Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BYD Seal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,338 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Maybe the fretting little thing allows to obtain the big things.

Horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,182 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Stupid post in fairness; adds absolutely nothing to the thread. Comments you are referring to could hardly be labeled in the ‘fret’ category. We all love a bargain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭flipflophead22

Has there ever been 0% apr pcp deals on the Seal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Cork981

Glad to hear the indicator was on the left for many of you.

It sounds stupid but it was a deal breaker for me. I tend to drive 3 different cars a week so muscle memory would never get a chance to take over.

not worried but said I’d ask anyway.

Taxing for first time - reg and last 6 digits of VIN. Saying not recognized. Only collected last Thursday evening so possibly just a wait until DOT systems are updated?

I drive a van motorbike and the car. You adapt within days. It's really simple tbh.

Another question for you lads:

Anyone got the Ohme pro tethered charger with their Seal? I set the reservation from 2.00am - 6.00am for this morning. No joy. When I initially set up the car timer and plugged in, the message on the steering wheel screen reflected the pre-programmed time but nothing kicked in as the same message was still there at 6.15 this morning. I then deleted the reservation , plugged in the charger, and it started charging immediately. Just wondering if others have had any issue with preset charging times, of if someone could test it out at their next opportunity and report back ,that would be great 👍

Cheers for the Tax information Lister; I'm guessing that your intention was to quote Cork's post in your above reply 😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭RainInSummer

The dealer submitted my tax stuff Monday and the car was able to be taxed Thursday afternoon.

God be with the days that Nissan handed over my second Leaf taxed for three months to take the hassle out of that step. Was a nice touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Blackadder11

Same with me. Dealer said last 4 digits but I know it should be 6 as confirmed by website. It should be three days minimum and depends on how qquickly the dealer registers the paperwork.

I have an Ohme charger but don't know the model. I haven't charged just yet but happy to compare notes. The missus has been using it for about a year, she usually uses LCD screen rather than car app.

Post edited by Blackadder11 on

Hi BA, yep, same unit as mine.

I just need to be able to charge between the hours of 02:00 - 06:00 (to avail of the 7.5cent EV rate). This should get me a weeks driving for less than a tenner. No point in paying 33cent outside of these hours when a 4hr slot x 4 times per week will cover my needs. I'm just hoping that setting up the car will take care of business…..but it did not appear to last night. I cannot see a similar setting on the Ohme to preset the unit to supply power between the specific hours of X & Y, which is ideally what I need.

Post edited by dodzy on

If anone is having similar issues after several days, call 0818411412 (Online motor Tax in Shannon). Don't bother calling the Dublin number as that will route to physical tax office in Smithfield and they will just tell you that "you need an RF100 and we will put one in the post for you".

Speaking to a girl in Online tax division of the DOT, she asked for reg and name/address. She told me that she could indeed see the details were correct in terms of my name & address associated with the reg but with EV cars, periodically, there is an issue and they have to manually alter/input something on their system, which she told me she did there and then, and that this would be uploaded in some form of batch file overnight so should be good tomorrow in terms of online taxing, obviously using last 6 digits of the VIN.

Would it have happened naturally without intervention in a few days? Well that is anyone's guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Why is everyone being so uptight about getting their new cars taxed? There's plenty of leeway with Gardai etc. once you can prove it's a new car. Which isn't hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭AUDI20

I taxed mine in the local tax office the day after collecting it, The girl told me that to tax for the first time you have to go into the tax office after that your car is then officially on the tax system.Her words not mine.

It's no big deal to wait until the next week, this is very normal. Unless you have some pressing need to set your tax date earlier for some reason let the system dispatch to you.

I suppose people mightn't want to run into arrears if it crosses over a month end, but a month's arrears on €120 tax is €12. Not exactly going to break the bank.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,826 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

that’s incorrect. First taxing can be online and VLC is the. Generated from that.

or if you prefer:
    Motor Tax (Shannon) 0818411412 & 1890411412 Call Instead – 061365001 or 061365010
    Interesingly, hours of operation are 10am to 1pm, Mon-Fri.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭djan

Gardai are often lenient but wardens giving out fines when parked in public spaces seem to be less so. Could probably put a little note in the pocket.

Don't see it as uptight. Just asking questions. And I agree totally with you that you would be very unlikely to run into an issue if you were stopped in such an instance. Still possible though.

Well the uptight bit comes from seeing multiple posts recently of guys getting cars and the same or next day posting about the inability to tax them. Seems a tad OTT.

And yeah, you could run into some pointy pencil who'll quote the relevant law and give you a hard time. But in more decades driving than I care to admit, I've never met one.

