Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2024/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭McFly85

I would say the EL lottery process is:

1 draw including everyone who applied for tickets(even if they said they’d only want to see Liverpool)

Whoever wins those will have a limited time to confirm them or have them go back into the ticket pool

Second draw for anyone who only selected the finalists for the remaining/rejected tickets.

EDIT - actually I’m going to disagree with myself!

Having read the email it’s pretty clear that the first draw is only for people who’ve selected to go in any case, so that’s probably the best one to be in, I really can’t imagine many tickets given back.

Might have to hedge my bets and have an entry in both scenarios!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,901 ✭✭✭✭klose

Great news

https://x.com/lfc/status/1777694201758859668?s=46

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,187 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Great to have them back in team training, even if it is only parts. When the words 'next week' were being used, I was sure it would be Thursday, Friday ish. They have a good chance of being involved in the second leg away v Atalanta & Fulham away games now I reckon. Maybe even Jota on the bench for Palace, as I think he has been doing some individual work for a bit.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

It's not clear if the first round of the lottery (for people happy to see any team) will be 100% of the lottery tickets though. They might hold some back for the "only my team" lottery draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭McFly85

Yep true, and for that reason I’m going to create an account for herself and pick the Liverpool only option.

I assume if I were to get tickets in the any team will do draw, I will know that before the semi-final and will presumably have to commit to the tickets before the results of those?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

Yes, I think you'll be given a deadline to commit before the semis.

• I was chatting to one tout who said he put in 6000 applications. Some script he wrote. Surprised uefa aren't taking card payments to stop it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭adaminho

I wonder what the rules on this are as it's illegal to sell above face value in Ireland? Is there jurisdiction on this?

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭chasm

From the ticket application faqs

"You will need to provide your personal details (first name, last name, date of birth, ID/passport details and postal address) and indicate which participating club you are supporting (if any)"

So he did that 6000 times??

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Aye, he's very brave if he wants to take it on.

That's why I'm enjoying this title challenge and end of season with Klopp. Disappointed on Sunday but feck it, enjoy it and don't give out too much. God knows when we'll be back joint top, in April again.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Yeah, same application. Uefa don't care and certainly don't check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,955 ✭✭✭dogbert27

I feel the same.

I just can't stand Arteta. He's ex-Man City back room, ex-Everton.

His antics on the side lines. His smile in his press conferences is like a cat who enjoys licking itself.

He was going nowhere with Arsenal until City sold him Jesus and Zivchenko and he started using Zivchenko the way City used him. 2 players with experience of winning the league and cups.

His team are the same as City, constantly complaining to the ref.

Saka is untouchable.

I can stomach City winning the league as we all know how they do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,411 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Wish Arsenal would start defending like this in the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,542 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Ruben is the correct choice. He's got it all, good English, good personality, a people person, players will love him,and he's a winner, obsessed with winning.

Jack Pitt-BrookeFeb 15, 2022

‘He will be an unavoidable name in European football’ – Ruben Amorim, Europe’s next supercoach?

Two years on, all those questions have vanished.

And Amorim already looks like the best Portuguese manager of his generation.

Speak
    to those who know Amorim about how he has managed to turn Portuguese
    football on its head and they all point to one thing: his personality.
    He has always been charismatic, a natural leader, and someone who
    team-mates and colleagues wanted to follow.

That was the driving
    force behind his playing career, when he was a solid, dependable central
    midfielder who could also fill in at right-back. He was in the Benfica
    academy as a boy but, having been released, started his professional
    career at another Lisbon club, Belenenses, where he spent four years in
    the first team. In 2008, Amorim returned to Benfica — the club of his
    heart — who were managed at the time by Quique Sanchez Flores.

The next season, when Jorge Jesus replaced the future Watford manager, Benfica won the title. Amorim was part of a remarkable team
    (David Luiz, Fabio Coentrao, Javi Garcia, Ramires, Pablo Aimar, Angel di
    Maria, Javier Saviola formed quite the core), although he was never
    inhibited by training with these more famous and talented players. His
    leadership and performances earned him a place in the Portugal squad at
    the 2010 World Cup.

Amorim won two more Portuguese titles with Benfica, started for them in the 2014 Europa League final (a loss to Sevilla on penalties), and played at the 2014 World
    Cup too. But a bad knee injury ended his playing career in his homeland,
    and after a brief loan in Qatar, he retired aged just 32.

Ruben Amorim in Europa League action for Benfica away to Everton in 2009 (Photo: Getty Images)

But
    even if he was a good player rather than a great one, Amorim left an
    impression on team-mates. They say that he was the “joker of the
    dressing room”, always talking, always entertaining them, and getting
    his ideas across.

It felt inevitable that a player like that would
    go into coaching and Amorim shone on the High Performance Football
    Coaching course at the Faculty of Human Kinetics at the University of
    Lisbon.

