Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

**** things about the 70s,80s,90s...that don't happen now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,456 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

oh god we got the bus to Poland in 1975 still remember the east german border guards coming on the bus shining torches direct in your face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭victor8600

Even in the beginning of 2000s coffee in most places was either instant or the watery filter kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,294 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I liked it when there was a proper pot of filter coffee around - say of Bewleys coffee, at meetings etc

But could be hit and miss.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 404 ✭✭pjordan

I actually bought a few of them in my time including a Waterboys at the Olympia gig. Quality ranged from top notch to awful, but I know a few artists themselves sought them out having a preference for their own favourite gigs.

Also per the other post above re radio stations or DJ's purpously obscuring the start or end of songs to discourage home taping, I actually remember Dave Fanning flagging people to be prepared to tape the live version of Bad from the US import of Wide awake in America as it wasn't commercially available in Ireland at the time. Also, even now in the age of Spotify and MP3's I can still, when listening to certain songs, subconsciously hear the DJ's intervention from my recording off the radio years ago which for a long time was my only source of the song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,891 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

Arranging to meet at Eason's O'Connell st no matter where you are planning on heading that night, but then delayed for some reason leaving your mates stranded

Also kids trashing traffic lights and destroying any public facilities that are built like community basketball courts (more of a 90s/00s thing)… they're too busy making Tik Tok videos now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭yagan

Ironically smaller family sizes now have way more playground facilities in comparison.

As I mentioned in a previous post a lot of my childhood was spent "playing" in crumbling buildings which were everywhere back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,927 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

I would have been lost without taping off the radio - also I still have bootleg tapes of REM and Waterboys albums purchased bottom of Grafton st early 90s- you had limited funds so you couldn’t buy everything you wanted to so bootlegs were great.

Sound wasn’t amazing but it did the job.

honestly can’t remember how we organised ourselves back in the day but it all worked out - we had to phone around, none of this group chat stuff- we planned where to meet but also planned on where we’d go so if you missed the meeting point you’d do a scout of the usual pubs and you’d be sure to find the group eventually.
    If you knew you’d be late you’d leave word at home so when your friends called from a phone box your mum or dad would be able to pass on a message

Sadly still goes on, Fairview Park pitches etc seem to get vandalized a lot … couldn't rule out videos of the scumbags doing it being shared to show off to other scum.

• Registered Users Posts: 404 ✭✭pjordan

For us culchies posting on here, deprived of much glamour or urban sophistication, and taking our cues and prompts from the likes of Hot Press and the D4 media, a lot of us actually believed for a time that Dublin was the centre of the universe, until such time as we actually got to travel further afield and discovered that Dublin was largely a relatively insignificant, self important and self absorbed, nepotistic, European backwater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

In fairness, that still happens nowadays, especially on the RTÉ or BBC where current events might affect regular scheduling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,483 ✭✭✭✭blade1

70s and 80s most localities had a kid like this.

It was me in my area.

How come no one including adults mentioned anything about anyone getting hurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭black & white

A poultice instead of antibiotic, I remember my grandmother putting one on my leg when it was infected and she said there was bread and sugar in it, can't remember what else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Yep, I had a beehive money box that they gave me in school. They gave you a few quid when you opened an account too. It worked, still have an AIB account to this day.

I have a cousin with special needs and I remember being shocked That a place he went to was called "The Cork Spastic Clinic". It was renamed at some point but it was called that well into a time where it probably shouldn't have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

That's if scumbag teens don't go wrecking them and people making spurious claims prompting removal.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

And retail workers were guaranteed at least on weekend day off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,069 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

If that is the same photo that was shared on Twitter a few years ago, one of the kids lying down is David O’Doherty and it’s his brother making the jump.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

You reminded me of one: getting cigarette burns from drunken eejits dancing with them in their hands in nite clubs!

I don't know.

That was the first pic I googled.

The camera never caught my escapades

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,997 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

They still are. Sunday work is pretty much always done by part-time workers who are more than happy with double pay.

Management are the only full time workers you'd find on Sundays.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

My mistake. Everyone except part-time, some full-time and management is guaranteed the odd Sunday off.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭pavb2

Always remember about 30 years ago I had a Ford Escort and on a cold morning if you didn’t get the choke right the engine would cut out and a dodgy starter motor made it difficult to get going again.

I was at a junction and true to form the engine cut out and the starter motor wouldn’t turn. The guy behind me started getting impatient and pressing his horn.No stress as I was well used to it and a brisk bash with a hammer would sort the starter motor out.

