Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Baby boom generation starting to retire in or around 2030

12346»

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,838 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I didn't realise that having the same lifestyle as the previous generation was "having it all". We're talking about one of the most basic things a person needs, a home.

To be honest, this just reads like a justification of boomer greed. Reminds me of the guff libertarians used to spout here that as long as the one percenters and corporations are happy, that's all that matters.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,638 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

No generation in history has ever had he reasonable expectation of settling down where they grew up. The eldest son inherited the farm, the rest of the 10 children had to find a way elsewhere, that was 19th century Ireland.

For most of the 20th century, the same prevailed, as Irish people took the boat. This continued up until the early 1990s. Even when people did stay in Ireland, places like Finglas, Ballybrack, Tallaght and before them, Cabra, Drimnagh and Whitehall were new communities and people moved out to those locations.

The amount of land is finite, the number of people is not, so the only solution is for people to keep moving outwards and/or onwards. The amount of available land for development in Dublin City Council area or in Dun Laoghaire is very small, non-existent for typical semi-detached houses, with only apartments likely there.

To sum up, in a growing population, it is impossible for any other than a tiny minority (most of whom's parents die young and leave them the house) to hold the reasonable expectation of settling down where they grew up.

I was born in the mid-1960s in well-off South Dublin, I own a house in Dublin 15 (not Castleknock).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,898 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

That's just it, though: the previous generation (or the one before, depending on one's age) didn't have the option of cheap commutes over long distances, quick-and-easy travel back home from their career-enhancing jobs abroad, and an expectation of changing jobs and relationship partners every decade.

Our lives today are not those of our parents or grandparents, and for the most part we are all very glad of that - but so much of what we expect for the future is based on what they had, i.e. the past we've chosen to move on from.

Referring back to the "having babies" topic, I know of some families who have chosen to stop at three children because that's as many as you can fit in the back of a normal car. We didn't have that limitation when I was growing up, and there are still countries where you can stuff half a dozen sprogs into a Ford Escort (equivalent) … and probably afford a house too. But is that the lifestyle that you want?

It's all about compromises and priorities, and even though yes, one of the most basic requirements for anyone is to have a home, there are a thousand definitions of what constitutes a "home". The more conditional are ones expectations (same road I grew up on, three indoor toilets, south-facing garden, within walking distance of a decent sized Supervalu, easy drive to the airport for maximum Ryanair bargain flights … ) the more one should expect to compromise - especially if that also means buying in the kind of highly competitive, lightly regulated, easy-debt-fueled housing market that the Irish electorate has chosen to perpetuate.

It doesn't have to be like that, but it is. When I realised twenty years ago I couldn't change a damn thing about it, I voted with my feet, followed the path of the Wild Geese and gave my stamp duty to the French government instead of Fianna Fáil. I doubt that was really any different, psychologically, than my father moving from the extreme west of Clare to the centre of Dublin in the 1960s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,691 ✭✭✭volchitsa

Yes, this is the thing I've been trying to get over: the idea that we can all live better than our parents, while still being able to pick things from their lives that we'd quite like to keep is not realistic. It's not even a realistic view of the past. It seems to be some sort of view of 1950s America applied to Ireland - and even in America it was only ever true for some sections of society, basically those who managed to get into the white middle-class suburban part of it.

I suppose growing up in Derry where the legacy of two, three or more FAMILIES having to live in the same two or three bedroom house was still only in the process of being solved when I was young may help explain why I'm so sceptical of this poormouthing about how terrible it is today - but I don't believe the west of Ireland or working class Dublin was that much better. When I went to university in Dublin in the 80s I saw a lot of visible poverty - and if it struck me as looking poor compared to Derry, then it was not just relative poverty.

(TBF I think it was socially divided, rather than poor overall - the wealthy parts of Dublin were of course very wealthy. But Sheriff Street, the North Wall, Gardiner Street or Dolphins Barn were very obviously poor.)