His first job came soon
    after, at third-tier Casa Pia for the start of the 2018-19 season.
    Amorim hit the ground running there, impressing with the intensity of
    his training sessions. But with Casa Pia at the top of their league,
    Amorim’s work did not go unnoticed, nor did the fact that he was
    coaching without the required licences to do so. Casa Pia were fined and
    threatened with a points deduction, Ruben quit, but the team he left
    behind still won promotion at the end of the season.

The next step
    after Casa Pia was to take charge of a B team, and there was plenty of
    interest. Most prominently of all were Benfica, the club Amorim
    supported and where he enjoyed the best part of his playing career. Many
    people expected Amorim to take on the job of Benfica B coach from the
    start of the 2019-20 season. Just six months before Bruno Lage, now
    coach of Wolves, had been promoted from Benfica B to the first team there. The pathway was clear.

But
    after meetings with the club, Amorim decided to say no. Benfica have
    always been a political club, with then-president Luis Filipe Vieira
    looming over everything there. This job was not as powerful as the one
    Amorim wanted. He did not want to have to pick anyone else’s players. He
    wanted to coach the team in his own way, with personal responsibility
    for their results.

So, in September 2019, Amorim took over Braga’s
    B team instead. He won seven of his first eight games there. And in
    December 2019, when Braga sacked first-team coach Ricardo Sa Pinto, with
    the team stuck in eighth, they turned straight to Amorim, for his first
    job in top-flight management.

“Here at Braga, Ruben Amorim’s
    impact was tremendous,” says Paulo Meneses, their head of recruitment.
    “First on the B team and then on the first team. His personality, the
    way he works, made us think that we could be in the presence of a top
    coach.”

The first challenge for any new manager in any job is to
    convince his players that his ideas are right. This is how the manager
    generates “buy-in” and how, over time, their own ideas become those of
    the players too. This skill is maybe the most important in management.

Amorim has it in bucketloads.

Also
    important to him is the ability to give clear and simple instructions
    that make sense to his players. Some coaches might overcomplicate the
    game but Amorim would rather give simple instructions that are fully
    understood than complex instructions that are half-grasped.

“Ruben
    is a coach that brings everyone together,” says Meneses. “From the
    players, administration, staff, everyone ‘buys into’ your idea. This is
    key to creating a winning mindset. He has a very strong personality but,
    at the same time, it does not fracture the group. With his strong
    leadership, he manages to unite and aggregate. He is very smart in human
    relationships and communication. These are Ruben’s strengths as a
    coach.”

Another source who knows Amorim well says the same: “His
    superpower is not the 3-4-3, it is communication. With the media, the
    fans and the players.”

Even now, his players at Sporting watch his press conferences intently to see what he has to say.

Ultimately,
    Amorim lasted even less time as Braga first-team coach than he did in
    charge of Braga B. He was appointed on December 23, 2019, and left for
    Sporting on March 4. But even in those 10 weeks, he showed why he was
    the most exciting young coach in Portugal.

Amorim coached Braga
    for only nine league games. He won eight of them and drew the other.
    Under him, Braga beat Porto 2-1 away, Sporting 1-0 at home and Benfica
    1-0 away. On top of that, in the Taca de Liga, Braga beat Sporting 2-1
    in the semi-finals and Porto 1-0 in the final. Five games against “Big
    Three” opposition, five wins, all within a four-week period. And Braga’s
    first trophy in four years to show for it.

Yes, the sample size
    is small, and yes, many new managers get a bounce when they begin. But
    this must still be one of the most remarkable short-team improvements
    any recent managerial appointment has produced.

So
    when Sporting sacked Silas, six months into his tenure, they had a
    decision to make. They could go for another one of the same old names.
    Or they could take an expensive gamble on the upwardly-mobile Amorim
    before Benfica or Porto did the same thing. All they had to do was pay
    the €10 million release clause (£8.4 million in today’s money).

(Photo: Getty Images)

Eyebrows
    were raised across Portugal when Sporting spent the money, wondering
    how a club with all their problems could justify such a move.

The answer was emphatic, but not instant.

Amorim’s
    first game as Sporting coach was a 2-0 home win against Desportivo das
    Aves, their last game before the enforced COVID-19 stoppage. This was
    their last game for three months, and some people used that time to ask
    why the club had spent all this money on a Benfica fan who had only been
    a top-flight manager for two months.

When football returned in
    June 2020, Sporting went on a seven-game unbeaten run, pushing up to
    third, but defeats at Porto and Benfica in their last three games saw
    them finish fourth. But that spell did give Amorim the chance to try out
    some of the young players — Nuno Mendes, Joelson Fernandes, Matheus
    Nunes, Eduardo Quaresma, Tiago Tomas — to see how they would cope.
    Amorim has always been happy to bet on young players, as long as they
    believe in his ideas and work hard in training, and that has turned out
    to be the backbone of his success. And even if some of the players
    needed convincing about his methods and GPS tracking, Amorim won them
    round.

