Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I nudged into the back of a van and everyone is injured.

• 23-01-2024 6:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭studdlymurphy

So I nudged into the back of a van, there is plastic damage to my bumper a crack and some scuffs. The van driver and two occupants have personal injury claims and the van requires 15k to fix it. It looks like a complete sham. I know I'm at wrong. I have now received a solicitors letter where in the statment of claim ot mentions that on this date this vehicle was travelling lawfully on the public highway and was struck my me. The thing is he was not travelling lawfully as he didn't have any tax. Is this any help to me.

When the accident happend I spoke with all the occupants and all were fine, one as actually yarning, all said they were fine and I said I would pay for any damage. Damage was very small and only the plastic bumper was slightly oit of alignment. We all had a good look at the time. Obviously they changed their minds when they thought about all the free money. But that's their own choice.

So does no road tax make any difference? The van was a northern reg also if that makes any odds.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,198 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The world is full of crooks unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭Miscreant

Terrible thing to happen but just let your insurance deal with it at this stage. That is why you pay them.

Lack of tax on the van will make absolutely no difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,437 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Unfortunately that's society for you. Full of rogues and chancers. I have a feeling they maybe part of a certain ethnicity but who's to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,669 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Well I would have agreed but a few years ago someone drove into the back of my wife's car. and damage looked minor there was about 8k of repairs she's still in the physio and had mri scans on her back recently.

so yes could be a scam but whiplash is nasty and only comes out later.

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,170 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

How many people is everyone?

Could be 3 at most if a van and they were seated properly?

Were they all cousins/brothers/sisters/lovers or all of the above ?

Northern Ireland cars don't display tax disc as far as I know so they may have had valid tax

Let your insurance sort it out, don't engage with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,541 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Northern Ireland/UK vehicles have not used tax discs since October 2014, how did you find out it was not taxed?

Well, not entirely true. I think their insurer won’t honour the claim if they had no tax at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Its not worth engaging with their solicitor on anything including the tax status of the vehicle. Contact your insurance company. They have established process and procedures for dealing with all manner of claims and will contest claims that don't stack up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭studdlymurphy

Total car check is free and gives loads of basic info on uk reg cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭studdlymurphy

I'll call the insurance tomorrow and let them know there is no tax just on the off-chance it males a difference but looks like I'll have to just grin and bare it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,795 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

The tax is not an issue. Indeed, even if they were not insured and you caused an accident, you are still liable so forget about the tax.

Let insurer deal with it but state your case clearly that it was a micro accident. The way things are though, expect a big payout to each of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Carlito Brigantes Tale

Hopefully the van occupants will be okay. Whiplash is a terrible thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭Sir Galahad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭bmc58

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Carlito Brigantes Tale

Maybe, maybe not. I know someone who still suffers from an accident and all they got was a lousy 25k for their trouble. Like i said hopefully the van occupants don't have long term issues.

Yes, thick necks. Telling they all have the same solicitor...you read about these type of thick necks in the media..and it's not always a good outcome for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

I agree, insurance companies will do their utmost to avoid pay outs if they can.

We were hit once by a driver who policy was defective and the company tried every trick to get out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,921 ✭✭✭corks finest

The bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,921 ✭✭✭corks finest

Seemingly only here in this mad country is whiplash injury ( most is scam)

worth so much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Life is all about learning lessons

you won’t make the same mistakes again when you have an accident

Call the guards

don’t admit liability

let your insurance company deal with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭tomhammer..

Tax isn't relevant

As said let insurance deal with it. You've no control over their actions .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The OPs insurance will be paying out though, so I don’t think it’ll affect things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭farmerval

Generally insurance companies are dying to pay out small amounts for minor injuries to get the claimants to sign off on any potential future larger claim. Indeed your insurance will bend over backwards to avoid going to court.

A work colleague had a minor prong from the back at a roundabout a few years ago. Was stiff and sore a few days later but nothing really, the insurance from the other guy were chasing him to accept 11K compensation, think they even paid for physio for him. All they wanted was for him to sign a waiver on any future claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭mulbot

Didn't they reverse at high speed into you🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Shocking to see some of the attitudes displayed here - just because it was a van and NI occupants.

Ys but reading first post it seems there was no injuries

So..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭MakersMark

I'd tell my insurance company there was only 1 occupant in the van....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Regardless of injuries, the OPs insurance will get a hammering for the damage to the van (which if it’s actually assessed as €15k worth, will be more than just a nudge on the plastic)

As said already whiplash usually takes a while to manifest.

Why on earth would you intentionally lie about something like that?

Do not do this

Get your policy cancelled if they find out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Norrie Rugger Head

A guy pulled across me, on my motorbike. I was thrown down the road and thought that I was grand with some torn muscles in my upper back.

