Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland - now considered one of most vulnerable countries in the EU (defense wise)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,850 ✭✭✭aidanodr

Trump ( I am no fan ), in this case was refering to NATO and countries in the EU who are also part of NATO not paying there fair share, he has a point here. Some countries still not paying out the 2% of GDP, these are the countries he is on about. Ireland are not part of NATO so that critisism doesnt apply I dont think.

Re drones - relative to the size of our country we have a huge EEZ area ( exclusive economic zone ) to look after:

Its at the edge of this zone that previous Russian drills were happening, could still be happening but we have no primary radar or sonar to even keep an eye on this area or our closer national waters. Nor do we have any decent aircraft to recon this area. Dont think drones would cut the mustard that far out

( this pic above was back in 2022 as an example )

I reckon yes re drones around our coasts + then primary radar and sonar for further out + maybe some longer range larger recon aircraft for further out. Pointless having fighter jets, we would need too many. But at least with the rest outlined above we could at least watch whats in the seas around us and in the skies above us and report this to the EU and UK / Allies. We would then be playing some part in our own DEFENCE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

A lot of people are very short sighted and don't appear to grasp how things change.

At the end of the cold war it looked like Russia had come in from the cold.

Then over the years partially through US stupidity, apathy, negligence and Russians love of hard men we are now where we are.

Recently we have advent of the old isolationist America idea under Trump.

Over last 25 years we have had huge rise in islamist ideology, growing numbers of followers in Europe and if anything we have opened that door in this country.

The likes of al-qeada and ISIS sympathisers couldn't a give rats ass that we didn't invade anyone, that we aren't in NATO.

See Swedish attacks as prime example.

They see us gleefully welcoming US presidents and being welcomed by them to the White House every year, they see us hosting half of the US top 100 multinationals.

How do we protect ourselves if someone decides to carry out major terrorist attack?

Can we even spot an aircraft that has been hijacked in our airspace?

And if we do think there is hijacking, do we just ring RAF to kindly take a look for us.

We don't have to have F22s, F35, Typhoons, but something better than a turboprop trainer might be handy.

And if there is attack on the ground do we hope for more passers by like an Irish woman and Brazilian man to step up.

We rely on a few Garda armed response and a few Rangers in the Curragh.

Do we even have any proper intelligence services and please don't tell us how good we were at infiltrating Republicans 25 years ago as that is about much use as the runway behind you or the sky above you when your plane is in trouble.

And a lot of the same people claiming no need for Irish defense are over on other threads telling us how the world is turning to shyte and there are millions of people that will want to come to Europe.

Maybe the throw your arms around the world brigade hold sway in Ireland, but the likelihood is European countries, fellow EU countries, that are already going right or are right will say fook that for a game of cowboys. Sooner or later the Med will be patrolled and European militaries will be beefed up, with even creation of a EU one if EU lasts the course, to protect Europe.

And we will have to step up.

What makes this worse is we appear to the outside world as this supposed massive economy, as a massive tax haven for multinationals, but yet expect others to ensure our security.

As they say it is all a bit Irish.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,348 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Yeah ,but him , I think, would be saying why aren't Ireland in Nato . Fcuk them

• Registered Users Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭brickster69

And what was the reason for these all terrorist groups being formed do you think ? I don't remember that many groups spreading chaos before certain countries decided to illegally bomb the hell out of countries just because they never liked the leader they had in charge and wanted to put someone else in charge. I don't remember that many immigrants fleeing warzones before either come to think of it.

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭Randycove

No, they are escorted through Irish airspace, not out of it.

look, it’s kind of irrelevant, it is highly unlikely to happen, but it does show just how indefensible Ireland actually is.

It doesn't matter why terrorist groups were formed.

You have people that share nothing but a common belief system with the ones being bombed to decide to slaughter innocent people in some Western country.

You are making excuses for the likes of the terrorists that slaughter young children that were concert goers in Manchester, people out enjoying a gig in Paris, people going to work in London, Madrid or people enjoying an evening troll by seafront in Nice.