The summer that followed also gave Sporting the chance to
    add more quality: right wing-back Pedro Porro in on loan from Manchester
    City, former Real Madrid and Real Betis back-up keeper Antonio Adan and
    former Wolves youngster Pedro Goncalves. One-time West Ham United
    midfielder Joao Mario joined on loan from Inter Milan a few months into
    the season.

Even with these new additions, the squad was still not
    on the level of Porto and Benfica. But it was enough for Amorim to work
    with. He knew how to bind them all behind his ideas: a rigorously
    well-organised 3-4-3, which presses high and barely concedes any chances
    at the back.

The same leadership
    and charisma that inspired such commitment from the Braga players worked
    just as well even in the more challenging dressing room of a bigger
    club.

“His playing style is clearly pragmatic,” says Meneses. “He
    is a studious coach, with a great capacity for work and a lot of
    intuition. In addition, he is a born leader, with great communication
    skills, both internally and externally. He is contagious with his will
    to win and with the conviction that only with hard work from everyone is
    this possible. Group work is really a crucial point of Ruben Amorim’s
    philosophy.”

Two things stand out about Sporting last season. The first is their defence. Marshalled by the 31-year-old Liverpool and Sunderland old boy Sebastian Coates, they conceded only 20 goals
    all season. It was, according to TheAnalyst.com, the best defence in
    Europe, permitting an average of 0.73 expected goals against (xGA) per
    game.

The other is how good Sporting were in the final minutes of
    games, scoring in stoppage time in nine of their league games, winning
    themselves nine extra points in the process. Amorim had instilled such
    remarkable belief into the players that they were always convinced they
    could win.

Perhaps the most important win of all came on April 25.
    Sporting had drawn three of their last four games and felt Porto
    breathing down their necks. They went away to an in-form Braga and,
    after 18 minutes, had Goncalo Inacio sent off. But they dug in and then,
    with nine minutes left, Matheus Nunes’ goal won them the game.

Three
    more victories after that won Sporting the title, to go with their Taca
    da Liga trophy from earlier in the season. It was their first
    championship since 2001-02, back when they had Mario Jardel, Hugo Viana
    and a young Ricardo Quaresma.

After a generation of Porto and Benfica domination, it felt like a transformative moment in Portuguese football.

Of
    course, the football food chain being what it is, Sporting could not
    keep all of their players last summer. Nuno Mendes was sold to Paris
    Saint-Germain, while Joao Mario moved across town to Benfica. But
    Sporting’s level this year has not dropped too much. They are battling
    Porto foe the title, are in the middle of a successful Champions League
    campaign, and have retained the Taca da Liga (Amorim’s third in a row).

Whatever
    happens against Manchester City today and at the Etihad on March 9,
    there will be questions about what Amorim will do next.

He has been mentioned in connection with the Manchester United and Tottenham jobs in the past, although for now, he wants to stay put and keep winning with Sporting.

When he does leave, his next move will be up the game’s pecking order.“Ruben
    is destined to join a top club in the ‘Big Five’ leagues,” says
    Meneses. “It will have to be an ambitious project. He is an extremely
    ambitious coach. There will be nothing to excite him other than the
    ambition to win big trophies.

“Due to the leadership he
    demonstrates and the quality with which he works, I have no doubt that
    he will be an unavoidable name in European football in the coming
    years.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,901 ✭✭✭✭klose

Couple of great results tonight in the champions league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭decies

didn’t see city or arsenal watching Red Sox . So both teams haven’t ties sown up which is good as we want them to have to make effort in second tie and ideally both to qualify although probably harder for arsenal . Any thoughts from those who watched either ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭mosstin

No idea why Saka didn't stay on his feet at the end there. Two decent results for sure. Both ties very much still up for grabs. Arsenal with a potentially tricky tie vs Villa to come this weekend. Depends what side Emery plays I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,749 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Villa in Europe Thursday night,the last time they played Thurs night,Spurs hammered them. Also Douglas Luiz is suspended so he will be a big loss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,625 ✭✭✭Damien360

@BorneTobyWilde your last couple of essays are just too long to read. I'm guessing the new lad has decent credentials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,521 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Couldn't call the City Real tie after that.

I really think he could make winning seem far easier that the whole underdog mantra we live under currently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Real 10/3 to win the second leg, seems like long odds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭atilladehun

Unless he knows how to get man city disbanded and Liverpool full of legitimate cash that feeling is here too stay. No coach or hypnotherapist is going to shift that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,625 ✭✭✭Damien360

Remains to be seen. Klopp is leaving the team in a good place. New recruits coming through, midfield sorted for next season. But the front line is overdue an overhaul, which is a pity so soon again. I don't think Diaz or Nunez are clinical enough and have to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭decies

this Thursday night crack causes so many variables in this title run in .

