Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users Posts: 6,639 ✭✭✭Glebee

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭chrisd2019

I never renew on time myself, (due to originally purchasing at end of a month, first renewal came 11 months later, as they renew on the first of the month), letters arrive every 7-10 days, after about 2 months one arrives with a different coloured header, that appears to indicate prosecution, that is then repeated numerous times.

At least the process gives the postman a good run out!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,649 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Has Buckhurst made his statement yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,359 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Bakhurst interviewed on Drivetime earlier.

A very shaky interview. Legal advice is his catchphrase.

One thing is for sure, if this was his own money, Coveney and Collins wouldn't have got a cent.

And how much is this ridiculous legal advice costing the tax payer everytime he seeks it? More waste that he would not pay for unless it was public money.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

No progress on that cost cutting report.

I wonder did Catherine Martin bother to ask about it during the meeting today.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,411 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

RTÉ’s director general has defended his decision to give an exit package to Rory Coveney, saying the national broadcaster could have been ordered to pay double the amount if the former strategy director had taken a wrongful dismissal case.

Kevin Bakhurst said there were “absolutely no grounds” to sack Mr Coveney, who was described as the “driving force” behind the ill-fated musical which lost the organisation €2.2m.

Mr Coveney, the brother of Enterprise Minister Simon Coveney, received a package when he resigned and his role was made redundant in July last year — the same week Mr Bakhurst took the helm.

Mr Bakhurst said RTÉ expects to recoup the cost of the payment to Mr Coveney by July this year, leading to speculation the payment was approximately one year’s salary, or about €200,000.

Recalling the comment yesterday, Mr Bakhurst said that “statutory” was a technical term and that what he actually meant was that Mr Coveney had been given an appropriate fee based on his 16 years at the organisation and compared to what he would receive at the WRC.

Mr Bakhurst also confirmed that former chief financial officer Richard Collins was given a payment to leave the organisation, after independent mediation which included a confidentiality clause.

The director general has come under fresh scrutiny about the payouts and confidentiality agreements. Labour senator Marie Sherlock said there had been a “convenient retrofitting of the truth” and the public were led to believe that Mr Coveney resigned of his own volition.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,506 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Does not gross misconduct come in to play for Coveney - went and spent millions without authorisation to do so

Bakhurst is really pushing an image of nothing changes in RTE, ever changing story to suit the agenda

• Registered Users Posts: 886 ✭✭✭DrZeuss

It actually looks like Bakhurst is going for obfuscation more than transparent. If Coveney and Collins are no longer around then there are no answers to be scrutinized.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,506 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Exactly - really need someone in there in charge that has zero ties to anyone, it's all a bit too nepotistic with a former high profile employee brought in to run the place. From the Board who have no idea what's going on to all the higher management team doing whatever they like. Sium looks like someone who'd have a heart attack if you said boo to her -display no managerial prowess at all

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If you were in the private sector and lost the company you worked for a couple of million quid you world be sacked on the spot

that’s before the point of not informing the company you spent the couple of million of their money without authorisation

and that point the gardai are called in

• Registered Users Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I have lost faith in Bakhurst. He is all over the shop lately. Pity. I don't think he will stay in RTE long.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 613 ✭✭✭mykrodot

what bugs me about this is that RTE is funded through taxpayers money and this is compulsory. So RTE is in effect state funded and has to answer to the state, in other words RTE and the Government are in this together particularly when it comes to broadcasting , reporting and zero transparency or objectivity!

To muddy the water more, Simon Coveney's brother had one of the top jobs in RTE - got a huge termination fee and is unavailable for comment. Surely this is a huge conflict of interest. In so many ways RTE is a branch of Government. How can it be impartial? If people stop paying their licence fee and RTE is 100% funded by some Government department then it can never be impartial or objective! Do we want this???

(apologies this point may have already been made but I am not trawling back through 380 pages of posts).

• Registered Users Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

You will then be adding a new feature to your TV. Transaparancy.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭NSAman

Never trusted Bakhurst and still don’t! He was brought in to “smooth” things over, he is obviously doing that perfectly.

in NO private company, could a director run a play/project without authorisation and loose millions without being fired on the spot, no severance pay. That is called dereliction of duty by a director, that’s why you have a board to run things past and get approval.

what I see going on right now, is that Bakhurst is covering up other wrongdoing. He also needs to go.

