Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda facing disciplinary hearing for helping elderly man

• Registered Users Posts: 3,279 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

• Registered Users Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭appledrop

Thanks, even more shocking after reading that.

This was during Covid remember when elderly people were like prisoners in their own home. Think about how lonely this man was with no socialising now during Covid.

Sure my own parents never left the house and I used to drop up groceries to them and have a quick chat in garden as we couldn't go in.

As I mentioned before they were to ring Gardai if any problems and needed help doing shopping, collecting prescriptions etc so how the F**k could this happen to a Garda who lent an elderly man a bike during this time!

He even left the sticker on it from Gardai Station.

The whole thing is a disgrace, some of those investigators seem to think that are in the FBI or something, raiding both houses over a bike!

Did no-one anywhere shout stop this is ridiculous!

Sad part is someone mentioned early must have been someone in his own station who reported him and that does seem to be the case.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Thanks for posting that report.

Just as we suspected the disciplinary process in AGS is not fit for purpose and requires an urgent overhaul.

• Registered Users Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Get Real

Absolutely brilliant article. Really raises several questions and issues that we wouldn't know about.

I completely get how ludicrous it is when put in this context. But I also get how it happened, because senior Gardai don't want to be seen as involved in something dodgy or untoward so they follow the "proper procedure"

It's just such a shame that this proper procedure doesn't account for anything. Yes, I want Gardai to be accountable. But this shows just how accountable they are, to the point where we and the community lose out if they are reluctant to assist in this way in future, or give a lift in a rural area to an elderly person to the doctors or pharmacy.

Also, his point that 99 Gardai are currently suspended but many of these have also already been cleared of any criminal offence makes me wonder how many other similar incidents there are. Those guards simply didn't go to the press about them.

What I take from it overall is 1)the bike didn't have an owner and was being disposed of anyway. I'd rather an elderly man get it for a loan than a private auction company taking it and making money off it.

2) road he policing authority have a great system in theory. And the spokeswoman there believes in such a system. As do I. But not when applied like this. I don't want my tax money wasted on a policing authority that doesn't actually know what it supports or leaves it's guidelines so broad, it harms Gardai. I also don't want my money hounding people who do good.

An absolutely ridiculous scenario and the people of Ireland want and deserve accountability. I think that has now gotten to the point that it has harmed normal common sense and public good. From chasing burglars on the m50 to lending an elderly man a bike. Nobody is more accountable for simply doing their job it seems.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭mikethecop

And the end result is that drew and the policing authority still think they were in the right , to do what they did to that man suggesting that they would take the same actions again .

is that a positive for the community, a net gain for Ireland ?

Most gardai in rural areas want to help and improve the lives of the people they police , do you think drew and his crew have the same priorities in mind ?

do they fcuk

Inspite of what some of the mouthy little keyboard warriors on here like to say AGS is a community policing organization and your government is trying to change it to somethin else . They dont seem to understand that gardai are part of the community too.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,334 ✭✭✭Francis McM

" 99 Gardai are currently suspended " you write? If so, I wonder if they are all on full pay and their cases taking three years each, as the relatively simple case of a missing bicycle took? Would that be costing the taxpayer over €8,000,000 per year, given that the average earnings of Gardai, according to the government's own c.s.o., is €82,348.17 per year?

• Registered Users Posts: 51,997 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The entire affair and the treatment of this Garda is almost unbelievable. How someone who was clearly looking after his elderly community could be treated like that is just baffling. Clearly Harris has made the Garda force afraid to do their jobs in the community and this effects everyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,140 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

I’m actually surprised just how muted overall the union has been throughout this so called “case”.

DPP made a decision two years ago I think that no prosecution should take place- that didn’t stop the Gardai senior management insisting on their pound of flesh and decided to press ahead with disciplinary process - two fcking years , something like 5 fcking breaches of discipline put against this poor Garda with 30 years service and many many commendations, many of them recent - and ZERO found against him at the end of all of this. All over a fcking bicycle- a dawn raid suspension loss of earnings, obvious follow on depression as a result loss of standing in community - all over a fcking bicycle that was lent to an elderly man in need throughout covid lockdown - it’s fcking insane.

Garda senior management are fcking taking the piss- THEY should be suspended and investigated for presiding over this sh1t show and the Garda in question promoted before he retires

Oh totally - there’s no question in my mind that he must go- whilst the previous regime and leadership were like a pigsty in terms of their contempt for the law, this regime has swung the pendulum the other way - a Garda force can’t function under fear - the commissioners methods are about 30 years out of date in terms of management style .

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

All over a fcking bicycle

To be fair, it wasn't just a bike. It was two bikes and two expensive wheels apparently

• Registered Users Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭mikethecop

it may be because neither gardai nor gra expect anything else from upper management and the government , this isn't the first case like this just the most publicized and recent.

management have become political lackeys rather than police

there is a long history of distain for gardai from ministers for justice , the last one i can recall who had any respect was McDowell, dont confuse affection with respect now but at least he seemed to know what he was doing

I hope the Garda in question is doing OK- he has absolutely nothing to be ashamed of and should hold his head up high.

