Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline: Thread with no name, Host with no shame

• Registered Users Posts: 6,304 ✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

• Registered Users Posts: 24,793 ✭✭✭✭zell12

• Registered Users Posts: 39,386 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

3pm and time to hit the tarmac, Joe.

An easy day, wallowing in misery.

Bank the cash and head off home.

Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭calculator

I had a relation die from it to, didn't see him very often and always at social occasions so the speech just seemed like he was drunk.

• A cousin got it, I saw her slowing down whilst walking in St Edna’s Park. During coffee I asked her about it and she said she had been to her & my doctor, he sent her for xray, mild arthritis. I said I didn’t believe it was arthritis, took her to VHI Dundrum, they were suspicious, sent her first to a spinal specialist to rule out spine pathology, ordered brain mri and nerve conduction tests, the latter abnormal, she kept getting worse, then a neurologist diagnosed her, dead in 6 months, was with her when she died very peacefully.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users Posts: 3,552 ✭✭✭avfc1874

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• The Covid database was found to have a weakness where it could have been theoretically breached, this happens, but HSE didn’t bother to report to Data Protection Commissioner as not enough fields would have been retrievable in a breach. It was deployed very quickly, as it needed to be, but with a chink in the armour which was duly discovered by commissioned cybersecurity company.

Should we ring Joe?

• I’m still thinking about yer man of de potery buke and de sofistikated skam he fell for. Joe asked him some questions:

Caller: I was expecting a parcel, how did the scammer know that?

Joe: It’s just random, they got lucky that you were expecting a parcel. Did you take a close look at the website (or words to that effect)?

Caller: Who does that?

Caller: They should have another layer of security, it’s not good enough that the banks don’t.

Joe: Did you get a single use code?

Caller: No

Joe: Did you click on the link in the text?

Caller: Yes, but the bank should take responsibility, they didn’t add another layer of security. It’s their fault.

Joe: It’s really your fault caller.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,336 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

De sofistikated skam asked the caller for the login details for his Bank Of Ireland account, no transactrion on the face of the earth asks for this and there's about eleventeen million warnings from Bank Of Ireland about never ever giving these details out to anyone. Any account holder falling for it is an idiot and should only have a Simpleton Customer Current Account™ that requires a weeks notice and a comprehansive consultation to move more than €20 online.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,111 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

• After the above scan I went to the psycho-neurologist, and after questioning he told me I had a dense brain and presented me with an impressive hat to wear to keep my head warm. I was well chuffed.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Off tomorrow for his colleagues furenal. I wonder does he get paid for the day off.

Katie will be in talking about what. Is it to late to talk about the Oscars.

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭steinbock123

A bit late with this, but did anyone see our Joe on the RTE news the other night? He was wheeled out with other assorted colleagues to give their tuppence hal’penny worth about poor old Charlie Bird. Unless my eyes were deceiving me, he was wearing a waistcoat with actual lapels. Now I’m no tailoring expert, but I thought that waistcoat’s don’t normally have lapels, or am I wrong? If they normally don’t have lapels, does this mean that this is a bespoke item made personally , and to his own design (probably by Louis Copeland) for the great man himself?

Or am I wrong, and this is normal?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,241 ✭✭✭Tow

If you can get a clear screenshot, cut out the waistcoat and feed it into Google photo search.

Waistcoats with lapels appear to be a far east fashion, Temu have this offering for 11 euro.

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

I have an aunt who is onto her eleventeenth Facebook account because she keeps forgetting the password AND the email address associated with it. Facebook has developed advanced ways of getting the real person back into their account with a questionnaire. She regularly fails that particular Turing test because when it asks "Where did you last login from", expecting Dublin, or Ireland, she answers "the kitchen".

Many years ago, they came up with the ECDL, the European Computer Driving License, which was never fit for purpose. It instructed one how to use Word and Excel but neglected things like turning a computer on, where to find she Start button, how to right-click, etc. A true comparison with driving a car, it would have been like letting people drive around without them knowing how to start the engine or them knowing what pedals do or what the numbers mean on that odd shaped elbow rest.

A regular piece of advice given out is never write your password down, which many people abide by. That advice was meant for people in offices where there are shared computers, shared accounts etc. I have witnessed post-it notes on monitors saying "Admin p/w: 123456". For older or computer illiterate people, there is absolutely nothing wrong with having your passwords written down. A Russian hacker is not going to fly over, find your house in Wexford and break into your house, just to get your facebook password.

Some people really should not be online. Those same people absolutely should not do financial transactions online.

I had two elderly parents. Neither were tech savvy. Neither ever got scammed online. Both regularly bought books online - via Amazon. If Amazon don't have the book you want, just like if a book shop doesn't have the book you want, tough luck. They didn't go searching for it in the outer rim of the internet.

The caller yesterday filled in the form with his banking details, check mate. He was under the illusion which Joe should have corrected him on, that to access his account someone needs the IBAN. The IBAN is made up of the Bank ID number, for Bank of Ireland I think it's BOIF, your account number and your sort code. All three of which you would enter into a form asking for your bank details!

Joe was on Virgin Media talking about Charlie.. Are those his paintings in his fancy high-ceilinged mansion parading his lapelled waistcoat?

🤢

And there goes my lunch.

The upward angle is not a good look for Joe. He needs more Downwards Dog in his life and less Bottomless Breakfasts.

I have met people who did computer science in Trinity, but when presented with a humble PC could work out how to turn it on.

This was around 1994, in Trinity the computer was still a mainframe which lived in a special room and you could look at it through a window.

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

Does Lord Duffy also have the problem of the ESB Meter 10-12 foot above the floor, at his front door? A per ur wan in posh Cark with the ancestors who also fought in the British Army, like Joe's.

1994? You sure it wasnt 1974?

Windows 95 with a graphical user interface came out in 1995.

The Commodore 64 home computer came out in 1982.

I had a computer in 1994, and it weren't no mainframe.

It was 1993/4, DOS and Windows 3.1

I was online from about 1990 with my trusty V.22bis Modem.

• Blame my late cousin, Prof John Byrne who founded the school of Comp Science & Statistics in TCD. Lived on my estate. He was originally an academic engineer , wanted to find enough computational power to solve some rotational forces in concrete applications. His research led him to the burgeoning world of computers and founding the facility.

He wouldn’t have been much into buttons and things, he tried driving and nearly crashed the car , thought machines were not for him. I had in my gaff some of his masheens from time to time, there were keys missing, everything he touched fell to pieces.

John used to come out to Weston to watch me fly helicopters and planes, with fascination on how one could attempt to do such a thing and pull it off. 🤣

OK. What was the point you were trying to make?

• Windows 3.1 was out earlier with a GUI launching via DOS. My first home pc. Before that I used a Mac 2 with a GUI to write a buke for publication.

Re Trinity compewturs, a history..

All this does is demonstrate that main frames were not the norm in 1994.

Trinity lads were good with the maths and theory, but as you said not de buttons. A reflection on your uncle's teaching. There was also a lad called Mr (John?) Hickey who used to teach computer science, may have been UCD. He lived is one of the large houses facing your former local park. He used to teach us computers in national school, early 80s on a VIC-20 i think it was.

• Re ECDL, it is a cert faith a crazy title. Who drives computers?

Got me away from dealing with the public a bit, the scones in the IPA were nice. Now re turning machines on and off, it does include a theory section re the boot process and aspects around that, hazards of interruption etc. As regards right clicking, if you didn’t already know how to do that you couldn’t actually get your cert as most tests involved a lot of tight-clicking.

Despite its silly name it was a good basis for doing more advanced modules, and again these brought me welcome respite from having to interact with customers.

The libraries wanted at least one person in each branch to be very at home with IT. You were expected to get familiar with all aspects of IT as applied to libraries, including Solaris SunOS on which everything resided. If you did ECDL you got the keys to the router cabinet, don’t was incumbent on you to know how everything worked here. The router served 12 devices.I used to have a bit of mischief there but that’s another story 😉

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users Posts: 20,435 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

we got a few PC's at school around 1995. My first introduction to them. spent most of the time playing Gorillas