Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man playing soccer in Tipperary gets shot in the arm.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,899 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Yes he could sue for damages.

All responsible hunters who are members of gun clubs have insurance but untill the shooter is found we don't know if they were covered by insurance.

They absolutely are responsible for using a firearm without making sure the bullet didn't go astray.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,869 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

Lot of lads here clearly never shot a gun. The bullet could easily and probably did travel from up to 2 miles away. Lamping is perfectly legal as long as you have the landowners permission and are not in a vehicle or on a public road, the culprit has presented himself to the Guards, he had the permission of the land owner, and the shot was fired from a wooded area. Simple mistake of misadventure and very lucky for both parties the consequences weren't more serious.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

.,.m

• Registered Users Posts: 9,657 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

• Registered Users Posts: 8,001 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

It makes no difference to the bullet if it is fired in Ireland, America or Vietnam, thought you would have known that.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

Just to be clear, not everyone is familiar with the type of licenced firearms used in Ireland.

Even people who know family members or friends who shoot could think that only shotguns and .22 rifles are used.

I think 2 miles is pushing it. Maybe just 2 kilometres, but enough velocity to injure or kill after two miles?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

The answer to that is it depends. What was fired and did it hit 20 trees on its journey.

Maybe it was fired in a safe direction but ricocheted off something.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭crusd

Work with someone who hunts dear and joked with him was he out hunting in Tipperary at the weekend. He said - "They were shooting rabbits or foxes. If it was a deer round they wouldn't have an arm anymore"

Might not have full energy though if passed through a tree on its path.

Right, fair enough. Didn't realise they were that powerful, didn't realise we'd so many Elmer Fudd's knocking around either!

That this is a rare accident... suggests the only Elmer Fudds are those unable search or read basic information.

No need to be snarky Flinty, I'm not familiar with distances bullets can travel, not everyone is, and it's hard to find out. But clearly you are and it's been an education, thanks for the info regarding bullets can travel up to 2 miles and still be lethal. Ireland is a small place and it's rare to be very far from other people or habitation, 2 miles is a long distance, I'm surprised.

I'm sure the decimation of this info along with this years incident and last years incident will be noted but hopefully won't have ramifications for the rest of the responsible hunting community.

With respect maybe don't lead with the FUD then. I'm not a hunter or a shooter. But just interested in general. It's an incident that obviously attracted peoples curiosity. As you said it's a learning opportunity.

With all due respect, Elmer Fudd is pretty soft for someone that managed to shoot someone playing soccer by mistake, it's exactly what Elmer Fudd would do. I'm sure he's been called much worse since the incident by most hunters, so I won't be apologising, but don't put me in the same basket as this idiot, I don't shoot and I don't shoot people by accident.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Feisar

I ran the numbers in my ballistic app. The furthest distance it will give a solution for is 3500 yards. It called for 1914 MOA which translates to roughly 32 degrees. So if the hunter was shooting up hill at something and missed he could have shot yer man from two miles. Coincidently at that distance the bullet would have circa 14 ft/lbs of energy. Which would be about a very low powered air gun, enough to kill a crow at 50 yards with that sort of energy at the muzzle.

Post edited by Feisar on

First they came for the socialists...

What's soft is throwing rocks from a glass house when you don't know how rocks work. Especially if you're not that keen on having rocks thrown back at you.

Maybe they should investigate why so many people playing football get injured. Seems dangerous statistically.

Perhaps they have the bullet and thus know roughly what it is, and have done similar calculations.

Flinty. Some moron shot a man in the arm by accident, that's much different to a football injury, it's beyond careless, bullets from guns are much more dangerous than regular on pitch soccer injuries, that's why it's in the news, that's why we're talking about it. Start a thread on football injuries, start an investigation if you want, but they're incomparable to this scenario... Stop trying to defend him, you're making the whole mess look worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,700 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Some counties not agreeing to Rule 27 being abolished over 50 years ago, maybe?

Flinty I've already explained to you that I didn't know there were people walking around with guns that can shoot up to two miles in Ireland. Let alone Elmer Fudds walking around with guns that can shoot up to two miles in Ireland. I thought have thought that sort of weaponry was for military only or indeed for Americans. But you've educated us that there's morons using guns like this in Ireland shooting people by accident, two recently.

Thanks for highlighting this issue of the type of guns in use, how dangerous they are in the wrong hands and how they're being used dangerously. I'm sure there are lots of eyes on this very thread interested.

In Ireland.

You didn't realise there are guns in Ireland

An Island that's had a war of Independence, a Civil War, decades of terrorism, a drugs war, gang warfare, and Garda finding machine guns, silenced machines guns. People getting shot and stabbed constantly in the news. Armed Garda in housing estates.

..but you're losing your mind about a rare freak accident...makes sense

People must think when you fire a bullet when it gets to 200m it's just suddenly stops and drops to the ground.

It really doesn't matter what people who don't carry firearms know about what happens when a bullet is fired.

What is important is that those who do carry firearms know what they are doing.

This isn't a firing range its a forum. Its a bit hard to have a discussion about the subject unless you have basic understanding, of things like physics, gravity. I mean I just goggled it. Not like it requires much effort.

You're dead right Flinty. I didn't realise there were morons with guns that propelled bullets for two miles in Ireland. I thought most hunting rifles were in the hands of sensible reasonable people that understand physics, gravity, velocity etc... But you've educated us all and are keeping the thread alive & shining a light on what seems to be a serious problem. The hunting community will thank you.

Wait till you hear how golf balls work....

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭laoismanj

Accidents happen...but owning a firearm in Ireland is a privilage, not a right. If fired incorrectly a .22 could possibly travel a mile or more, if in this case where the culprit claims it was fired it from a wooded area, it was a freak accident.

If some eejit fires it up and over the brow of a hill, then what goes up must come down and such an eejit is not fit to hold a firearm.

The man that got shot was very very lucky

The gun owner is also lucky and will respect his rifle in future, should he continue to hold a firearm licence

• Registered Users Posts: 8,001 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

You're 100% correct when you say firearm ownership is a priviledge here in Ireland. It would be interesting to know if the culprit has been found. I'd imagine someone must have seen a vehicle parked at a gate near to where the shot came from and it shouldn't be too hard to track down the clown. It doesn't sound like there is a great sense of urgency in solving the matter.

As I said in the opening post I wonder will this incident be brushed under the carpet once the headlines have died down. We were never told what was the outcome of the incident last summer when a chap looking for golf balls at night was shot by a hunter who was identified. Surely it is in the public interest that we know the results of these high profile incidents and what, if any, lessons have been learned.

If the licence is not revoked will the Garda who makes that decision be accountable if God forbid the same hunter is involved in shooting another innocent person?

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.