Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ian Bailey RIP - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Honestly, given the overkill and extreme level of violence, whoever did it had mental health issues of some sort.

This murder was much more like the Joe O'Reilly case where an exercise weight was used, an opportunistic weapon used perhaps following an argument or rejection of some sort.

I very much doubt whoever murdered SDP planned it that way, ie to murder her with a rock. Blaming the husband is farcical. I've just been reading that he was married 4 times. Did he try to have the others bumped off too? Of course not.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭tomhammer..

• Registered Users Posts: 852 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

Its a long shot...yes. But I've already said that.

However, there is no doubt whatsover that Daniel stood to gain the most from Sophie's death.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,826 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

look every murder suspect is named, everything is prejudiced after that, just the way it is

You can't win with some people. If they didn't advise people there was a murder suspect living in the area, people would be outraged that they weren't informed. If you inform people there is a murder suspect living in the area, other people are outraged that they are spreading fear etc.

On balance the gardai did the right thing.

As for appealing for information on a case, this is common practice. Suppose next they'll want this ruled out too.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,617 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

They didn't just put it about there was a murder suspect in the area.

They were putting it about that: witnesses living close to him are in imminent danger of attack.

On balance, AGS conduct in this investigation was unsafe and prejudicial.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

This is nonsense. Arrested suspects in cases are named routinely. Don't you watch the news?

Was he named before or after arrest?

Have you the original source for what they said?

As I said, its reasonable to advise if there is a murderer in the locality, or a madman on the loose.

You've said yourself there was no link between SDP and BAiley so it seemed their chief suspect had committed a random murder.

It was reasonable for the gardai to advise caution when approaching a potential lunatic until it could be established he wasn't a lunatic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭tomhammer..

Does anyone know anything about this "champagne clue " bailey wrote about

Maloney alleges bailey was referring to the wine bottle 2 months before it was found

It is from what is taken to be the DPP report. The Guards had no idea if there was a "madman on the loose". Did someone escape from a mental institution we were unaware of? Hysterical language.

No idea if there would be another attack. No idea if a witness would be attacked. They had no basis for such claims.

They were just generating hysteria as witnessed by the actions of Bill Fuller. That is not reasonable conduct.

In a report submitted to this Office on 26 February 1997 for the purpose of a consultation the Gardaí stated the following:

1. It is of the utmost importance that Bailey be charged immediately with this murder as there is every possibility that he will kill again.

2. It is reasonable to suggest that witnesses living close to him are in imminent danger of attack.

3. The only way to prevent a further attack or killing is to take Bailey into custody on a charge of murder and this point cannot be over-stressed.

It is understood that the Gardaí issued similar warnings about Bailey to members of the community.

https://syndicatedanarchy.wordpress.com/2014/09/30/30/

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭Spencer101

The diaries were like many private diaries that were read more widely than intended not flattering. There were ramblings on his interest in drugs, booze and his particular interest in sex. Also waffle about his 'poetry.' In the main they were introduced to the various trials as they made him seem like an attention seeking fantasist/ odd ball. There were also comments on his violence towards Jules Thomas. Nothing really as best I recall that is here nor there re his guilt/ innocence. Just ramblings that he never expected to see the light of day.

that is not unreasonable, given the facts at the time and what had happened

Of course it is. There was absolutely zero evidence supporting the claim that Bailey as a suspect would attack a witness.

And it's not merely my opinion, the DPP reports calls them out for their unsafe and prejudicial conduct.

There is no doubt. But her murder seems very much an instant decision based on the murderer being overcome by emotion, rather than it being coolly planned in a millionaires lair in France.

this is what they said to the DPP as you know, they are right to warn someone is of danger to community as at the time someone had bludgeoned a woman to death there and they were rightly at the time the prime suspect

that person is still dangerous

• Registered Users Posts: 595 ✭✭✭batman75

On what basis did the Gardai believe in 1997 that Bailey might 'murder again'. Had he been psychologically assessed? The 'murder again' would indicate they were sure he murdered STDP.

other than the previous murder

if he attacked one witness, would he be likely to attack another? This is a bit ridiculous

That is not evidence of an imminent threat to others. In a non gangland setting, can you list the number of times in this state that someone accused of murder has weeks later gone around attacking witnesses?