Reem Alsalem UNSR Violence Against Women and Girls: "Very concerned about statements by the IOC at Paris2024 (M)ultiple international treaties and national constitutions specifically refer to women & their fundamental rights, so the world (understands) what women -and men- are. (H)ow can one assess fairness and justice if we do not know who we are being fair and just to?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Wait, what? I'm a Millennial? Always thought I was Gen X.

****, this changes everything. Get me some skinny jeans and a skateboard now!

As a relative outsider looking in, I think the returned emigrants of the Celtic Tiger years brought a lot of "WASP"-ish attitudes back from the anglophone countries to which they'd gone off, and I'm not sure those were a great fit for the Irish psyche - which I would describe as being much more aligned with the "sure-it'll-be-grand" attitude of the Mediterranean countries. I don't think it was coincidence that we were all lumped together as "PIIGS" during the bailout years.

A couple of decades on, though, I'd nearly go so far as to say that the other members of that group have recovered their traditional culture in a way that hasn't happened in Ireland, and that's despite them having an "immigration problem" that's way worse than Ireland.

The key difference I see comes back to the money markets, and the Irish willingness - almost determination - to borrow as much as they can possibly get (not afford) just to outbid their own kind … and then blame it on the banks, on Angela Merkel, on the government of the day, for causing it to happen. This is also why I don't see any Irish government bringing meaningful change to the sale of property - because anything meaningful would (should) have a significant negative effect on house prices, and that'd be too bitter a pill for any voter to swallow when they still have 20 years of a 500k mortgage to pay off.

And yet, for a country that was so characterised by emigration and literally founding and building towns and cities of other countries around the world for more than a thousand years, "Gen X/Y/Z" has suddenly developed a fierce aversion to leaving the comfort zone of Modern Ireland (and ex-pat enclaves).

So much easier to complain (in English) about not being able to afford a house without a 500k mortgage, and having to work full time till 65 to pay for it, than to learn another language and buy a house for 50k somewhere not-in-Ireland; and then be debt-free and semi-retired from the age of 45.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,659 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

I don't know where that poster got their info from, but most people place the Millennials as ranging between 1981 and 1996. 1977-80 is still a Gen X'er.

So back into yer old clothes and put that skateboard away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,149 ✭✭✭amacca

Food isnt overpriced...ye feckers are getting that way too cheap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭yagan

All this borrowing from elsewhere of demographic pigeonholes won't change much in Ireland when we're face with our own aged care challenges.

I can chime with a lot of posters who remember the 70s and 80s when few would have predicted a positive economic future, which was the fruit of the Whitikar reforms in the 1960s and later the progressive emphasis on teaching sciences in school.

I think the lax planning policies of the boom era will be a negative drag in the future when it comes to providing aged care services. I'm typical of that era with an average number of siblings for the time who could share the load when keeping our parents in the home place for as long as possible, but we all know that in our dotage we simply will not be able to rely on family like before.

Interestingly I'm in the process of getting the mother in laws house ready for sale and the estate agent is saying that these particular council tce houses near shops and transport from almost a century ago which were overlooked during the boom era are becoming increasingly popular again with people wanting to move away from their car dependent situations. It's ironic that many probably grew up in such houses.

The options aren't great for aged independent living otherwise, once you lose your ability to drive the next stop option often is a nursing home as there's very few assisted living developments where you could keep some independence, and a lot of nursing homes seem to be out in the countryside where walking the road is too dangerous.

Dealing with our parents certainly has influenced where we live now, in that if one of got too sick to drive we could still walk to the shop, pharmacy by ourselves. In time we know we'd have to downsize when even basic gardening gets too much. We just hope that there's some good options in time for that phase.

Basically the point of this post is that some people make provision now for needs in future decades because they know governments only think in short term election cycles, until there's a crisis. I do think aged care will become so massive a crisis across all advanced economies that they'll be competing for immigrants rather than entertaining anti immigrant sentiment which is popular right now.