20 years later I struggle to stand at a counter, to cut veg for dinner, without my entire upper back seizing up. Long haul flights are an absolute nightmare

They're eating the DOGS!!!

Donald Trump 2024

Because its a well known scam with yellow reg vehicles down south.

And simply saying that to the best of your knowledge, there was only 1 occupant in the van won't get your insurance cancelled. FFS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭chrisd2019

Assuming you had valid insurance, send all correspondence to your insurance company and let them address it. I would not be saying to anyone that you were think you are at fault. The no tax is not for you to worry about, but it might indicate the Northern Van has other issues. 15k to repair light damage seems expensive.

I doubt that

I've dealt with investigators they're not stupid

Saying to the "best of your knowledge" you may as well nothing cos your saying you don't know for certain

You'll have to confirm definitely there was 1 and then you're caught in the lie if they find out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Did you see the crash beam behind the bumper? The bumper isn't designed to take the impact to save the car structure. Bumper could look fine but the bar behind more than likely crumpled.

As other posters have said the injuries can take some time to manifest and aren't always easily treatable.

In your case just refer them to your insurance company. The accessor from your insurance company should settle any damage repair. The same applies to any personal injury claims.

Dash cams are everywhere nowadays. You'll look really stupid if you say there was only one person and they prove otherwise. Don't lie in an affidavit.

It won't work any way

"Probably 1 " is worthless

An investigator will want that clarified one way or another

Y'all just end up saying " I can't be sure there was 1" when they quiz U on it and that's the end of it there was actually 3

Ya may as well say nothing

Saying "certain" is a flat out lie and can get u in trouble

Post edited by tomhammer.. on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Sono

Wrong, tax has nothing to do with the facts here, OP crashed into someone else and is at fault, tax issue is a matter for the Gardai if they are arsed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,152 ✭✭✭Allinall

OP. Northern Ireland cars/ vans don’t have tax discs.

You need to let go of that angle.

Let your insurance deal with any claims

Thats what you pay them for.

It is very concerning that in a post where the validity of claims by the occupants of a vehicle that on the facts presented was not a big impact is being replied to with advice to the OP to lie, mislead, fudge etc.

For some people morality, honour, honesty are obviously considered unimportant qualities.

@MakersMark how would you feel if someone caused you financial loss by behaving in the manner you are advising the OP to act? Sometimes, when you have nothing of value to add, it's best to say nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭User567363

If it was me i would do the same, when i was in school a girl in my class was in an accident but she was not hurt, soliciter got her 10k anyway, and a % for himself, she partied it all over about 3 years, 25 years later she is going to physio 2 or 3 times a month try to sort out back and neck pain, first thing physio asked was if she was ever in a car crash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,480 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Some things in this story don't add up to me:

• How did they get your address to send you a solicitor's letter?
    • Why did the solicitor write directly to you with the claim and not go through your insurance company?

Maybe while partying she fell off a swing with a glass in one hand ànd a few drinks already taken ...

Anyone is entitled to claim if they are injured, and have two years to submit it. Thats a long time and a soft tissue whip lash injury will manifest some symptoms by then. Unless it's clear life changing injury, the compensation will never cover rest of life, which is just as likely to be impacted by other events, such as predisposition to pain, degerative conditions, and just getting old ..

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,718 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

When you don’t understand insurance law it really is better you keep your advice to yourself, it’s less embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭greasepalm

I would ask why were no photos taken of both vehicles at the time as that amount of damage i would have thought more visible on your car.

I am aware plastic bumpers go in and out and hide what's behind

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,937 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Was just thinking the exact same thing. If its going through insurance the other insurance company might not even have your name - usually its referred to as the "insured" and "third party" in any documentation Ive ever dealt with.

Maybe the OP agreed to try pay cash for the repair initially and gave the other driver his contact details??

I was wondering how they got his address too. Good idea to ask. I just assumed it was an amicable scene and OP gave his details but not his insurance. I would never recommend giving home address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,480 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Yep, the only way it could be got from the reg is by the Gardai or the OP willingly gave it to them when saying they would pay for any damage (a license to print money to the wrong person). Even if they went straight to making a claim, the OP's insurance company would not divulge their client's address to them to issue a solicitor's letter.

Then you have the crazy criteria in the claim about 15k worth of damage to a van and a load of people with personal injuries. Even Sol Goodman wouldn't make a crazy claim like that without having the damage assessed as well as medical examinations.

I get the feeling this story is either a made up tall tail or if actually genuine then it's an attempt at scamming money out of the OP by blowing wind up their skirt with the magic solicitor's letter.