Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immigration to Ireland - policies, challenges, and solutions *Read OP before posting*

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Gussoe

Naw the compensation part would be using taxpayer money that would then disrupt prices within the rental market, that's where this goes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

It's a bit much for the UN to criticise Ireland for not having accommodation for everyone coming. Over 100,000 people arrived from Ukraine alone in two years, the numbers from other countries rose too. Not alone are there not houses to spare, hotels across the country are full from the effort, the criticism is unfair and unrealistic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Who wouldn't jump at the chance of having a few Algerian or Somali lads hanging about their house

Now's your chance libs...go for it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

Are we still pretending there's no racism or xenophobia around here?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,649 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Not if the exclude landlords, hotels and other professional accommodation and just have it open to homeowners with a room to spare. This wouldn't impact on the rental market and may even free up properties currently being leased by government to house Asylum seekers and refugees.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭tom23

UN will do this regardless... they also know Ireland takes its International Obligations very seriously. Ask Roderick.

Maybe it's just difficult for those outside Ireland to understand how bad a wealthy country like this can be at putting up buildings.

While it's a bit much to expect 100,000 accommodation units to be delivered in two years, it might be hard to believe our state doesn't have the capacity to deliver beyond a handful of prefabs and tents.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,226 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

When will the penny drop that we'll never be able to build enough for Irish born people never mind unlimited numbers arriving on a daily basis. We'll never be able to catch up, the more we build the more will arrive.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Hotels all over the west of Ireland now house refugees. Large parts of the planning process have been set aside to allow asylum seekers and refugees be housed. The construction sector is at full tilt, there isn't a builder in Ireland who isn't working and any ones of medium size or bigger are trying to get staff. A new Daft.ie rental index today shows double digit increases in rent in the majority of counties, with an average asking price of €1,823 across the country. Kids in several parts of the country can't get secondary school places. Over 150 people admitted to UHL recently couldn't get a bed.

If anyone thinks the current level of emigration can be sustained in the coming years they are not looking at reality. The emigrants might be the best people on earth, but the reality is the country cannot sustain what it has, let alone have hundreds of thousands more people arrive in the short term.

People trying to make it a left-right issue or about race, rather than about reality, are a scourge.

Great post, a voice of reason. Correct about left and right belief systems. What should be practical and sustainable… And we are not doing both. But be prepared for your post to picked apart from the usual suspects.

• Registered Users Posts: 297 ✭✭Gamergurll

Or a novel idea would maybe be to close the doors, we have enough to worry about without adding more and more, we are at the stage of putting people in tents in the street for goodness sake

well some that arrive on a daily basis seem to get ahead of the queue for what ever reason. That for me beggars belief. And we give about medical private public waiting lists

• Registered Users Posts: 18,601 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

David McWilliams had a good article at the weekend suggesting the National Children's Hospital and the Metro North fiascos tell us that the Government itself is the problem, not immigration - very poor at big projects and long term planning.

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭DaithiMa

Of course the government is the problem. It's their idiotic policies (including immigration policies) that have led us to this point. Where has anyone suggested anything else?

Nothing new there, this has been the way here probably since the Celtic tiger era when money seemed to be no object, probably could have been before. The government/Public Service just do not seem to be able to properly plan and deliver projects on time or on budget. Now that could be down to too many cooks and the whole thing just gets bogged down.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

75,000 accomodation units will be delivered in 2 years.

2023 and 2024.

Plus the tents and prefabs.

I agree that we need more on top of what is being delivered though.

You can already do this if the person has legal status to be here.

Alot of ukranians were/are housed this way.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,601 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Therefore not immigrants or immigration causing the problems, but Government action (or inaction).....very poor at long term strategic planning, just focused on the short term and quick fixes all the time.

I don't think closing the doors is the answer either but what I do think is that it should be made much harder for people to just rock up and say they want to claim asylum and then claim to have lost their documents somewhere between getting on a plane and getting to immigration control. We need to have the steps then for after that and that is not to house them but put them in a holding centre till there application is processed however long that may take. This centres should be purpose built and not take from any hotels or housing stock in the country.

As a lot of people have said on here, they are not against immigration and anyone who has jumped through the hoops to get here legally by going doing the visa route are very welcome and that is as it should be.

It will be interesting to see what the new govt owned accomodation is and when does it come on stream.

O'Gorman is due to announce this but i dont know the date.

When it is announced, will there be an end to more hotels being used to accomodate IPAs?

If not, will it be argued that the govt accomodation built is insufficient?

The D hotel is under review and could become part IPA/part tourist.

But another new hotel in Rathmines has just gone to house IPAs.

Will this be the last one, with the intervention of govt owned accomodation?

And what about the unwinding of current IPA hotels? Will there be a plan to enable that?

we have never been good at capital projects in this country.

D hotel owners ruled out part tourist/ IPA

Have you any evidence of this?

If it is true, might it be caused by the buildings earmarked for immigrants being burned by far-right thugs?

Thas what they said

D Hotel says ‘child protection’ issues mean dual use ‘not possible’ Hotel rules out accommodating asylum seekers and tourists together after Taoiseach describes it as ‘the best solution’ for the town

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭DaithiMa

Current Immigration/refugee/IP policies are what I am talking about though and they are certainly causing problems.

For example, Roderic O'Gorman's policy of decimating the tourist industry in multiple areas across the country by filling up hotels and hostels (and seriously enriching their owners) instead of putting a number on the amount of accommodation that we could actually provide at the start of the Ukrainian crisis and accepting that amount of people. Like, you know, a plan of some sort.

Fairly simple stuff you would think but now that hotels are getting scarce, tents on the streets of Dublin seems to be their next solution. How such an incompetent minister is still in a job is beyond me. What a mess.

It's as easy as 'closing the doors' is it?

Somebody tell the Americans, they're spending 25 billion per year trying and failing to 'control' their Southern Border.

have you evidence that far right thugs burned those buildings? if you do I’d encourage you to contact the Gardai. You’ll be doing the state some service.

Anyone surprised? I’m not.

As per my post, OGorman is due to announce a new strategy involving govt owned accomodation shortly.