I don't mean someone having a psychotic break who goes on a violent spree attacking anyone in the immediate vicinity.

So on what reasonable basis did AGS have for making such a claim, because it appears they have none.

They were just whipping up hysteria in the community against Bailey, as evidenced by the hysterical conduct of Bill Fuller.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

What do people make of her having boots on with her pyjamas?

It's assumed she was in bed as her bed was unmade.

Would you put on boots to answer the door and tie the laces?

Or would you only put boots on if you had to go outside for some reason like investigate a disturbance?

Also why do you think the lights were off in the house? Did the killer turn them off?

Also were both doors closed with the keys in the lock of the front door with a blood smear on the backdoor? Does that mean the killer closed the doors?

Is it certain a drop of her blood was found on a rock in the front of her house? This means she was attacked in front of the house.

Like the Metropolitan police in London convinced the media and the locals that Colin Stagg had killed Rachel Nickell.

Even to the extent of publically stating, after he was acquitted, that they were not seekinbg anyone else in relation to the murder.

He endured many years of misrey as a result.

Once it was established that he was totally innocent, they had to apologise and pay him over a million pounds in compensation.

Right, so SDP killed herself then?

Nope, she was killed by a suspect who was still on the loose. It was likely he was still in the locality.

The gardai appealed for information on the murder.

Appealing for information is common practice, stop pretending it isn't.

As for naming a suspect, every suspect over 18 is named, common practice. Do you watch the news?

You're acting like Baily was the first suspect in the history of the state who was named. He clearly wasn't. Suspects in every serious case are named long before they are tried.

you would have to agree that the murder itself, if it was conducted by Bailey was a pretty psychotic break

most of the time these people aren't allowed out on bail in the first place, i wonder why that is

would you have volunteered to take him in if he had been kicked out of the gaff

of course not

they were pretty sure of it at the time, and he is still a suspect

This is a really important point.

Obviously, she intended to leave the house. She wouldn't put walking boots on just to open the door.

The fact that no lights were on when the gardai arrived, together with the contents of he stomach, the absence of alcohol in her urine and the uncovered cut loaf on the kitchen table lead me to believe that the incident happened in the morning.....in daylight.

What on earth are you on about, so SDP killed herself then? That's not a comment worthy of any serious consideration.

They didn't just do that. You know because I provided you the information on what they did do. It wasn't just a suspect on the loose, they made it seem like there was a wild madman out of control who could attack anyone. They had no basis for such a claim, and guess what there were no other attacks, on anyone, they know the claim was bogus even as they were making it.

Obviously you cannot engage with the documented evidence of what they did do, so you argue against a strawman instead. Proof you know you can't defend their actual conduct.

What unsafe and predudicial conduct? In general or specifically in relation to naming him as a suspect who represented a danger to people?

Do you think the murderer of SDP somehow became harmless overnight.

The gardai routinely warn about dangerous suspects.

Regards evidence, most evidence is presented in court at a trial. Up to that stage Gardai are generally dealing with suppositions and assumptions.

Again this is common practice.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,795 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Rest in peace Mme du Plantier .

And this man too if he truly is innocent.

Facing judgement for real now presumably .

This subject has been discussed to death , literally now , and unless something new comes out or a credible witness comes forward none of us can say for sure what happened.

Sad for her family , and his too , in the end .

Asked and answered. If it was so routine why is the DPP specifically criticising it?

It wasn't, it was them generating hysteria.

again youd have taken him in would you, let him babysit the kids

this is what his neighbors were dealing with

Would you have done what his neighbours did?

On the 20 February 1997 Bill Fuller, his partner and child had gone to the causeway at Kealfadda Bridge in order to pursue his own investigation of the murder. He was with his wife and child. He saw a man whom he thought to be Bailey and this caused them to run away in blind panic believing the man had seen them. They ran a considerable distance until they reached Toormore Beach where they ran along a lane way which led out onto the roadway to Goleen. Screaming and roaring they ran in front of the first car to approach them.