You are absolutely right, and there will be a price paid for the people who wanted to live their lives on top of mountains in the middle of nowhere, far from services. As the population gets older, the only efficient way to provide services will be in towns and cities. Living at the end of a boreen isn't practical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭SharkMX

Of all my close friends and acquaintances, none of the ones who did a masters or higher own their own house now we are in our 30s. Some of us who left college at about 21 or 22 own houses now. Every one of them who did an apprenticeship or got married in their early 20s now owns a house or apartment.

Time spent in education is definitely a factor from what I can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,771 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Time spent in education delays the start of your full-time earning career, obviously, and equally it delays progress up the ladder of experience and earnings. But it's also associated with higher earnings, and in particular higher peak earnings, and on average it increases overall career earnings — i.e. the effect of the later start is more than outweighed by higher earnings later on. But:

1. You may be unfortunate that the years when your earnings are delayed/lower coincide with a rapid change in, e.g., house prices. If house prices undergo an irreversible step-change upwards relative to earnings in those years, you may find that you can never afford the housing that those who entered the workforce just a few years before you were able to afford. But:
    2. If that happens, it's a transitional thing. It affects those who were in further education or in early-career lower earnings while the house price change was actually happening. It doesn't mean that the next cohort will be further disadvantaged by spending more time in education, or that they can avoid the problem of higher house prices by not spending time in education. Spending time in eduction will only further impede house purchase if house prices continue to rise, relative to earnings. If house prices fall relative to earnings or just keep pace with earnings then, once again, time spend in further education will tend to result in housing being more affordable to you, not less affordable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭fuzzy dunlop

Good Post.Expect a lot of the problems in the future from areas that saw urban dwellers choose one off housing over more modest urban/suburban housing. There are two types of people who did this (in my experience),those are the "sustainable living" types and the "grand design types". I know a couple of the former and I was always left with the impression that they are miscalculating.For example moving to a remote part of West Cork and then having to buy a diesel car because they are in the middle of nowhere!If they really wanted to work towards net zero they would just but an apartment or house in town and insulate it well. The 'grand design' types that I know just wanted a big house status symbol which may well become totally unpractical in their dotage.And they all complain about broadband and schools and expect the same services two miles outside of Castlepollard that someone in the middle of a large town or city has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭fuzzy dunlop

Here we go again with the boomer greed! Boomer means something specific and it is not literal. We don't have them in Ireland. A huge amount of the population in Ireland well into the 80s lived in sub standard housing by today's standards. And even those who got mortgages in the late 80's and into the mid nineties often had to navigate punishingly high interest rates. I got burned badly in the crash of 2008 and some of my peers took their own lives.Many others became depressed and never recovered fully from it. Several colleagues who bought relatively cheaply in places like Portlaoise and Carlow realized they didn't want to live their lives in those places and gave over their entire redundancies to walk away from the mortgages. What your doing is trying to direct blame on to someone who doesn't deserve it. Your argument is fallacious because it amounts to 'We need to tax the f#ck out of that generation so my generation can live like that generation.

Exactly, and the sustainable living types are particularly strange. Growing a few vegetables on a half-acre site doesn't cancel all of the other climate disadvantages of living in a remote location.

Thinking down the road to when I am retired, need to be within thirty minutes of a hospital and walking distance of public transport.

The published data seems to confirm that (highter earnings associated with higher income), but even though I can't see any significant holes in the data, I can't reconcile it with what I see in real life. Of my four children, one has a masters, one has no third level education and the other two have unvarnished undergraduate degrees. The one earning the most is the one with no third level education; the one with the most secure accomodation and relationship status is the one who shoved his masters down the back of the sofa and opted to follow his low-paid childhood dream job instead.

And when I look across the full spectrum of my children's peers - nephews, nieces, classmates, and random young people in my own social circle - there doesn't appear to be any association between third level education and "quality of life" … unless it's an inverse relationship.

