Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immigration to Ireland - policies, challenges, and solutions *Read OP before posting*

• Registered Users Posts: 7,857 ✭✭✭suvigirl

If you go to Australia and claim asylum, then you do not need your passport.

That is the law.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭LongfordMB

Absolutely nothing would happen, but the government would have to ignore a court order, which is dangerous precedent. The way around that is to sharply raise the threshold of who is accepted as a genuine refugee, as the obligation only applies to genuine refugees. If only 1% are accepted as genuine, then the problem goes away. Problem we have is we are accepting 90%+ of applicants, which is absurd.

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭Scar001

Can someone explain how you can be an asylum seeker if you don't have documents on arrival at an airport??

From what country are you seeking asylum from??

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

• Registered Users Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭almostover

Yes, and the Aus goverment can turn me around and send me back to my destination as I don't have any identification. They could also place me in a holding centre until they determine my identity, background and legitimacy of my asylum claim. If my claim is not legitimate, I would be issued a deportation order. Most likely it would be enforced by Aus police.

The problem in Ireland that we have close to no enforcement of any of these rules.

We signed and ratified the Geneva convention, taking it into domestic law in the Refugee act 1996.

should the government act unlawfully, then anyone can take them to court to fulfil their legal obligations.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,340 ✭✭✭mojesius

The government's hotel 'solution' in Roscrea is absolute madness. They've totally lost the plot. Like something you'd watch on a comedy sketch.

Not if you claim asylum. And they don't. They accept asylum seekers, same as other countries

• Registered Users Posts: 54,264 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I just caught up with Prime Time and I'm stunned, literally stunned, The incompetents of this Government knows no bounds

Imagine you remove a Community's only Hotel and now you're going to establish a new hotel in the town. I honestly shaking my head is disbelief, do they not listen to what they are saying?

I'm sick and **** tired of these jackasses in Government trouping around oh we're obligated to take refugees or immigrants. If we had a drinking game every time Thomas Byrne said "we're legally obligated to take these refugees or immigrants" we would be out of the count in no time. This is not my understanding what so ever and just more lies from this Government and pity Miriam doesn't know the facts about all of this......

I don't think I've ever been this mad about a Governments policy, the amount of damage they are doing will be felt for years. I cannot understand why they don't just opt out like the Danish have done?

On another note here's an article I found

https://www.rte.ie/news/primetime/2024/0116/1426927-i-am-feeling-cold-asylum-applicants-sleep-rough-in-dublin/

"Omar from Egypt is a single male applicant sleeping on the streets for the past two weeks. He said he finds it hard to sleep at night with the cold. "After three or four hours I cannot bear it," he said.

Pointing to his jacket and jeans, he said: "I have only these clothes. I am feeling cold."

He said if he had known what he had to endure in Ireland he would never have left Egypt. But he said he cannot go back without the money to repay people who brought him to Ireland. He does not want others to be fooled by what to expect when leaving their home country.

"I want to tell these people, if you're coming here, you stay in the street," he said.

"Stay in your country, stay with your family. Because me, I can't come back because to come here I paid €10,000. I want to give it back. If me not give it back, I can't come back."

My god, just sums up Ireland. He should be back on the plane tomorrow to Egypt

Currently flights Dublin to Cairo can be found for less the €400 ,

Odd that

• Registered Users Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Most of those reasons are bullshit on the basis that they had documents at embarkation.

The options are pretty limited...

They have destroyed or concealed their legitimate documents to frustrate the IP assessment process

or

They used fraudulent documents at embarkation which they later destroyed, concealed or handed to a third party, to cover their tracks and / or frustrate the IP assessment process.

When 70% of IPA’s arriving into Dublin Airport say they have no documents, they're working from a playbook, they're scam artists.

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭bertieinexile

Irish Times paywall - you're being funny now.

Here we go https://archive.ph/QRtCy#selection-1363.0-1363.240

And there's the magic phrase again:

“Notwithstanding isolated local incidents An Garda Síochána has not recorded any significant increase in criminal activity or public order issues directly caused by international protection applicants at this time,” Garda Headquarters said.

Your quote is not what the Guards actually said it's the journalist's paraphrase of it.

In the statement, the Garda said there has been no significant increase in crime statistics as a result of the increase in asylum seekers arriving in Ireland.

