Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immigration to Ireland - policies, challenges, and solutions *Read OP before posting*

• Registered Users Posts: 16,880 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Odd that the actual far right (little Justin Barrett and his National Party brain doners) are never present in these crowds of far right maniacs.

Makes you question the veracity of the claims that what is clearly (in some cases reasonably justified) Nimbyism, is in fact the beginnings of a wild change of political direction for Ireland towards the far right.

It's a bold new approach to garnering support in an upcoming general election for an incumbent government to mismanage an issue like the immigration of asylum seekers into a country in the grips of a crippling housing crisis, to pivot towards issuing slurs against the electorate on what is increasingly heading towards a daily basis.

If this government thinks creating a bogeyman will distract the electorate from their failings, it's probably best that the bogeyman they create not be claimed to come from the ranks of the very voters they are trying to engage with.

We've reached a point where the impact on communities of forced placement of immigrants is in the haypenny place behind the opportunity to call people fascists, particularly people who deny being motivated by racism or xenophobia, that's something a racist or a xenophobe would say anyway.

Sure didn't the Irish go to America and so forth? It's not as if that arrangement was completely voluntary and mutually beneficial, so bus loads of blokes from peaceful countries with crap wages chancing their arm at a few months or hopefully years or indefinite social welfare pay outs is the same as starving famine victims arriving in America in the mid 19th century and being left to fend for themselves.

Let's do right by the people who need help, now and always, but there's no capacity in this messed up country for infinite numbers of human beings, many of whom are sleeping in tents right now, if any mental image should best demonstrate the failure of this country's housing policy, it should be international protection applicants sleeping in tents.

Time for a bit of cop on here folks, the entrenched arguments aren't solving this problem, pragmatism is what's needed going forward.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,384 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Have no doubt he will . Plenty needing their forms signed by the TD will vote for him , like with the other gombeen men independents who run with the hare and with the hounds whenever its suits them .

I said there will be many others who thought " where's the harm " will be rethinking that vote though after this . It's all over the local socials tonight .

• Registered Users Posts: 1 emom50

I live and work in Roscrea. The problem in the town is that we’ve hundreds of asylum seekers/refugees as well as Ukrainian refugees already. Not alone that , we also in the last two years have a lot of Brazilian workers in the meat factory. As a factory town we have had a lot of Eastern Europeans working in the town for many years, these people have been accepted and indeed were in some cases at Racket Hall protesting. Our services like Gp care and also the schools are overwhelmed, we have so many students with no English appearing weekly with very little support. We’re a small town , very much neglected for the last 20 yrs, yes, politicians are appearing now, but none of them have fought for Roscrea. Suddenly, last week we were told your only hotel is closed, oh and by the way , you’ll take another 160. The people protesting are afraid for their childrens future in a town that has been forgotten, these people are not racist in any way shape or form.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

South Dublin is a FG and GP stronghold. It's no wonder they've not swamped the place with refugees.

• Registered Users Posts: 670 ✭✭✭creeper1

Sinn Fein have been absent on this issue. They simply have not been there.

Waste of space on the opposition benches they are. They have done nothing to qualify themselves with the title "opposition" since they are not opposing anything.

Here you are saying it should be them in charge.

One of the very, very few positives of this debacle has been a fall in support for sinn Fein.

Here you are claiming it should be them in charge.

That is a big no thank you from me.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,121 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

The only far right is the government in place at the min. Forcing through policies against the will of the nation. Not even asking the people if they want this or not.

Then ya have the media telling us it's great. Might as well have Joseph Goebbels on the radio.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,121 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭Carlito Brigantes Tale

And the exact ones who's businesses take advantage of low paid immigrants driving down wages and workers terms and conditions.They call working class people racists but sure look at the student ratio make up of the private schools in leafy south Dublin areas you'd be lucky to see a black person attend, maybe a few Chinese kids who's parents have swamped areas like Goatstown with money.

Then you see TD's for the area like rich boy Richmond call inner city Dublin folk racists and scum for not taking enough immigrants. I think we all know who the real scum is here.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,864 ✭✭✭suvigirl

The greatest trick the far right ever pulled was convincing the Irish that they didn't exist.

joking, sort of. Very few far right followers live in this country. However, the normal Mary and John have been listening, without realising it, to far right rhetoric for the past few years.

Facebook, Twitter etc have seen these far right activists become mainstream. I hear the little phrases and slogans that they started years ago, now being used by everyday.

