Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immigration to Ireland - policies, challenges, and solutions *Read OP before posting*

• Registered Users Posts: 13,376 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

I know . That's what that other poster was trolling me about .

We are all in this boat and have been for many years here . Not new and those new to the parish while contributing now to the housing lists did not make this situation as bad as it is .

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users Posts: 3,149 ✭✭✭mistersifter

It's an offence to enter Ireland if you don't have permission. This includes entering via the North or via anywhere.

I have given a long list of changes we need to make, most of which is about enforcing existing laws and improving border control.

Regarding claims that we are unable to prosecute people who destroy their passports or travel with fake documents; a recent Garda operation shows that it is possible (https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/sudanese-man-jailed-as-deterrent-to-others-after-arriving-at-dublin-airport-with-no-id-or-passport-1592707.html).

I want to see these laws enforced all the time, not just part of a special operation that lasts a few days. At least 60% of our undocumented arrivals are not refugees so every one of them should all be charged.

The guilt tripping that some posters are engaging in here, stating that we shouldn't have a robust border in case migrants jump onto boats is not acceptable. While I'm in favour of helping our neighbours to reduce the arrivals of migrant boats, I am absolutely not in favour of purposely leaving holes in our system. We are not at fault if people decide to risk their lives on boats. Unfortunately endless amounts of horrifying things happen around the world every day - we cannot prevent most of it. What we can do is ensure we have a properly functioning country here and then try to help some international causes however we can.

Someone mentioned gangs in France sticking people on these boats. What about the gangs of refugees with Irish passports who are now coordinating arrivals of more chancers like themselves? The people guiding other undocumented scammers are generally those who have gotten away with it themselves and have ended up securing citizenship as a result. The more we allow it, the more it will happen. https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/man-jailed-for-facilitating-illegal-immigration-into-ireland-1403722.html

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 23,385 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

• Registered Users Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭lmao10

Even from a selfish perspective the best way to "protect gains" would be to help others and do some positive activism that ultimately aims to have a positive effect to the point where people in those countries wouldn't feel like they have no option but to uproot and leave their homelands. Most of the country lived in abject poverty for hundred and hundreds of years. Getting hand outs from the EU (which we still owe 40 billion plus to) did a lot to help the country develop and improve the standard of living for all of us. A lot of EU/Western countries attained some of that wealth with the help of exploitation. I'm not here to get into the history with some far right loons for anyone who thinks they are entitled to a debate on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

We've had a housing crisis for the past 25 years at least...

Now the focus has shifted from those who are generational social welfare recipients who wanted a "gaff near me Ma" usually in the city centres and knocked out a number of little angles to boost their chances of getting a free gaff... We still have those same multi-generational benefits families in Ireland and I wonder if they make up the large numbers protesting against immigrants getting houses?

I don't know if many of the people out working all the hours to save up deposits for homes have the time to be out protesting as well .

Might be the odd one doing a night shift tho ;)

Certainly the citizen journalists and activists at every protest around the country don't seem to be working at anything else .

Everybody is pvssed off with the housing crisis as long as I can remember and its worse than it was .

But I don't know how many people other than activists who would be out protesting against immigrants unless they really thought they were taking something from them , social housing and benefits wise .

Most people I know who have legally immigrated into Ireland have worked and saved their backsides off to get a deposit for a house, and have taken on house shares to help pay the bills.. And I admire them for it..

But those who expect a house for minimal rent as well as getting a range of benefits are the ones who have the biggest problem when they see a hard working immigrant getting a house..

Though the real enemy is the fact that our political leaders have allowed housing to be the most expensive to build in Europe due to higher construction costs than the UK, and the vulture funds who are still paying F*k all tax when they buy up housing estates..

Absolutely.

No problem all our immigrant neighbours renting and buying houses here with money they have saved and worked hard for , paying taxes here.

They are better neighbours than some others who are Irish born and, I won't say bred , dragged up, more like .

However I don't think all who are on benefits are undeserving or feckless , like asylum seekers some deserve the benefit of the doubt( ! ) and more are on hap and other help because of the higher cost of living , high rents , ill health and genuine disability.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,597 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I'm not sure prosecuting around 3000 people for arriving without a passport would be in any way feasible. It would cost a lot of money and the people being hauled before the courts would be non nationals and non residents of the state. The courts and legal system are usually only utilised to deal with people actually living here.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,149 ✭✭✭mistersifter

Building housing for them, thereby encouraging others to follow suit, is not feasible.

Putting them up in hotels which become venues for riots and violence at the expense of our tourist industry is not feasible.

Having a border control system that facilitates and encourages people to destroy their documents as a means of bypassing all normal residency rules is not feasible.

We must do all we can to prevent them arriving here, as difficult as that may be.

edit: to the list of things that are not feasible, let's add "having shanty towns spring up around the country" also.

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭gym_imposter

I'm not opposed to Ireland contributing to a fund which allows AS processing in a third country

Won't dignify the " far right" label with a reply

Once they state they are claiming asylum at all its hands off because the gardaí know it's a waste of their time going further .

Unless they can prove that somebody was resident elsewhere directly they arrive , .and thatusually takes some processing to get to that .