The givernment needs to ACT on behalf of the Tax Payer, in any other country, these people would be escorted to any enquiry by police … sick my a@se!

The whole thing is a charade at this stage.

PS… have a TV license always have had, but this year, good luck getting €160 from me!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,321 ✭✭✭arctictree

"Recalling the comment yesterday, Mr Bakhurst said that “statutory” was a technical term and that what he actually meant was that Mr Coveney had been given an appropriate fee based on his 16 years at the organisation and compared to what he would receive at the WRC."

Really? Why would it go to the WRC if the role was made redundant and he was given a statutory redundancy of circa 20K ?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Could you not argue that a competent manager would have known what he was getting into before he accepted the role? The analogy of finding yourself being parachuted into the Battle of Arnheim only works if there was a sudden revelation of poor management and financial decisions within RTE, but the dogs have the street have known that for years. A competent manager would have researched the organisation, and when comparing the salaries alone in RTE compared to say the BBC would have been bowled over, and then deciding "Clearly things need to change, if I take this job its going to be an up hill struggle, do I say yes and start implementing change or do I say sod it, I can't be arsed".

As I thought both Coveney and Collins paid off (hush money) to avoid having more dirty laundry aired in public. The last thing that RTE would want with everything else going on is being dragged to the WRC. I'd say Cusack is probably cursing this as she would have been next inline for one of these.

Backhurst is an RTE insider, steeped in the ways of RTE which is not what RTE needs. RTE needs an outsider, preferably someone from outside media to go in there and clear the place out and put in proper processes throughout the place. That person can then bring in their own outsiders with media experience to improve the place. But first the place needs to be gutted of insiders, way too many in there.

• Registered Users Posts: 327 ✭✭backwards_man

I wouldn't be surprised if Dee Forbes take a WRC case in the future against RTE. She resigned without a pay out, despite orchestrating Breeda O'Ks 450K package and many others prior to her departure in June 2023. I expect she went looking for a pay out and was handed her coat by the board. She seems to feel hard done by and eventually when her medical issues subside, that will turn to anger and then she will be looking for compensation.

From her resignation statement: “Finally, I want to reiterate that I have engaged fully with the board during this process. However, the board has not treated me with anything approaching the levels of fairness, equity and respect that anyone should expect as an employee, a colleague or a person. All of this has had a very serious and ongoing impact on my health and wellbeing."

The use if the word "equity" signals to me, that she expected what everyone else got. Eventually she will come looking for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,657 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I really wish Bakhurst had let the likes of Coveney try to take RTE to the WRC. Even if they got a larger payout in the long run, let them have the balls to lose RTE millions and bring RTE into disrepute, and then take RTE to the WRC and justify why they should get their payout. It should have been a rod for their own backs rather than RTE giving them a payoff to get rid of them while also ensuring they don't have to appear before any committee hearings.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭beachhead

Has anyone renamed Montrose as Baldrick's castle? More and more fitting

Would love to see this happening. It seems these pay offs or moving people sideways is the way in Public Service when wanting to get rid of people.

You'd just imagine Eimear Cusack would just resign herself and get a new job.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭NSAman

• Registered Users Posts: 7,450 ✭✭✭fliball123

Yeah RTE my god its just shameful what's going on there, but its how our public sector and any semi state works. I mean yeah RTE are costing us tens of millions but the government just signed off on another 1/2 a billion for the children's hospital with the amounts being paid out is just shocking and absolutely no transparency where the money is going the lads love some gravy and they used the auld trick of a Friday evening message about this and at a time when the publics focus is on RTE. Until we have accountability and hits in the pocket via pensions for semi state and public sector workers for not doing their job correctly we will never see change. Make no bones about it the Politian's asking RTE the questions are just as bad if not worse than RTE for wasting tax payers money.

Oh I'd say she was eyeing up a payoff like Collins and Coveney got.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭saabsaab

In the media today that he stated he won't resign..Often comes before such an event.

O Callan's joke about having over 3 weeks as an RTE employee entitles him to a golden handshake! He went on to clarify that wasn't the case as he had to be responsible for a huge shambles first..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

What is it with the Coveney's?

Years back, one brother was involved in the horse meat scandal, and now the other one is showing he's just as privileged and ignorant as the other one.

They strike as the kind of people that, if you ask them what todays date is, you'd have to double check on every single calendar. They're just that untrustworthy.