Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,880 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Well that was shite of the highest order.

Time for real changes. If there aren't at least a minimum of 4 changes to that team for Sunday we could have s very short summer indeed.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭The White Feather

• Registered Users Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

It was like we picked up exactly where we left off last Summer! This hurling team has massive support no matter where they play. They need to up the ante and show a bit more fire!! In my opinion this mgmt were lucky to survive another year! Time to prove the doubters wrong or else move aside. Progress is not being made imo and a once proud hurling county is becoming the pity of the country

Re the football against Kerry, well done to all involved. Plenty passion and clear improvement on last year!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

It sure is and it's only the older folk among us understand that!! A shadow of the great teams from the 90s. In my opinion the management should have been changed last year as progress was non existent. Here we go again today, like a carbon copy of last year. Somethings very amiss in Cork hurling right now, and it's been missing for a long long time!!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,669 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Disgusted on the drive back home tonight. That was frankly a load of absolute shite. Packed house of Cork fans and they serve up that.

Going through the team, I've been saying it on here for years that Collins is past it. His puck-outs never ever change and the amount we concede from them is scandalous. The full back line outside of O'Donoghue was pitiful. Cahalane shouldn't be playing and Millerick just isn't up to it. Mark Coleman had a shocker in the first half and did well starting the second half in midfield then they moved him back to his original position? Braindead stuff. Don't get me started on Lehane, Harnedy and Hoggy. There's more speed in my legs than the 3 of them combined.

Referee was shite also but we were worse. We went level at one stage and 2-3 mins later we were 4 points down again. Can't blame the ref for that.

Some serious decisions to be made. We cannot keep doing the same thing every year and expect different results.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

We need to be patient with the newer players no matter who the manager is, but if it's another short summer then give the job to Ben O'Connor if he wants it.

The reality is that two much maligned managers (i include myself in that!) in John Meyler and Kieran Kingston have taken us closer to an all Ireland than Pat Ryan.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

the problem it seems and we were talking about it last night about football, how many managers will get time to blood new players and a proper transition process , ye have won the last 3/4 u 20 titles and very few players have been given a propper chance , we fired shane meehan,mark rodgers , adam hogan immediately into the clare team and two of them 3 were yhoty nominees last year , where was ben cunningham all league , what dose jack o connor have to do that lehane is not doing at the moment , even luke meade deserves a regular start now too

Workrate is a non negotiable at Limerick and Kilkenny. If a player is not willing to put the work in then management won't tolerate that. John Kiely and Derek Lyng won't be long getting rid of you.

It seems that we're still struggling with this basic concept in Cork. Waterford turned that game yesterday into a physical battle and we just didn't want to know about it.

Someone will knock Limerick off their perch eventually it's just that i'm not sure it's going to be us. I don't think we've fully grasped or come to terms with how modern-day hurling works in Cork yet.

Post edited by Straight Talker on

• Registered Users Posts: 34,143 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

It does not even hurt no more. Its been same thing different year for a generation.

• Registered Users Posts: 800 ✭✭✭Glenomra

Great Analysis . Speaking as a disconsolate clare supporter reared watching generations of wonderful Cork hurling teams. It is obvious for the last decade that Cork hurling people, management, players and supporters, don't accept that the era of creative hurling with players displaying individual brilliance is not enough anymore. Kilkenny changed the template and Limerick have refined it further. Now it's a system requiring skill, athleticism, strength and conditioning, in match communication and total buy in from everybody involved. This is a professional attitude in an amateur game and it's a winning formula. And intercounty hurling isn't going back to the 'good old days' any time soon. In cusack Park yesterday. Limerick on the rack, 8 points down and being outhurled. We celebrating on the terraces.. a bit prematurely I now realise. Suddenly, Limerick changed their entire hurling system. Players seemed to understand what they needed to do intuitively. No egos evident, a job of work to be done. Impressive. When Cork finally accepts the new realities they will return to the top table. Hope they don't learn too much before Sunday!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,018 ✭✭✭lukin

I have said that before on this thread as well. The Cork players are clearly not being pushed hard enough in training. Nowhere near enough. They probably think they are but they aren't. Pat Ryan probably thinks they are but they aren't.

OK I haven't seen a Cork training session but it seems plain to me when you watch the opening ten or fifteen minutes of a Cork game when they go five or six points down straight away that they are not prepared for the physical onslaught of a real match because they haven't experienced it in training.

Until this problem is addressed we won't win a Munster championship or a league title never mind an All-Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,143 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I think we got too carried away with underage success too plus young lads are different now.

