Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

From a Christmas Pudding to a Christmas Cracker - Weight Loss Motivation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭Jude13

^^^My youngest is now 4.5 (the half is very important) and she knows all the strings to pull, asking me why I prefer work to spending time with her. I know she is laying it on as I see her almost every morning and evening and full time at the weekends but my god does it cut deep.

I am penciling a walk before bed tonight, small goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,723 ✭✭✭✭DvB

Work a common factor, I'm exactly the same,really do need to try and manage my workload a bit better, I'm already 51 and the kids are 12, if I'm not careful they'll be grown up before I know it.

Life is for living, sometimes I need to remind myself of that.

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

I think I made the biggest pig of myself this Christmas, its a record. I wasn't in shape at all pre Christmas and then had two weeks off pigging out, think full pork breakfast half the days, 10-15 Quality street, take aways, loads of sambos, and pints to beat the band.

I was to afraid to weigh myself yesterday as I think it will be the heaviest I have been in four years. Add to that this morning getting ready for work I put on loose clothes and they are bet on to me.

I started yesterday with a jog, and did 45 mins in the gym this morning. Psyching myself up for a weigh in.

Need to get my A*se in gear also...

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Good News - I weighted myself in this morning, I did not gain a single pound over Christmas.

Bad News - I gained 1.5 stone in 2023.

Even worse news - House is still full of treats as with baby being born on the 28th we hadn't had the time to indulge as I would have hoped those treats will still be going come Easter at this stage!!

I did make a positive step forward and decided to walk my son to creche as oppose to drive it, the walk in 15 mins there and 15 mins back, so two 30mins walk a day Mon-Fri guaranteed while I'm off on leave and that's not counting the dog walks and the usual steps to the shops etc. Clocked 15.5k steps today so a good start. I need to do something as I've been maintaining since November but not shifting a pound.

I'm bringing treats in to work tomorrow to try and get rid of them, we still have so much junk this year, if I keep indulging I'll not fit into my work clothes which were getting snug before Christmas as it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭tscul32

I did two BodySlims programmes last year and finished 3 stone lighter than I started. However in the past two weeks I'd say I've easily put on 10lbs (too terrified to look at the scales) as I ate and drank all round me, think biscuits for breakfast - she says as she's sipping a G&T midweek!! - my new size 10 jeans are feeling a bit too snug. Not back to work until Monday but I'll try to kick it into gear then. I'd a brunch with friends today, my brother's 50th party next Saturday, a meal with the women of the family in 2 weeks, a night away the following week and have to meet friends for a dinner in there too - doesn't make it easy!! Need to hit the gym too, walking the dog isn't enough.

I weighed myself this morning and its a gut punch (pun intended). I am the heaviest I have been in seven years.

Two years ago (from September to Christmas 2020) I went full loon with training and more importantly diet. I was a pain in the arse to be around the last month and got to addicted to the food and body scales. I went from 95kg (209lb) to 77kg (170lb). I wanted a six pack (yup I know) one more time in my life. It wasnt sustainable and said that I would stay at 82-84kg (185lb) as I was that weight for most of my life eventually and alarms bells at 85kg to get fit again.

Well I have done the absolute dog on it and as of this morning I am 96.2kg (212lbs). Im upset and annoyed with myself. It killed me two years ago, no booze no fun. I am also more injured than ever but love food. So back on the militant diet and training today.

TLDNR: Im fat and need self control and a lot of exercise. The goal is to live longer to enjoy my kids longer.

@Jude13 meet your brother. I'm also at my heaviest since I got back in shape 7/8 years ago and have decided like yourself for pure health reasons I can't keep doing this and need to act accordingly. All the men in my fathers family have had heart problems and the vast majority died of heart attack and many at my age or younger, I don't want my children to lose their dad to an avoidable situation so have decided to stop being a selfish old git and to start taking care o myself.

I've a few more years under the belt than you so you've plenty of time to set things straight and I've no doubt that you will.

Like yourself I've too many old injuries now to go hell for leather running or in the gym so will need to hit the diet side of things moreso his time and get as much walking in as I can.

Here's to day 1!!

Go team! Day 1 for me too.

The sad thing is food is so good. I can gym five days a week consistently but no real progress on weight loss as I love food.

