainian leadership decided against going with the plans and strategies put forward by the US and NATO and do there own thing which they put months of planning and intelligence gathering to come up with a plan that would actually get them territory back instead of losing it ,

They didn't just "decide" to go against the plans. You make it sound like they took a glance at the plans, had a collective chuckle and then threw it in the bin.

They actually tried manoeuvre warfare in earnest for the first handful of days. They saw first hand just how costly in materiel it would be to continue. Materiel which was believed to be non renewable. Not to mention the loss of life. Then they switched to attrition instead.

"No plan of operations extends with certainty beyond the first encounter with the enemy's main strength."

More fool is me though even bothering to reply to you. You've proven time again to be impervious to any logic which contradicts your expertise. And when shown to be wrong or questioned in a way you have no answer for you slink away and start rambling about something else.

Useless.

Who exactly in US military or government said that Ukrainians should run into minefields and multilayered defences without long range missiles and air superiority as cover or long term training that let’s say US army would enjoy

Because that’s precisely what they did and it didn’t end well.

The big offensive failed in less than 5 days ,and as much as your excuses are trying to make it sound like oh this is what happened,

The Americans came out and said they disregarded the Plans and strategies to give the the best chance of winning,

All these Months laters Lads this is what happened no .

Fantastic reply.

Fortunately for me the posts I'm making reference several credentialed individuals. Namely Valery Zalushny. Heard of him?

If you're bothered to read the article i can tell you how to circumvent the paywall. I suspect you won't though. So here's a little quote from the article and some from the man himself:

“If you look at nato’s text books and at the maths which we did, four months should have been enough time for us to have reached Crimea, to have fought in Crimea, to return from Crimea and to have gone back in and out again,” General Zaluzhny says sardonically. Instead he watched his troops get stuck in minefields on the approaches to Bakhmut in the east, his Western-supplied equipment getting pummelled by Russian artillery and drones. The same story unfolded on the offensive’s main thrust in the south.

At which point he:

the general told his staff to dig out a book he once saw as a student. Its title was “Breaching Fortified Defence Lines”. It was published in 1941 by a Soviet major-general, P.S. Smirnov, who analysed the battles of the first world war. “And before I got even halfway through it, I realised that is exactly where we are because just like then, the level of our technological development today has put both us and our enemies in a stupor.”

I also pull some of the opinions I post from Anders Puck Nielsen.

It's an older video which describes exactly what went on between Ukraines initial Manoeuvre phase and switch to attrition. As posted by this credentialed individual:

So..... We have the Commander in chief of the UAF and a military analyst with years worth of credentials making the points about what happened in the offensive(switching from NATO manoeuvre to attrition) that I'm referencing.

Against........ you?

I literally can't wait to see your credentials. Or perhaps an admission that you're talking absolute shite as per usual. I suspect I'll get neither but I'm not the miserable sort. I like to remain hopeful! ☺️