Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protest outside Roderick O' Gormans home - read OP before posting

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Honestly, if you've nothing good to say then don't say anything!
    If you think you could do a better job at their roles then man up and stand for election!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,545 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

Examples of protest outside house? plenty of them, including the ROG and Paul Murphy

Mary Lou, Simon Harris etc have all had protest outside their house

We had the obsession for years with Leo and everything he did, even when not Taoiseach

It is simple IMO, people landing outside someone house in face masks etc, no matter which party they are in, shouldnt be allowed. If you want to defend that, off you go.

It's amazing how the nurses etc can arrange a powerful protest and not have to resort to going to peoples houses.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

fair enough, i was off the mark regarding sinn fein. transfers were from bruton. i still believe that he hasnt a hope in hell of getting reelected. some mad independent will get in

• Registered Users Posts: 17,048 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

The far left are part of the Irish establishment now. However to say the Jobstown debacle was the only far left protest in Ireland that ever went too far is a nonsense.

The incidents you've outlined above are carried out by small groups of thugs, the Jobstown incident was lead by Paul Murphy and chums, if we're talking about a false equivalence you've shown a glaring one here yourself, the far right don't have a TD leading their shenanigans and likely never will.

Glazers Out!

°°°°°

Delete

Glazers Out!

°°°°°

• Registered Users Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

i dont know about that… there are going to be some nutjobs banging around the next dail elected on anti immigration etc

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

If you are referring to PBP, Alliance and the other "socialist" parties then they are not "far left". They are even opposed to some basic wealth taxes!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,545 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

Ahh you have all sorts going for election now, one person thinks after "millions of views" on TikTok means they have the support of the population to go for election

Like most they are great hurlers from the ditch, don't seem to have any real policies or how they would help people in the area

• Registered Users Posts: 7,274 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

No. That's not what I was asking for examples of.

I was asking for examples of far-left protests in the last few years that are on a par with the examples of far-right protests in the last year that I specified in my original post (that you responded to). Examples of violence and intimidation.

You replied that with some variation of "Jobstown was just the start of it" and mentioned SF and PBP but then gave no tangible examples of anything else after that - which is exactly the point I was making.

Everyone keeps mentioning Jobstown but beyond that incident, 10 years ago, I can't think of anything, whereas there's loads of examples from the far-right in the past 12 months alone.

If it's nonsense to say that Jobstown is the one example then you should be able to give plenty of examples to the contrary then right?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,841 ✭✭✭blackwhite

He is now - he wasn't at the time of Jobstown. He was Socialist Party (branded as "Anti-Austerity Alliance or Solidarity at the time, and part of a wider PBP-AAA/Solidarity electoral pact).

He then left the Socialist party to form RISE - which was also part of the PBP-AAA/Solidarity pact - but then RISE folded into PBP.

And he then wonders why some people refer to the Irish hard left as alphabet soup.

Thank you but I did specify recent examples. Those are even older than the Jobstown incident - all from 14 years ago.

Those protests had current TDs within their number.

You're shifting the goalposts to try and avoid admitting that PBP and SF (among others) have plenty of form for this sort of protest also.

The far right are pulling on many of the same goons that the far-left whipped into a mob during the anti-austerity and water protests. Remember the "water protesters" harassing meter installers, and posting names and address of Gardaí on social media?

Very similar behaviour to the scrotes we see harassing librarians and healthcare workers now - and likely plenty of overlap amongst the perpetrators.

°°°°°

The beginning of that post states that the far left are now part of the political establishment.

Let's see how things go of they don't fare particularly well in the next local then general elections.

Off the top of my head I can point to one far left protester hitting anti immigration marchers with their car last year as one example of loonies on the left.

I'm not here defending the actions of the far right, I'm not sure why anyone would do so or pretend the far left are a great bunch of lads for that matter. "my yobs are better than your yobs".

Yawn.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭lmao10

Predictable downplaying of the far right and making those comments about the far left, as you desperately try to minimize the far right in almost every post.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 jimmyrusseII

The idea that politicians should be held to account outside of office hours is disgusting, the average worker gets to clock off and go home, it shouldn't be any different for TD's.

• Registered Users Posts: 41,072 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

You are literally agreeing that violence and thuggery aimed at threatening/intimidating politicians you don't like is OK. There's 2 words for that. Far Right.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

3 examples from 15 years ago and we could list dozens of examples from this year alone. Yeah dead right to call this out earlier as false equivalence.

Terry Pratchet

But you always do this whataboutery to deflect from far right violence as if you want to minimise it, pretend it isn't a problem, find something else to look at instead. Always. You claim you condemn but only when you have tried hard to deflect with whataboutery.

Terry Pratchet

Are you seriously trying to claim that PBP picketing outside a ministers house - as putting out press releases to brag about doing so - isn’t even a tiny bit similar to what we’ve seen the far right groups doing now?

Throughout the austerity and water protests the hard left were thrilled to take on support from any scumbag that would tag along for a protest.
    Now it turns out that there was a sizeable cohort within those protests that don’t actually share many of the values of the hard left after all, but they continue with the same tactics that were once the preserve of the PBP and their fellow travellers.

Horsehoe theory playing itself out

• Registered Users Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Can't believe that this even needs a discussion tbh.

Showing up outside a persons home in a menacing and coordinated way, with faces hidden; is not a protest. It's harassment.

Doesn't matter what the cause is, or what side you happen to be on. It's not 'fair game'

I'm saying 3 protests 15 years ago is not equivalent to all the violence and intimidation that we are seeing from the far right now and this is about some sort of one upmanship to deflect from all the current far right violence and intimidation

Terry Pratchet

°°°°°

I've never said any of that.

You've built me up in your own mind as some far right apologist. Everything in your world is binary, which has a certain irony to it.

Glazers Out!

Oh you have though, continuously found things to go 'but whatabout the left", continuously tried to minimise threats and danger from far right.

Terry Pratchet

You’re strawmanning here, and trying to rebut things I never claimed.

The point is that these tactics were happily employed by SF and PBP previously.
    It was unacceptable then, and it’s unacceptable now - but the likes of SF and PBP and the rest of the Irish hard left pioneered “direct action” style of “peaceful protest” over the past decade and a half - and the path from that to the disgusting stuff we see now isn’t exactly hard to see

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭martco

I'm not a politico by any means but I spent a little time wondering about these incidents having witnessed various characters/agitators/"protestors" in action locally and in town over the last couple years now.

there are a few things I sense…it's not disorganised or random, not a naturally occurring direct action social protest, not a trendy social media viral fad thing, not a hobby for someone bored. Harnessing the irrational pure bats thinking of a few no-marks and amplifying it. a manufactured chaos. It seems to me there is some indirect operator behind these activities, sponsoring them. That means money, effort, time, resources spent…which only ever happens if there is a someone or something who stands to gain from it

so who or what in the soup stands to gain from all of this effort?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,091 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Except for those of us who believe In democracy, and would obviously be concerned about such intimidation tactics.