Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Great House Revival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,439 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

I always wonder about parents/parenting style that when the option is there* they give the kids tiny rooms especially when there's no playroom etc.

It's almost as if the children are on borrowed time and once they hit 18 will be told to make their own way. So absolutely no need to make them comfortable.

*I'm obviously not talking about people who can only afford a smaller house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

to me , a home should be a warm, safe cosy refuge, a place you be comfortable and look forward to getting back to, that cold unfinished house ticked none of those boxes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,377 ✭✭✭Be right back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭GAAcailin

that kitchen was not a functioning room for cooking or preparing food. Bare, exposed shelves and sink unit was grim looking.
    kids rooms were minute and no guest room. The master bedroom was nice.

I like the series, the way it’s normal enough people.

Anyone know the road in Dublin 6 where he brought them?

are there no more episodes- like there were only 4?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

is this series over already? Nothing scheduled for tonight on my tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Yeah, a very short season if only 4 episodes. Disappointing really because it was 6 episodes in previous years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,776 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Nothing listed for next week either.

Very disappointing all round, really.

Silly season looming on RTE.

Repeats of Maggie on 'Cheap Irish Houses', as if it wasn't dire enough the first time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,256 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Reminds me of the old show business adage.

"Always leave them wanting more" 🙂

Yeah but when 3 out of four episodes were sh*te it doesn't leave you wanting more it leaves you thinking I'll not bother next time.

Oh well, you can't win them all.

I thought it was a reasonable effort.

I could have wished for a few changes but overall worth a watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,898 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Shite is a bit harsh.

Not everyone can wave a magic wand and get Dermot Bannon in to spend 500k.

I enjoyed all of the episodes.

With the exception of the first house not one house was finished.

One house was basically an advertisement (a bad one at that) for their business.

The other was a pure stress inducing watch.

The final house spent more time talking about red tape than anything else.

At least two of the houses would have been better to wait until next year when the work was finished or at least 90% there.

I personally want to see the finished product, it's not about a 500k budget, home Rescue certainly doesn't have that.

It's about the start, the middle and the end of a project. We didnt get the end result for three properties. The architects were close but didn't get to see the downstairs loo or utility, the B&B will be lucky to be finished by 2030 😂 and I'm not convinced the school house had a working kitchen. So not exactly revived properties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭Icsics

It’s back! A nice change from Bannon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,776 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

This is a lovely couple - very good humoured considering the stress of it all!

Watching the first episode of the new series on RTE one now.

This seems like the type of project that would have been more suited to room to improve in the past. Haven’t heard much about restoration so far.

Seems like they’ve taken a leaf out of the RTI book with lots of ‘human interest’ bits eg. the fundraiser drag night. What does that have to do with reviving the house? Surprised Hugh didn’t talk about the building type / Irish vernacular architecture so far.

Timmy is some man. High T I’d say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭spakman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,997 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Fair play to them. Lovely family and they've done a great job. So good to see how family and friends rowed in behind them.

I hope they've many happy years ahead of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Deeec

I love what they done to the house upstairs. The decor downstairs though is a bit meh for me, but that's easily changed. They have a roomy house and done it very well for the amount they spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,193 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

’works perfectly for them’. Not my kind of house but well done to them. Fabulous place to live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭History Queen

I loved this episode. Lovely couple with a beautiful home after all their hard work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,507 ✭✭✭harr

Great job and a lovely couple and worked with what money they had and upscaled what they could.

Would have liked a bigger kitchen and i think the corner view is wasted in the bathroom would have loved a sitting room or bedroom in that corner .

Kids rooms are fab and it’s a great idea to have a play area outside the kids room .. it’s cosy and plenty of space to build into the future.
    only doable because he knew what he was doing and had a huge circle of friends they could call in favours . I can’t imagine what the cost would be if needed to pay a contractor for all that work ..

Wow, he should be so proud of himself!

Fair play to all his friends....reminds me of the first house last year where they got a massive dig out too. Save a fortune not having to pay the trades or rent the equipment/diggers ,tractors etc.

I think the corner was wasted on a bathroom, but I do understand not wanting to be playing around with the sewer system on top of everything else.

Did they say they were going to rent the shop..it was a very little snippet, but I did catch "it'll generate an income"

Lovely couple hope they are very happy in the house.

Again fair play to him, trojan work!

That was a very interesting show.

Very timely too because there are so many similar house all over the country just waiting to have life put back in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,583 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Really enjoyed this one: a realistic budget, hard graft and the kind of property we have sitting derelict all over the country. As always it highlighted the advantage anyone with a trade has when doing projects like this. I wouldn't doubt Timmy for a second when he said he'll be paying back favours on the weekends for years. It's a well worn path for tradesmen in my experience though, have a few friends who've done similar "favours for favours" builds and it's incredible how far your money can stretch.

Contrary to some of the other opinions in this thread I loved the corner bathroom, that would be a beautiful place to have a soak after a long day… I did wonder had they put the taps at the wrong end of the bath for it but a minor enough quibble. I'd have liked to have seen a bolder colour choice on the kictchen units too but that's very much a personal preference.

Unlike many you see on these shows it'd take a very sour person to bedgrudge them their lovely new home and I'd say they won't be long in seeing a renatl income from the old shop unit (if indeed Siobhán doesn't choose to open it as a shop herself as the kids get a bit older). With so many of the houses in the village being renovated and re-occupied there's likely a market for it and if she wanted to get an income out of the shop herself, there'd be no rent to be paid).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,898 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Wonderful couple and they did a great job.

The husband looked like he was suffering from burnout near the end of the project, these projects are very demanding when trying to combine with a full time job. One of the kids looked like he had down syndrome too which cant be easy.

180k initial cost and then 220k spend.

His own labour costs and those of friends must easily be 200k, so thats a 600k effective overall cost before grants. Thats not factoring in all the upcycling and salvaged stuff they used.

Unless you are a tradesperson or a handyman these renovation projects are becoming cost prohibitive in Ireland now it looks like.

I much prefer Hughs approach to clients, he is there to advise and give his ideas which the client may or may not take on board.

Contrast this with the know it all Bannon who is there to lecture and talk down to his clients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,583 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I think it's always been the case that a major renovation like this (or indeed most one-off builds) require a lot of DIY unless you have a huge budget to pay for labour.

If we look back to Irelands past, the Bungalow Bliss approach was much the same: most were self-built by the homeonwers and their extended families and friends. Obviously modern building regulations are (rightly) much harder and more expensive to meet but I do suspect there's also an element of more of our fathers and grandfathers generations being less afraid of hard work and no doubt the larger families of the time would have meant people had more help available to them. Much easier build something if you've three or four brothers to call on than if you were an only child…