I would be inclined to the opinion that the positive correlation we've been told about (with proof!) is based on out-of-date models, and the picture will change over the next decade. To some extent, I would also be inclined to believe that that's due to government and educational institutions pushing this "study more, earn more" attitude in recent past decades and treating all third level education as having the same value.

Moreover, it seems to feed the "you can do better if you just wait a bit longer" narrative that pushes all of the traditional "becoming an adult" rites of passage into later and later years, with few of the promises ever being fully delivered.

That's a bit simplistic. The average age of death where I live, down the end of a "boreen" in the middle of nowhere is approximately 85 for the men and 90 for the women. Most of them are still pottering about in their vegetable patch until the day they die. That might be all they do, and it might take them three days to weed a line of carrots, but they're generally well able to hold a conversation and keep themselves upright. Home care goes a long way towards that, and I wouldn't have opted for the same kind of lifestyle if I didn't believe that eating zero-carbon-miles carrots with some of the dirt still on contributes to their good long mental and physical health.

This is another societal question: is there the willingness on the part of local politicians and the electorate to pay for or deliver the kind of basic infrastructure or community services that'd make living in a rural environment a valid alternative to city dwelling? In Ireland, I don't think so. There's too much grá for the big house, the big car, the big salary … Having more children or longer working lives or bigger pensions won't change that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,580 ✭✭✭swampgas

Another point on time spent in education, especially for people doing post-grad work, is that it can significantly delay the start of a full time permanent position, which can impact pensions. If combined with stints abroad gaining experience, it can mean that contributions to pension schemes start later. Someone who does a degree, a masters, a PhD, then a few years postdoc gaining experience may (if they are lucky) finally secure a permanent position in their late twenties or early thirties, and this may be the point at which the pension contributions start to count. (As far as I know anyway - this is how it was described to me by a friend who went down this route.)

Someone who started work in a permanent job aged 21 will have their 40 years done at 61/62 years of age, someone who "starts" at 31 will only have 36 years contributions by age 67.

It will be interesting to see how the correlation between education and salary trends over the next decade - if I live long enough to see it :)

Regarding those in their 80s and 90s living well independent does chime with what the head of my mothers nursing home told me about those who grew up without car dependency, they were generally stronger for it whereas the following generations tend to not be as robust and require more intervention and attention.

My own grandmother lived without indoor plumbing until her 90s and grew her own veg.

Perhaps that's part of what being noted in the US with declining life expectancy. The opioid crisis may be the headline, but perhaps a general decline in underlying core health may be a contributary factor in driving people towards legal painkiller dependency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭SharkMX

Or by the time you are bidding on your house with yourself and your other half at the peak of your college increased earnings, you are bidding high and contributing to house price increases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,468 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Last winter I had to get some plumbing work done in the house, the labour cost was about 1000 euro and that's for a plumber plus apprentice for considerably less than a day's work. It wasn't exactly "back breaking" like people try to portay it as. There's no shortage of work even in rural Ireland and there is great potential for self employment. These guys are cleaning up and fair play to them, they have a useful, in demand skill. They'll have no difficulty buying a house or houses plus their skills mean that buying a cheap doer-upper is an option.

I know another fella who installs and services boilers and he takes at least 6 months of the year off as he makes enough during the peak winter months. Has never left his home area for work. He has children and is around to look after elderly relatives etc.

Some of my cousins are in the heating and plumbing business. Left school at 15. Multi millionaires, I'm talking about wealth comfortably into 8 figures.

Naturally, if everyone became a plumber, being a plumber would no longer be lucrative. But one thing is for certain, these lads are not on boards during the working day, complaining about "boomers" and posting obsessively about various "witches", from Donald Trump to Andrew Tate. Also as has been noted on this forum before, threads about health and social care IN IRELAND receive little traction and interest compared to the aforementioned witch burnings of named individuals or threads about US politics generally or US mass shootings etc.