Had one of them got a ticket. Sent the council an email with photo of the vehicle invoice (this was a vrt UK reg job) the squashed the fine immediately on the understand car tax within days is unreasonable.

The ticket is for non display, not non taxing.

It's both until you prove you've paid. Not paying road tax is an offence. At worst you get to court, prove you had road tax for the day in question (proof of payment of any arrears etc.) and it's struck out. That's why they wouldn't bother somebody who's clearly got a new car. Pointless.

traffic warden will do for non display. Garda is different under section 42, they may have more discretion.

Fair. That's all they can do you for since you're usually not present and in any case can't question you about your road tax payment situation.

becoming rare nowadays too. We used to have tyrant here in a north Dublin village!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭yllw.ldbttr

Off topic based on recent posts but I really am very surprised at the lack of updates and functionality in the app.

This is where the likes of BYD should be leaving legacy automakers for dead to be honest.

Still unable to lock or unlock the car.

Still no trip information.

Still no cumulative efficiency information extractable.

Still no charging history data.

Still no monthly driving stats in the app.

Still no location services in the app.

Still no remote car view.

Flash the lights, preheat the car, beep the horn, close the windows, TPMS.

That's about it and a very poor app all in all it must be said.

I left a review stating as much. It's unlikely to get picked up but it's better than doing nothing.

I did similar, and mentioned to the dealer in Cork, and emailed their feedback address and fed it back via the popup asking for feedback in the app.

As you said though, not likely to be actioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭AUDI20

Yes the App is dissapointing as is the lack of wireless car play, left both comments on these in the popup asking for feedback on the App. Also informed the dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭finno

can you not lock & unlock in the app on the seal?

you can on the atto

Nope, the buttons are present in the app but you get a "coming soon" message when you press them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭finno

oh ok that's a bit strange as they work on the atto.

BYD are in town this week promising to pick up feedback from customers if it is shared with dealers. Give it a shout via your dealer. Given that they weer hot to change the side of the indicator stalk, you might get soem results after a bit of time. Also, if it is on the Atto, I would be confident that it will happen.

Herself nearly had heartattack today , phoned today to say metal grinding noise drivers side.

Had a look when home, picked up a stone between rear disk shield and the disk.

Easy fix 😃.

Note to all there's a little black clippers in where your wheel well roadside kit is in the boot. It's for clipping out the black wheel nut covers. Nice handy tool.

yeah, first thing I did. I’ve removed any settings or schedules from the ohme and set ‘MAX CHARGING’ option. In fairness, it’s a pretty **** dashboard on the Ohme app, with a host of useless information and the lack of a purely timed schedule on the unit is disappointing but if I can technically use it as a ‘dumb’ charger and the car runs the show, that will work fine. At present, car timer is set from 2-6am and the charger is set to ‘max charge’ …..i will know in a few hours if successful or not 🙏

Update: 4hr charge worked as hoped. Hopefully that'll be it for me going forward.

Post edited by dodzy on

Preview of sentry mode here.

I believe the app is being translated and will require sideloading.

https://www.facebook.com/share/v/gUqiTV3exbQjcjCG/

(Edit, not sure why but my account can't post hyperlinks apparently so copy and paste)

Think you have to have a FB account to see those.

Any cop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Oonagh123

I didn't, thanks very much for posting @Oonagh123

Yep, driver side seems more convenient after inserting dashcam today. I used a laptop prising tool (that came with a kit to insert an SSD into a MacBook Pro) to gently open the housing. A bit fiddly, I didn't remove the housing completely to save detaching the small rectangular panel over the mirror. All working well. Now onto Waze !

Definitely 6 digits not 4. I spoke to the DoT office today (thanks for tip !)
    The lady on the phone acknowledged the request and said that it had to sent upstairs to IT and would be active in the morning.

Good man 👍. FYI, I too was told that it would be active the next morning and it was (Just a note for anyone who is told that first occasion has to be RF100 / Tax Office - as Gumbo indicated earlier. it 100% is not). I do get previous poster's comment about us being unnecessarily 'rushed' to get this sorted but I'd rather have the screen 'fully decorated' sooner than not, especially when making one call to push things along caused me zero hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 ABBoy

I had nothing but issues with mine. My rear button has a poor finish. They will not replace or repair as the bumper will have to come off and never be the same. I appreciate and understand that. Paint is very thin so expect loads of stone chips, rear handle getting stuck and car had damage. They are trying to fix most things on the car. Made a complaint to BYD and no response in weeks, very poor customer service but I do love the car, design and what it has to offer and there is a lot of good quality but somethings lack which is a pity. I wonder how much I will loose after one year after selling it?