Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rory McIlroy - 4 Time Major Winner

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭kyleman

Magnificent golf by Rory

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭rooney30

I’m confident he’ll win the Masters this week . Don’t see anything in his game that would convince me otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,935 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I personally think his putting can be very hit and miss.

Or he has a bad day ...a bad day in the stronger fields is unrecoverable.

He will have a top 5 ...that is about it..

• Registered Users Posts: 26 AlanWatts

I think he deserves it given his career and he's due a few breaks after the last 2 near misses in majors but I don't see him ever winning it unless it comes like a bolt from the blue like sergio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,084 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

I think he can win it but it's unlikely.

Also think he's as likely to miss the cut.

Will all be between the ears and then come down to putting. Played well last week so his game is trending. He just needs to be there or thereabouts come the back 9 on Sunday, that's what it's all about.

Fancy him to go well but top 10 may be as good as it gets.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,497 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

I would say the back 8 on Sunday, rather than the back 9 - that 10th tee shot will hold demons for him if he's in any way in contention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

That's an awful result on the 2nd...feck sake Rory

Another test for Rory on 3 .

Good stuff - bounce back as was that testing distance for bird.

early call - looks like his putting is muck that is him done for 2024.

Very untidy start...

• Registered Users Posts: 819 ✭✭✭MattressRick

Bogey on the first par 5 doesn't bode well. It'll just add compounding pressure if he's not taking birdies at those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,759 ✭✭✭Trampas

Seems to be the same Rory at a start of a major. Giving shots to the field

The lines on his putts are muck - all the other guys are the hole - he is miles off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

he's done for the masters only in 2024? if so, i'd have to reluctantly agree. ah I don't know why I root for this guy, I feel like a Mayo fan

Not playing that great but Just needs to hang in there, a round of 70 would be very good. Long way to go.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Would have to agree with this - and in the past Rory would force this and be useless - at least , I think that immaturity is gone from him these days - very often in majors - just hang around and then make a slow catch up.

But I will add - the guys picking up birds at the top can go very very hot these days .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭bobster453

Nah his goose is cooked already I reckon.Even the driver isnt working and lines on putts are shocking.

Might pull out a few miracle shots to make the weekend but as for a long time now..flatters to decieve imo.

I have to admit - the front 9 was very illustrative that Rory just isn't as good as these lads.

When he does the same as the others - they still score better - and way better.

When the others play well - they are doing things Rory can't

Bryson is 6 shots up in tough conditions.

You can't read too much into 9 holes of golf - but can he do what they do at this point ?

First time ever I felt watching him thinking - does he even have a game that these guys are at .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭bobster453

When he gets off to a good start and leads he plays freely and naturally and seems to enjoy playing.Thats when he plays his best and unbelievable shots.

Hasnt happened for a long while now.

Chasing the lead he seems to force a lot of shots.

He is short on everything

Sorry - maybe just today - but he can't putt.

Nice bird there to get under par.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,250 ✭✭✭big_drive

Doing well, after being +1 to turn it around to -1 is good stuff. Well in the running, if he could get it to -3 by end it would be a great opening round

Fair play Rory - good fight back.

Fair play is right...a 70 or 69 would be great

Scotty blessed there to make birdie

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,850 ✭✭✭Barnaboy

Made a real mess of the par 5s. Level par for the four today. Still heading for his third best ever opening round here. If he can par out from here, I'm sure he would be happy. Can't be easy playing with Scottie. Guy is scary good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,250 ✭✭✭big_drive

Rory doing well. Needs to stay disciplined, playing with Scottie could force him into trying something stupid to try stay in touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,850 ✭✭✭Barnaboy

Bad miss on 16, such a great opportunity. Shame.