I hear what you are saying though .

Nobody wants loads of people who are only interested in benefit scrounging here and those telling lies about where they came from , not saying they all are but a good percentage are looking for a better place for themselves and their families but not real refugees . This we can agree on .

But the best way to deter those that are, is a more efficient process which finds out who's who quickly , who is genuine , and then where the others are coming from and send them back .

I haven't heard about building houses for anyone except modular homes for Ukrainian refugees .

Only accomodation centres to house those being processed.

This should have been done straight away when they ditched direct provision centres but the present government fvcked up .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

I suggested an increase in foreign aid some time ago with a view to supporting people in or near their own country - I think our foreign aid is something like 800m a year ? We could double that and still not be touching what this debacle is costing us.

We have the NGO sector already available and funded - we get them to over thereto help. Many fewer hazardous journeys taken.

How is that not better that the current situation where we are overran with people and are destroying communities and our tourist industry??

• Registered Users Posts: 16,548 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

They obviously had to have a passport either real or fake when they got on the plane that brought them here.

Nobody seems to be able to answer why that passport would have been destroyed on the plane or at the airport terminal before meeting immigration officals.

I believe the current thinking is that one person collects all passports from those entering illegally and then takes them all off - so there’s no evidence such as damaged paper etc.

Highly devious.

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭gym_imposter

Blindly pegging aid at developing countries won't fix anything, there needs to be a pan European plan

It certainly has been explained:

"An RTE report earlier this year highlighted that while it should be impossible to board an international flight without a valid identity document, prospective asylum applicants may board a plane using a "borrowed" or forged passport, which they may dispose of or return to their agent or trafficker during the journey.

The Irish Refugee Council also notes on its website that "some people may fear if they produce" a passport upon arrival that "they will be immediately removed back to the country of origin or the country from which they have travelled."

While travelling with a false passport or destroying it are offences under the Passport Act, doing so does not necessarily invalidate any subsequent application for international protection. For instance, a person fleeing political persecution or a conflict-ridden nation may be unable to obtain a passport from state authorities, or the state may be dysfunctional."

That middle paragraph shows why the Irish Refugee Council and their ilk should be defunded, disbanded and put in the stocks!!!

”Concerned they’ll be sent back” - so they bloody well should be.

But the article makes perfectly clear that many of those travelling on fake passports may well be genuine refugees seeking asylum and gives the reasons why this may be the case (e.g. it may have been either dangerous or physically impossible for them to apply for a passport from the country they are fleeing).

Why do you not understand that ? ( presuming innocence here but have serious doubts btw )

If this is a genuine refugee, of course they are in fear of being sent back !

So you think asylum law should by default presume that a person is lying ?

Never mind that the NGO tasked with assisting refugees should not declare what they believe and know to be true in their own literature?

I would say that they should be defunded if they don't explain that.

( Really , this is just a facile argument from you .... I can't believe that I even have to say this )

Can you link to this past post please?

Or.. What date did you post it and where?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,903 ✭✭✭enricoh

The hard working immigrant vs lazy paddy scrounger. They'll be paying our pensions yet lads , just in the meantime they can't pay the rent!

Last year, I decided to ask the Department of Social Protection what percentage of rent supplement was paid out to non-Irish EU nationals, and non-EU nationals.

As at February of last year, the figure was 35pc. This is a remarkable total. Remember, 17pc of the population is "foreign-born", so immigrants are over-represented in the figures by two to one.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,605 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Ivana Bacik doesn't seem to have any interest in winning people over with argument. She just keeps smearing ordinary people who have concerns about immigration as being far right.

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭L.Ball

Big protest in coolock over the weekend, but as is becoming more and more common it's just an opportunity for the dregs of society for have a go at the gardai

Gangs of scrotes with their faces covered on horseback and scooters, surprised there were no scramblers pulling wheelies up and down the road.

What we're not hearing is that the vast majority of people in these working class areas would not be on board with this nonsense. The wasters of the far right will always try and spin it as an entire community speaking as one, when it's nothing of the sort. The Sunday World had an article yesterday about how known local convicted criminals were planning on attending this 'protest'.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

I'm paywalled from that article, but from the business post source should that figure not be 60%?

Meanwhile I'd reckon most of the Tory party would walk away from their own Rwanda plan which looks an absolute disaster. Current costings are £2million per asylum seeker with none actually deported yet. They're estimating this figure will come down to £200k + costs on uk side + a yearly fee per asylum seeker once the system is up and running but I very much doubt those figures will stand. With the amount of political capital invested in this the Rwandans will have them over a barrel.

Bacik is so far out of touch with the general public that she makes Leo Varadkar look like a "man of the people!!"

I remember when Labour was the party who represented the ordinary hard working individual, now they're a bunch of D4 liberal champagne socialists..

"Rent supplement" also know as social welfare for landlords!

With the cost of rents being more in line with Monaco then how are the people who come here to work supposed to live? It's just a symptom of a broken system, so I'd definitely not be pointing fingers at legal immigrants who come here to work...

As you've so subtly pointed out the social issues on display here, maybe you can also tell me if it's a good idea to place hundreds of undocumented males from the middle-east and africa into this community?