Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cavity wall Insulation Options on self-build 2024

Options
  • 16-01-2024 12:02am
    Registered Users Posts: 18

Hi Folks,

I know the topic of insulation has been done to death over the years so I apologise in advance.

About to start a new self-build in the West of Ireland. Going with standard block build. Engineer has started construction drawings and has asked us what type of cavity insulation we'd like to use. Going out to tender for a contractor as I've no knowledge,skill or mates in construction! :(

He's given us a few options to start thinking about for a 150 mm cavity.

1. 110 mm partial fill board to meet minimum building regulations.

Couple of people I've spoken to have gone with this option. Their reasoning is that leaving 40 mm air gap protects against wind driven rain. However you are placing a high level of faith in block layer that they're laying board tight to inner leaf. Otherwise it's a waste of time due to thermal looping effect.

2. Full fill 150mm board (cavity therm seems to be one of the most commonly discussed here on boards. .ie)

No real air gap but from what I understand the design of the board seems to help run water ingress from wind driven rain back out towards the outer leaf . The jointing also appears to ensure a better seal between boards in the wall. However the engineer told us that many block layers absolutely hate this system.