Anyway lets get at it. We are very similar, my dad became the longest living male in a few generations when he hit 42, he also had multiple heart attacks in his 40s and had to retire at 54. A work acquaintance at a competitors firm died suddenly prior to Christmas after a series of heart attacks over a week. He was 36 and didnt look after himself.

Day 1: 96.2kg (212lbs)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Im in the same boat gents. Need to get arse in gear big time!

First of 3 walks done this morning already at 6k steps.

Planning on getting a 5-6k walk in this evening after I get home from work.

Just need to avoid the temptation of the Christmas treats people have brought in to the office now... avoiding at home is hard enough but to have the treats around me in the office too requires significant willpower!!

Did a weight session, nothing hectic very early this morning and did a jog at lunch. In the seven years Ive been here I have never managed a jog at lunch so dont see it repeating itself. that plus the dodgy knee.

Charge my fit bit last night as we all know steps only count when you have a fit bit or watch to track them.

Go team!

Ended up yesterday with 19k steps for the day, currently at 7k and one walk still to go!

That's savage. I got to almost 17 and that was with a 40 min run at lunchtime!

I drive to and from work and sit on may bum from 7am to 6pm so yesterday was an outlier.

Knee is telling me not to run too much. I missed the gym this morning as I had an early meeting which never actually happened.

Wow Jude your zone minutes are excellent. I need to up mine.

Ah lads, putting me to shame. Like Jude I drive to & from work & spend my normal work day sat at a desk. When I'm on site I tend to get plenty of walking in but that's only 1 day per week most weeks.

When the weather is brutal walking in the evenings is less appealing too. Will be getting out tonight though 100% and will walk for an hour so hopefully get something decent on the steps count.

I’m an office base job so I’m usually plonked down during the day. Being off makes it easier to get the steps in.

The good news is we are in for a dry cold spell of weather so getting out will be easier for us all.

I love walking when its cold & clear. Its the rain I hate. Don't mind the cold at all.

Love a walk alright. Is zone minutes when you are exerting yourself? That day I ran for 40 mins and I really felt the extra 10kg so Id say my heart was ready to pop.

Yesterday wasnt as good.

Today I will be lucky to get to 6k. I went to the gym this am and did half an hour they had a ice bath which was rough. I used to to them a lot years ago and have done them ad hoc in the past year.

Yes zone minutes are when the heart rate hits either fat burning or cardio HR zones.

Will be a quieter day today for me as I need to drive somewhere this morning. Weekends will be harder to keep the steps up as don’t have the crèche walks.

Spent my first weekend in a while dry, it was tough as I had been asked out to play golf with some serious boozers. I meet my wife after the golf and she had a glass of wine (she had about 1 bottle of wine the whole of 2023), it was surreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭CheerLouth

Tentatively joining back in on this thread. I'm not weighing myself though, I have too bad of a relationship with the scales to do that to myself in January. But I've decided that 2024 is the year that I am prioritising myself. I've spent the last few years just concentrating on the family so this year, it's all about me lol!

I joined the gym last May & have been going to that consistently twice a week doing weights so I'm going to add a cardio session as well. And as part of my "look after me" regime, I'm planning on eating three decent meals in the day. Started today by actually having breakfast when I got up & not the usual three hours later.

Got loads of walking in over the weekend, I don't believe in Dry January as neither myself or the Mrs are big drinkers anyway, so I had a couple of pale ales on Saturday watching TV. Then other than a mince pie & some baileys whipped cream stayed away from the treats so feel better about myself on the food side of things already.

My under 13 boys GAA team is back training from tomorrow also, so there's 2 more opportunities a week to be out & active as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭tscul32

I had my first dry night in ages last night. Survived it so that's good.

I have had a stressful week with personal and work stuff. usually I would comfort eat but luckily just didnt feel like it. I have had the usual big loss week 1, but know from experience that a lot of it is water weight and I will bounce back up a bit.

Week 0: 96.2kg (212lbs)

Week 1: 93.9kg (-2.3kg / 5lbs)

I said I wasn't going to weigh myself - I should have stipulated that I'm not going to weight myself at home. Our gym has one of those In Body Scanners so jumped on before my workout at lunchtime. No change in my stats really since the last time I did it (which was last July 😱) - which if nothing, means I've at least been consistent 🤣

Anyway, I've got great motivation at the moment - it's the last year of my 30s. I'm determined to go into my next decade in better shape.