I can't and will not go down rabbit hole about immigrants as I have been warned about posting on the topic on other threads.

One of the lickspittles will probably go runnning about that comment.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭brickster69

Of course it matters why terrorist groups were formed. How does anyone learn from mistakes if they disregard the cause of why and how they happened in order to prevent the same mistakes being made again in the future ?

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Registered Users Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Most refugees in Ireland "fleeing warzones" are from Ukraine I think.

Even if above paragraph gave the full story as regards the rise of Islamic fundamentalism/terrorism and instability in the ME (it doesn't), it is irrelevant in context of this thread.

On other thread(s) you are boasting and gleeful about Houthis in Yemen trying to sink European cargo ships, disrupt Europe/Asia trade, and cut subsea data connections with Asia.

That kind of stuff becoming more common as zones of instability grow in the world doesn't seem bode well for security of an island country...but on this thread you make the usual jokes about probability of a Russian "invasion" (subtext all is okay here, business as usual, no threats, no need to worry!).

Head spinning contradictions, pissing down people's backs while also telling them "look it is raining!".

• Registered Users Posts: 5,545 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

throwing a few bombs down into a few sections of Dublin would hardly be much of a loss now would it?

In all seriousness why would they bomb Dublin? Give us a few reasons? RIP of pints in temple bar?

Maybe we shouldn’t cull the cows and conscript them into the new army? Cause sure as anything ir won’t be anyone on this thread defending our nations against the horrible World, myself included 👍

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Scipri0

I didn't say i figured it out, but what i do know is i can tell when people are lying and trying to blow smoke up my ass. This country is being run as a business and the people are being neglected for big business. All the government is doing is feathering their own nests for themselves, family and friends while they sell the rest of us out.

See the link below? They don't care about migrants, they only want to use them as a cheap source of labour for their business buddy friends. Instead of raising wages and competing for workers, they just import a cheaper workforce. It'll be the same when it comes to defence spending. They'll be lobbied and offered kickbacks when they get out of politics. I'm glad people protested about the water charges because if they didn't, we'd have a privatised water supply right now, and we're not out of the woods yet on that. FFG have no problems selling us out if they can gain for themselves.

"Minister wants asylum seekers to be able to work after two months"

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭highpitcheric

Theres not that much looking after to be done in an eez.

We have rights to the resources in that area, thats about it. Ships still have the right to pass through.

And yes we would/do know if/where there are russian ships. Ireland as an eu member works with frontex, the eu border agency. Which has signal monitoring and surveillance satellites.

We have friends in eu agencies, and we even have some token surveillance aircraft ourselves.

Irish led frontex operation below.

https://waterford-news.ie/2019/12/04/23-people-deported-from-ireland-this-morning-in-frontex-operation/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,253 ✭✭✭threeball

€250k each but if you bought 50 you'd probably get that down to €200k. So €10m you'd have a fairly serious deterrent and extensive surveillance system. An operator could run 2 at a time so low staffing requirements. If I were a fighter jet acting the bollox off our coast I wouldn't be too cocky if there was a good chance of one of these loitering somewhere nearby.

They could be used for aerial monitoring of criminal activity too. Assign one in an area where there is an incident, send up a replacement to fill in for it. You could have 30 in the air and 20 on the ground at any one time. 30 fairly invisible units, 60 rockets ready at all times covering a relatively small area, scary prospect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Polar101

No-one is going to invade Ireland (unless, say, WW3 breaks out and things change dramatically). But that doesn't mean there shouldn't be basic investment in defense/national security. It's completely naive to think you won't have to do anything about security because a few other countries think the Irish are a lovely bunch of lads, and will help out.

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭Milominderbender

If we don't do something we could end up with a foreign power occupying a part of our homeland and end up with key leadership roles occupied by non Irish people.

