Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings and threadbans - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Think I might have a sick stomach reading some of the fake altruistic shite on here too. Can ya help. Might need some motilium or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Looks like the guards aren't buying into Leo's largest stunt to provide extra resources to 10 districts

• Registered Users Posts: 5,725 ✭✭✭Augme

I'm hardly going to get the Danish PM on the forums. 😂 in the first 9 months of 2023 there were 800 new applications for asylum in Denmark. So much for that 500 person cap. 😂😂

And again some of them were historic applications people having been living in Denmark for a number of years

And? I thought they were capping new applications at 500 per year. Is 800 less than 500 now?

Again not all of the applications were newly arrived.....

How difficult is that to understand but then again misinformation/disinformation seems prevalent in some groups

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭rgossip30

That figure is applications and how many will get refugee status .The number is a lot less than Ireland for IPO applicants and shows it could be reduced significantly in Ireland .You made your silly point big victory.

Do stop going on and on .

• Registered Users Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Says a lot that you are not questioning the other 15

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭newhouse87

Yes rte peddle misinformation like annasopra did on this thread about fethard.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Says alot more when the government, justice minister and Gardai don't seem to be questioning any of it..

I think comments made in the last couple of days are more PR stunt.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,839 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Been away from Boards most of the last few days but I read this post and had a look at their website this morning.

What they're advocating in their policies is pretty much common sense and putting Ireland and her people first - something that the NGOs and EU sycophants will tell you is a dirty concept, but which is in fact essential for a small island nation (overly) dependent on FDI like ourselves.

I think they need to flesh out these proposals a bit more (the easily understood problem/solution format is great but they need detail on how it'll be funded/costings and while the basics of their immigration policy is exactly what we need, they are still suggesting the "self deportation" approach for failed applicants which I think is a mistake - failed AS should be returned to collect their belongings and escorted to the border/airport by Gardai or an equivalent of the US ICE agency), but they seem to be on the right track in my view - particularly regarding border controls and interaction with the EU - and it's great to see a real alternative gaining some traction.

My only other point would be the party name - a natural result of its origin but they should consider some way to better highlight that it's not just farmers and farming interests they're representing.

One to watch though for sure because it's obvious that FF, FG and SF aren't going to change course on immigration issues and the Greens are only concerned about pushing their nonsense ideologies regardless of anything else.

Edited to add...

Listened back to the interview on Highland and it's very clear that on immigration they are talking about using and strengthening the border controls and enforcement rather than a full closure. Despite attempts by the host to play the emotive "poor refugees" and "war" cards the guest held his own well and pulled him up rightly when the host tried to put words in his mouth.

Both guests in this piece came across very well I thought

Link is here for any interested :

(starts at about 5:15 in) 

Post edited by _Kaiser_ on

They were. In total there were 1,897 applicants but only 800 of those were from new arrivals.

It does seem very difficult to understand that Denmark don't have a cap of 500 asylum seeker applicationd per year but maybe we wil get there eventually.

So only 500 per year will get refugee status? I don't think anyone would have an issue with what Denmark are doing, but it's important people actually understand what it is they are doing. What big victory? The poster is still maintaining there's a cap of 500 and I'm too stupid to understand that.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,628 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Isn't this what most people want though for the citizens of the Country to be put first and for a robust immigration system and not the free for all system we have at the moment? If you listen to most folks and not the extremes on both sides this is what we want, there is no problem with people coming here to work who have gone through the necessary hoops to obtain a visa to come here to work. They are very much welcome and they are here to work, earn money, pay taxes and send some home and I bet if you ask these people they will be unhappy about what they are seeing as they don't want to be lumped in with those coming without documentation. Also I see no comments from these folks that have jumped through the hoops to get a visa on how they feel about these undocumented folks comin here. I was down my local club last night were we have members from Poland, Lithuania, Croatia and Romania to name but a few and talking with them about the current situation and they are annoyed, they are annoyed a people including them as we have seen in this thread with those arriving without documentation. they are annoyed that these people are being giving accommodation and all sorts of help of which none was given to them, they had to come to with what they have and work for what they got. Before someone spouts off but the Irish have gone everywhere, we have but we have worked hard wherever we have gone to contribute to that country we have gone too.

So stop this nonsense of lumping everyone in together that is just dishonest and unfair on those people and it does your argument no favours.

