Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings and threadbans - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭tom23

Just glad it’s not the Norhtside! Small blessings! Though on a serious note saw it last week and couldn’t believe it. Only going to get worse

• Registered Users Posts: 5,256 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Are you suggesting that the government is not? What do you think should change? Continuing the current situation is not an option - there is absolutely no balance at all. The entire process is being abused with certain people making tidy sums of money. What price should the Irish people and the people of Europe be asked to tolerate if the EU (or the Irish government) does nothing? Where do you suggest the common sense is in all of this? As it stands Europe is seemingly expected to host an endless supply of people coming from all over the world.

There needs to be a massive movement to remove the pull factors - no more kids gloves. A very hard stance should be taken an "illegal" migration. Whatever laws need to be looked at/changed/enacted, so be it. Where do you think Europe will be in 10/20/30/40 years if the current trends continue?

At a very high levels the UN Refugee convention needs to be looked at (or at least the 67 protocol). Its been 70 years. An update is very badly needed in the context on the world we currently live in, not applying the world in the 40's/60's to now. I do not think the politicians back then could envisage refugee status being hijacked in the way it has today.

The EU/NGO's should stop picking people up off the coast of Africa and ferrying them to Europe. They should be brought back to the African coast. Failing to do so just encourages further behaviour - allowing this to continue is insanity. The same with the land borders and islands in the Mediterranean. To use a previous analogy, its like your house is on fire but you keep throwing fuel on it instead of water.

Any countries that refuse to take back their people should be sanctioned and any aid received cut/removed.

As for Ireland our immigration system/policy is beyond a joke at this stage. All the hard decisions need to be made around changing how we approach this - just look at the eye watering amounts of money spent in the last two years and it does not look like it will be decreasing anytime soon. Are you happy for this to continue? The time for trying to be everyone's best friend is long over.

The government have said that they would not supply funding to any organisation that was not aligned with government policy. One would assume that should their policy change so should the allocation of funding.

As we currently have to process asylum seekers in the country and we are not a charity for everyone looking a better life:

• Abolish the right to remain. If the courts, IPO/IPAT have decided someone cannot stay, the justice minister should not be able to overrule this.
    • Enforce deportations out of the EU ( everyone is fingerprinted- a failure in any EU should prevent an application in another - no point in allowing failed applicants to bounce around the EU. It home countries refuse, set above.)
    • Remove the right to work - the asylum system should not be seen as an alternative to the visa system.
    • Quicker decisions and remove the ability to tie the court up for years with appeals etc.
    • Limit access to welfare/Healthcare/education/housing etc.
    • Limit access to citizenship.
    • Committing of any crime is a bar to application and automatic deportation.
    • Anyone who comes in via NI is an automatic rejection/deportation.
    • Anyone arriving without documentation is an automatic rejection/deportation.
    • Limit the number of applications per year

and the list goes on.

I bet you would see a massive drop in all the apparent "refugees" when word gets out we are no longer a soft touch.

I am not going to get started on the abuses of the student visa/visa system.

Any before you reply with international obligations etc

1. Yes i am aware some of the above is currently prohibited by law - change the law. Its what the policy makers are paid for.
    2. The Irish governments only real obligation is to the people of this country and they have the ability to propose whatever laws/changes to the constitution where needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

While it’s not good for those poor people to be there, what’s the choices on where to “go move shift” them to as Christy might say?

From their perspective there’s worse places than mount st to sleep out on right now - there’s a small bit of security in terms of strength of numbers - I guess it’s a reality we all have to own - I’d prefer they were visible not just for their own security but to act as an indicator of just how bad our situation is right now- sticking them in a field in Saggart or wherever it was they were placed throughout Paddy’s week is just hiding the issue

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭suvigirl

Its called a PR exercise, it will achieve nothing. Only good news for the guards is they will make plenty of money from it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

It'll achieve something. It'll take 100 guards away who could be tackling violent crime.

I wonder how long before the contracts go out for private border control solutions?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭recyclops

Is there a reason that we are not utilising Army barracks or Army land to provide this safe shelter instead of fields in Saggart or towns in north wicklow near Greystones? Surely the Curragh is a large plot of land owned by the state with security on site

• Registered Users Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭emo72

Even if you allow IPAS to work, what good is that? Rent is 2000 euro a month in Dublin. Even Irish people can barely afford to live in this place. So basically we all will be subsidizing IPAS workers for life so they can live somewhere. IF THEY CAN FIND A FUC KING PLACE TO RENT. Where is the net gain for us. They will be paying our pensions they said. It's a joke lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

The government appears to have a deliberate policy to tell male asylum seekers that there's no accommodation in the hope that they leave.