That's great to be so consistent! My health kick a few years ago (logged on here) was saying goodbye to my 30's also.

My bounce back was immeadite, I had done a run the day before my week 1 weigh in (93.9) as I am 94.3kg this am.

I need to bite the bullet and properly weigh in on Monday and make it my starting weight, I've been doing daily weigh ins and my weight is like a yo yo up and down alot this week.

What's the difference between your daily weigh in and a 'proper weigh in'? I'm now picturing the below

I think the daily weigh ins are giving me a false narrative, one day I was down 3lbs so I took the foot off the pedal a bit where if it was weekly I'd never know if that makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭taxAHcruel

Daily weigh ins are not a bad thing but something to be cautious with. It helps to do the weigh ins at exactly the same time every day (like directly after a morning poo). But even then remember that many things can cause variance.

Some foods move through you slower than others for example. So on Monday your gut might be relatively empty and you seem to have lost weight - but on Tuesday the opposite so you think you have gained. In fact you can measure your "gut motility" and see if it's in the norms. There are recipes online for this where it will turn your poo blue. So you eat the recipe and then see how long it takes to come out blue.

The same is true with water retention. Your body can gain or lose water differently each day. So daily weight will always yo yo to some degree because you are more water heavy today than the day before.

Too much data is never a bad thing. So measure daily if you like. But do not put too much negative - or even positive - emotion into any drop or rise day to day. It's the change over longer periods of time you should look at.

Also remember you can lose fat but gain muscle. So you can weigh the same today as you do in 6 months but look a hell of a lot leaner and better. But the weighing scales will not see anything different. Keeping a measurement of other things like your resting heart rate, the circumference of your thighs, and belly around the belly button, can also be useful. You might weight the same in 6 months as you do today, but all those other statistics will go down.

I saw someone saying recently that you should weigh every day & take an average over the week & that will give you a better idea of where you are. And as per @taxAHcruel above, it helps to minimise the emotive side of the scales. That said, I'm trying to avoid the scales because, in the past, I've definitely given too much value to the scale result & let it dictate my self worth. I'm afraid to start the cycle again.

^ My sister got very emotive about the day to day weigh ins too. Putting too much positive or negative feeling into a daily rise or fall. In the end what she did was to stand on the scale and have someone else (her daughter) note the result in a spread sheet. So she did not know the changes day to day. But EXCEL would give her a graph over time which she would look at once a month.

And her monthly trend was down - so she now had a monthly positive with none of the daily negative emotional hits on the "bad" days. She had a graph over time that was showing she was on the right path for her.

I take a daily weigh in to provide a weekly average, as from my google sheets posted here a few years ago set out.

Back weekend for me food wise, I went camping, it was freezing, I ate loads.

Shite week for me last week too.... having a newborn people are gifting us food and takeaway vouchers and I am weak.....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,702 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

You've just had a baby a couple of weeks ago, don't be pressuring yourself to ping back into shape too soon. 😁

Ditto, ate like a horse and though not the weigh in day I am way up.

I managed to lose over a stone last year and keep it off but then I completely plateaued. I’m stuck in this maintenance state since August, I put on a few pound over Christmas and it literally will not shift now regardless of effort ahhh😩

Anyone manage to push past the plateau stage it’s so disheartening?

I am mostly maintaining my ideal weight these days. But to get there I did pass through a few plateaus for sure. It was a bit of a slog over the years.

Generally I got over the plateaus by combining 1 or more techniques. Which worked for me but that of course never means it will work for someone else.

The first was to design a few low calorie, good fiber, high nutrient smoothies.

The second was to only eat when I actually wanted to eat. Not when the "normal" timetable made me do it. Tradition has us eating breakfast, lunch, dinner and sometimes a supper. We do it because the time of day tells us we should. But I switched to skipping those meals when the time came unless I actually felt I wanted it.

The third was time fasting. So I would eat only between 12midday and 8pm.

A fourth was to have a boiled egg and a water about 45 minutes before the biggest meal of the day. Which sometimes meant I did not even want that meal. But it usually meant I did not eat nearly as much as I normally would because eggs and water are appetite suppressants.