@MichaelDHiggins- President of Ireland - if you want to stir some sho1te, which you’re well known for doing -give this Garda an award of some kind- stick it to the pr1cks that stitched up this Garda,

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭BagofWeed

What's good for the goose is good for the gander. He fucked about and found out.

We are a nation of miserable busy bodies and the Gardaí have played a part in that culture so they shouldn't cry when they themselves are now the victims of an overzealous bureaucracy infested with busy bodies.

Gardaí are rapidly being dumbed down to the level of American hillbilly police, Harris has been a disaster for both policing and the general cohesion in our society itself.

Let me guess- you got “done” for a “bag of weed”. 🤪

So while this is a somewhat criticism of the case by Paul Williams, it’s not in anyway cutting- the headline is the most cutting part of the article, and that’s just mild. From posters here saying “there must be more to this story” to a very low key response from the GRA, to a journalist who would ordinarily support the underdog and innocent a hell of a lot more than he’s done in this article , there’s something fcking just wrong going on here.

Why won’t national media call this for the pile of b0ll0x it is? Why the fcking polite questions? Why not just call it for what it is?

And as for the GRA-

“GRA general secretary Ronan Slevin eloquently summed up the situation this week when he said the case had “blown apart” efforts at good community policing.

“This was a case where good, decent community policing was blown apart and relationships destroyed,” Mr Slevin said.

“In essence, I believe a sledgehammer of discipline was used to crack a nut, and the reputation of a long-serving member was damaged, his honesty questioned and his livelihood threatened.”

Well Ronan- where’s the “nut” to be cracked? There was none- the Garda was fully cleared? Do you honestly think such a statement is supportive of your members?

• Registered Users Posts: 35,057 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Of course any employee in any job who is suspended has the right to be paid, until the disciplinary process has concluded there is no finding of wrongdoing against them.

BUT for a garda it's a big financial loss, as there is only basic pay, no shift allowance, unsocial hours etc etc which make up a large chunk of income for many if not most gardai. So even if exonerated they have lost out financially (as well as any perceived / actual adverse effect on their career, standing in their community, social life, even strain on marriage/relationship)

I would hope that most suspensions are less than three years, and as I said there is only basic pay paid during that time, so your figure would be way off.

© 1982 Sinclair Research Ltd

• Registered Users Posts: 35,057 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Good article overall but one very silly point made - asking why disciplinary procedures weren't dropped when the DPP decided no criminal charges would be brought.

Does that mean that I can't be disciplined in my job no matter what I do, provided it's not actually a crime? No, because that would be stupid (maybe it's how things work in RTE though 😛 )

© 1982 Sinclair Research Ltd

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭BagofWeed

How original, bet you're great craic with a pint of black in your hand.

Must be very upsetting for some to see the perch being knocked.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭dmc17

• Registered Users Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Sorolla

So a gard gave a man the “loan” of a bike.

this bike did not belong to the gard

in my view the gard did do wrong.

If this behaviour is not investigated where will it all end.

will drugs that have been confiscated and are going to be destroyed in the same category as that bike.

any gard can say - I’ll give the hash to my friends - I’m not doing any wrong as the drugs are going to be destroyed anyway.

fair play to drew - zero tolerance.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,793 ✭✭✭Comhrá

If you can't or won't even try to spell properly, don't expect your silly post to be taken seriously. What's a 'gard'?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Sorolla

scorn me not for my simplicity

I am a simple rural man who still eats the dinner in the middle of the day and I am also a daily communicant

anyone can be generous with another man’s ass - but it’s wrong to give other people the loan of property that I don’t own.

this is exactly what the pleaseman did

wrong is wrong

2 wrongs don’t make a right

i would suggest you learn a little respect for others

If you insist on not referring to guards by their proper name, you won't garner much respect.

"The warrant was secured the day after the garda had told a superior he had given the man the bike, suggesting the NBCI probe was already under way.

The day after that, on June 4, six officers from the NBCI in three garda cars arrived at the officer’s home at dawn."

Surely whoever ordered this operation should have to explain and justify what would appear to be a grossly inappropriate deployment of Garda resources and personnel when the force is currently suffering from understaffing, especially in rural areas.

Report coming up on RTE Radio 1 in the next hour.

• Registered Users Posts: 868 ✭✭✭purifol0

You don't sign up, you apply. And its one of the most in demand jobs in the state. How many positions on publicjobs.ie receive 5000 applications a year?

• Administrators Posts: 14,071 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

• Registered Users Posts: 868 ✭✭✭purifol0

Absolute bollocks. Not only is the garda doing better, they are doing far better.

Job security, massive pension, massive lump sum on retirement, extremely early retirement, own credit union, paid overtime, no need to upskill.

Also you embarrass yourself with that Math. Unless Garda management are earning millions, an average figure for earnings is fine. Thing is, as they are public servants all payslips should be public. Of course the public sector don't want us knowing just how much they are creaming it, so that isn't going to happen.