I wouldn't go so far as to say it's pure car dependency that's responsible for less healthy old age, rather that having access to one's own car makes it easy - too easy - to look for and engage with people and opportunities well beyond the range of your own legs. That in itself isn't necessarily a bad thing (and I'm in no position to complain, seeing as I'm packing up right now for a 450km commute to one of my infrequent salaried stomping grounds); but when everyone does it, and does it all the time, that degrades the slow, steady trading of favours, skills, experience, calamities and other factors that contribute to building a good solid community.

It's that kind of unofficial support network that helps elderly people continue to live happily at home even in the back end of nowhere. Trees need to be cut and brought in for the fire; done. Front door needs a hole patched up and a lick of paint; done. Potatoes need to be planted/lifted; done. Grandchild is making their First Communion in an out-of-the way country church; no problem, lift is here. Different people of different ages helping in different ways, all with the common point of not having their lives planned to the minute with health-sapping mortgage-paying, pension-funding salaried employment.

The cost of delivery of services to remote locations (doctors, home care, infrastructure, post offices, shops etc.) is a big tax burden on those living in urban areas. Even if that was overcome there is no doubting the significant climate impact. Just think of the fuel used to deliver those services.

No other country in the world allows dispersed living like in Ireland.

There's plenty of dispersed low density ribbon development in a lot of Europe. The CAP payment was a rural vote sop with France alone receiving half the budget in the 80s.

It's probably because we started out as an agrarian nation that there's an expectation that every middle sized town should have city level services, although many Irish towns now have a much better quality of life than the average for Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,276 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Any decent length drive on non-motorway roads in Ireland highlights the utter failure of our planning departments when it comes to rural areas: miles of low density McMansion ribbon developments between desolate towns and villages full of properties falling to ruin...

Who wouldn't love 300sqm homes on half an acre or more? I've no issue with those who understand that living rurally comes at the cost of not having much in the way of local services, increased waiting times for emergency services etc. But it is very hard to listen to the whinging you get on all forms of media from those who've made that choice and then bitch about not having a local hospital, having to drive their kids to school etc. while they're already being so heavily subsidised by urban and suburban dwellers living in much smaller homes.

Ah here! No other country in the world allows dispersed living like in Ireland. Sounds like you haven't visited many other countries, or at least haven't stepped outside the comfort of a well-serviced urban area. The distances between "remote" locations in Ireland is tiny compared to other countries, and in other countries, there are people successfully and productively living in places that would make the back end of Cavan or Leitrim look positively crowded.

As for the "climate impact" argument: that ignores the fact that - if it's done in the traditional way - rural living has no more of a "climate impact" from transport than the actual practice in (Irish) cities. I find it shocking the amount of driving that my suburban Dublin family and friends do, every single day, and a slalom along any road in any estate shows that they're not the only ones. So many one-person short trips in a car ... The "country way" is to make every journey worth the cost, so both users and providers of local services work together to achieve an efficiency that I've rarely seen in any British or Irish urban context.

On the other hand, if you have people who want and try to live a suburban lifestyle in a big house in the back end of nowhere, well that's back to the "having it all" situation again, and that (IMO) is the bad attitude which the Irish-in-Ireland seem so proud to encourage.

Rubbish and nonsense.

https://www.askaboutireland.ie/enfo/irelands-environment/the-built-environment/pressures-on-the-environm-1/

"Single houses in the countryside have, for the most part, septic tank treatment systems for wastewater and this poses an increasing risk to groundwater and surface water quality. The provision of waste collection and other services are also much more expensive in dispersed communities.

Rural dwellers tend to have greater travel needs and much of this travel is done by private car. Increases in the volume of traffic causes air pollution and the loss of green space puts more pressure on the environment. "

One-off housing is the biggest curse in Ireland, and you don't see it in other countries, you don't even see it to the same extent in Northern Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

As noted so many times the OP was not labeling that generation, the OP was using then term 'boom' in a generic term to say there was a lot of births. When there is a spike in births it is always referred to as a boom. What the Madison Avenue folks call each generation has nothing to do with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,894 ✭✭✭monkeybutter