Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo Varadkar resigns as Taoiseach

• Registered Users Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

20 somethings become 30 somethings and are then more likely to own a home.

less than 10% of 20 somethings own a home in London. Any economically successful city has low home ownership rates for 20 somethings.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,095 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Housing is a major issue, they have done nothing to stimulate supply just add more fish to the pond with all these "affordability schemes", while padding out developers pockets.

Leo is more interested in protecting the property values of his voters, problem is his voters children can't leave there homes are houses are too expensive to buy and rent.

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭Adrift

Worst Taoiseach in my lifetime and that’s saying something given the names on that list. The brown envelope/corruption/rogue brigades look romantic in comparison

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭KevMayo88

I'm sure he said that before the biggest job in Irish politics became available. I imagine he'll be sticking around now.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,476 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Yes, blame it on the foreigners, What rubbish. Majority of crime in Ireland is done by Irish people.

There's places I would not want to go to in Ireland because of local scrotes not foreigners.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,540 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Lidl's hiring!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,638 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

I think he might have promised his wife and family that's be it.

He did do a very good job navigating us through Brexit. FG had the chance to put the right person in the job many years ago but preferred LV because at the time there was kudos in having an "out" homosexual male as the leader, due to some weird progressive thing...

Gas thing is, those "in the know" know that he wasn't the first gay leader our country had.

Anyway if I was SiCo I wouldn't want the job, ship is sinking fast.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Definitely a cop out by Leo, had his vacation in the US and knew what kind of a mess he was heading back too.

Cowardly act, leaving the country in the mess its in.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,050 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

My daughter recently graduated with an IT related degree and she hasn't had even the whiff of a job, and that's with honours and being the top student. Even the company she interned for and which said she 'overachieved' doesn't want her because they only have senior positions and interns.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,720 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Worse than Charlie Haughey ?

Charlie was one of the best politicians this country has ever produced, utterly corrupt sure but a very shrewd and capable man unlike Leo.

Charlie had more talent in his small finger than Leo had in his whole body.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,050 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

I just wish it was Eamon effing Ryan going instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Allinall

• Registered Users Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

Apart from the resignation the best thing about today is Varadkar revealing his cowardice. He ran away from three elections and judgment on his track record. He abandoned his own party literally weeks before the first set of these elections and put himself first - a selfish narcissist to the very end.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,401 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Not sorry to see him go, felt he had a very patronising view of the public, need someone more in touch.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭Ted222

When you look at the small group of senior ministers behind him from whom his successor will be chosen, you suddenly realise how far they’ve fallen.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,185 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Look at the zealots coming out, trying to shut down public discourse.

Politicians & business people need feedback. They might welcome positive praise from constituents and the public. But they have to be prepared to accept the views of those who disagree with them, whether mildly or more robustly.

When there's only a small amount of disagreeable feedback that can be ignored. When there's an avalanche of it from multiple sources, it's time to change or get out.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,649 ✭✭✭Floppybits

They are practically in a confidence and supply agreement with this government. The reason SF are losing votes is that they are trying to appeal to FF as possible Government partners and to this they have supported everything that this government have done including voting Yes/Yes in that abomination of a referendum. Now all SF are is a copy of FF and FG.

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭KevMayo88

You are absolutley deluded if you think that the torrent of immigration in the last few years has not made Ireland a far worse and more unsafe place to live.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,059 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Yes, but London has a population of nearly 9 million, several international airports, an underground ... It's like comparing Google to Bord Na Mona. Dublin has been failed for a small city in a supposedly very wealthy country.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭Raoul Duke III

'Best politician'...'utterly corrupt'

Those two are mutually exclusive, in any liberal democracy.

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭Sonic the Shaghog

1980 was 44 years ago. Ya its great the place has improved since then like what was mentioned above but to be using it to try and counter act the issues people are angry over now is feckin laughable.

Richest we've ever been on paper if the other EU nations played hard and fast about our tax haven status, we'd know just exactly how rich we are.

Immigration not an issue? Don't just try and bat it away claiming it's only the few nutters on tik tok, your everyday Joe soap is sick of seeing mass amounts of piss takers coming in who shouldn't be here. Not only that but lovely hotels, food, medical card all paid for and then the best part is they kept letting them now we essentially have shanty towns.

Not only that but by continually letting them it's basically put any little housing progress up in smoke as we all know unless a miracle happens they'll all get to stay and need housing eventually.

Circa 70% of our under 35s living at home I'm sure they'll definitely be thinking with a happy smile at least it isn't the 1980s. FG deserve to get in, while they glance across at the 200 unit new build that's just been bought by yet another vulture fund.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

But of course you do.

Murph0999 will tell us how great our employment is and how rich we supposedly are.

They won't mention fact that some of those working are on shyte contracts.

They won't mention fact that a lot of those working can't afford to move out of home as accommodation has become so expensive and scarce.

They won't mention fact that even though they are paying for private healthcare they will still be left sitting in A&E department for 5 to 10 hours just like the public medical card patients.

They won't mention fact that some have their kids in prefabs with overcrowded classes full of kids with poor English language skills.

They won't mention fact that anti social behaviour and crime is on the rise as the Gardai as an institution are now unfit for purpose.

They won't mention that come the next downturn the massive increase in public spending, to cater for 100 thousand plus that have been added to the costs over the last decade or so, will have to be chopped to sh**.

There are a lot of people in this country that are doing alright jack and are not really living in the real Ireland a lot of us see on a daily basis.

But so long as their cushy numbers continue, so long as the multi nationals stay, they might stave off some of the above realities.

But sooner or later those realities will come to visit most people.

I am not allowed discuss …

IT has suffered a small regression in jobs, but still plenty of roles in Dublin especially.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭yagan

Isn't his rent farming ideologies responsible for the state of the country?

Along with that I'd cite him as a disaster for political discourse in this country, preferring social media to actually knowing the electorate.

I think at the last election he got the lowest reelection vote for a government leader in the history of the state, and maybe he doesn't fancy his chances in the constituency he moved to.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Calling much of the discourse that politicians receive these days "feedback" is being absurdly generous.

• Registered Users Posts: 374 ✭✭dublincc2

• Registered Users Posts: 9,278 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Coveney is very very weak. He is like McEntee, he learns his lines and repeats them over and over. During Brexit, he just said the word backstop for 2 years..Don't be fooled by Crony Coveney.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

And with a population of over 9 million comes almost twice as many homes in the city as there are in the whole of ireland...

And still, less than 1 in 10 20 somethings owns a home there.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,360 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Maybe some of the TDs who said they were standing down will re enter the election.

It appears they've hated Leo for quite a while in Fine Gael, particularly outside of Dublin.

The disastrous referendums was the last straw.