Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Regulations on keeping cattle

• 31-03-2024 10:44pm
    Registered Users Posts: 450 ✭✭dingledosser

My mother’s neighbour is a bit of a hobby farmer, he has goats, turkeys, pigs… and recently took delivery of 3 cows.

The setup to keep the cows looks very poor.

• cheap n cheerful electric fence to keep them in
    • A very basic corrugated shed built directly onto the soil - no way for waste management
    • The shed is built right beside my ma’s house. I’ve been told it should be 100m away
    • It’s about 10 meters away from her well and primary water source.
    • The cows are in calf, so come summer time, there’ll be more of them

She’s hesitant to say anything, but I’m worried from a health and safety perspective.

Any thoughts? Am I overreacting?

Post edited by greysides on

Is there a crush for handling the cows. He obviously has a herd number.

• Registered Users Posts: 450 ✭✭dingledosser

I don’t think there is, to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭Base price

The hobby farmer must be doing his stuff right if your mother hasn't had an issue with the goats & turkeys escaping into her garden in the past let alone the pigs rooting up the boundary.

Anyone keeping livestock, bloodstock and poultry in Ireland have to be registered with DAFM.

IMO - another TROLL post.

Thank you for answering absolutely nothing, Base Price. There have been multiple issues so far, but my question specifically relates to the cows, not the other animals.

Troll post? To what end is this a troll post? Or is that your default response when you don’t know how to answer something?

Post edited by dingledosser on

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭RockOrBog

Cows are great animals, wait until you see young calves galivanting around the field, it will surely cheer you up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭green daries

Sure if your worried talk to him if there's issues report him if you don't want to report him solicitors letter,council and dafm as well the issues couldn't be that bad if ye haven't had a dispute about other about animals yet .....I wouldn't knock base for her comments you sound fishy and vague on the details 🤔...she has a good sense for a dodgy post ....from what I've seen on here. Flesh our your story and then we'll see how we can make comment

Cows 🐄 are not my favourite animal here today....... and Cows are all I have🤔🤪

I’ve nothing against cows, they’re lovely animals. I just want to be sure everything is above board and being done correctly. That’s a good outcome for everyone, animals included.

I hope she’s kinder to her animals than she is to guests.

I’ll be going to the council if I need to, but planning to talk to the guy first. We get on well, so I’d rather sort it amicably. I just wanted to get some views on whether the current setup is the correct one. I’ve since learned (from another farmer who went up to take a look) that it’s definitely not suitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,722 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Depends on what's suitable. For example, it's heading to summer time now and they won't need shelter unless the weather goes to total shite (but I'm a positive hoor so don't think it will). Was the shed there always or just newly put up? The 100m rule might not apply if it's not a permanent structure. There's no rules around fence quality as long as it's stock proof.

Besides all this, it's hard to guage the rights and wrongs going by descriptions and not photos

Thank you, that’s helpful. Temp structures are exempt from PP, subject to certain criteria, and one of those is the 100m rule. That much I’m clear about.

I can’t get clear info on slatted sheds, other than they are a requirement for waste management. I don’t know whether you’re exempt from needing one under a certain number of animals though.

This shed is about 12m from my mother’s well and primary water source, so I want to be sure the waste management is done correctly. The regulation says it should be 50m from a well, so I can’t see how he can continue.

I should add… the guy owns about 20 acres, most of which is nowhere near any dwelling, so he has options to move it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,165 ✭✭✭893bet

Are the cattle in the field? If so there is no waste to be managed as they are out side. No potential health issue or risk to your mothers well.

Shed provided for some shelter in poor weather I assume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,854 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I'd be very slow to report anyone to anyone unless things were really bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭148multi

where does it say slatted sheds are a requirement for waste management

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Packrat

The reality is that the man couldn't buy the cows at all in the first place without a herd number.

To get a herd number, - unless historically he has one or inherited, he'd have to prove that handling facilities, sick animal/winter housing (no requirement for slats) and stockproof fencing are in place.

The District Vetinerary Office (who regulate all this) can be right sticklers on some or all of these requirements.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭cosatron

no requirement to build a slatted shed. he can outwinter his stock if he chooses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Stephenc66

OP if you are concerned about contamination in the well then have the water tested. Its good practice to have the well tested periodically in any event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,272 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I don't think you need to prove winter facilities for a herd number. Just a crush and some form of isolation box or shed. Not everyone will overwinter animals. Buy in Spring and sell at the tail end.

Floors of sheds are supposed to be concreted for loose housing. I can't remember whether that is a legal requirement, a departmental requirement or Bord Bia. Obviously if it is the latter, it won't apply to everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Do the cattle have ear tags, if so they are owned by someone with a herd number

quick update…

The cows are gone! Not quite sure how it happened, but they were removed from the field yesterday. I’ll be up there later, will try to find out what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭tractorporn

My guess is the farmer took in the cows on a short term grazing agreement from a neighbour to graze his land. Grass is tight this spring and people are making use of grass wherever it may be found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Stephenc66

He may have moved them out to grazing on the 20 acres you say he has elsewhere.

No, they are gone completely. Still not entirely sure what happened, but the rumour around town is they weren’t registered because they had no ear tags. Shed was taken down this morning too. Scandal in the parish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,722 ✭✭✭roosterman71

This thread is crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

You'd wonder at the mentality and why they even bother. Get a life comes to mind.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Mod: The problem is over, and so is this thread.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant