Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Room to Improve - Grants 😱

• Registered Users Posts: 5,920 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Come off it, are you claiming the house as advertised in 2022 was derelict? If so, most of the houses in the country are derelict.

Once again, it does not matter what I think. Unlike you, I've read the requirements for the grant.

A qualified professional certified the building as unsound and that is all that is needed to qualify for the grant. Evidence of this had to be submitted to the council to claim the grant.

You are repeatedly accusing these people of defrauding the state. Can you not accept that it's more likely we just got an abbreviated version of the saga for the sake of the TV show? Engineers filling out reports isn't riveting TV like.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,313 ✭✭✭Francis McM

You are wrong there. I, like others, have read the requirements for the grants ( for Refurbishment of Vacant and Derelict houses ) and planning permission as well. Others I know have had discussions with the council for grants for genuinely vacant and genuinely derelict buildings ( much more vacant and derelict than the one in Cashel!) but have been told they cannot demolish half or most of the existing building and make "essentially a new-build".

You say "A qualified professional certified the building as unsound and that is all that is needed to qualify for the grant.". No, that is not the case. Otherwise every well heeled couple in rural Ireland with 700k to splash would be snapping up bungalows and getting the design team to do what they called "essentially a New-Build", without proper planning permission, and getting 99,000 in grants.

The scheme was designed for genuinely Vacant and Derelict houses. Buildings that could be repaired and refurbished and upgraded. What part of Vacant and Derelict do you not understand?

Correct, and I hope someone does put a FOI request in to the minister. Otherwise, where will it all end? I know of one new build ( being done by someone who works in the council ) being done where he kept just part of one wall of an existing cottage : is he getting every grant under the sun too?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,753 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Here is the relevant CoCo's definition of 'derelict' site or structure:

The Derelict Sites Act requires that the owner and occupier of land ensure that the land or structures do not become or do not continue to be a derelict site.

The Act defines a Derelict Site as any land which detracts, or is likely to detract, to a material degree from the amenity, character or appearance of land in the neighbourhood of the land in question because of;

structures which are in a ruinous, derelict or dangerous condition, or

Derelict Sites | Tipperary County Council (tipperarycoco.ie)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Deeec

I dont know if you can get it on an apartment but if you can find a house that was built before 2008 and you can get an engineer to find something wrong with the building than go for the grant. I dont see why you wouldnt be entitled to it after Sundays RTI.

I think everyone that buys an older home should now be applying for the grants and should get approved- thats what I took from that episode.

You say "A qualified professional certified the building as unsound and that is all that is needed to qualify for the grant.". No, that is not the case.

That is literally the exact case:

bf727a33-a830-4b09-8917-aaf4e324a886.pdf (www.gov.ie) - read Question 7.

This in itself is dodgy advice that people are complaining about.

and you can get an engineer to find something wrong with the building

That is not and should not be the case. The needs to be something actually wrong/unsafe to have it declared derelict. What we don't know is what the professional found to be wrong with this building that deemed it unsafe.

There are other requirements "in order to qualify for the grant" too: that document, which I read before, is 15 pages long. Incidentally, where was the independent professional who certified the roof / end wall as unsound and had to come down? Dermot was not an independent professional. There was no mention of an engineer or engineers report on the programme. And why was there no leaks or dampness in the main part of the house if the roof was so bad it had to be replaced : if there were leaks or dampness, Dermot would have shown them. And the bungalow would not have sold for 303k, an above average price for rural Tipperary?

You are right it shouldnt be the case but it is highly probable that it happens!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭ec18

I don't know that depends if apartments are in the scope of the grant. If they are then yes, you are perfectly to entitled to make an application and potentially be awarded. The 100K is if you qualify for all the grants, SEAI and Vacant derelict homes. It's unlikely you'll get the full award given the way the award is broken out on what you can claim against.

For example you may qualify for some of the below, but you need to talk to the relevant local authority to ascertain if apartments are covered. Which is something out of the control of this couple and RTI.

skirting boards - 3,500

kitchen units - 7,700

painting and decorating - 10,500

It was a TV entertainment not a forensic investigation.

'Where was the independent professional'?

Where you expecting him/her to be grilled on their findings? jaysus

😁

Yes and it would be fraud, most engineers would not risk their careers or reputations doing it. Rightly so.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭ec18

ah lads this nearly needs to be moved to conspiracy theories at this stage rather than construction and planning

Your parents would not qualify for it but if they sold the house the new owners could qualify for it - It doesnt make alot of sense does it that someone can be living in a house comfortably but its deemed derelict when its sold.

Of course but you are deluded if you think it doesnt happen!

I would think an engineer declaring something safe that he/she thought was unsafe to be very rare. If there is doubt in my experience they err on the side of caution because they are liable if anything goes wrong.

I accept there are crooks who will sign stuff off. I just think they would be few and far between.

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭_Puma_

This is the exact pandemonium that is happening in that department right now. In some of the construction Facebook groups people are asking this exact question and the consensus is do not go near this grant for the time being.

The likely outcome is the engineer is going to be thrown under the bus, the department will wash its hands of the issue, and we will never know what the ministers "interpretation" of it when he spoke to Bannon unless someone puts him to to the pin of his collar to get answers.

It is more than an entertainment programme: people watch it because many want to find out how to put a roof over their head, or how to make that home more comfortable. As Dermot boasts, ‘This is the series that grants built’

Quote: Because the cost-of-living crisis is biting hard in the upcoming episodes of Room to Improve. “This year, budgets are tighter than ever, so some of the projects aren’t as big,” he says.

Quote: “We’ve tried to avail of every grant going.” 

Was there an independent engineer who certified that roof had to come down, as well as the jcb tearing down the top of exterior wall etc? Who paid his / her fees?

On the supplier list other professionals (eg BER person) were listed but no engineer who could certify the roof was dangerous or needed to come down.

So can we conclude Dermot took down the roof for reasons other than he gave in the show? Why tell a porky like that on tv? Does he think people are gullible fools?

Sorry to disabuse you of yet another of your notions, here it is being advertised under 'Entertainment'

It says in that that it is "a property renovation show". It is more serious than mere entertainment. Dermot Bannon received a private briefing from Housing Minister Darragh O'Brien's department about a government grant on RTÉ's Room to Improve. Some people make decisions based on a show like that, and what they see, hear and learn.

Again, you are accusing these people of fraud because you don't have all the information.

If there wasn't evidence of structural issues, signed off by a qualified professional, they would not have got the grant. Simple as that.

It's their business what they paid for the original house. Everything else is your own begrudgery and bitterness.

You cannot invent stuff to suit yourself.

You claimed it wasn't an entertainment programme when it is fecking advertised as one.

If you are making decisions based on an entertainment programme that is on you, nobody else.

• Registered Users Posts: 190 ✭✭KAMG

Exactly. Would it not make sense, even from a 'dramatic TV point of view', to show the issues with the 'condemned' roof on the program. Something, even some photos. Or an interview with the engineer who 'condemned' it.

This would take away all the doubt about the derelict grant. The fact that it was just glossed over makes it look like something fishy went on.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,088 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Are you getting worried? When something looks like a duck, walks like a duck and quacks like a duck....... surprise it's usually a duck.

The public smell a rat here.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,519 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

i think its safe to take it that the producers of the show haven't a clue about the ins and outs of the grant which have led to this controversy.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Will be interesting to see the remaining episodes of this series.

People will be watching every comment now closely, since each episode features folk getting grant money (I assume).

I don't think you understand - there is a great deal of housing stock in the state in worse condition than that bungalow as sold. Housing that's lived in and not eligible for this vacant/ derelict money. What we saw represents in many peoples views, an abuse of the system. If that's good enough here, then the same funding should be released to all home owners who need to upgrade their dwellings. Fairness is important in these matters.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,217 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The QS commented about joists having to be replaced because they were rotten when she was going through the "extras" with the clients towards the end of the programme. Presumably rotten joists would condemn a roof and a dangerous roof would seem to qualify for the derelict grant?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭2 Wheels Good

There are grants available for home improvements https://www.seai.ie/grants/home-energy-grants/individual-grants/

It's a whole other argument on current dwelling houses not being up to standard, either through neglect due to financial constraints or just laziness. My parents upgraded things when they could so even though our house is over 100 years old it's relatively modern, it would still need work to get it properly insulated though. I know plenty houses where they haven't made improvements even though they could have and they're at the stage where they'll either be knocked or left for the vacant property grant when they pass.

There are indeed - isn't that the point here. This couple as far as we know got the benefit of €50K (vacant), €20K (derelict) and €29K (SEAI). They maxed out big time.

No she did not. Twice I re-watched the Q.S.'s comments at the end of the programme. Unless the Q.S. had two sets of comments on the costings towards the end of the programme, which I don't think so? She mentioned figures of the build costing 338k plus "extras" of 25k making a final account value of €363,000 , which she said equated to a cost per square m of €1972, and that it was "essentially a New Build". She did NOT mention in that piece about joists being rotten. Nor was there evidence of water or ceiling damage in the auctioneers photos taken the previous year ( 2022). And would bidding on the bungalow have gone from 250k to 303k the previous year if joists were that rotten that the whole roof had to be condemned?

There is a list of all professionals associated with the building on the R to I website, but no independent engineer or specialist who would have been necessary to sign the roof off as condemned if they were to comply with the conditions of the grant. So why was that?

So it gets more curious as time goes on. Much worse and more serious than Tubs secret deal if you ask me. This one has legs.