Look at lads who switched to rugby. Big loss for GAA but it's hard replace. I don't blame them though. GAA in cork has long road back. A toxic culture was there for long time.

Some people will scoff at the suggestion that it was backward and how things were done for years but it's the truth and we are paying price for it now.

Just one example of 100 I could talk about,

This going back years but I know lads who got phone calls night before games to tell them they were dropped.

I know of lad who scored 1-18 in Divisional final and 1-16 in county final (they lost but he single hardly got them there in Grade A) and could not get on Cork minor cause his parents did not want him change schools when management did so he suffered.

People here may think thats BS but it depended in club you played for too. Certain clubs got easier rides then others so if this sounds like unusual case than lucky you. Wasn't case for all.

Cork GAA is in debt for another generation and it's hard to see success coming before end of decade now.

Some people don't like truth here but until the wrongs are put right on all sides then Cork GAA will just go back and back.

• Registered Users Posts: 459 ✭✭Meursault

Hugely disappointing yesterday, but hopefully its the kick up the arse that the team and management need. Its do or die next weekend, and maybe with their backs against the wall at home, they will produce a result.

Surely there will be changes. I will be flabbergasted is Hoggy, Harnedy and Lehane start next Sunday. Harnedy, maybe, because at least he has shown the stomach for battle previously, but not the other two. That's harsh on Lehane and Hoggy and I mean them no disrespect whatsoever. They have made huge sacrifices for the jersey. However, there is no room for sentimentality here.

If they win next weekend, maybe it will be a springboard for the rest of the championship, and the Waterford loss may turn out to be a blessing in disguise. Big if, of course.

If they lose, Pat Ryan will have to go, along with the stalwarts on the team and hopefully Ben O'Connor will step in next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,270 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Waterford fan here, honestly I wouldn't say Harnedy or Hoggy were anywhere near your worst performers yesterday. Lehane certainly it's hard to see why he is still starting. From what I've seen of ye previously I would say Dalton is a massive loss, when is he due back? Full back is still your biggest weakness imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

Very strange atmosphere down in Walsh Park, it felt like a league game until Waterford started pulling ahead. I was in the City end terrace and it was very flat, you could hop into the neighbours back garden no problem! Hard to get a decent view from anywhere there. Must have been the lowest attended Championship game I ever attended, barely over 11K. I wouldn't be rushing back there, irrespective of result.

Balls to the wall stuff now next week, I'll get a Blackrock end terrace ticket if I can't pick up a stand ticket. Not going to re-hash our poor performance (from play and on the line) and what I thought were soft yellow/blacks/reds given out yesterday, I think the ref showed 9 yellows which is mad.

The we need Davy Fitz as manager shouts are going up on the PROC now.🤣 Now the dark part of my mind (we should have done it in football ages ago) says at times that we should go for an outside manager but it wouldn't be Davy Fitz!

Fair enough he won an all Ireland as a manager against the worst Cork team that ever showed up in an all Ireland final in living memory, but Paul Kinnerk was the main man behind that all Ireland win for Clare.

Once he left the Clare setup Davy was shown up for being the bluffer that he was imo.

I'd like to think that Clare might be a bit brittle mentally after letting it slip against Limerick yesterday. The Cork crowd will be well up for it next Sunday but we need the players to respond in kind as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭Seadin

We need to beat Clare. We will see now if they got it or not next time out and if not Ryan might as well just pack it in. Clare are beating us unless we produce a 2010 like performance against Tipperary.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭thesultan

What happened to Jack O'Connor that he only merited a couple of minutes yesterday.?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

U20 football team to play Clare at 7pm on Wednesday in Pairc Ui Chaoimh

1. Aaron Mannix (Doheny’s)
    2. Dan Twomey (Ballinascarthy)
    3. Shane O’Connell (Kilshannig)
    4. Colin Molloy (Nemo Rangers)
    5. Gearoid Daly (Mallow)
    6. David Buckley (Douglas)
    7. Sam Copps (Mallow)
    8. Rory O’Shaughnessy (St Michaels)
    9. Michael McSweeney (Knocknagree)
    10. Darragh O’Brien (Glanworth)
    11. Hugh O’Connor (Newmarket) Captain
    12. Jack O’Neill (Castlehaven)
    13. Ross Corkery (Nemo Rangers)
    14. Ed Myers (Naomh Abán)
    15. Dara Sheedy (Bantry Blues)
    16. Michael O’Connell (St Michaels)
    17. Fionnan Leahy (St Michael’s)
    18. Mark Óg O’Sullivan (Bantry Blues)
    19. Trevor Kiely (Mallow)
    20. Aaron O’Sullivan (Aghabullogue)
    21. Gearoid Kearney (Kinsale)
    22. Luke O’Herlihy (St Michael’s)
    23. Darragh Clifford (Éire Óg)
    24. Olan O’Donovan (Barryroe)

