Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo Varadkar resigns as Taoiseach

• Registered Users Posts: 13,472 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Won't work.

And whoever they pick they'll be gone next time..for a while anyway .

Any minister who wants to come back at a later stage would be crazy to put their hat in the ring for this .

• Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭a2deden

Going on hols to Australia for a year or two isnt emigrating ffs.

Can we stop peddling that nonsense as fact. 95% of them are back and all the better for having a bit of world experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,458 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

To be fair lighthouses are still fairly important

• Registered Users Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭joseywhales

For an Irish politician he was very intelligent, I remember watching him arguing with some cowboy on questions and answers decades ago, when he was in opposition and he completely decimated the chap. That doesn't make you popular however. There's an Irish tradition of begrudgery, you can't have success and it not be infered that you are some kind of callous egomaniac.

Pascal is decent but sure who would want the job anyway?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,458 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Just out of interest who will you vote for that you reckon will change things around?

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭MurDawg

Fair play to Leo. Top man

• Registered Users Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

A lot of the issues these days is because as we became more educated and wealthier as a people; we stopped having as many children and started having them older. We now have huge shortages of young men and women who want to become plumbers, nurses and police officers.

We also have the reality of our parents and others living to huge ages because of advances in healthcare. They are spending more time being active and mobile in the home they raised a family in. As well they are entitled to.

This creates huge challenges. It's an issue facing all Western democracies. Immigration is a partial solution to that, but creates enormous social challenges as well.

Chasing the foreign direct investment money has served us well, but, unfortunately, the demographics aren't going to look after themselves as Mary Lou suggested. You ain't going to be getting a State pension folks.

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭Kiteview

The inflation figures directly contradict that comment. A 23% inflation rate meant there was more than pennies being stuck onto goods.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,720 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

This resignation by Varadkar is similar to that of Tubridy.

A bit out of the blue.

Is there a scandal coming down the line I wonder just like Tubridy ?

What better lads than the Israelis to dig up some dirt on Leo to soften his cough or perhaps some sting operation.

That would be their style.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,799 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Ah here don’t go whispering that omen into the void.

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭Kiteview

Emigrating for a year or two is still emigrating.

”Going on hols” means you don’t earn any income and it less than six months (as visas apply after that).

• Registered Users Posts: 41 foxhunter2024

Has the Wef penetrated any other fg to take over?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Seadin

I was thinking the same. Totally out of the blue. Was he involved in a scandal that will come out in due course? Very unusual to announce his resignment today and it coming totally out of the the blue.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,277 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

It depends on how hard the increases are felt and the level of debt that's involved. Just looking at figure like 23% and comparing it to something like 8% doesn't tell the whole story.

Most goods and services cost a LOT more than they did in the 80's.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Seadin

And who is going to be in power ? The opposition is as crap as the government in place right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,898 ✭✭✭amacca

Why stay on in that case?

Isnt it more likely he realises he has a losing hand for whats to come now matter how he plays his cards...and a lot of the party see him as a liability so rather than an inevitable heave or big kicks in the hole at elections...leave the position now on your own terms, remain a td and see what materialises....may even get some sympathy and collect less ire from sections of the public this way.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,075 ✭✭✭Jeff2

I take Leo's promise to keep working for Ireland in his statement to be a threat to the Irish people.

As he has been against Irish on every thing.

Please Leo stop help Ireland and feck off.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭kincaid

She thinks the irish and everyone that disagrees with her ideas are scumbags

• Registered Users Posts: 13,934 ✭✭✭✭josip

Varadkar meeting Biden a few days ago. There's Joe, 81 years old, going for it again. And Leo, done and dusted at 45. Quite the contrast.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

• Registered Users Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

I don't think Varadkar's speech got the airtime it should have here. We often underestimate the influence of our "soft power" in Washington. Varadkar's comments were widely reported on across the world. Not suggesting it will make any difference, but it was a very strong message from a country that does continue to have an influence on US politics.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,472 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

• Registered Users Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

He is going to transition…he is jetting off to Thailand 🇹🇭 next week to start procedures….the babies will then follow…..🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

You say a child left crying in pain is emotive, well if you had a child waiting for 4 years for corrective spine surgery and in serious pain daily and all because of a poorly run healthcare you might change your mind very quickly, your talking about back in the 80s what was then this is now, a lot of people grew up in that period and we remember and full employment etc, how many are drawing the dole at present and many have being on the dole a lifetime, simple fact Leo thought he was invincible and got a kick from the voters of all Ireland not the Dublin bubble of woke in the recent referendum, and the up coming local elections he was going to get another kicking and a backlash from the FG party and balled out before this happens.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

I agree it wont be Mcentee & almost certainly Harris.

But FG are more likley than not part of the next govt with FF, so becoming leader now wouldnt be a bad thing for personal & political longevity.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

The worry is we haven't invested property in so many areas when we've actually had cash to do so. Our economy is actually very fragile, a massive percentage of our corporate tax is paid by a few massive companies. If even a few of those leave or experience a downturn we are in trouble. Our health, transport, housing etc are not in good shape and I really fear how bad they'll get when another recession hits. FG have pissed away so much money when they had a golden opportunity to really invest in the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,457 ✭✭✭This is it

Hopefully not McEntee. Any chance for Paschal? One of the less hated politicians in Ireland. FG could see a decent bounce if he took over, get numbers going the right direction before calling a GE

• Registered Users Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Also people going on about the 80s. Ye but that was when we had no money. Recent years have seen record tax takes and we still have abysmal public services.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,068 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Don't think there's any big conspiracy surrounding it tbh. Varadkar has always said he'd be out of politics before 50.

He's been dismal over the last 2 years (at least), and prob had a heap of pressure on him to resign before today. This is a 'fcuk you' to his dissenters within the party. Leave them high and dry, so to speak.

What's more telling about it all is the lack of a plan of succession in the event that this happened. FG are running blind