And the fifth was isolation diets where I would entirely cut out some food groups. Normally (but not always) this would be the carnivore diet for me so I Would basically only have meat or eggs for the most part. Usually one piece of fresh fruit and one Fiber thing (mostly carrot or celery sticks with a bit of cream cheese) for a few weeks.

Generally those things helped me push through any plateau. And I still do some or all of them at different times now to help maintain. On a bit of a carnivore and smoothie kick this January. Nice Steak with runny fried (actually air fried) eggs on top for breakfast today. I will have a ChatGPT designed smoothie for a late lunch. And Dinner I might take it or leave it but will probably be a basket of air fried prawns with garlic butter and spring onions today. A few celery sticks already lying around for when I get peckish. Last night I had crispy roast duck and spring onions and cucumber sticks in lettuce leaf wraps with a touch of hoisin. Tomorrow I think I am likely to decimate a scary quantity of homemade ribs. Been craving more ribs ever since a recent trip to Bavaria where I had an enormous rack of horse ribs.

Had to undergo a mini medical yesterday for work life insurance, even allowing for wearing my normal work clothes for the weighing I was staggered to see I'm just 1lb away from going into the next stone on then scales having done the same thing about 18 months ago... I worked hard to get in shape back in 2016 & more or less maintain it for 6 years, need top get serious & nip the slide or I'll be back at 15 stone before I know it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,947 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

It really is a lifelong thing. For me the maintenance is the hardest thing, I’ve lost weight so many times and then let it creep back up. I’ve a milestone birthday in a couple of months and ideally I’d like to lose about 8kg or so by then.

I went from just over 15 stone down to 11 & a half stone back in 2016, maintained that for over 6 years but let it creep up to 12 stone a year ago, hadn't weighed myself in ages but noticed my slim fit clothes getting tight (& in some cases too tight to close) so took a look to gauge the damage & was shocked when closer to 13 than 12 stone... I know my work has totally upset my life balance in the last 18 months though and I've been snacking more and eating meals much later than I should for example due to long hours at my desk or on site, so need to address the eating side of things or exercise will be futile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,451 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

tax this is probably random but did you do a money diary for the journal before? Your diet is v.similar to one I read recently.

Not me. I only write on here :) But I tend to use old school basics rather than more modern things. So anything I would use myself is probably very common among all kinds of diets, diet plans, and so forth. I read it all - try it all - and just take out the little bits here and there that work for me.

My usual diet when I am not doing anything special - is to eat pretty much anything I want but in as much variety as possible. And I let my body work it out from there. So if I eat something today I try not to eat that same something again for as long as possible. Of all the diets and healthy eating things I have tried (and I've really tried them all) this is the one thats left me feeling healthiest, fastest, strongest, and with best concentration levels and sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,451 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

I'm going to slimming world tomorrow. I haven't been in about 7 years but I'm undoubtedly at my heaviest. I'm around 12 stone and I'm aiming to get to 11 and then hopefully once I get there I'll reassess and go for a bit more. I'd previously gotten down to just under 9 stone and I looked great but I was in my early 20's and I don't see that being realistic in my 30's.

I think a lot of peoples concerns about any of the slimming groups are valid but I'm unhappy in my skin and I know if I stick to it it'll work. I don't have the discipline to stick to a plan on my own so the accountability will keep me in line.

I always found discipline a lot easier when I build a "Do" diet rather than a "Don't" diet. If I tell myself I can not have this - can not have that - it fails a lot more often than if I build a list saying "These are the things I can / will eat now". It's a tiny shift mentally but I have always found it had dramatic effects on my personal discipline.

I was a gooey ball of couch-stationary rotundness in my 20s. Never want to get myself back to that whatever it takes.

Yoyo week due to very long hours in work and other factors. Trying to get to the gym each weekday morning for 30 mins weights, which Im keeping too.

Cant run as my knee is banjoed so its the good old, cant out train a bad diet.

Week 0: 96.2kg (212lbs)

Week 1: 93.9kg (-2.3kg / 5lbs)

Week 2: 94.2kg (+0.3kg/0.66kg)

Forget the gym I just spent a hour chasinG my 2 year old around a soft play arena. It’s the new workout.