This isn't working.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

I've just seen Supermacs mobile truck headin for the border, ya can't solve crime on an empty stomach

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

not when its a BA city flyer so no it didn't take long that I'm aware of, I was seated near the front and off quickly

• Registered Users Posts: 54,131 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

In a statement, the Residents’ Network Mount and Grattan St Areas said: "We are appalled at the encampment of asylum seekers established in our neighbourhood, how it has been allowed to develop and the lack of communication and response of the authorities to our concerns".

The group, set up this month, said it is "sympathetic to and supportive" of people seeking asylum but added it does "not accept that an encampment of tents around our neighbourhood is acceptable or even legal".

My heart goes out to these residents. Must be a horrible experience to even try to get home after working and walk through all this garbage.

From the same article

Taoiseach Simon Harris told the Dáil that asylum seekers sleeping rough outside the IP office on Mount Street will be offered "safe shelter" elsewhere.

He added that tents will not be allowed to be erected after that point.

Mr Harris said once Mount Street has been cleared the authorities will ensure that the laws of the land are respected.What a Joke!!! They could have done this during St Patricks weekend

What do you think happens when people are left destitute with nowhere to live and no income?

Crime.

Little enough Gardai on the streets, and now We are sending more on a PR exercise to the border, depleting resources elsewhere. Not the time to leave thousands desperate.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭Quitelife

A few more Busloads landing in from Belfast everyday will lead to serious numbers around Mount Street , a lot of RTE staff in Donnybrook or Irish Times staff might be up for housing some of these misfortunes

• Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

Might as well just give it over to Asylum seekers as well at this stage like nearly every other hotel in the whole country.

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭Petermc83

The amount of derelict buildings on the Curragh Camp is shameful. They should definitely be used to house people who cannot get accommodation ( Irish or otherwise). but yet they are left to rot away.

• Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

@recyclops

Because soldiers live there. I wouldn’t be too happy if I was a member of the DF and all these poor unfortunates were living in the accommodation block next to me!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,256 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Correct. but consider the opposite of this? Give them a place to live and a job, then word gets out and 100 becomes 1000 and so on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭mikethecop

like Mullingar or kilbride army barracks for instance ?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

I wouldn't count on that. forced to provide for themselves because the state left them destitute? Claims for asylum in? First offence?

most wouldn't eveneven get a sentence, and probably would not be deported unless it was a crime

How has this approach worked elsewhere?

Denmark does seem to have had some success reducing numbers, but can you show that they haven't just gone to another EU country?

It's not clear what you'll do with the people you can't deport, will they be left with no right to work and no welfare?

What's that going to do to the shadow economy? How are you going to deal with 'Irish' workers wages being undercut by people working and not paying taxes etc?

What happens when people living here like this have children? Do they get access to healthcare, citizenship, education?

What about crime? While Australia has managed to a large degree to physically control it's borders, they seem to now have a very serious problem with organized crime related to people living there undocumented. https://www.abc.net.au/news/2023-10-04/immigration-visa-compliance-crackdown/102932864

• Registered Users Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

actually the Fair City shooting location on RTÉ grounds in Donnybrook would be nice and safe - you could even give them jobs as actors

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭scottser

The Council should at least put in temporary toilets and wash facilities while they kick the can about and pass the buck between them. 'It'll just encourage them to stay', they say but the bang o piss off the alleys around there is only woejus. Poor feckers will end up with typhoid or hepatitis.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Cant be safe for people living or working in the area either.

It sounds as though once the tents are removed this time, they are gone for good. At least according to Harris.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭recyclops

Yeah we need to potentially start using more than those two, I only mentioned the Curragh due to the size of the surrounding lands.

Surely with them being temporary nobody place there a year ago or even 6 months ago is still there

• Registered Users Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

If you get arrested and sentenced then any claim for asylum should be automatically rejected and the offender banned from the state…

The message needs to filter back to the countries of origin that the state isn't going to provide you with a home and money when you arrive here.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZGexDBmQ5/

There’s a live walkaround on tik tok right now. Videographer not saying anything just walking.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭aidanodr

So - we are the end of the immigrant line in Europe, the EUs terminus for immigrants ..

What do you mean by 'banned from the state'?

A lot of countries won't accept deportations, do you mean something like Rwanda or Nauru?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,628 ✭✭✭✭zell12

All about house values. We can't be having that 🤣 😂

The group said residents are "being forced to live in untenable and unsafe conditions while still obliged to pay property taxes, as the property value has crashed for owners".