Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ian Bailey RIP - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,699 ✭✭✭Gusser09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,471 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Whether he killed or not, no commentator can say for definite.

But Drew Harris has been gifted an open goal here.

Her family firmly believe he did it, he has no one that will fight his corner post mortem.

So although not ideal probably best to alter the shade of the conclusion of the cold case review and draw a line under it.

Because one thing we all know for certain is no one is every getting charged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭wandererz

I wonder now will the family say "case closed" and give it a rest or push for more investigation now their prime suspect is gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,424 ✭✭✭KaneToad

The absence of Bailey DNA at the scene is not the big gotcha that his defenders think it is.

DNA is not always easily got from objects that are exposed to the elements. Metal objects can also be problematic for a DNA profile.

Also, DNA wouldn't have been a consideration 30yrs ago. Hair/blood would be more sought for.

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭foxsake

bailey was an alcoholic id serious doubt he was able to commit this murder and leave no evidence .

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Why should they ‘give it a rest’ as you so eloquently put it?

Their mother/daughter/sister/niece was brutally murdered. Why shouldn’t they keep pushing for justice and answers?

Would you stop? I certainly wouldn’t.

Post edited by AudreyHepburn on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,599 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Amazed folks think this chap was innocent..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭lbunnae

Well

Well the Gardaí didn’t seem the most competent either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,599 ✭✭✭✭walshb

The husband? Are you having a laugh. Husband completely ruled out..

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭foxsake

beating your partner is abhorrent but that doesn't erase the injustice (or incompetence) of the state that contributed to a wasted life of harassment or notoriety

It does erase any need for all the rest in peace stuff though.

Post edited by lbunnae on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,699 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Whats the betting Jules either does a book or an interview / article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,449 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Well the lack of a coherent motive and strong evidence will do that.

Was there any witness to his deed of killing the turkeys? Whose turkeys were they? Who asked him to do it? Were he and Jules known to be small time turkey farmers?

A drunkard doesn’t often have a coherent motive, other than maybe a simmering fixation with the figure of Sophie (maybe other women too) where he got drunk enough to act upon it one night.

Yeah the give it a rest was a poor choice of words. Like oh it’s so inconvenient for everyone, it’s fairly inconvenient for them their loved one was murdered.

• Registered Users Posts: 47 Raysin

Exactly, he put his partner in the hospital on numerous occasions and is no loss to a civilised society.

I think it was fair for the cops to investigate a man well known for bashing a woman to the point he broke her bones, for the killing of a woman.

Prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,928 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

What about the scratches Walshb? Do you believe his story? If they did come from killing her, why wasn't their physical evidence left behind. It would seem this killing was a heat of the moment thing. How would he not leave some incriminating evidence in that scenario? No doubt he was an ill tempered and generally an unpleasant fellow in love with himself, but was he a murderer? I have my doubts about that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

A lack of evidence/botched investigation does not make someone innocent. This simple fact seems to be escaping a lot of people.

No being a partner beater alone doesn’t convict you but that taken alongside a host of other pieces of evidence should give any investigator worth his/her salt pause for thought.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

That's not how it works I'm afraid. You don't need to prove innocence. You ARE innocent until proven guilty and there was no real evidence against him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭tomhammer..

Said already there was no mention of turkeys initially from bailey to the gardai or maloney

The turkeys were only mentioned to senan days later

Senan Maloney then stated he knew bailey was lying that the turkeys had been added to the Christmas tree story as a belt and braces approach to explain the scratches

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭volchitsa

Beating your partner, especially the level of violence that Bailey used against Jules Thomas, shows a readiness to use violence against a defenceless woman that may well be very relevant in a case of the violent death of a defenceless woman. It's not evidence of his guilt, but it's a good reason to consider him a suspect until he's been eliminated. Which he has never been.

Reem Alsalem UNSR Violence Against Women and Girls@UNSRVAW "Very concerned about these statements by the IOC at Paris2024 There are multiple international treaties and national constitutions that specifically refer to#women and their fundamental rights to equality and non-discrimination, so the world has a pretty good idea of what women -and men for that matter- are. Also, how can one assess whether fairness and justice has been reached if we do not know who we are being fair and just to?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Except for the time he assaulted his partner and put her in hospital. And also allegedly threatened witnesses.

Oddball would be the nicest way of describing him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭volchitsa

The number of women killed by men - sometimes women they even claim to love - shows that such men don't have to have a "coherent" motive. They just have to feel like it.

As for evidence, the lack of it is due to poor investigation methods, not to a proven absence of evidence.

Unfair for Bailey, if he was innocent, sure - but unfair too for her family who have never had any sort of justice at all, whether or not Bailey was the killer.

Reem Alsalem UNSR Violence Against Women and Girls@UNSRVAW "Very concerned about these statements by the IOC at Paris2024 There are multiple international treaties and national constitutions that specifically refer to#women and their fundamental rights to equality and non-discrimination, so the world has a pretty good idea of what women -and men for that matter- are. Also, how can one assess whether fairness and justice has been reached if we do not know who we are being fair and just to?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

If someone from France connected to Du Plantier wanted to kill her, they would surely not have waited for her to go to Ireland and would have done it in France. There isn't a shred of evidence anyone in France had anything against her.

Most likely it was an opportunist killing without too much planning behind it. Probably a hothead who did it, whoever it was. Very likely someone vaguely familiar to her and not staying with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,299 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

And I am also pretty sure he admitted to a few people over the years to killing her?

Oddball is very very kind.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭tomhammer..

The Christmas tree story was that he was chopping these on the 23rd for sale in his sideine business

Selling Christmas trees on the 23rd December ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,814 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

There's nothing "Likely" about the scenario you have outlined. It is an incredibly unlikely scenario in evidence (a rage killing where he got scratched at the scene and yet left no trace) and motivation, which I've yet to see anyone provide a similar example of.

And the "evidence" you have presented above is incredibly weak, circumstantial - debateable either in point of fact or relevance of how it points to his guilt. The DPP went over all of this and rightly rejected it as no basis for a prosecution.

Then when we consider the incompetence and malpractice of the Guards in this case, tampering and losing evidence, putting pressure on other Guards to alter witness statements, unsafe conduct with multiple witnesses etc.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

Which, I'm sure you're aware, is the only one that matters.

Unless we start jailing people based on Facebook polls.