Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline: Thread with no name, Host with no shame

• Well now there’s a result for Joe, website wurding changed. Bravo Joe! bravo!!! Well done, well done!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,113 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

"...no Joe, you rang me !..." A.Caller.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Today's show of swings and swigs.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,694 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

what a joke. now adding extra money to cans, which the return machines will not accept with dents etc.

Some circus

• Registered Users Posts: 25,391 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Go Joe

• If the money from minimum pricing were put into education, treatment & care centres, that would be much more to the point. Most don’t want help, but the fact it’s so difficult to come by surely can’t help those who would have enough motivation of their own. And as for that poor lady’s brother, he hasn’t long to go, it’s way too late for him now as he’s dying from multi organ failure. He needs a hospice/care home type setting to finish off his days, otherwise the sister will find him dead alone in his house in a massive pool of vomited blood from ruptured oesophageal varices, that’s the way they all end up.

The health service is a complete and utter shambles. Prof Tubs asked me why I didn’t see the clinic nurse specialist and that I really need to get her to explain a few things to me, I recently tried to get answers to some issues but got the message that the MS nurse service is stretched beyond capacity and only where there is a change of infusions that assistance can be had these times.

It’s the same in every aspect of our health service. As for the “great palliative care” that we hear so many in praise of, well that’s a pipe dream for many in final stages of disease. The criteria for qualifying you must have a prognosis of 3 months or less to live. Well respected journalist (a real journalist) Mary Holland, mother of Kitty, was kicked out of the hospice as she was lasting beyond her due stay. At times I feel fück the hospice movement, I’ve seen times it lacks compassion.

Rant over

for the moment

• The fun and games re cans will be starting soon. Masheens not wurking, all sorts of teething troubles at least 😁 could make for a lively Liveline

• Registered Users Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

• Registered Users Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭archfi

The wording on checktheregister.ie has been changed through the power of Ballyer's own Presidential nominee-elect!

Local Authorities are currently working to prepare the electoral register for use at forthcoming electoral events and will therefore be prioritising applications/updates to ensure that anyone who is entitled to vote at upcoming polls can do so.

If you are eligible to vote in an upcoming poll and you’re already on the electoral register you do not need to do anything to be able to vote unless your details have changed. Separately, as part of ongoing and longer term work to improve the data quality of the register everyone is being asked to check and either confirm or update their information by providing additional data.

Providing this information helps your local authority to confirm your details and helps to ensure that only eligible people are registered to vote and the register is kept up to date. A large number of people have already contributed to this effort to improve the overall integrity of our electoral register.

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,860 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Yes the show normally does but this time around a proper waste 😀.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,391 ✭✭✭✭zell12

citizensinfo unchanged https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/government-in-ireland/elections-and-referenda/voting/registering-to-vote/

.. If you provide your PPS number, you do not need to have your identification and forms witnessed at a Garda station. Applications to register and to change the register can be made online at checktheregister.ie.

If you are already registered, you should check your details and add your PPS number, date of birth and your Eircode on checktheregister.ie. Everyone is being asked to do this to keep the register up to date.

If you do not give a PPS number, you must get your form and ID witnessed at a local Garda station.

Shut that fake mouthpiece down!

• After thinking it through I can see the voters register could be very hackable on its recent form, and especially with partial data collected on prior data breaches. We all have some of our data out there, I have seen plenty enough of that for myself. With a few bits of data you could imo easily run a bot to gather further data from the register if it’s visible to all and sundry, especially as it is currently a work in progress. It seems to be, it in danger of being, the way Boards was when it went onto Vanilla, where there were breaches of GDPR. Has this all been thought through?

Have these lads given it the once over, and if not why not…

… and how you they give it the thumbs up in its current form.

I’ve not looked at the British register(s) of electors but there has already been at least one data breach there…

Certainly for the moment I’m not adding data, if there was a more secure way of validation of data entry on my record I would do. At the moment all I need to alter eg a particular broadcaster’s entry is to know his first name, second name and Eircode or address. A broadcaster who has been the director of own company will have had that on a public information record.

So off I go wearing my black hat and add fake data that might put a spanner in the works, that’s the very least that might happen. How is the PPSN used in SQL queries? Is it validated and how? Is it GDPR compliant, is it legal?

I bet there’s a lot more mileage to come out of this yet! And Joe will make it all very confusing!

We need to put the barking bloodhound woman to investigate more!

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• The more I think of it the worse it gets. Who on earth thought this method of data collection was a good idea? Anyone can enter anyone’s PPS in another person’s record the way things stand at the moment. There is no secure log-in. I know there must be a backend validation method, but it does t take Mystic Meg to see it’s going to end up an awful pile of dung.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,094 ✭✭✭Jeff2

I think the woman with the unwell brother said that his medical card went out of date and it wasn't renewed automatically and he had to apply for a new one.

As far as I know the medical card is sent out every year automatically without you having to do anything unless you have changed address or doctor or something.

So to my mind he eather he changed address and didn't get the card or his last doctor declined to except him at the practice if that is required.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,625 ✭✭✭Tow

The PPSN has a modulus check. You can regenerate a handful of possible PPSN combinations if you have the last few digits. The same number is used for Company and VAT numbers etc.

