Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas Off Topic Chat

• Registered Users Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭pigtail33

I'm not sure if it was the Beast from the East, or the snow in 2010, but I remember the buses just stopped and pretty much pulled in at the side of the road. I was lucky that I could get the Luas and train home from work, but my friend worked in town and lived in Swords and she had to walk home in a skirt! Luckily she had runners in the office. She just started off walking, assuming that the buses would start up again, but they never did and the snow just got heavier and heavier.

Our electricity went for about 18 hours during the Beast from the East, I was so cold and remember calling over to my parents as they had lit the fire and had an old superser booted up.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Yep, I remember that happening in 2010- buses just stopped with no warning, and myself and everybody I worked with just ended up having to walk home! Luckily it only took me an hour or so, but the roads were sooo slippery, and lethal to walk on- was that the year of the Man Falling on the Ice?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 24,820 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

That was indeed the year of man falling on ice.... a memory that lives on forever.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

I thought, at the time, that his fall was hilarious.

However, looking at it, with more mature eyes, he absolutely walloped his head off the pavement. I really do hope he was ok afterwards.

I don't think his identity has ever come to light either.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 24,820 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Yeah his identity still remains a mystery. I do think every year if he was ok afterwards. I did see elsewhere before the cameraman did say he got back up and walked off fine afterwards just a little embarrassed.

I think TodayFM did a piece on it years later.

I would worry that that was just adrenaline kicking in. We've all bounced back up after a fall ," nothing to see here" and be in agony afterwards.

I'm sure he's grand or his family would request for the clip not to be played. It still looks a very painful fall.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

He was strutting too confidently on the ice. He was the very definition of pride comes before a fall.

There's a great parody of the Man who Fell on the Ice on YouTube. 😬

• Registered Users Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

The sachets of salt! 🤣🤣🤣🤣

I always think of that skit video when I see the original slip. It’s such a clever skit.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭tscul32

Had never seen that before. But yeah, the sachets of salt 🤣🤣

Real proper cold out there today and with no wind. Feels properly wintery out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

Only people who work with computers. The rest of us will get the day off 😉😁

• Registered Users Posts: 10,269 ✭✭✭✭DvB

As much as thats a fair point, there'll be many who'll still need to get to their workplace by hook or by crook... nurses, Garda, Firemen etc and don't forget the bakers.... we'll be needing our sliced pans & batch loaves afterall!!!

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

• Registered Users Posts: 898 ✭✭✭BK5

Did I hear right? Is there a chance of snow forecast next week?

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

Not for Dublin. But Galway and Sligo are in trouble haha

Heard that this Monday is officially the saddest day of the year, the third Monday in January is "Blue Monday" because Christmas is over, overeating, New Years resolutions are already out the window, the weather is miserable and finances are low.

Have to say I felt a bit of it last night, kids were out so the house was quiet, I was knackered after the first full week back in work, nothing on the telly as usual, it was cold outside so wasn't in the humour of walking the dog. Two bottles of beer and went to bed early for a Friday night, I think I really miss the decorations and the tree not being there to brighten the place up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

I don't get the blues in January really with regards to Christmas. Weirdly towards the end of the summer is when I start really wanting Christmas. Maybe it's because I do be sick of the muggy weather or whatever but around end of August start of September is when I really kick into pining mode.

@BK5 @Smell the glove I get both, I completely agree with you BK5 I was down in the dumps last night craving Christmas and Smell the Glove same as you as well it pops into my head at the end of Summer too!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,846 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

Haven’t had time to get the blues yet this month as a lot going on in the house - the painters have practically moved in with us and there’s a lot of work involved in clearing / moving stuff. Also, had a Christmas party last night which was actually very enjoyable.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭antimatterx

I get a two hour lunch on Monday for Blue Monday thankfully

That’s a nice touch.

Blue Monday will be my last day working until the 29th of Jan so not so bad.

I used to get the post Christmas blues but have managed to avoid them the last few years thankfully. I do get the craving for Christmas towards the end of summer though and am dying to see the days countdown to stuff appearing in shops etc. Love it.

I do get random cravings throughout the year but a little listen to classical Christmas FM usually satisfies them.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,248 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

My local village still got the Christmas street lights up and still on ,cheered me up abit.

Outside lights came down today.

Tree is still up twinkling away, absolutely zero f*cks given 😂😂😂

It's pretty and colourful!!!

People like you cheer me up! I love seeing trees and outdoor lights still on during dark evening walks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,971 ✭✭✭SarahLil

I’ve been so tired since the middle of the week literally legs felt heavy I felt like a dead weight just to pull myself around, no appetite even the Cadbury selection boxes are safe around me 😂

I’m the same @DvB I used to get the post Christmas blues but have managed to avoid them the past few years thankfully it’s probably because my little one was born 1st week in March even though January is long it does t be long about coming around

Our house all around looks extra dark without the tree and fairy lights it’s like the usual lights aren’t working to their full effect, I said something along the lines to my other half earlier and in toddler fashion my little one said where is the tree ? Put that tree back there silly billy 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 1,971 ✭✭✭SarahLil

I’m not a big facebook user but just came across a suggested post group called view from my window and it’s people worldwide posting about having their Christmas tree still up they are fabulous to look at

Was down in the parents house today and saw 3 houses still lit up on the drive home!

I think one of the things that really vexed me this year is on the evening of the 24th of December so many Christmas related things just vanished, music channels, food channels, ads and basic tv just Christmas gone poof. I know its the way commercialism works these days but I hate it.

I haven’t gotten the January blues in years either but got them this year and I think that’s because I didn’t get to appreciate Christmas last year as it was so chaotic.