Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo Varadkar resigns as Taoiseach

• Registered Users Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Yep. More could have been done during this golden tax revenue period. It cant last forever and Ireland completley outpuches its weight with regards the amount of MNCs here.

Long may it continue, but in reality, it cant last forever & so we should be doing more with the tax take whilst we have it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,638 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Energy security and independence is a key part of that I think.

We've done SFA with renewables and gutted out using gas off the west coast for power.

Cheap, independently produced energy that makes diversifying the economy a hell of a lot easier.

I get some people will say that the planning laws are the issue but this government and the last have done literally nothing to fix the planning laws and address the major issues facing ABP.

And while the population has increased due to Foreign nationals arriving here for work (legal or otherwise) the number of native Irish people is on the decline due to young people leaving and Women not having enough kids and having them later.

It's like the economy is doing well, but only because it running very hot.

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭Ionraice

I've never been happier to see a resignation. I'm inclined to wonder if Leo isn't the most despised Taoiseach ever? (And, yes, I remember Bertie, and Biffo, and Haughey).

Personally, I hope the Government runs its complete term. Not because I support FG, FF, or the Greens. The level of incompetence and arrogance they've shown is truly breathtaking. Nor do I have any hope for SF.

Their social policies are almost indistinguishable from FF and FG at this point. Recent referenda results have proven they are as out of touch with the mood of the electorate as the Government - and that's saying something.

We need change. An election in the near future does not allow time for smaller parties to organise candidates, or new parties to form. So, whereas my knee jerk reaction to Leo's announcement was to wish Eamon Ryan, Roderick O Gorman, Helen McEntee, Simon Harris, Simon Coveney, Michael Martin, and Mary Lou would jump ship too, on reflection, I think the best hope for the Irish people is that they stick around another while, in the hope that a better alternative presents itself.

I'll still go to sleep with a smile on my face, though, at the thought of hearing less waffle or condescension from Leo...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

If only running the country depended on who sounds good on Questions and Answers.

The idea that that is what you're using in support of him speaks volumes.

I think the begrudgery as you put it comes from people get the rewards of success without being successful. Since he was never chosen by the people to be Taoiseach, that probably irked a few alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Alot of young people I know are going to Australia to try and get enough money for a deposit on a house because in this country and especially in rural areas its impossible to get any kind of job that would suffice.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭WishUWereHere

While I find it hard to stomach more of the same ( more or less, certainly without the greens ) I think You are bang on here.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,758 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

It doesn't say much for the opposition that Varadkar thinks he can go when he pleases. If the opposition of any party looked in strong shape to form the next government no way would he have stood down early.

In a funny way Varadkar has really played the opposition like a harp. Because some could not wait to try and get rid of him, but him going of his own choosing leaves the opposition looking weak/ill-prepared. They had no prepared spiel ready to "connect with voters". It was real shrewd move. Will bring some fresh leadership, and if the opposition call for "change" they will just sound silly.

Meanwhile if FF and FG do anyway decent it will them and one of the Greens/Labour/Soc Dems etc. I think given the government's performance during Covid in particular, unless the electorate have a set on the government they can't do worse than the last GE.

It makes SF's error of calling for a Yes/Yes with the government in the referendum look more like a real own goal. How can SF call the government "out of touch" after that?

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,515 ✭✭✭✭ted1

People can afford to buy houses. It’s supply and demand. Every house that goes on the market is sold to someone.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,515 ✭✭✭✭ted1

They were elected by the population. The term is 5 years. Why would you expect an election now ?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,710 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

What political party has the courage to stand up and tell the Irish people not only the truth on the demographics but the undoing of social "progress" of the last 30 years is the only way to undo the catastrophe?

Immigration is only sticking plaster.

We need to stop telling women it's better to have a career than raise any kids.

Who's going to brave enough to do it and will it be done in time?

It has to happen or we face oblivion. The facts don't lie. Within a generation there will not be enough young people to sustain not only this country but almost every western country apart from the United States.

Everyone's living standards is going to collapse as things stand.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭thomas 123

Wealthier people can afford to get into more debt to aqquire over inflated homes. Don’t forget the lending rules changed recently to drive on the debt.

That’s ignoring the pressure from Councils and investment funds/ buy to rents.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

I wouldn't be sure about that.

Yes it will take 2 from 3 out of FF, FG and SF. However it is unlikely we'll see FF and FG finish with virtually the same number of seats like 2020 and therefore be seen as equal partners again.