Even on this thread, you can see posters run away with 'facts ' that are not true, because they want to believe them. Such as 70% of asylum seekers arrive with no documents, that's not true, but posters believe it so strongly that they abuse the posters that post facts. I'm not actually blaming those posters, merely showing how easy it is to spread lies.

'Irish first' in particular sounds reasonable, until you realise that what it really means is that non Irish people living in our communities are less important.

blaming lack of services and housing on immigrants, when we have had those issues for years, is another way to put immigrants down, to blame them, for things that are not their fault.

The narrative is seeping in from the far right, foreigners are our enemy, they are destroying our country, it's us versus them.

Anyone who cannot see that is the naive one.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,904 ✭✭✭enricoh

Have you been talking to your police mates in Sweden recently? According to them -no migrant issues over there, yeah?!

130k refugees and rising, family reunification to follow, corporation tax on the wane.

Who's naive again?!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,293 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Was there protests for the previous 600 refugees/asylum seekers in Roscrea?

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭L.Ball

Moved as in, bought or rented in the area? Or Moved as in bussed in under cover of darkness or behind a large contingent of Gardai into hotels, nursing homes or other buildings?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,581 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

There are a number of centres in Bray. There are 3 Government TD(2ministers) within a few miles. So your point doesn’t make sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

Check Dublin West & Cork South Central where the leaders constituencies are. I don't exactly see protests going on in Carrigaline or Cobh. Blanchardstown, in Dublin West, is a huge area of settled immigrants and would seem like an ideal place to house refugees yet none there either.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,639 ✭✭✭Glebee

The entire political system has failed Ireland miserable on this issue, FFFG starting to flipflop and SF scared of their lives. From a visual yesterday the sight of the guards was brutal. Real stormtrooper stuff. Next electron will sure be interesting but whats there to vote for is so underwhelming.

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭Coolcormack1979

2 locals from Roscrea interviewed on morning Ireland.fair play to them who called out rte for spreading misinformation.you could tell cian McCormack doing the interview didn’t like it and made out that the crowd outside wasn’t locals.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,589 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Just listened to the protestors in Roscrea who are still on site and protesting.

The protestors ALLEGE the guards arrived yesterday looking to provoke violence - intimidation, shouting and roaring, insults, pushing and shoving, looking to incite trouble.

There is so much anger in Ireland right now over immigration.

That Roderick Gorman guy on now waffling away trying to defend the indefensible.

At this stage The Greens are completely gone in the next election.

So many people have told me they cannot wait for the next election to get rid of the government.

Post edited by Beechwoodspark on

Yes. Noticed that too - RTÉ guy took a dislike to them setting out some home truths about how RTÉ edits and presents propaganda.

His voice tone noticeably changed - a sulky, childish attitude.

It was like he was trying to catch them out as the interview went on - very unprofessional.

Hopefully he is taken off this topic as he hasn’t the skills to conduct fair interviews.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dmakc

Care to point out where I spoke for an entire county?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭newhouse87

Matties vote will increase you can bookmark this post for future reference.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

The locals did alright in their interviews. One of the points made was interesting if true. It was claimed that 85% of refugees in Tipperary are already in Roscrea. I don't know if this is true or not, but if it is then clearly Racket Hall shouldn't have been used. I didn't hear all of the Roderic O'Gorman interview, but it's certainly something that he should be asked.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Some Looneys talking to Henry McKean on Newstalk.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,639 ✭✭✭Glebee

To make sure the protesters standpoint was not taken into consideration in any way shape or form from what footage I saw

• Registered Users Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭dabbler2004

@suvigirl

I think a previous poster might have said 70% of asylum seekers and you're picking up on that when as you can see from RTE 70% who apply at Dublin airport don't have documents. So not really "lies" as you call it but more a mis-quote.

I think the blame lies squarely on the government not immigrants, I've read posts on here where people are opposed to the government's implementation of it but they welcome immigrants who are going to contribute to Irish society plus refugees who are not coming from safe countries to seek asylum.

The current situation of stuffing everyone seeking international protection is simply not sustainable. The frustration that people feel is that money for essential services can't be found but millions has been pulled out of somewhere for the large amounts of immigrants who turn up here.

Just listening to the reports from Roscrea, very serious allegations being made - surely there will be complaints to GSOC and investigations into what happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,335 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

The fault lies with the government.

They are the ones with this policy of using country hotels for housing refugees when they have not set up large reception centres.

The government say we aren't full but yet 600 men have not received accommodation due to... being full.

If you drive/walk around Dublin City Centre you can see dozens of tents all over the place now.

On Newstalk few min ago 1 protestor said they have non English speaking migrants pushing heroin on the locals in Roscrea - awful if true.