Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ian Bailey RIP - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

I think he lost on all claims that the newspapers made stating he was the main suspect, primarily because he said the same himself.

He won against the newspapers claims that he was violent towards his ex wife as the newspapers did not provide any evidence to support their claims. If they had any, I'm sure they would have produced it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

My logic is that it's more incriminating to be caught in a lie denying knowing someone than to say you know someone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭tomhammer..

Got round to listening to a few of the west Cork podcasts yesterday for the first time

They are way better than anything I had expected

Gas how Bailey thought he was part of the production team in his head but they had to explain to him that he was the subject of the documentary

They did a great job of exposing his character.

Bailey on the Garda interview techniques " i think they were used to dealing with less educated people"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

He could be a pompous ass alright - but has pretty much admitted as much through the years

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,865 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

There is no evidence - there are a few things that raise eyebrows but nothing else. People think it was Bailey becaue AGS have been looking directly at him since the murder. The media have been looking at him because of the crap that AGS are telling them. Bailey is in everyone's mind because they have effectively been told that it was him. Nobody really knows about Alfie & Shirley, the Ungerers, Karl Heinz Wolney, or anyone else who may have been involved (and there are plenty of them!). To use Gerry Conlon's quote (or at least DDL's portrayal of him) AGS have fouled the ball. Had Bailey been charged and tried here, there probably wasn't much chance of him getting a fair trial. Even on this and the other thread, many posters are confident that it was him despite there being no actual evidence pointing towards him (and plenty to suggest it was not him).

Edit: typos

I wouldn't trust a word out of her mouth to be honest!

• Registered Users Posts: 852 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

No, you're absolutely right. Her credibility is completely shot.

Which is a great shame, because if it were possible to seperate her bullshit from her truth, it would probably shed some light on this enigma.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭Zola1000

So true. Like originally I was like her sighting on bridge was totally opening it up..but was so messed up then her story .

Right now we basically need another sighting like Marie farell but someone who can actually tell the truth....it's about as much chance now as it is solving this case.

Does anyone else read into the crazy theory of Sophie visiting neighbours the day before and how she was distraught after seeing white lady..this further adds fuel to such random ghost story..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭chooseusername

I don't know how often Bailey was at Alfie's, but he was at a BBQ for Shirley's retirement 2 or 3 years before the murder.

Sophie was at her house at the time with family member/s I believe. Alfie pointed out Sophie to his guests, not Baily specifically, and said something along the lines; she's a 'moaning pain in the arse' and Shirley told him to shhh.Baily didn't pay her much attention apparently.

Right now we basically need another sighting like Marie farell but someone who can actually tell the truth....it's about as much chance now as it is solving this case.

Someone who hid the truth for well over two decades or someone who just remembered something from that night? Either way, such a revelation would easily be put into doubt.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭tibruit

Did you provide the source yet for where Josephine Hellen said Alfie and Sophie had a "fractious" relationship? I`m currently locked out of the other thread.

Yes and I guess really enhanced DNA on remaining items is paper thin chance of something.

Would there be any advancements in telecommunications area where access to all Sophie's calls in and out and or Bailey's as well..or any of related suspects. Or because these might be old networks phone lines etc .would that be all gone or any date remain to access.

In fairness very few on this thread over last few pages or days at least think it was him- im pretty much convinced it wasn’t him - no known motive; a ridiculous track over and back to her house; a very hard to believe normal Bailey the morning after had he done it; the support of his partner after her being through so much; no less the DPP report and horrendous pr1cks calling themselves Gardai back in the day- they should rot in hell for denying Sophie justice as their own incompetence caused all of this -

I'm still hopeful of DNA.

Her dressing gown was on the ground separate from her. Does that mean it was pulled off her? This could have touch DNA.

Something tells me the Gardai have more evidence which was never released, which is why they were so certain of Bailey and likewise her family.

It's normal for police to withhold information but would it have come out in the French trial though.

The Gardai seem certain it happened at night and she ran from the house. Maybe there's evidence of this.

