Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs and Clubs to get longer opening hours

• Registered Users Posts: 14,899 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Personal responsibility comes into play here Fr. Tod.

And I'm sure you managed to make the right decision as do most people.

As for AAI, they insisted on MUP to control our drinking in the safety of our own home.

Now they are fretting about us ending up in hospital if we go out for a drink.

Let's face it their problem is with us drinking at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

A lot of people aren't going home as when the pubs close do people like AAI not realise that with all their "research". At any given weekend night I have the option of heading to 3 or 4 different houses for drinks after closing and I'm in my mid 40's with a small group of friends. Imagine what people in their 20's or 30's are doing. Opening venues later will not decrease late night drinking it will just move it from houses to pubs/clubs. The naivety of some people who don't realise this is dumbfounding.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,321 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Times tonight makes things more confusing

Guess 12.30 is last orders in all bars

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭Jackben75

wouldn't be concerned about this at all, lived in OZ for many a year with more or less 24 hour bars, as you get into the deep hours of night, a lot of the bars clubs become crap and empty out, yeah you'll have stragglers and the odd group here and there but it will be few and far between after the novelty has worn off

• Registered Users Posts: 23,670 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I'm in two minds on this. On the one hand it would get us in line with other countries.

On the other hand no one can possibly deny this country has a disturbingly dysfunctional relationship with alcohol versus most other countries.

We all know the trouble that happens when clubs close on a weekend.

It's a definite risk to implement here. Would we simply be transferring the problems to all parts of the day?

We all know people on a night out who, but for last orders, would drink until they couldn't stand.

Will people be going to work as drunks fall out of establishments first thing in the morning?

Would we be making a chronic societal problem just worse?

These are not unreasonable questions to ask.

Basically to be won over by the arguments you have to believe that more access will mean less drinking, less problems.

That's a hard argument to make in Ireland, sadly.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Difference over there though is they're far stricter when it comes to getting completely hammered.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭timmyntc

On the one hand it would get us in line with other countries.

On the other hand no one can possibly deny this country has a disturbingly dysfunctional relationship with alcohol versus most other countries

Its almost as if our dysfunctional relationship with alcohol is a result of our prohibition style laws around alcohol availability

• I didn’t think kids could actually buy alcohol though 🤔 legally

• have many people crossed close paths with either an alcoholic or drug addict, those whose minds have been seriously bent by long term heavy misuse, and likely whose bodies have been destroyed by same?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,914 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

I'd say all of us gave, if we're being honest.

And we know full well that these people will not go home when they are "ready" because they are never ready.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭TokTik

Far too expensive to do that nowadays. Almost €6 a pint of Guinness with another price rise incoming.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,544 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

You can argue the same for any addicts. Drink, drugs, gambling, porn, food, cigarettes, phone screens, gaming, religion, fitness, whatever to excess - it will take its toll on the mind and body. However, should we ban/restrict everything because a few cannot cope without succumbing to excesses?

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

I’d say the negotiations would go something like “Ok lads, you have to do the job you’re paid for during the hours your shift is scheduled for”.

Seems fairly handy.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Industrial relations negotiations in this country may “seem fairly handy” at the outset - VERY different story when the two sides sit down to do a deal - especially with the public sector.

You've obviously not had to recruit and retain hospitality staff recently.

What deal? Why would there be a deal? You do your job, as normal, for the hours you’re rostered in for.

Why would hospitality staff be working for An Garda Siochana??

• Registered Users Posts: 17,972 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I love the irony of a full public health impact report being needed for late opening hours while for minimum unit pricing it was just a case of "yeah this will cost everyone more but we think it will be grand cus think of the children" meanwhile scotland is showing a marked increase in hard drug problems across all ages including children since its introduction.

Scrapping this bill is just typical reactionary and regressive conservative nonsense from the 50+ age group who despise young people being able to enjoy themselves.

Meanwhile in Germany they already have staggered late opening hours with no issues and have just legalised weed while we think going the other direction is a good idea. Cant wait for my next stag in Berlin, dont imagine many will be coming or even staying here in the future and whether people like it or not they are a boon to the economy among other various forms of tourism which scrapping this will absolutely have a negative impact on.

Well they wouldn't be would they.

The overnight hospitality provided by AGS is nobody's first choice 🙂

Yes, MUP currently costing modest drinkers a few hundred per year was another FG pro pub wheeze that morphed into a health measure based on a wing and a prayer.

Now FG needing an easy win are at it again and this time it's the late night drinkers in the firing line.

I think there’s some confusion here. Someone asked how would we get the Gardai to police the new opening hours, I said they should be told to go out and do what you’re paid for, on the shift you’re scheduled for?

Yes I noticed that.

The members of AGS may possibly find their job easier with the staggered (no pun intended) closing times.

You would imagine so. Instead of every person in Dublin flung out at the same time, I reckon with a staggered closing time it would be a lot easier to manage. A few quick response cars dealing with various incidents at different times rather than having to control everything all at once.

It's not only the guards who will have to staff extended hours. It's hospitality, chippers, taxis / public transport, hospital as well. They are ALL still having staffing problems. Guards are the least problematic.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,810 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

The very very simple solution then is to not stay open for the extended hours if you don't have the staff.

Allowed opening hours are not mandatory opening hours and it's time the Irish copped on to this.

As for transport the public transport already finishes before nightclubs so that won't need to change and taxies are already 24 hour.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,972 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

All problems other european citites with real night life culture have figured out solutions to, either we want cities with a vibrant culture spanning all hours of the day or we don't. Seems like you don't why is that exactly?

Also if the money is there businesses will figure out the staffing. And he idea of staggered closing times is to stop the need of A&Es as people all wont be turfed out onto the streets at the same time causing issues, likewise with public transport and taxis.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,518 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

The reason people drink at home is because of cost of drink iñ pubs, restaurants and clubs..Ya the odd late house party may not happen but in general longer opening hours means dearer pints so it encourages more home drinking.

The other reason drinking moved from ordinary pubs to houses is atmosphere, because of drink driving laws ( and I am not complaining about them) people who drove to work had either to stop drinking later in the night nearer closing time and as pubs were quite between 7-9pm they tend to have a few cans at home.

30+ years ago the difference between a can bought in and off licence and a pint was miniscule now its a minimum of half the price and can be as low as a quarter or a third.

A bottle of wine in a restaurant is 2-4 times the price in an off licience

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 34,704 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Just another victim of 'small man syndrome' who wants to control the lives of others.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,704 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

In Australia they have 'responsible serving of alcohol' laws, if they send punters out paralytic they're held responsible for any harm they do to themselves or others.

When was the last time you ever saw someone in Ireland refused a drink, in what the vintners' associations like to smugly call a "controlled environment" ?

BTW Australia is the country that used to have the "six o'clock swill" where it was thought, by social control freaks, that strictly limiting drinking hours would reduce harm. It did precisely the opposite.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Registered Users Posts: 907 ✭✭✭munsterdevil

Two weekends ago my local refused two lads who had had enough.

Don't try to paint the narrative that pubs don't refuse drunk people service for your own argument. They do