Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immigration to Ireland - policies, challenges, and solutions *Read OP before posting*

• Registered Users Posts: 7,385 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

There has been a famine and wars for the last 100 years.

Ireland has become increasingly left and woke the last 5 years thanks to Roderic O Gorman who invited every scam artist to our shores on the internet.

Every country has a right to protect its own borders and that’s what Ireland needs to start doing.

Post edited by Jinglejangle69 on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Late coz of the outage

The Green party cllr hand wringing about the situation that her party created and not getting pulled up on it

The Emma Lane-Spollen grifter - 'When people are arriving here from Syria and Palestine...blah, blah' - Didn't mention the #1 country 'Nigeria' I note - They really do take us for thicks

I used to think yer one Brock was ok - she's not, she's rubbish

• Registered Users Posts: 16,548 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The urban areas are going to continue to bear the brunt of this.

As the weather gets milder from next month the numbers will increase even more.

People peeing and taking dumps in public is completely unacceptable.

That one on the panel making excuses for it because of Ramadan needs to cop on.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

There is/will be a reception centre in Punchestown.

• Registered Users Posts: 54,265 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Small things like actually following the laws and not allowing anyone into the country without a passport and adding more countries to the designated safe countries list would help.

Nigerians should not be any way near this country, they're economic migrates and should be on the designated safe countries list and their application processed in a timely manner and returned to their own country

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭engineerws

There's no public toilets. Should they poop in their pants instead?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,548 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Nigerians should not be any way near this country, they're economic migrates and should be on the designated safe countries list and their application processed in a timely manner and returned to their own country

I know that, you know that, we all know that - McEntee didn't want Nigeria put on the safe country list (while O'Gorman did) because that would screw up her plans of rejecting applicants from safe countries quickly - due to the overload her dept would experience by having Nigeria on the list

It's completely mental

Update from gov.ie today -

• Registered Users Posts: 7,385 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Someone just make it stop, please.

Put us out of our misery.

• Registered Users Posts: 54,265 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

What's killing me is the lack of opposition in the Dáil. It's feels like SF are just waiting to see where the wind blows which is typical SF,

The countries politics is really broken

• Registered Users Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Really there is a need for a public inquiry on why common sense has been ignored. Why steps weren’t taken against people who destroyed their documentation on flights to Ireland for example.

Even with a housing crisis going on years the no-borders idiots couldn’t accept there were capacity issues. They just followed the ideology blindly, even now facts are only starting to interfere with their world view.

They’ll probably never accept their approach has left thousands homeless.

Roderic O’Gorman is still firefighting, and there is no way he’s going to have a long term plan for parts of Clare or Donegal or Kerry that welcomed huge numbers of people in a crisis situation, but who need a long term path to normality now.

This situation may get a lot worse yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Not at all. I would suggest that some of the Ireland for all people who were all to vocal when interviewed about far right racist Irish people are made put one of the tents off the street and into their garden, back yard whatever. Shouldn't be a problem as this is what they wanted and of their making.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭bloopy

• Registered Users Posts: 13,335 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Leo again said he supports the EU "third country" policy. In other words, copying the UK policy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭batman_oh

The tent city is the direct result of the morally superior idiots all over the country that called everyone far right that dared question this. Hilarious that they are now pulling the 'oh look at the horrible conditions' card when they are the direct cause with their militant don't argue with us open borders crap. But sure keep piling them in to take dumps on the streets, St. Patrick was an asylum seeker. We'll just suck it up and pay more taxes to support it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,649 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Is Mosney still open, can these folks not be moved out to there where it safer and has the facilities there? Even if there is no actual room there they can still camp on the grounds. At least it would be safer and more hygenic than camping on a street.

Too many if any. Weather on the mend so I'm thinking the arrivals are going to drastically rise in the coming months.

Unless action is taken very soon its going to lead to a perfect storm come next to winter.

Sadly our capital has become a sh#@hole thanks to our government hopefully something changes before its passed fixing. Saying this I'm not sure if its possible for anyone to stop the destruction.

Would probably be better. But to have any affect we still need to close up and stop taking in more.

• Registered Users Posts: 892 ✭✭✭JPCN1

Of course Mosney is still open, the state paid them €20 plus million of your money the year before last… they’ll no doubt welcome more.

This is the new gold rush. Literally billions and billions.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭baldbear

Nick Henderson, who actually pays this man? Us the taxpayers? CEO of the Irish refuge council.

On the radio saying he is worried about Ukrainians and the 90 day limit on state accommodation.

What does he want ? An Endless timelie on their accommodation in state centres?

Ukrainians have PPS no. They can work and get a good wedge of money. Of course they should be clearing out and making way for other refugees. They also can get the ARP €800 a month tax free for landlord and not deducted from their Wages accommodation support. They are in a privileged position.

• Registered Users Posts: 738 ✭✭✭aziz

Sure why would you move out to Mosney,out of sight and out of mind.

just stick with your tent on the street until you get your government promised own door accommodation

• Registered Users Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

Are you telling me Mosney is closed?

I have the family booked to stay there in August.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭DeadHand

No matter your overall philosphy on immigration, at a point where IP applicants are entering the country and being shovelled directly into disease ridden squalor, you should agree that a temporary cessation of the acceptance of new Asylum Seekers is both necessary and moral.

Time for a Reverse Roderic: it should be broadcast that no Asylum Seeker entering the country can expect to be accommodated.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,649 ✭✭✭Floppybits

It needs to be stopped at source, where it can be stopped. They shouldn't be allowed on any flights to this country unless they have a valid passport and visa's, haven't got them you don't get on the plane. It's already too late when they get here and rock up to immigration and say that they are claiming asylum and as we see it is much harder to get them out of the country then.

Nigerians only - a quick scope of the stats on gov.ie tells me -

wk5- 161

wk6- 138

wk7- 158

wk8- 103

wk9- 156

wk10- 128

Avg - 140 pw

• Registered Users Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

I walked to work earlier and passed rows of tents, utter squalor - this is no way for anyone, Irish or not, to live.

When commentators say the #IrelandIsFull hashtag/sentiment is racist, they are doing a great disservice to both the migrants and the irish people.

It is not racist to not want to have people living on the streets; it's not racist to want know who is coming into the country if they have destroyed passports and it is certainly not racist to ensure that our own taxpayers are looked after.

The ethos of "Cead Mille Failte" might well be a nice ideal to aim for - but if there are no spaces to put new arrivals we have to stop admitting them - temporaily at least.

We have one real industry in this country - tourism. We destroy that and we might as well get the neighbours to run us again as we're done.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭baldbear

If you camp out in a tent and live in desperate conditions in a central location in full view of everyone and with the median publicising your situation you will eventually get accommodated. That is the message been sent out. No one actually asking them directly are they economic migrants using the asylum system as a way to get to stay.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭enricoh

How long, on average ,will them lads do in a tent? A month before getting hotel room or repurposed building is probably the height of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭enricoh

Leo's speech yesterday in the states- St Patrick was an undocumented migrant.

This is what we have leading our country. I thought it was bad enough a few Ireland is not full clowns saying we had 8 million pre famine so there's room for more.

Just go to Europe Leo, Roderick n Helen hopefully will lose their seats. N the taxpayers will try clean up yer mess, thanks for everything.