Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed. **Threadbans in OP**

• Registered Users Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭chooseusername

“The guards tried long and hard for this, and failed”

That’s because they were looking at the wrong suspect.

• Registered Users Posts: 44 Acorn 737

There is no credible evidence of anyone being at the bridge, it goes back to what I already said, the ravings of crackpots. Even if there was, that doesn’t mean they committed the murder.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Nothing should be overlooked but equally nothing should be assumed or inferred without evidence.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

They were looking at a suspect who has lied repeatedly about his actions before, during and after the murder.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,243 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Plus he was known to walk the roads by night, it was not out of character for Bailey.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭tomhammer..

It's not unusual at all for rural dwellers to undertake long walks home etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,651 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

I think it is possible that there were other men on that peninsula who walked home at night and had a history of violence against women.

Though all of this is much more problematical if the murder took place in the early morning rather than late at night.

We have no idea how that bottle got there, there could be a million reasons, none of them logical or plausible to us now but could make sense when explained.

The connections between the bottle and Sophie are that it was found relatively near her house a few months after her murder, was French like her and was not available to be bought in Ireland.

That might sound like a connection but when you think about it it's really vague.

Anyone Irish or French could have bought that wine, not only in CDG but in France or Europe in general, and it could have ended up in that ditch before or after the murder.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭oceanman

but you have to admit it is strange....what would have been a very expensive bottle of wine at the time just left unopened in a ditch....empty maybe, but unopened...very strange

“That might sound like a connection but when you think about it it's really vague.”

Any connection, no matter how vague you might think it is, would not have been overlooked.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,144 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

You are saying we should trust the Garda instincts about Bailey because they saw him in the room. Yet these are the same Guards who wanted us to trust what Marie Farrell was saying. So either they are incompetent for believing her lies or they are corruptly using her.

So these are the Guards you want us to trust their "instincts" about what they saw in Bailey???

Maybe they thought they saw a conviction for a high profile case that would get a monkey off their backs.

But one thing for sure, suggesting we should trust Guards willing to use dodgy witnesses in a fit up, who destroyed the references on how Bailey was identified as a suspect as well as witness statements is not a credible argument. That can be immediately discounted.

"As usual you're not arguing very well" - your words, not mine, but maybe you should heed them.

Post edited by odyssey06 on

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Where are all these posts stating the "impossibility" of it. In your own time now.

Unknown. But GSOC couldn't get straight answers. This should have all been documented and tracked as a standard piece of the Garda investigation.

Try reading back through the discussion which is what I did in my own time. Does underling each of your posts with a quote make you feel more intelligent?

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭head82

Curious as to what extent the Garda squad investigated the possible connection between Sophie and the bottle of wine. Were there any receipts from CDG airport? Perhaps a credit card statement (albeit not specifically itemised but an indication of how much spent). Was she partial to this particular brand of wine? An expensive bottle of wine is not typically an impulse buy.

If a connection could be made, it would increase the likelihood of the murderer having gained access to Sophies' house after the event. Which I believe up till now, has never been ascertained. Despite the blood smear on the back door.

Predictive text should have said underlining.

SO even when he gets the actual details wrong, he is still guilty. This is reverse engineering reasons to a predetermined decision.

Maybe he used champagne because Sophie was French???

We haven't even seen the actual article Bailey is supposed to have mentioned this in, just Senan Maloney's description of that single phrase.

Quoting the post you are responding to makes sense. Try it yourself. Just click “quote” on the post you are replying to.

Dunno

Maloney for what it's worth speculated that bailey grabbed the bottle of wine before the murder

Just another theory among many . I assume he got it from a conversation with a garda

Unlikely they’d wind him up like that. The first to use that silly story was Nick Foster, probably where he got it.

You're ruling it out then ?

How likely is it the killer took a bottle of wine after and then threw it away

Think about that

Well if one journalist got word of a missing bottle of wine so could others. Doesn't make any of them murderers - except of English.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

The perception of Bailey as a suspect has nothing to do with the gardai and everything to do with multiple self incriminating statements from him. Thats why he became a focus of attention and remains so to this day.

No one has even come close to him in terms of suspicion. 27 years in and no new arrested suspects.

I'm probably wrong there

Taking it after is possibly the more likely

We don't know that because the Guards destroyed the record of how Bailey was identified as a suspect.

We do know the Guards went about generating hysteria in the local community about Bailey, as the DPP report calls out.

One of the reasons why no one has come close is because that's where the Guards focused their efforts. And we're supposed to trust Guards who destroy evidence and either are duped by Marie Farrell or willing to engage in malfeasance with her evidence.

The same Guards had Marie Farrell in the room with them.

So either their instincts are bogus or they are not to be trusted. And if we can't trust their instincts about Marie Farrell, nor can we trust them about Bailey.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 irishspiderplant

And if Bailey has never been 'all there' mentally (extremely arguable) then are we to trust whatever comes out of his mouth?

I can't really be dealing with the decades long scenario people are suggesting in which Bailey is so sly as to literally get away with murder and outsmart the Gardai while also simultaneously running his mouth off to whoever will listen about how 'he done it.'

No one has ever come up with a reason for why Bailey would go 'confessing' to the murder other than that he is arrogant and narcissistic. Well we've been knowing that. You don't need to be capable of murder to be a **** idiot.

27 years is a long time to be focused on one suspect. Surely they explored other avenues in that time? Fine if it kept pointing back at IB, who to be fair drew a lot of trouble on himself.

He didn’t really need to outsmart them he simply played them for what it was worth. Don’t forget this guy had a lot of time on his hands, no mortgage, job, kids or any real strains, he had the time to literally make this whole thing his life’s purpose. The Gardai didn’t, and probably hoped he’d clear off and find a job and stop annoying them all the time. What I’m trying to say is that Ian had a significant advantage over the Gardai in this respect and could keep himself in control of the narrative indefinitely because he had the time to rehearse and construct said narrative.

Curious as to what extent the Garda squad investigated the possible connection between Sophie and the bottle of wine. Were there any receipts from CDG airport? Perhaps a credit card statement (albeit not specifically itemised but an indication of how much spent).

The bottle was found 3 months after the murder.

Any personal items that belonged to Sophie, like receipts were probably returned to her family by then.

The family could have disposed of them well before the bottle was found.

Plus back then it was really difficult for police forces to communicate across borders.

The West Cork podcast talks about this when they describe how difficult the Gardai found it to talk to people like her son, it was full of red tape.

The same could be the case for trying to identify evidence that was now in France.