• Registered Users Posts: 391 ✭✭bdmc16

Arsenal and City getting into the semi having to play each other is one of our best chances of winning the league in my opinion . There would be incredible pressure and tension in those fixtures all balanced with a title run in. It’s would be tough balancing act for both teams. It’s not looking likely both will progress.

Think arsenal end up going out vs Bayern unfortunately which clears their run and they don’t have Bayern quality opposition in any of those league games. Bayern awful in the league but still an extremely experienced CL outfit and you can see that in the game tonight. It’s the one time I’ll be hoping both teams win next week

It's always the case though, that if you have a prolific striker, you're a one man team, and if you have goals all around the team, the strikers not good enough. But in saying that, Nunez for sure needs to improve, no one has more shots in the PL than Nunez, 100 shots, and only 11 goals to show for it.

Nunez 100 shots

11 goals

8 assists

9 times hit woodwork

24 expected goals missed

27 times offside

His stats are as crazy as the man 🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,757 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Happy enough with the CL results ? Arsenal and City occupied for the next couple of weeks .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,595 ✭✭✭kingshankly

plus the amount of times he’s been offside and the player on the ball doesn’t pass it to him knowing he’s offside Might well be the most brain dead player we have ever had yet if always have him in my team as defenders don’t know what to expect from him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭The Moist Buddha

hopefully both games will go to extra time and penalties with both teams coming through.

I'd rather they both got knocked out, and lost their next 2 league games. 🙏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Yeah you'd wonder if you put down Leverkusen, would you have a better chance of getting tickets. UEFA might not want 100% of tickets allocated to the ballot going to Liverpool supporters.

If you extend that logic, might be better picking a team you expect to get knocked out (Atalanta 😋) and saying you'd accept tickets no matter what?

Sadly there's no way of knowing what UEFA are doing. That said, I presume the chances aren't great whatever you do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,260 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

The Villa game now on the Monday night

Hopefully a EL semi final the Thurs before, then nothing until the last day of the season the following Sunday, quite nice spacing (for a change!)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

I wouldn't mind Arsenal getting knocked out, it might dent their confidence and doubts might start to creep in, also it would put more pressure on them not to drop points in the league. In the past when we were getting through in the CL it built momentum, confidence and belief in the squad, I think the same would apply for Arsenal if they get over Bayern it will add to their momentum and belief. I can see why people want them to get through to the semi final, so that they might tire out, but, it might actually give them a shot in the arm.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭Steviemak7

Villa are likely to be travelling back from Turkey or Greece on the Thursday night and we would have been at home on Thursday so it actually works better for Villa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,306 ✭✭✭✭rob316

PSG met with Diaz agent, we value him at £75m. I'd happily sell for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Probably depends what Villa team turns up, very inconsistent atm.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

I think they're a bit mad.

Since the injury he is way less direct than he used to be.

In the past year everything has gone up 70% plus, Liverpool want to increase ticket prices by 2% , and fan groups have a canary. I think they have a need to look important, as if everything needs to be run by them first.

''I'll pay 165 for a season ticket, no way I'll pay 168'' Sad

I dunno what they'd do if they had to pay 2k for a season ticket for Arsenal, or Spurs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

More like 1k but rise is less than inflation so not much to complain about,, but I suppose if they don't complain there could be a bigger rise next year,, just keeping them in line.

Should be paying more if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

I don't think a 2% increase is un-reasonable.

I dunno why a club like Liverpool, have to have minnow prices, to be down the bottom of the scale for prices, just to keep fan groups feeling important, reality is we could charge 4000 per ticket, and there would still be a long waiting list

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,313 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

4k a ticket, I suppose that would be the way to go if you didn't give a shite about your fans.

I'm glad we are not like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,111 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Clubs in general should be looking the other direction tbh - instead of endlessly raising ticket prices (which are becoming a smaller and smaller percentage of the revenue pie anyway), they'd be better served actually lowering prices so you can start getting some young people into the grounds again. The higher the prices go, the older the crowd becomes, and we're not too far off whole generations of kids just never developing the habit of going to games.

The Bundesliga has a much healthier view on ticket prices in general, and this recent Fortuna 'free tickets' program is amazing. That's the sort of direction I'd love to see Liverpool move towards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Their ownership model is also very different, fans have a 51% stake in the club so have greater power to implement schemes like you mentioned.

The German ownership model is something i think all clubs should work towards, i think it's the fairest system that we know of, it'll never happen in England of course and i believe in time the Germans might privatize the clubs.

I find it very difficult to have any type of critical view on the fan group position on this from Dublin.

Very much their community