If FF get more seats (say 5-10) would FG become the junior partner to FF. If so would it be a good move for longevity for any leader to lead them into that. Maybe FF or FG are big and old enough to buck the trend of what happens to junior partners.

I expect a repeat of 2020 with long drawn out negotiations while the parties all look for any other way than 2 out of 3 going in together. SF won't necessarily want to go in with FF or FG either. Confidence and supply came about as FF didn't want to be junior partner in an FG lead government, we may well end up with confidence and supply 2.0.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,260 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The way things are going, both partners in a couple NEED to work in order to be able to afford a place, to just about tread water. Kids are becoming a luxury, curiously only affordable now to people who don't work to spawn the next generation of the idle.

This country is becoming less and less hospitable for the so-called "people who get up early in the morning".

• Registered Users Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

Could Leo’s ‘personal reason’ be a health one……even-though visually/physically he looks his normal self it is possible that he could have recently received a serious diagnosis…?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭ToweringPerformance

• Registered Users Posts: 55,633 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Possibly. I reckon more a “salacious” type reason(s). If it was health reasons, I’d think he would have mentioned it, even subtly.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,260 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Getting out while the going's good.

Leo looking out for Leo.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,587 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

I love how Leo is seen as both a "Thatcherite capitalist Tory boy" AND a "liberal agenda driven woke socialist" by some on here.

Schroedingers varadkar.

It's as if they have no understanding of actual politics

• Registered Users Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭prunudo

From reading posts on here and talking to people, it seems there are two distinct camps. Those that think the sun shone from his back side and those that see him as a spoofer.

I never liked him but he certainly seemed to have lost his spark in recent years compared to his early political life.

But the fact remains, we are wealthy country, yet he has presided over a terribly wasteful period for the Irish state, people can't buy houses, soaring rents, shambles of health service, lack of school places, stripped back gardai and defence forces (plus low morale in both), failed and unpopular immigration policies, lack of foresight when it comes to infrastructure. Lets not forgot the handling of covid and coming out of lockdowns.

He was so out of touch with the public mood its not funny (so is the whole government for that matter), he looked down on people with opposing views and only cared about himself and how he looked to foreign leaders.

Delighted to see him go, but the options, on either side of the house, don't inspire confidence in change.

Post edited by prunudo on

• Registered Users Posts: 18,095 ✭✭✭✭rob316

There's no plan because there isn't any talent in the party. Coveney doesn't want it and Paschal probably doesn't either, so your left with Harris and mcentee.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,095 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Paddy power has Harris as the favourite, the current Minister of a department I never even heard of. Inspiring stuff

• Registered Users Posts: 19,410 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Thought he was especially brutal during covid. Just farmed everything out to Nphet and that obnoxious Holohan crook. Overall a dismal Taoiseach

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

• Registered Users Posts: 15,604 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

“Getting out while the going's good.

Leo looking out for Leo.”

This sums it up.

The referendum result sealed it.

He timed this to happen just after his cushy visit to Washington (maybe even make a few corporate friends while there).

Reports in Irish examiner that he held a private party in Washington with his family, friends, advisors on Friday night.

He is out the gap now, considering his options, while leaving the whole huge mess and problems for the plebs to sort out....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,651 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Thats an interesting question - is Varadkar the most despised Taoiseach ever.

Its a very different question to asking if he has been a good or bad Taoiseach.

You remember Biffo and Bertie and Haughey, and you know well therefore there's no way on Gods earth you can argue hes been bad compared to that lot.

However, most despised is a different question because obviously we live in a social media age where 'despising' is what people do, and they like to do it publically.

Its all about me, my feelings, I'm mad as hell and I want everyone to know it.

Personally, I'm very worried at the moment that this opens the way for Conor McGregor types to step into politics; people who play to social media, rather than having any actual substance.

For me personally, in my lifetime, I've never been more disappointed to see a politician resign. Not because I think Varadkar is amazing, but because good politicians are saying 'this isnt worth it'. And that will just leave the nutjobs.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Varadkar was bad but Harris is going to be a total disaster imo.

No character, no strength no charisma and definitely not a commanding presence. Also nothing springs to mind of anything he has done Definitely not a leader imo.

But then again who else is there.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

He wasn't the worst of them, just disappointed me that his forthrightness evaporated when he got the top job, the consequence of keeping the peace in a coalition I suppose.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 4,320 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Family reunification would make that pointless, what’s the point of letting young workers in if they bring their elderly parents over through these policies?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,604 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Harris is a complete and utter joke.

FG will crash and burn with him “leading” them.