Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

really good game in the hurling today ye must be happy at the tempo pat ryan has ye playing at this time of year , it looks like speed wont be a problem for ye come championship , but like ourselves the wides have to stop

• Registered Users Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Speed won't be a problem for sure. We need the younger guys to take the pressure off Hoggie and Seamie Harnedy though. The main thing is developing the toughness and physicality to take on the Limerick machine in the championship.

The best way to stop Limerick is try and make sure they don't get out of Munster imo. They seem to take it to another level entirely when they hit croke park. I wouldn't mind if we do win the league all the same. We haven't won it in twenty six years after all! It didn't do Limerick any harm winning it last year either.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭randd1

Ye have over 120 clubs playing hurling between hurling and dual clubs (open to correction there). We have only 38 hurling clubs, and pretty much split 3 ways (12 senior, 12 inter, 14 junior).

It's not like for like due to the number of participating clubs and population difference. So while in terms of club championship tiers it's our 2nd v ye're 3rd and our 3rd v ye're 5th at junior, if Cork was to be split along our lines, our intermediate champions would be facing the 37th side in Cork and our juniors would be facing the 73rd (approximately). Obviously that would make no sense to have 36 teams in senior and intermediate in Cork, so ye have something different that works for Cork. As we have for Kilkenny.

Each county has to have it's structure to suit the number of clubs in it. Nothing wrong with that.

Our championship in the lower levels just happen to be fairly strong and usually very competitive. Bennetsbridge for example went from a Junior team in 2014 to Senior finalists in 2018 (losing by 3 points to Ballyhale that year, who went on to win the AI) winning both AI's at junior and intermediate. It's not unusual to see Kilkenny clubs be in the final of the above grade within a year or two, there doesn't tend to be much between the bottom half of the higher/top half of the lower teams, and the short knockout run can see them climb quickly. The reverse is also true, my own club (Carrickshock) was senior only a handful of years ago, we barely escaped relegation to Junior this year. And having it split into 3 even sizes so long ago was arguably the making of it, Initially it was going to be 8, 8, 16 to concentrate the standard when the abandoned the two county boards system and started setting up the championships properly, but it was felt our clubs would develop better overall if we went with 12/12/14. And it's worked for us.

And I'm pretty sure in time, the new system will work better for Cork. Anyone I've talked to from Cork the last few years have said the hurling championships are the better for it, more even and more entertaining and of a generally good standard. Eventually that'll see Cork clubs improve.

Besides, Cork clubs pretty much dominate Munster and rack up AI's too (2nd in roll of honour in both) in Junior and Intermediate, one bad weekend doesn't change that either, ye're likelier than anyone other than Kilkenny to win both AI's next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,669 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

As if things weren’t bad enough with that stupid stadium:

Páirc Uí Chaoimh to be renamed Supervalu Park in historic rights deal

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41309662.html

• Registered Users Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭Cork2021

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,881 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

What a joke !

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

like the concerts in the middle of championship we have to do whatever brings in the money whether we like it or not. At least its a Cork company I suppose

• Registered Users Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭The White Feather

The Cork v Limerick hurling game next Wednesday is sold out. 2000 tickets sold.

Páirc Uí Rinn has been confirmed as the venue for the Munster GAA McGrath Cup Football Final between Cork and Kerry on this Friday January 19th at 7pm

The Cork Ladies footballers are going to have a tough year. 6 players from the team that played in the All-Ireland semi wont be playing in the league this year.

Doireann O’Sullivan wont be involved at all this year which is a big loss. She is taking a break due to injuries.

Ciara O’Sullivan won't be playing in the league at all. Its hoped she will play Championship.

Cork goalkeeper Meabh O’Sullivan (sister to Ciara and Doireann) and Eimear Meaney are going away traveling.

Laura Fitzgerald and Brid O'Sullivan have stepped away from the county panel

New players on the squad for 2024 include Caoimhe Richmond (Glanmire),Katie O’Driscoll (Clonakilty), Áine Hallahan (Lisgoold), Clara Lynch (Mourneabbey), Molly Burke (Mourneabbey), Shauna Cronin (Éire Óg), Sadhbh O’Leary (Kinsale) and Noelle O’Mahony (Dohenys).