Not giving it a second thought I jumped out of the car went to the boot grabbed my hammer kept there for this very purpose, gave the starter motor a belt and went on my way. It was only afterwards I wondered for that brief few seconds what must have gone through that guy’s mind when he saw me come round the back of the car and take the hammer out of the boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,549 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I'd said he's left his horn alone since then, he could post about it here.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Grassy Knoll

as a kid coming to Dublin City centre on shopping trips and on street parking being ‘supervised’ by the “lock hard” fraternity… basically some old codger with a rolled up newspaper and a peaked hat - basically an attempt at a quasi official look … you would give him a few quid for his trouble, basically his money for a few drinks later that evening. I think in the early to mid 90s I last saw one on Dawson street. Extinct now …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,307 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

And always a fisticuffs fight outside afterwards.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭thereiver

People driving up the north to buy groceries or other items like cigarettes as many things were alot cheaper across the border .

Van shops , a van would be permanently parked in a council estate ,you could buy grocery's milk cigarettes .. people would sell cheap cigarettes in moore street

Magazines with cdroms on them you'd install the program to setup internet access

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Dan Steely

Sitting on the floor in front of the TV from 4.30 watching the clock tick down to 5pm when programs started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Door to door salespeople. Don't get them much if at all now, thankfully. Usually though not always the "cultural" cousins.

Selling things factories were throwing out; couches that the patterns got fcuked up in (still have a mismatched couch), farm gates...sometimes steel gates painted silver to make them look galvanised or filled with sand to make them heavy, power tools of doubtful provenance, shít burglar alarm systems, shít fire extinguishers, next to useless insurance policies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭Patser

Still around, especially near Croke Park on match days - usually younger now and wear hi-vizes to look official, again just looking for money for what is free parking spaces. Disappear as soon as all spaces full, but often there's the worry that if you don't pay, your car will be scratched or wing mirror gone when you get back.

I presume they are still held in schools or community centers good place to buy old books cheap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Being forced to sit in front of Glenroe every Sunday when in primary school. It felt like the weekend was officially over and the dread of school the next morning set in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,415 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

That form of child abuse leaves long term PTSD called 'The Glenroes'. I don't think we were forced, just that there was nothing else on.

Door to door collection agents, e.g. a guy calling to the house once a month on a certain afternoon or evening to collect the premiums for an insurance policy, marking it down as paid in your policy book.

"Pools panels" for the Football Pools, a panel of ex footballers and others associated with the game who would decide the result of a postponed \ abandoned game so there's be a complete set of Pools results. More usually called upon in Winter in the days before undersoil heating, as pitches turned to mud with some vestiges of grass on the wings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,993 ✭✭✭griffin100

My parents generation used to call the collection agent the 'Jew Man'. He'd come round dinner time on Friday usually and he'd have a big burly lad with him for security as he was collecting cash from nearly every house on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,592 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Auld lad who lives next door to me was a door to door insurance collector. Voice is blown out from a lifetime of shouting at non-payers.

The door to door rates/rents collectors for councils had a worse job, suspect they got shouted at even more often. Used to keep the electoral register bang up to date though.

saw them early 2000s or certainly late 90s but yes a dying breed at that stage alright - they were part and parcel of Dublin life

reckon there’s still time for a class action against RTÉ? 😀

Listening to Steely Dan while you waited? 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

People driving up the north to buy groceries or other items like cigarettes as many things were alot cheaper across the border .

If you live near enough to the border it's still worth doing, but only for stocking up on stuff, not a "milk and a pack of digestives" run.

Until they closed off a lot of the roads, used to happen around Croke Park on big match days.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Grassy Knoll

Sports Stadium on Rte and Grandstand on BBC for the sport, looking back they were good programmes with a great mix of different events from horse racing, live matches, gymnastics, athletics, rugby, fencing, ping pong … you name it … something for the diehard to the casual observer…

speaking of TV, anyone remember these shows?

Hall's Pictorial Weekly

Cross Country Quiz

Quick Silver

Folio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭satguy

Having to dodge the odd aqualung on the way home from school.

Was born in 63, lived on Charlemont Street, 2 doors up from the old Carroll's Building,, And there always seemed to be a few hanging around outside my school.. or sitting on a park bench along the canal ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,997 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Saturday evening time on UTV/ITV combination of the A-team, Knight Rider, Beverly Hills 90210, Baywatch and gladiators. Then "here's our Graham with a quick reminder" blind date. Switch over to BBC 1 for Casualty (I still give oil tankers a wide berth on the motorway after one episode about 30 years ago)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,337 ✭✭✭Archeron

Plates that exploded into thousands of shards because somebody took it out of the oven and then put it somewhere cool. Happened twice that i remember as a kid.

And cups and plates with the gold rim that you couldn't microwave because the metal paint would cause huge blue sparks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

We had one called the providence man. Not sure what it was but sometimes we had to pretend we weren't in lol

When you live in a town with 3 pubs and one disco Dublin looks like a big deal

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Pull tabs used to tear right off the can and would be strewn around everywhere.

We used to get Buster and Beano comics. Do kids still get those kinds of comics now or is it all DC and Marvel super hero stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭Iscreamkone

Roy of the Rovers, Tiger and Shoot were what myself and my brother got between us every week. 50p for the lot - robbery!