Bit of misso disso from the IT there? For shame.

Same phrasing from the Guards every single time. Bit sus.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

Why don't FF/FG buy the people of Tipperary a new Roscrea?

My father's friend is an older gentleman who lives in Roscrea and he was talking to us today. He really fears walking the streets at night, at one time he had to get cash out of an ATM and foreigners crowded behind him and he really feared for his safety.

It must be very intimidating and doesn't help when the town is stripped of Gardai it's just another thing to add to the list of how this Government has stripped services way from Rural Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭almostover

It's more likely a perceived threat than a real one but you've described the issue in a nutshell.

There would be far less protest and frustration about housing asylum seekers in small Irish towns if these town had adequate services to cope with the population increase and the specific needs of asylum seekers.

Medical services, physical and mental. Policing, hosuing, public transport, education etc. These services are already over constrained and yet the government is surprised by a backlash when the immigration policy puts these already strained services under even more pressure.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

Obviously there's money to be made for the hosts of illegal immigrants, so his safety doesn't matter according to the government.

Is what it is unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭thomas 123

I wonder wil the new government hotel in roscrea be called fawlty towers?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Like Denmark under the Lisbon treaty we have an opt out, this has been pointed out to you regularly. Even if it didn’t exist we obviously can’t take in more than we can accommodate

I just don't understand why when Ministers get interviewed and bring up oh we have a legal duty and it's thrown back to them no we don't and this is why!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

There are very simple steps that can be taken.

If the Government said it would forcibly deport every failed applicant that’d help, and if it also announced anyone arriving without documents would be deported as quickly as possible that’d go a long way to winning back public trust.

Things like this have to be done now, otherwise public disaffection will continue to grow.

And they’re only common sense moves anyway.

The riot last year could have put people off further protest but it actually seems to have seen it become more commonplace. The Government need to face reality, before social solidarity breaks down even further.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Wow, it appears the legal obligations in us are not so severe as we are led to believe.

It’s sad that we can’t do more in a way, but realistically we need to limit immigration.

The one good thing that came out of the Government shambles in Roscrea is immigration/asylum seekers policy in front and center of the news and it's finally waking people up.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,596 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Not as easy as it looks. If, say, 12,000 asylum seekers arrive in Ireland in a given year, then 12,000 asylum seekers have arrived into Ireland. You can pass as many laws as you like, but it won't make this fact go away (the Brits are finding this out with the boat arrivals).

You can't just deport these 12,000 people on arrival.....where would you deport them to? No other country would agree to accept deportations from us just because we didn't 'feel like' accepting refugees ourselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Yeah but the problem is the government don't care. They want the population up to 6M ASAP by hook or by crook.

You don't go advertising online for refugees far and wide. Refugees don't need an advert to know they need asylum. Usually their town is blown to pieces in a war and they have to leave or die.

They're coming here in bad faith and the only one's I'd look after temporarily are the Ukrainians already here. Although considering Ukraine are penalising their men who've left I'd send any man of fighting age back. Woman, children and old men only.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,723 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

This should be up to date from solocheck as it was updated hours ago.. The owner of Grants from what I gather is a cavan business man (I'm aware of his name).. This is just hairbrained stuff from the government, I certainly don't appreciate my taxes being spent on hairbrained schemes like buying this hotel whoever the owner is, enriching them in the process (it'll be name your price lads with the present shower of incompetents) , it's socialism for the few and the ordinary Mary, Joe, marek, Liuda or whoever isn't in the club mark my words... Clown government but I ain't laughing 💶💶💶💶💶 the new klondike for the made guys n gals

• Registered Users Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭Ahwell

And it’s been pointed out you just as regularly that the Lisbon treaty has nothing to do with people’s right to arrive in the country and claim asylum.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

• Registered Users Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭Northernlily

I think we have a legitimately stupid Government in power. They have failed in so many areas. Now they are failing to read the mood of the nation and continuing on this path blinded and disillusioned.

MNCs, tax receipts and the work ethic of the average Irish person is what makes this country the success it is. And in most cases, we run ourselves but it is fastly grinding to a halt.

I predict we might see the worst anarchy of any EU state by the end of the year, something which will shock us to the core.

Sometimes the most obvious thing is the truth. The people in Government running the country have sub par intelligence and are motivated primarily by personal interest.