Was she in the habit of walking down to the gate to close it after visitors left?

I'd be too lazy, particularly at night in dark December, but maybe she was fastidious about keeping it closed.

Maybe she ended a relationship with someone, walked them to their car and I said "I'll close the gate after you".

As she approached the gate to close it, she was struck from behind.

Would that be permitted and allowed that potentially guardai had other evidence that could have been withheld...would all information not be sent eitheway to Garda HQ and or DPP and this had be passed over to the french..

. Truly hope as you say other items and her clothing or them briars for re-examination. Also posting here on specialist equipment that can be used for blocks to read DNA off from.

Your theory could have weight..it always seems to be she rejected someone or they held a grudge against her ..it's just that going back up lane if they did is crazy for pumphouse cinder block and meaning of this level of blows

Like my level of knowledge is small on this but I still hear people ushering the defence of guards as to this being first time this happened in 100 years and so was more say it's acceptable to make all these errors in dealing with such a crime as they hadn't seen it before. But like maybe I'm clueless here but even most daftest movies from 70-80s has crime scenes completely cordened off.. limited access only to professions and where Dr John Harbison was not available, is there seriously not like dept assistant at this level to take reins in such cases...and can I further ask...given severity of this nature of impending doctor...could he have not been flown to cork airport by helicopter or whatever to cut the time. I know it's all easy say this now..but just seemed so slow and unprofessional.

Everything at the French trial was reported on, so we would know about it I guess.

I think I wouldn't be bothered to close a gate after someone that late and cold.

She must've ran there.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,088 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

I remember reading that when he was in court fairly recently (appealing his drug driving conviction) that people were surprised at how dishevelled and unhealthy he looked.

He seemed to have really went downhill when he realised the Cold Case Review Team were progressing their investigation without contacting him.

He lived his final few months in absolute squalor eating just fish and sleeping on pallets in a kip full of wooden penises which he liked to carve.

Poor fella, what a way to go.

He would have been better off in prison....

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

"Preserving the scene" is ancient. It's from long before DNA. I'm pretty certain I've seen in old movies from the 50s.

Also establishing a time of death is very important for establishing a timeline, so why didn't someone like the doctor take body temperature or something. At least some estimate could be made.

Without a time of death, alibis of suspects are meaningless.

Yep- can’t disagree at all - there was simply mo excuse and Gardai should apologise - where are the suspensions, the sackings, the penalties for the fcking maroons in charge of this investigation regardless of the suspected innocence or guilt of Bailey - it was a pack of kindergarten kids in charge- and that’s insulting kindergarten kids

FFS- they drew his hand scars- did no one know how to use an SLR camera?

or did you have to have a fcking approved camera course before you were permitted to use one 🤪

Jules went to the crime scene to take photos.

They could've borrowed her camera.

Exactly like even local medic give estimate and it's seconded by Harbison or another medic. Just someone sign it off. Like as you say..the entire investigation weights on time of death. So much can be established eliminated etc.

I know lots of people say it could've happened in the morning but I trust Dr Harbison's time of death.

He was extremely experienced at that stage.

Like it is worrying groups of experienced individuals...it still counts for very little if you haven't got it when it's really needed on this massive crime on Irish turf and we have nothing show for our findings. Like Dermot Dwyer I read was highly experienced and had gone through several promotions before arriving in January 1997 think in bantry/schull but this was their time to get it right. It is disappointing element that ultimately her parents and family won't get a confession if ever to who did this

• Registered Users Posts: 8,088 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Only pictures I could find of his hands after the murder.....

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

Remind me what time of death was proffered eventually?

• Registered Users Posts: 261 ✭✭sugarman20

Gardaí investigating the murder of French film producer Sophie Toscan du Plantier have carried out a search of the flat of chief suspect Ian Bailey and seized a large quantity of items including notebooks and computer equipment for examination.

I think it's supposed to be between 12 and 2am.

I'm open to correction though.

Very close to Bailey either being in the pub or in bed so - not a hope of conviction with that timeline anyway