Cork are home to Galway in Mallow on Sunday.in the Division 1 league.

These players missing are hugely damaging to our chances this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,243 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

Supervalu Park?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,881 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

• Registered Users Posts: 6,175 ✭✭✭Be right back

• Registered Users Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

It's a soft million, they had to take it,I don't see a problem.

You could say that Pairc Ui Chaoimh wasn’t Super Valu.

Correct, as a few of us in here have already said.

But getting a Million was pretty good value - if not desirable.

A million for three years. Don't think you'd get it for FBD Semple Stadium somehow. Only ninety years to pay off the 30 million debt. Coca Cola to go for Coke Pairc next?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,643 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Have to say, €1 Million to sell your stadium name for 3 years doesn’t seem like a good deal from Cork’s perspective at all.

There’ll be some big gigs there over the 3 years I’m sure, so you’d have thought a big price would’ve been an easy sell.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,899 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭Rocko

Alot of people have no problem with a sponsor but losing "Ui Chaoimh" is a step too far.

All other stadiums seem to keep the original stadium name: Limerick has TUS Gaelic Grounds, Thurles has FBD Semple Stadium, Kilkenny has UPMC Nowlan Park, Carlow has Netwatch Cullen Park, Laois has Laois Hire O Moore Park, Wexford has Chadwicks Wexford park, Cavan has Kingspan Breffni Park

Donovan is one of the most divisive people in the Gaa.

Hopefully tonights meeting will make him back down to renaming it SuperValu Pairc Ui Chaoimh. It's a pity the media got banned from these monthly meetings last week, how convenient. 

• Registered Users Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

At least it wasn't the Kerry Group I suppose.

No deal made atm, decision 'paused'.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,584 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

That just means the board pussed out and are furiously negotiating with supervalu to keep the UI chaoimh part and how much less they'll pay for it

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭deeks

Therein lies the problem in my opinion. None of those stadiums are ever generally referred to with the sponsors name (maybe except Netwatch Cullen Park). I assume Supervalu reckon they'll get more bang for their buck if "UI chaoimh" is dropped altogether to essentially make it a totally new name rather than just tagging on the sponsor to the existing name.

Limerick game postponed again. Frozen pitch.

On now on Sunday at 2 in Mick Neville Park, Rathkeale.

Fridays McGrath cup final on youtube

Shouldn't PUC be trying to attract an Ireland soccer friendly or competitive game or a big European knockout game for Munster rugby?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,022 ✭✭✭lukin

That's a gas photo, fair play 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Instead of looking for soccer and rugby how about playing a few GAA games there and not listening to gobshites whinging about travelling down

• Registered Users Posts: 3,584 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

But Munster have their own big stadium to use for those. They even have one in cork for the smaller URC games. Why would they go to puc/ SP?

Should've built it in North Cork with an actual plan that local council might help out with.

As it stands, it's a shambolic location with shambolic public transport, shambolic traffic, shambolic accent, and shambolic parking. Stayed over night the last time due to the issues outlined to try to avoid all the bullshit.

Your own chief executive:

“Access and parking at the stadium and the surrounding areas is now reaching crisis point,” he declares, starkly.

“The pedestrianisation of the Marina has taken place without any due regard for access to the stadium. Indeed, the signage on view there prevents entry to the stadium by car, although this is rightfully ignored by most visitors to the stadium as there is simply no other means to access the venue.

“While we welcome the wonderful initiatives that the Marina promenade and the Marina Park development represent, there seems to be little recognition that a state-funded, €100m asset on a sporting site which has been in place for over a century requires appropriate access and parking.

“We repeat recent calls [that] the Cork City Council engage with us at the earliest opportunity to finally resolve issues which now threaten the viability of the stadium.”

But I'll keep going down (when I have to) because of (A) The South American women living in Cork city and (B) the hurling. And every time there's a whiff of a proposed game down there, under the current circumstances, I'll fight like crazy at every level to stop it.