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭highpitcheric

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭joseywhales

There's no risk/reward in invading Ireland, what exactly would be the point, just bad PR and no resources and a bunch of pissed off civilians/paras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,590 ✭✭✭✭ted1

How is it the Eammon Ryan is living rent free in your head.

fir a minister that apparently sleeps the whole team he seems very productive on his policies , so much do he has you all rattled

And why would they attack us?

In our history only the Danes and British have attacked us.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭Francis McM

You forget many things eg the sacking of Baltimore, which took place in 1631, when the village of Baltimore in West Cork was attacked by pirates from the Barbary Coast of North Africa — the raiders included Dutchmen, Algerians, and Ottoman Turks, and many people taken back as slaves to North Africa.

The British have defended us since we got our independence. Before that a large percentage of the British forces deployed worldwide were Irish, ( as you would expect, St. Patricks cross representing Ireland is part of the Union Jack ) so we helped establish the empire. It made no difference to the Aboriginal in Australia or the native population in Canada or New Zealand if the white man who came, came from Dublin or Liverpool. In the last 100 year we were saved from Nazism by Britain. Britain stood between us and occupied Europe. Hitler did not care for the neutrality of many neutral countries he invaded. He invaded neutral countries, sent many there to extermination camps and used others as slave labour.

In more recent times, the NATO forces ( US, UK and others ) you could say won the cold war, so the "west" defended us then as well. Even in the past decade, when a Russian jet flies off our west coast with its transponder turned off, it is the British we turn to to intercept it. We cannot do it ourselves.

As someone else said " What makes this worse is we appear to the outside world as this supposed massive economy, as a massive tax haven for multinationals, but yet expect others to ensure our security."

It doesn't matter a fook why they were formed and it is totally outside our control to prevent them being formed or existing.

When the fook are Irish people going to cop on we are tiny in the grand scheme of things.

We can't solve the Middle East problems, no more than we can solve global warming (something the greens and environmentalists can't seem to comprehend)

We just need to make sure we can deal with some of the consequences that might visit our shores.

Our neutrality is trotted out as something great as if we can swan in and act as great some neutral intermediary and everyone will listen.

Fact is we have never been truly neutral.

In WWII we allowed Allied aircraft cross our territory, we returned down Allied airmen to Britain whereas we interred German airmen.

We depended on Allied resources to protect our shipping.

In cold war we were always on the Western side.

Yeah we let Aeroflot use Shannon, but that was about it.

And today we are in EU which has 22 members of NATO with another to join i.e. Sweden.

The only non NATO members then will be Austria, Ireland, Malta.

We are economically so linked to US it is beyond comprehension.

Remember the old joke about the 51st state?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭Randycove

Because a nuclear armed country is currently run by a megalomaniac who may decide that he wants to tank the European economy?

it’s unlikely, but it does show just how undefended we actually are.

which nuclear Armed Country is that?

how much billions would we need to spend up stop a nuke from

Air or a submarine?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,209 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I don't think we should join NATO but we should be able to defend ourselves and our interests. That means making it not worth it for any attacker to take the country easily. Lessons from Ukraine could be applied. Drone forces air and sea, properly manned ships, a small but modern air force including jets, no main battle tanks except for training and CV90s. A small modern well equipped army and a large territorial army. national service for younger and everyone gets 2 weeks arms training..

How much do you think all of that is going to cost?

Plus in reality if someone wants to attack us how long do you think we will be able to hold them out?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,209 ✭✭✭saabsaab

It will cost more no doubt but not as much as some seem to think. Saab Gripen squardons can be leased with full supports for around 100M per year. As for holding out we are an island and if they suffered enough damage on landing they may not be able to hold on. Guerilla warfare with pre positioned weapons stashs could make holding difficult for any invader..

OK but I stil refer back to why would anyone attack Ireland? what exactly is the benefit of holding Ireland? we have no manufacturing and we have no oil/gas reserves

I suggest you do a bit of research into why Ukraine was attacked. You have posted that at least twice to me and I guess a lot of times already. It's not hard to find the reason.

Ireland wouldn't sink US and EU economies.