Additional Panel Members;

Alan Kelleher (St Colums), Billy Curtin (Valley Rovers), Bryan Hayes (Nemo Rangers), Darragh Gough (Clonakilty), Darragh O’Donovan (Bishopstown), Kieran McCarthy (Carrigaline), Michael Maguire (Castlehaven), Niall Kelly (Newcestown), Olan Corcoran (St Marys), Patrick O’Grady (Killavullen), Rory Kavanagh (St Michaels), Timmy Cullinane (Carbery Rangers).

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭Montys return

Think yer being very harsh on Harnedy. Won a lot of ball, tooa couple of score. Well worth his place. Loads of hurling still to be done.

Ye looked good first day out last year, didn't get out of Munster. Ye looked shite coming down to Waterford in 2022, and got out of Munster. Ye've every chance still.

Harnedy and Hoggie have given great service to Cork. Lehane has been around the scene for the last twelve years though, but he never became the marque forward for Cork that he promised to be. As for Damien Cahalane he's had his good games for Cork but he is very prone to rash lapses of discipline.

Cork just shouldn't be starting three fellas in their thirties in the forwards. While we do need to give the younger lads a chance, to be fair to them both Hoggie and Harnedy have been our two best and most consistent forwards for the last decade and a bit.

That game was an ambush in waiting in hindsight. The more open spaces of the Pairc and Thurles will suit us better i think.

You'll have to ask Pat Ryan that! One of many bad decisions by the management on the day. He should've been on way earlier.

Minor Hurling v Waterford on Thursday at 7

Josh Goulding

Glen Rovers

Cian Denis O Connor

Millstreet

Rian O’Riordan

Blackrock

Liam Kelleher

Douglas

Kevin Beechinor

Eire Og

Conor Noonan

Kanturk

John Murphy

Mallow

Jack O’Brien

Douglas

Jack Hegarty

Ballinora

Leo Hennessy

Ballymartle

Mark O’Brien

Douglas

Luke Murphy

Barryroe

Adam Lee

Cloyne

Joe Twohig

Valley Rovers

Michael Brosnan

Glen Rovers

Adam Lee

Carrigtwohill

David Enright

Inniscarra

Colm Garde

Lisgoold

Dean Cosgrave

Courcey Rovers

Oisin O’Connell

Carrigaline

Cormac Deane

Killeagh

Conor O’Donoghue

St Finbarrs

Peter Barrett

Midleton

Liam O’Mahony

Newtownshandrum

U20 football Cork 4-11 Clare 0-4 HT

Cork 5-18 Clare 0-13 FT

The Cork U20 hurling team to play Limerick in the O’Neills.com Munster championship round 3 at SuperValu Pairc Ui Chaoimh on Friday 26th April has been announced;

1. Paudie O’Sullivan- Fr. O’Neills

2. Denis Cashman – Bride Rovers

3. Kevin Lyons – Ballygarvan

4. Darragh O’Sullivan – Capt- Ballinhassig

5. James Dwyer- Ballincollig

6. Óran O’Regan- Erins Own

7. Cillian Tobin – Bride Rovers

8. Mikey Finn – Midleton

9. Ben Walsh – Killeagh

10. Diarmuid Healy – Lisgoold

11. Tadhg O’Connell – Ballincollig

12.  William Buckley – St. Finbarrs

13. David Cremin – Midleton

14. Eoin O’Leary – Glen Rovers

15. Jack Leahy – Dungourney

16. Daniel O’Connell – Dromina17. James O’Brien – Fermoy18. Timmy Wilk – Cobh19. Peter O’Shea – Erins Own20. Ronan O’Connell – Bride Rovers21. Johnny Galvin – Eire Óg22. Adam O’Sullivan – Ballinhassig23. Ross O’Sullivan – Na Piarsaigh24. Barry Walsh – Killeagh

Extended PanelOllie McAdoo – Blackrock, Mark O’Dwyer – Russell Rovers,Rory Troy – Newtownshandrum,  David O’ Leary – Ballincollig,Shane Couglan – Fermoy,  James Murray – Youghal,Ryan Sweeney – Blackrock,   Ronan Dooley – Douglas,Barry O’Flynn – Sarsfield,   Jayden Casey – Youghal, Eoin Guinane – Valley Rovers

Minor hurling Cork 2-8 Waterford 0-7 HT

Cork 3-18 Waterford 0-12 FT

• Registered Users Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Vey dominant win