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

• I got a GP visit card, HAS to be reapplied for every two years as my circumstances could in theory change. Eg I could get a miracle cure or win the Euromillions and no longer be in need of it. Once you reach a certain age, you get to keep it but brother is not old.

• Even book ISBNs have similar, but I could have have seen somebody else’s PPSN or work out a valid one etc, so it might be accepted; but at what point and by what means is it validated. I’d like a few questions answered. I am in favour of validating electors as individuals with one vote on one place, but it needs to be thoroughly well thought out, and I’m not so sure it has been.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,094 ✭✭✭Jeff2

GP card is totally different to medical card and I think is more like a temporary medical card with limits to it's use.

If the lad had a mental card

then he would have had a doctor and easy to just get another card.

I have a felling there is more to the story as usual.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Registered Users Posts: 20,694 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

my own mother was talking about it, saying imagine people trying to return 20 cans !! I told her people will arrive with 100's of cans, built up from a few weeks. should be good crack. another well thought through idea. That and the idea of driving around secondary roads at 60kmph and towns at 30kmph. I can't wait for their next bright idea. Of course not to forget the policy of paying people to close functioning hotels and fill them with people who manage to lose all their documentation as soon as they land in the country

• I’ve a feeling it’s the same old, same old story re alcoholic in the family. The poor sister is distraught, she saw another bro drink himself into an early grave, this one is at end stage alcoholism and organ failure and not likely to last more than weeks at most. He now needs a hospice type setting, especially if he’s too sick to take any more drink.

Some alcoholics take the bull by the horns and make the decision they would like to get and remain sober and put in the hard yards, play the long game of making major life-changes, and hopefully get every inch of medical support that’s needed. There are medicines that are being repurposed to reduce the urge to drink.

However people like that lady’s brother have made the decision to continue to serve his unfortunate hereditary urges, he has studiously avoided medical care for years. Coming up to Christmas the surviving siblings saw how he was, dying and getting beyond too much fighting resistance, brought him to hospital where they examined him and diagnosed his organ failure.

However at this point I’m VERY surprised they didn’t even admit him for a night or two to stabilise him to some degree. I can only surmise he REFUSED to be admitted.

Then in desperation the siblings tried to find him a GP, but that too requires his cooperation, he would have to sign things etc. I bet he hasn’t cooperated with the process and GPs have said they can’t take on an uncooperative patient who is only fit for a care setting.

A work colleague had a brother like this. His wife had left him as she just couldn’t live her life with him. The siblings stepped in to try and do what they could, the only saying of blood being thicker than water applies here. My colleague would arrive in after bringing the brother to appointments, at least he attended them if one of the three sisters accompanied him. Of course he died of liver and kidney failure just as is happening to the caller’s brother at the moment.

As a matter of interest a gene therapy developed for Parkinson’s Disease holds a lot of promise to treat alcoholism, of course there’s a way to go before human trials, and availability if successful…

Won’t be of any help to that lady or her brother.

• If the can return thing were to work they’d need a row of machines. The single isolated machine here and there in a heavily populated centre is not going to work.

As for turning most country town hotels, nursing homes etc into accommodation centres, it means everyone in town has nowhere to gather and socialise, celebrate & commiserate; talk about causing a breakdown in society, not good for anyone. It’s a fuerking disaster in the making, already tipped over. No doctors, no services, nowhere for the original and new people to mingle, all to serve the government leaders and not the people.

• Have been looking at various sources of info re newly rolling out register of electors, and I would consider all questions have not been answered re use of PPSN.

Of course I understand why it’s being requested, to help prevent electoral fraud, but I have misgivings and think a lot more accountability and explanation is required.

I stand to be corrected, but I cannot YET see where it is legal for one’s PPSN to be used for this purpose.

I’be seen a couple of people rattling off about the amendment Bill passed in October, but I can’t see that detailing about new requirements for registration, but again I haven’t taken a close look, I’ve other things concerning me. The Bill is focussed on distribution of electoral areas.

I suspect this topic will pop up again today with more questions arising.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,780 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Joe off again???

Well, it is almost the middle of January I suppose

• CuLL’Em

Room to Improve, participant had miscarriage, it wasn’t flagged and upset people

SuperValu Park in Cark instead of Pairc Uí Chaoimh

Sarah’s sick alcoholic brother from yesterday, can’t get a doctor. Not enough GPs

• Registered Users Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Red Fred

No Joe Show today

Something about SuperValu Pairc and the alcoholic lad from yesterday who can't get registered with a GP.

Cullum is in the Command Chair.

Ray on Sound.

ROOM TO IMPROVE: Wan on Sundays episode had a miscarriage, discuss.

GAA: Money, Money, Money, we want Money.

ALCO BROTHER from Yesterday: Cannot get GP. Cullum blames GP retirements. Nothing said about limits on GPs training set when population was 3M and the much high percentage of GPs are now womens.

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

• He needs a well earned rest. Friday nearly finished him with having to do all that online research and check his own voters register entry or lack thereof.

He is probably down at de Dublin Corpo, giving guff about not having a vote.