The only one lumping all groups of immigrants together here is yourself. Neither I nor the Farmer Alliance (per their website) are doing that and recognise the valuable and essential contributions by legal migration.

No one has disputed that. You are in fact the one in the post above trying to conflate the two.

I've said many times on this site over the years - come here legally, with skills and knowledge to offer and the ability to work and support yourself while respecting our culture, our laws and customs... Welcome!

Come here seeking handouts, under false pretenses, in the back of a container or commit crimes or cause disruption to our communities... Back where you came from!

Hope that clears it up for you.

Who me? I think you read that wrong. I am giving out about the people lumping all immigrants be they legal of illegal. Just look at the posts on this thread going on about the foreign nurse in the hospital or the person that served them in the coffee shop, they are the ones putting everyone in the same bracket. Me I have no problem with anyone coming here legally and going through the necessary requirements to get a visa and coming here and starting a new life.

I am pretty angry that you have got that from my post when you all you have to do is read some of the posts on here.

Apologies if I misinterpreted it.. There's a lot of text in there in one paragraph which is hard to read on a phone.

It is indeed those who are trying to "bundle" the legitimate and positive migrants with the other not-so-positive types that are the problem.

No offence intended and apologies again

Apology accepted.

Just to be clear there is nothing wrong with people coming here legally to work and contribute, it is wrong to lump those people in with those who are coming here without documentation just to try further their argument.

Yes we need people coming here to work and fill roles. I have worked in MNC's and they are vital, the small Irish company I am with now is 50/50 between Irish and other nationalities and they are definitely needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭_Puma_

It is a great point, not withstanding the wires getting crossed.

Many people working here on Stamp 4s are pretty annoyed with the double standards being applied by the goverment. Especially so since a lot are now on the front lines of a failed immigration policy and it's ramifications for the country socially.

We had a pretty robust immigration system. Then the ideologues came along....

When has Ireland never taken in asylum seekers?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Those damm milesians coming here was the start of the decline of society in this land.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭rgossip30

Agree. I too have worked in MNCs where in fact about 50/60% were legal migrants from all over Europe (language skills) and if was a great and positive environment where everyone got on and interacted and positively contributed to the company.

That's what we need at social levels as well. People who bring their skills and perspectives but respect our culture and communities and add to them - not represent a drain on or who cause problems in those communities.

We also need to accept that we can only do so much as a small island nation with a lot of serious and worsening problems of our own that need to be the priorities. Charity begins at home.

Maybe once we've gotten a handle on these problems then we can start thinking about helping others with theirs.

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭_Puma_

An interesting article coming out of Davos of the rifts forming between these "economist idealogues" and the likes of Lagarde.

https://www.euractiv.com/section/economy-jobs/news/a-tribal-clique-lagarde-denounces-economists-at-davos/

Its clear that our hapless goverment have so giddily embraced the modelling with our immigration policies.

Recent kite flying from Varadker is the realisation that the models were wrong, inflation is still climbing, cost of living is spiralling and we now have social unrest the likes of this country has never seen before.

Thanks Kaiser, putting up the link will hopefully let a few more know about their policies. Absolutely great interview I thought. Breath of fresh air

• Registered Users Posts: 2,634 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

I seen the boys in the north starting to get a reality check.

The unionists being anti everything even Irish have been very aggressive towards refugees since day 1 and I've noticed the sinn Fein catholic crowd take pride in going to the other extreme. No borders, open door policy, take in every refugee etc.

They're the number 1 for calling us all racists as well. It's gonna be funny seeing them change their tune when reality hits them hard.

When has Ireland never taken in any Tom, Dick and Harry is the question.

Remember when we were told there was no such thing as the Lagos express by the government and it was all a far right conspiracy theory, heavily pregnant women weren't arriving in Dublin in labour and having to be taking straight to the Coombe or holles St to give birth at a time when figures arriving from Nigeria alone was in the 15-20,000 + a year,

Yes but some people including the government still can't differentiate between an asylum seeker,a refugee or just a chancer who is neither.

This is as bad for the country as it is for genuine refugees and genuine asylum seekers.

That's an interesting video.

The boys up there (on either side) don't play around. It hasn't been that long since there was a very different environment up North.

Those lads in the video would be advised to take that warning seriously if indeed they have been approaching young children as suggested.

They can differentiate but they don't want too because it doesn't suit them. If it did like it did in the past they could. Remember Martin making statements in the Dail on this where he was on the opposite side and would be labelled far right.